• Thread starter Thread starter Bentleigh

Battling for Bryce? Or someone else?

Emma Quayle
The Age
July 18, 2006

Bryce Gibbs will not be in Melbourne on Saturday to check out his potential AFL home, as Essendon takes on Carlton in the match named unofficially in his honour.

While an estimated 40,000 people head to the MCG to see if their struggling club can finally score a win, the South Australian teenager whose name is being linked to the match will be in a yellow-and-black guernsey playing for SANFL club Glenelg.

The irony is that Gibbs, a polished midfielder, is no certainty to be nabbed with the No. 1 draft pick by whoever loses on Saturday and therefore becomes favourite for the wooden spoon. In hindsight, the match might become known as the Scott Gumbleton Trophy, the Lachlan Hansen Plate, the James Sellar Gift or the Joel Selwood Ribbon.

Certainly, the one-win Bombers have tired of suggestions they're up for some short-term pain if it means they get their hands on the best kid in the country. "Players' careers are on the line and our senior players are very proud," wrote James Hird on Essendon's website. "If people think any of them are worrying about the No. 1 draft pick when they cross the white line, they don't know what they are talking about."

While 60,000-plus crowds are the norm when Essendon and Carlton sit high on the ladder, the Melbourne Cricket Club is less optimistic about Saturday. Events manager Trevor Dohnt expected about 40,000 — on a forecast fine day — depending on how many Bomber members turned up. "It's hard to call. We're estimating about 40,000 people will be there, which is a middle-of-the-road sort of crowd," he said. "If we get more than 40, with the two bottom teams playing, that would be a good result."

The loser will get first call on Gibbs — or powerful ball magnet Selwood, whose knee injury forced him to miss the national under-18 championships, but who has made big impressions. Or Gumbleton, Hansen or Sellar, should the bottom club decide big, brave, ready-to-go marking players are too hard to pass up.

There may be others; Collingwood's No. 2 pick Dale Thomas surged up the rankings after last year's TAC Cup grand final and draft camp.

The AFL's national talent manager, Kevin Sheehan, thought Gibbs embraced his high rating at the national carnival, where he was named in the All-Australian team with West Australian Gumbleton and Victorian Hansen.

But he thought Selwood — who captained Australia's under-17 team two years ago and was its best player — still would be high on recruiters' lists.

"He's the one who should come into this debate, no doubt," he said. "Don't underestimate the midfield playmaker. That's what he is, and there's very little between them in their potential to be outstanding players at AFL level.

"Bryce was terrific at the carnival. All of the features were there — he reads it well, shows courage, works off players who are playing tight on him. He just makes great decisions with the footy, and then you've got tall blokes. They're brave, they show exceptional courage in the air, they're athletic and they compete when things aren't going well.

"People say you take the best player, but they're all very good players. There's plenty for clubs to debate."

Bentleigh said:
Round 15 - update:

ATM: Pick 8

Gibbs
Gumby
Hansen
Thorp
---
Sellar

Unless we lose a few we are going to miss out on one of the big 4/5.

I want Joel Selwood (assuming no Gibbs/Hansen/Humby/Thorp).

Deledio/Selwood/Tambling - next 15 years = :)

1st pick - centre square midfielder with kicking skills, no tambling/jon types

its fair to say our midfield sucks, we need a mid who can win his own footy and kick, after that id like to get 2 KPP

PLSC said:
1st pick - centre square midfielder with kicking skills, no tambling/jon types

its fair to say our midfield sucks, we need a mid who can win his own footy and kick, after that id like to get 2 KPP

Joel Selwood, come on down.

Bentleigh, you have stated previouisly that you dont watch U/18's games, yet you talk like you are a talent scout, if you dont watch the games dont ride pages of crap nobody will even read, gop out watch them then come back and you may be taken seriously like weaver is. Also as a richmond supporter you should be hoping that we win and enjoying when we win, not go of crap that means we will go down the order in the draft yayaya, if you want to think that **** off and barrack for a new team and stop the constant whinging, i swear you must be a ****ing piece of crap scummy emo

The White Tiger said:
Who's responsible for picking Fiora instead of Pavlich in 1999, costly mistake.
Certainly was. Shows the folly of trying to pick for needs rather than best available. At the time we had plenty of talls but were crying out for midfielders. Unfortunately most of the talls didn't work out (and the recruiting staff didn't consider the possibility of someone Pavlich's size being a handy midfielder). Pre-draft, Fiora was also rated and there was also a lot of talk about Pavlich being back in Adelaide in 12 months, which also turned out to be a crock. Overall our recruiters misread all these signs and made the wrong choice.

