AFL Autopsy RND 14: Chewed Up and Spat Out By the Cats

We had 2 players who didn’t even exist in the AFL 3 weeks ago and another 7 first or second year players, we aren’t getting within 10
goals of any team let alone Geelong.

For some perspective, we had 6 teenagers out there, North Melbourne tonight had 1, West Coast tomorrow have 1, Richmond last week had 3, you just cannot compete in this competition with that much inexperience.

You may want to watch the game.
You may also want to watch a few VFL games.
Vigo is good and I cant wait to see him the ones but, not instead of Goldy, with Goldy.
Trivial I know, each to your own.
I did watch the game and I do watch the VFL.

This team of players who didn’t play yesterday would probably beat the team that did.

B Ridley McKay Hayes
HB Redman Reid El Haawli
C Tsatas Hobbs Cox
HF Langford Jones Davey
F Menzie Draper Edwards
R Bryan Durham Shiel
INT Visentini Smartt McMahon Unwin
Agree with what you are saying. Lots of young players making young player mistakes. The disappointing aspect for me was several senior players making rookie mistakes as well but it is what it is. Lets face it, when you have to play a young bloke you drafted 3 weeks ago as a back up ruck and put him in defence despite him having never played there before he got to us then things are never going to be great.
At the game when I was looking at the match ups before the bounce and Laul was standing next to Blicavs on the wing it really hits home how tough it was going to be.
Anyway it is what it is.

Agree with what you are saying. Lots of young players making young player mistakes. The disappointing aspect for me was several senior players making rookie mistakes as well but it is what it is. Lets face it, when you have to play a young bloke you drafted 3 weeks ago as a back up ruck and put him in defence despite him having never played there before he got to us then things are never going to be great.
At the game when I was looking at the match ups before the bounce and Laul was standing next to Blicavs on the wing it really hits home how tough it was going to be.
Anyway it is what it is.
Is the experienced players making mistakes a bi-product of the inexperienced players around them? Is their positioning all wrong? There would be little confidence in passing to kids who they literally don’t even know, most of the kids we’ve brought in have only battled at VFL level, I am surprised more of the match didn’t look like the last quarter did to be honest.

Think it is some very poor decisions in their play.

Pardon the intrusion just wanted to pop in and say i was very impressed with a few of your younger less experienced players.
Can you arrange a job for them at Cotton On? Kthxbye.

I think this year Scott gets a free run to play the kids etc. if we are still getting smashed in 12 months time I think the pressure may come. I’d personally like to persist with Scott, as long as I see improvements

I absolutely agree. If we don't see an improved Essendon by the middle of next year, it'll be a problem. We don't need to be setting the world alight, but you need improvement.

In saying that, people shouldn't worry too much about this loss. Geelong look flag bound.

I absolutely agree. If we don't see an improved Essendon by the middle of next year, it'll be a problem. We don't need to be setting the world alight, but you need improvement.

In saying that, people shouldn't worry too much about this loss. Geelong look flag bound.
I think you are being very optimistic myself. The structure of the side needs some serious changes and personally I think next year will still be introducing young players into the side. I would be more looking at 2027 and 2028 to see if we are really heading in the right direction and improving. Getting some players fit will obviously help but lets face it, even with our best side we are pretty much a bunch of B & C grade battlers. they basically killed off the last build at the end of last year and said okay lets go back to the draft again for the next 3 or 4 years.

One thing I will say is turnovers not only kill you on the score board but they also kill your ability to run out games. Does not matter what level it is, if you spend too much time chasing back the other way you end up cooked. Happens all the time.

Think it is some very poor decisions in their play.
No doubt, but you do get that in most teams but the difference is they are setup to cover mistakes and turnovers, therefore they aren’t highlighted so badly, I think Bailey Smith was the highest turnover player on the ground, but who’s talking about that.

I do think there is an element of fatigue that sets in for the more experienced players having to cover off for the kids and just having to instruct more than usual, it all takes its toll.

No doubt, but you do get that in most teams but the difference is they are setup to cover mistakes and turnovers, therefore they aren’t highlighted so badly, I think Bailey Smith was the highest turnover player on the ground, but who’s talking about that.

I do think there is an element of fatigue that sets in for the more experienced players having to cover off for the kids and just having to instruct more than usual, it all takes its toll.
Would not 100% disagree but I also think some of the usual suspects just make dumb decisions.
McGrath is a decent defender but not the smartest ball user and I think being VC he tries to play beyond his capabilities. Parish has been nowhere for 3 seasons now.
Setterfield was one of our best and he does a job each week but he is basically a C grade skill wise.
Goldstein is what he is. The backup who is doing his best and played well but also had mistakes.
It is what it is. I suspect it will not be a lot better until we turn a few more players over and keep brining young players through until we find the right mix.
As for Smith. When you get 40 touches no one mentions turnovers I guess.

I had a vets game at the same time as this, followed by a trivia night straight after, so would've struggled getting through a replay regardless.

It's actually been good reading through the posts in this thread. Most are fairly pragmatic about the situation the club is in.

There will be a few more results like this, but like most on here, that is more than tolerable if the kids are getting valuable experience by doing it.

We need to look at who won't be helping us win a final in 2028 and cut them loose. Trade them out, pay a portion of their salary. Whatever. Load up on picks before Tassie comes in (yes, I'm still confident that's all happening)

Not really but if I wanted to draw a long bow... you could blame him for being a part of the decision makers in 2022 and 23 that didn't go into a harder rebuild mode. I'm just glad we're here now.
I agree that he should get some heat for some of the list decisions at the end of year 1. Obviously he thought that the list was in better shape than it was so a few contract decisions and player choices are now hurting. Problem is, as I have said before we head hunted him. He was not looking to coach. His view of us would have been similar to a lot in the media and in AFL circles and that was a side that has some good young players but is under performing. That is what the board sold him as well.
On top of that he has Dodoro telling him how potentially good the list is and we just need to develop them. Would have been hearing Lloyd say the same on radio and the back room coterie players saying the same thing. He comes on board. They spend a year looking at the football program and realise it has a lot of improvement needed. We play some okay footy in patches so the development view and improve the program seems to make sense. If we do that we may be going somewhere. So the grab a few players to maybe help things along as well. Problem is they spend most of 2024 in finals contention and even though there are some alarming signs at stages they can not cut and run until very deep in the season when we fade out again.
Thankfully they fire Dodoro out of the cannon and Rosa and Vozzo go to the board and bluntly say the list is not up to taking the next step. They go to Scott and he agrees that they have tried but it is not there. So here we are now. Starting a new plan.
So yes Scott does have to wear the fact he did not clearly identify where we where at and we wasted time but in saying that if he was a coach that did do a deep dive and said no mate you are not up to it we would not have hired him as Barham and the board thought we had the young players to progress. That is why Ross Lyon did not feel the vibe when we approached him. Not that he has made a much better choice but he knew he was in at the Saints and he just did not rate us.
We are a victim of our own doing.

AFL Autopsy RND 14: Chewed Up and Spat Out By the Cats