Ricky Ponting

Swings and roundabouts, Dravid got away with a plumb LBW that Billy Bowden missed in the Melbourne Test. Everyone gets good ones and bad ones. And the Indians should be the last ones to whinge about umpiring and not playing in the spirit of the game, the intimidation of umpires on the sub-continent is discaceful, if you have Foxtel and watch some of the games telcast from there you'll know what I mean. Go back a few more years to when home umjpires stood in Tests and the blatant hometown decisions that went on in the sub-continent was mindboggling. People have very short memories.:rolleyes:

Spot on. Take the good with the bad.

People who seem to think that this problem only occurs in Australia, should think again.

Put this whole thread into perspective

[YOUTUBE]ofCYo7k7M9Q[/YOUTUBE]

Enjoy
I think he might have thought there was an attempted stumping.

Actually, thats obviously what he thought. It didn't exactly hit middle stump half way up, it clipped the top of off and was in Nixon's hands when he turned to look.

I - for the record - really like Harbajan (sic), his innings the other day was great to watch, and is the sort of TAIL REAR GUARD ACTION Australian's have made a habit of tossing over when we do it for years.

Other highlight, the young tall number 11 - Sharma? - putting twat Brett Lee around the park.

No one in cricket celebrates getting out a pissy number eleven more than Lee, and it shits me to tears.

Swings and roundabouts, Dravid got away with a plumb LBW that Billy Bowden missed in the Melbourne Test. Everyone gets good ones and bad ones. And the Indians should be the last ones to whinge about umpiring and not playing in the spirit of the game, the intimidation of umpires on the sub-continent is discaceful, if you have Foxtel and watch some of the games telcast from there you'll know what I mean. Go back a few more years to when home umjpires stood in Tests and the blatant hometown decisions that went on in the sub-continent was mindboggling. People have very short memories.:rolleyes:
I've got a mate who is feral about Aussie cricket, and I was expecting to say the Indians can **** off this morning, and even he was saying they have been screwed.

They'd want to get a nice long turn on the round about to make up for the rpaing they've had on the swing.

I - for the record - really like Youvraj (sic), his innings the other day was great to watch, and is the sort of TAIL REAR GUARD ACTION Australian's have made a habit of tossing over when we do it for years.

I didn't think he could do it, but he did... squeezing in the terms 'tossing over' and 'rear' in the same sentence about cricket:D

So if VVS laxman was out twice but given not out, Tendulkar was given not out when clearly out and Ricky ponting was given out when not and the Indians won, would you not be sooking about how the umpires cost Australia a record?

The umpires werent aussies and everything Australia did during this match has been done by these same Indians heaps of time.

For people to say you have to walk when you know its,is just bullshit.
So when you know its not out and the ump has given you out should you just stand your ground.

Its just like footy when you suck the ump in and get a free do you say sorry ump but its a mistake by you.

Austalia well done,indians bad luck.

So if VVS laxman was out twice but given not out, Tendulkar was given not out when clearly out and Ricky ponting was given out when not and the Indians won, would you not be sooking about how the umpires cost Australia a record?

It’s happen to us in India & we didn’t souk. India is a joke.

Did anyone see Y. Singh walk yesterday when he nicked one to Gilchrist. He didnt even wait for the umpires decision. He knew he was out and walked.

And who is willing to put there hands up and say that next time we get crucified by the umpires that "We have to take the good with the bad"?

There will always be discrepancies Rob. Thats just the way it goes. To answer your question, of course. Personally I don't give a rats ass about the test record, I'd just rather see them win the series. I just get annoyed about the constant reference to umpires. They've had an equal go of it thus far in Australia. I haven't seen too many bouncey green tops as yet.

Did anyone see Y. Singh walk yesterday when he nicked one to Gilchrist. He didnt even wait for the umpires decision. He knew he was out and walked.

And who is willing to put there hands up and say that next time we get crucified by the umpires that "We have to take the good with the bad"?

I would. Everyone will have a time when they have bad umpiring.Just a matter of when.

P.S Leave footy out of the equation.

He'd caught and controlled the ball before the ball came in contact with the ground, and it was still in his possession. They were talking about that issue on Fox Sports and according to the laws of the game, it was a fair catch. So there's one decision that the Indians got in their favour.

I've seen players catch the ball and drop it while they are trying to throw it up. Deemed not in control.

I've seen players catch it and then throw it away while they are falling over the rope. Deemed not in control.

I'm not sure you've controlled the ball while you're hurtling through the air like Ricky was. Surely you've got to have it under control when you come to rest on the ground. By that stage he had used the ground to keep the ball in his hand.

It would be out in beach cricket though;).

Australia play within the "spirit of cricket" but only while things are going their way. The minute things turn tough, as they did on Saturday, incidents occur. The whole Harbajahn thing started with a playful tap on Lee's bum by Harbajahn which Symonds (not Lee) decided to take offence to.

