Daz

Get your early predictions in.

I went and had a look at the off-season odds to see how much things had changed. They were:

$7 - O'Meara - Going strong. Probably still favourite.
$12 - Whitfield - Inconsistent. Round 2 was good, the rest pretty average.
$13 - Crouch - Not sure. Only played 1 game and I didn't see it.
$13 - Viney - Good. So combative though. Will surely tire as the year goes on.
$17 - Toumpas - Disappointing so far.
$17 - Wines - See Viney.
$21 - Stringer - Will debut very soon.
$21 - Daniher - Mug bet. Was never going to play early.
$21 - Plowman - He's been underwhelming. I don't see what makes him special.
$21 - Mitchell - Injured again unfortunately.

Mullett has come from nowhere. Averaging 23 touches in defence. Plays an eye catching brand of footy. God help us if he keeps playing well and we have to go through the Heppell vs Shuey, 1st year vs 3rd year debate.

Brown has impressed me. A solid citizen in defence but I can't see him winning.

Mayes has X-factor and if tonight is anything to go by he can find the footy as well. One to keep an eye on.

If Mayes continues to play like he did last night on debut, 21 possessions on 81% efficiency, 10 marks, 2 tackles, and 2 shots on goal from 55m out that were on target but just fell short because of the heavy, wet ball, he could be a real chance.

mullett is playing some really good footy, could be a smokey
The media will kill you on this one though mate. He's been brilliant, but he's not going to get anywhere near as much media coverage as say an O'Meara or Wines, or a walking highlights reel in Hill or Stringer. Often the winner will have gotten a lot of air time, and it's just not going to happen with Mullett, despite him playing some fantastic footy.

yep, reasonable response. small club problems

Reckon Nathan Wright, who we got with our first pick in the 2012 draft, is a bit of a smoky. Apparently really impressed over preseason and then was terrific in the NAB Cup and came in for his first game last night and had 22 possies, at 82%, off HB.

Will catch the eye with his manic attack on the ball or man and with his line-breaking speed/run and carry and the way he's not afraid to charge through packs when he's got the ball.

Doubt very much that he'll win it, but would have to be a big chance to get a nom as soon as this week, with by the sounds of it, Mayes.

Viney for me. Unless Kav puts in a massive year nobody will get a nom from us

Jackson Merrett if he gets his spot back (now has an opening with Kommer out for two games?)

Jed Anderson the round 3 nom.

Wines, Mullett, Anderson with nominations now.

Crouch, Mayes, Frost, Merrett, Kavanagh, Daniher, Crozier, Sutcliffe, Murdoch, Horlin-Smith, O'Meara, Allen, Whitfield, Plowman, Buntine, Sumner, Tyson, Hoskin-Elliott, Hill, Toumpas, Viney, T.Hine, Neade, Vlastuin, Wright, Newnes, Lamb, Stringer, Macrae, Young and Johannisen are all reasonable chances for nominations. Bolded are ones I'm more confident in thinking they will get one (barring injury etc, Daniher should play some football in the 2nd half of the year?)

Glad to see Anderson get the nod, love watching him. :thumbsu: Bit surprised he got one before Hill, though.

Just as a side note, Macrae will debut this week, and according to our captain Stringer will debut either this week or next week.

Jackson Merrett if he gets his spot back (now has an opening with Kommer out for two games?)

Jed Anderson the round 3 nom.

Wines, Mullett, Anderson with nominations now.

Crouch, Mayes, Frost, Merrett, Kavanagh, Daniher, Crozier, Sutcliffe, Murdoch, Horlin-Smith, O'Meara, Allen, Whitfield, Plowman, Buntine, Sumner, Tyson, Hoskin-Elliott, Hill, Toumpas, Viney, T.Hine, Neade, Vlastuin, Wright, Newnes, Lamb, Stringer, Macrae, Young and Johannisen are all reasonable chances for nominations. Bolded are ones I'm more confident in thinking they will get one (barring injury etc, Daniher should play some football in the 2nd half of the year?)
The majority of the Essendon board think that Baguley will come in because we were 1 defender short on Friday

Daniher will get a few games sparingly. His debut is likely to be against GWS in round 6. I think we'll see him get 5-8 games

Yeah I can't see anybody getting close to challenging Wines to be honest. Always front-and-centre in games and is easy to notice, racks up the possessions and clearances, kicks goals, high draft pick and is in a decent side. Don't get me wrong, there are some very good future players that will be nominated this year (and have been already) but Wines is just a ready-made footballer. Will be scarily good in a few years.

The majority of the Essendon board think that Baguley will come in because we were 1 defender short on Friday

Daniher will get a few games sparingly. His debut is likely to be against GWS in round 6. I think we'll see him get 5-8 games

Might be a good idea to give Baguley a run before ANZAC Day. Will be all hands on deck for your small defenders that round.

That should be enough for Daniher to get a nomination. With Patton now injured for the year, he is the most likely key forward to get one from what I can see.