And I wasn't particulalry trying to defend Beck. He had some particularly poor results some years. But I think he also did better at times than people suggest and rumour has it that he was overuled by coaching staff from time to time.

I was one of the many at the time who thought Pavlich should have been taken ahead of Fiora.

However I thought Pavlich was a CHF and didn't see him as a midfielder.

When we decided we wanted a midfielder the choice was a tough one. Our challenge was to get the best guy Joel Corey, Cayden Beetham, Aaron Fiora, David Spriggs and Brad Green were the clear stand-outs.

Fiora isn't the worst choice from that group.

Plenty of the 'failure' that is Fiora needs to be attributed to Fiora. We are too quick to blame Beck or Frawley. Fiora has AFL-talent, just a pea heart.

I think the needs v best available debate needs an extra factor. I think you have to ask - what is your need?

If your need is a back-pocket, winger, HFF etc then never ever recruit for it. It is a different beast when your need is the centre-square or spine.

Interesting on white line fever last night that TW strongly hinted that we would be taking a KPP as our first pick in this year's draft. That's how I read it anyway. Anyone else see that and get the same feeling?

tugga said:
Interesting on white line fever last night that TW strongly hinted that we would be taking a KPP as our first pick in this year's draft. That's how I read it anyway. Anyone else see that and get the same feeling?

My take was that he said he would take the best player available regardless of position but that also a lot of clubs were looking for a key defender.

tugga said:

He was talking about what he believed Carlton would be looking for with their first pick. He felt that Carlton would take a KP Backman therfore allowing Whitnall to go forward with Fevola.

You just admitted that you only know how to repeat others opinions

Footydraft.com comment: Personally I definitely think he is worth a punt late in the draft, although the Lions may end up taking him on their rookie list. Plenty of work to do, but plenty to like.

Weaver had him in his Top 50 too

As it stand now we have pick #7.

Both Brisbane & North are a game behind with better percentage. However, with some winnable games comming up at this stage it looks like we will have pick 7, but things can change in the last 4 rounds.

I have concluded I want @ Punt Road (in the following order)

1. Gumbleton
2. Hansen
3. Thorp
4. Gibbs
5. Sellwod
6. Sellar

Although, I have this terribile feeling will get pick #7 and miss out on the lot. (Abit like last year were we just missed one of Rydey/Dowler/Kennedy).

Alot of promising players left:

• Albert Proud
  • Leroy Jetta
  • Tom Hislop
  • David Armitage
  • Matthew Leuenberger
  • Clayton Collard
  • Ben Reid
  • Jack Riewoldt
  • Brock O'Brien
  • Tom Hurley

etc.

But going by all accounts Im very keen on one of those six.

Our 2nd draft pick should be very intersting also. There seems like there could still be a very promising player come about pic mid 20.

Bentleigh said:
As it stand now we have pick #7.

Although, I have this terribile feeling will get pick #7 and miss out on the lot. (Abit like last year were we just missed one of Rydey/Dowler/Kennedy).

You're right.

Pick #7 this year will probably see you miss out on the major KPP and 2 midfielders (Gibbs & Selwood).

Essendon - Gumbleton
Carlton - Gibbs
Hawthorn - Hansen
Port Adelaide - Thorpe
Brisbane - Sellar
North - Selwood
Richmond - ? (i'd say Jack Riewoldt)

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
You're right.

Pick #7 this year will probably see you miss out on the major KPP and 2 midfielders (Gibbs & Selwood).

Essendon - Gumbleton
Carlton - Gibbs
Hawthorn - Hansen
Port Adelaide - Thorpe
Brisbane - Sellar
North - Selwood
Richmond - ? (i'd say Jack Riewoldt)

We could do worse. 24 possies, 15 marks and 4 goals in VFL at the weekend. He also seems to have his head together...emphasis on seems as I have only chatted to him once but a good mate of my son which isnt the best recommendation lmao. With his Dad and now cousin being Sainters its where his heart will be I'm sure. If we can get through that I am sure we would have a good'un and according to local media reports, the scouts from 11 different AFL clubs at the game last Sat agree with me.

I reckon it will be none-of-the-above. Have to remember that the 'consenus' is actually the opinion of half a dozen people who watch the games magnifing by 100 Bentleighs repeating what they have read as their own opinion.

Someone like Daniel O'Keefe could jump up the order. We could easily decide that we will go for a raw 4-year project player like James Hawksley or Ben Reid.