An exchange like that happens at the end of almost every over. It was the fact that Harbajan responded with a tort that was a racial insult that was the problem.

Ponting put that ball on the ground while it was still in his hand, before claiming the catch (even if he is our number one ticket holder). I'm not sure that you can claim a catch in those circumstances.

If the umpire deemed that he had control of the ball by the time he touched it to the ground, then it would have been a catch. The fact that he was fully grasping it and wasn't using the ground to assist him in catching it, suggests that it would have been a catch IMO.

A great test match, spoiled throughout by dud umpiring decisions which cut both ways but still favoured the Aussies.

That is cricket unfortunately. And it is how you respond in these situations that is the true test.

I've seen players catch the ball and drop it while they are trying to throw it up. Deemed not in control.

I've seen players catch it and then throw it away while they are falling over the rope. Deemed not in control.

I'm not sure you've controlled the ball while you're hurtling through the air like Ricky was. Surely you've got to have it under control when you come to rest on the ground. By that stage he had used the ground to keep the ball in his hand.

The situation we are talking about didn't make contact with the bat, but Ricky is getting criticism for the appeal he made cause some people are questioning whether he caught it.

In taking a catch, you have to have control of the ball and control of your body. In the Herschelle Gibbs case, he didn't have control of the ball to throw it in the air properly. In other examples on the boundary, the player hasn't had control of their body to keep themselves in play.

In the Ponting case, if it had have come off the bat, I believe he had a very solid grip of the ball in his hand, so is in control of it, hence catch completed by the time the ball makes contact with the ground.

The situation we are talking about didn't make contact with the bat, but Ricky is getting criticism for the appeal he made cause some people are questioning whether he caught it.

In taking a catch, you have to have control of the ball and control of your body. In the Herschelle Gibbs case, he didn't have control of the ball to throw it in the air properly. In other examples on the boundary, the player hasn't had control of their body to keep themselves in play.

In the Ponting case, if it had have come off the bat, I believe he had a very solid grip of the ball in his hand, so is in control of it, hence catch completed by the time the ball makes contact with the ground.

So, you're saying the umpires interpreted that Ponting had control of his body as he was diving to catch the ball? A controlled dive as opposed to the boundary rope fielder impersonating a drunken sailor.

I suppose I could live with that. I don't think I've ever seen it before though. Everyone is always so desperate to keep the hand/fingers between the ball and the grass.

Loved the game:thumbsu:. Gripping stuff after all the one-sided slaughters.

Also DR, if you think that India are so good and have to whinge then read the first post and watch the clips. Pretty much puts you back in your box.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=406842

How does it put me back in my box? Should we accept dodgy umpiring?

It doesnt matter whether the match is played on the sub continent or the island continent, bad umpiring is bad umpiring and it possibly cost a team a test match.

Maybe the problem isnt India having a sook about bad umpiring. The problem could be the fact that Australia doesnt complain about bad umpiring.

How many people after the WCE game at TD called for the club to speak to the AFL about umpiring? Now how many of you are happy to accept the piss poor performance of the umpires in the Sydney test match?

Different situation on the boundary though, if they carry the ball over the rope, or touch the rope, it's not out and 6 runs, so they throw the ball back into play to save a few runs if they know they can't take the catch without going over the boundary.

What about the New Zealand player who took a great catch in the C-H ODI. He threw the ball out because he thought he was going to go over the rope but he wasnt anywhere near it. I reckon he held the ball for long enough for it to be deemed a catch. Why was it deemed not to be when you can throw the ball in celebration after holding a catch for not even a second?

How does it put me back in my box? Should we accept dodgy umpiring?

It doesnt matter whether the match is played on the sub continent or the island continent, bad umpiring is bad umpiring and it possibly cost a team a test match.

Maybe the problem isnt India having a sook about bad umpiring. The problem could be the fact that Australia doesnt complain about bad umpiring.

How many people after the WCE game at TD called for the club to speak to the AFL about umpiring? Now how many of you are happy to accept the piss poor performance of the umpires in the Sydney test match?

Why should they complain? If they did, the game would much, much worse. If they sub continent teams would stop whinging,the game would be 10 times better.

I did say to leave footy stuff out in my previous post.

What about the New Zealand player who took a great catch in the C-H ODI. He threw the ball out because he thought he was going to go over the rope but he wasnt anywhere near it. I reckon he held the ball for long enough for it to be deemed a catch. Why was it deemed not to be when you can throw the ball in celebration after holding a catch for not even a second?

That's the example where he did have control of his body. To be honest, I would have thought that this one should have been a catch. Ross Taylor I believe it was, but that's how the rules are written.

Ricky Ponting