wart101

Portland FC
Is he worth holding on to? in the few games i seen him he looked to have good potential, but has he? is he a good player or not? :thumbsu:

Cue massive amounts of abuse from various Richmond fans on here... ;)

I like Roachy (yes, I said this in another thread about 5 mins ago) and I reckon he was mishandled this year. He looked really really good against the Eagles in round 3 until he broke his jaw and then, despite showing good form at Coburg, was overlooked for players like Rodan and Moore. Even when Hartigan got the boot, Roach wasn't looked at as a replacement (to be fair, he was probably still injured then). Even when Hyde hurt his shoulder and went quiet for a few games, they continued to play him over Roach and some others. It seems his future had been decided a long time ago, and TW was loath to play him.

He did ok in Round 22, against a far superior opposition, he kept Micheal Braun very quiet when he was on the ground. But it seemed too little, too late and KJ's gaffe at the b&f appears to have sealed his fate.

He hasn't been given the same chance that a Raines (for example) has...just intermittent games. I believe had he been given more than one game at a time, he would've emulated Raines...maybe not as much, but certainly becoming a regular starter in our 22. But it seems circumstances (and perhaps other things...) were against him.

Ok, attack me now... ;)

He hasn't been given the same chance that a Raines (for example) has...just intermittent games. I believe had he been given more than one game at a time said:
cmon fella, theres good reason he hasnt been given same opportunities as Raines , coz he aint got the ability....I have nothing against the kid, GM lauded the commitment of the young fella, unfortunately just not up to it..he really struggled to make an impact at Coburg letalone afl ...good luck to him

he is rubbish

spent the whole second half of the year at coburg and did nothing to warrant senior selection, only got the round 22 game because chubba knocked it back

before hartigan got injured he was dominating vfl like an afl listed player should

I'd be surprised if we kept him on, he just wasn't impressing at Coburg as PLSC said, and when we got desperate for numbers in the seniors late in the season, we chose others ahead of him, including Howat.

I was lucky enough to speak to him last friday night when i served him at a resturant in Richmond and he said he was ready for a big pre season and how he had been to the gym and all that jazz. Very nice bloke may i add, however if he is saying all this does it sound as though Terry has given him one last chance or when will his fate be heard? when are the delistments usually made

Rainsy said:
I was lucky enough to speak to him last friday night when i served him at a resturant in Richmond and he said he was ready for a big pre season and how he had been to the gym and all that jazz. Very nice bloke may i add, however if he is saying all this does it sound as though Terry has given him one last chance or when will his fate be heard? when are the delistments usually made
Thats crap.
I really know Thomas, in fact I'm going to see him tonight and play Basketball with him.

Tom pretty much knows it is all over at Richmond and has been offered to train with one other club so far, he is keeping himself fit just in case a footy club wants him, if no club wants him his most likely chance is to go play in the SANFL.

Why put Roach on the rookie list when he has had ample opportunity to prove himself. He only got the gig on the list in the first place because of feel-good propaganda crap in Spud the Dud's time.
Put an untried kid there and see how he goes. If he fails then he's achieved the same as Tom Roach.

Better off picking up his chubby taller brother who can kick goals apparently.

tugga said:
Why put Roach on the rookie list when he has had ample opportunity to prove himself. He only got the gig on the list in the first place because of feel-good propaganda crap in Spud the Dud's time.
Put an untried kid there and see how he goes. If he fails then he's achieved the same as Tom Roach.
Thomas has had less oppurtunaty than Kel Moore who is being retained on our list.
Tom definetly earned his right to be on Richmonds list under the f/s rule, I have followed him since a kid as I played for the same side he did, and all through out his teenage carrer he won Best and Fairest's with his many clubs including Oakleigh Chargers and Carey Grammer.

Mini Me...if he is so worthy of keeping his spot on the richmond list, how come he didn't perform when he needed to, round 22 against West Coast. Everything was in his favour...he had 100 minutes of game time, nice conditions for footy and he was playing on a wing at the MCG for gods sake, hence so much SPACE!!! For a quick and hard running winger, 5 possessions if it was even that is not good enough. Where Cam Howatt on the otherhand gets his 20 pluss possie games with less game time!!! Keeping Braun to 15 possessions to isnt much of an achievment aswell? So can u explain that Mini Me?

The B said:
Mini Me...if he is so worthy of keeping his spot on the richmond list, how come he didn't perform when he needed to, round 22 against West Coast. Everything was in his favour...he had 100 minutes of game time, nice conditions for footy and he was playing on a wing at the MCG for gods sake, hence so much SPACE!!! For a quick and hard running winger, 5 possessions if it was even that is not good enough. Where Cam Howatt on the otherhand gets his 20 pluss possie games with less game time!!! Keeping Braun to 15 possessions to isnt much of an achievment aswell? So can u explain that Mini Me?
Well first of all Braun was in some pretty good form leading up to that match and was dominating alot of games including 35 disposals against Brisbane two weeks before.

Second, the Tiges were thumped in the middle in that match making it hard for anyone to get alot of disposals.

Third, it was his first game playing AFL footy for 20 weeks and I don't know if you have ever played footy but for any player thats hard to fit into the groove instantly.

Fourth and final point is that Howat had been playing the previous 4 games giving him valuable game time that Thomas never had.

how about you take your lips off tommys butt

fair enough you know him and he is a mate, but its footy

get over it

PLSC said:
how about you take your lips off tommys butt

fair enough you know him and he is a mate, but its footy

get over it
I was just replying to "The B".
He asked something so I replied.

Kept Braun to 9 possies, then was taken off him at 3 quarter time. Braun then got 6 in the last quarter, making it look slightly better for Braun...and less good for Roachy, even though he wasn't even playing on him then.

mini_me, I'm in complete agreement with you. Tom was mishandled, thats the size of it. He never had a chance to cement his place in the side...never given a sizable amount of consecutive games. Whether or not he was just a feel-good story or not, he deserved more of a chance.

If he hadn't have broken his jaw in round 3, we'd be talking up the new Raines/Roach combination, I have no doubt. Unfortunately, that injury, at least in Terry's eyes, sealed his fate.

mini_me316 said:
Thomas has had less oppurtunaty than Kel Moore who is being retained on our list.
You reckon?
Moore's been injury plagued.
What's Roach's excuse?

Moore has been given more games in the ones than Thomas because:
(1) in his brief time at Coburg (between injuries) he has shown more than Roach.
(2) He plays a role we are deficient in. Roach doesn't.

Roach has had ample opportunity at Coburg. Unfortunately most of the Coburg listed players showed more than him.

One-eyed Tiger said:
You reckon?
Moore's been injury plagued.
What's Roach's excuse?

Moore has been given more games in the ones than Thomas because:
(1) in his brief time at Coburg (between injuries) he has shown more than Roach.
(2) He plays a role we are deficient in. Roach doesn't.

Roach has had ample opportunity at Coburg. Unfortunately most of the Coburg listed players showed more than him.
Exactly Moore has had an injury plagued carrer, where as Tom hasn't had so many injuries, but the simple fact that Moore can't seem to stay fit for a number of weeks has got to mean something doesn't it?
Plus Moore has been on Richmond's list for one year more than Tom, and started on the Rookie list which means every team bypassed him before we decided to picked him up.
Also Kel Moore wheighs only a few kg more than Tom and he is 6cm taller than Thomas and Thomas is in a very fit condition.

Tom hasn't played very well at Coburg not because others have shown more but because in the VFL it is much harder to play in a midfield role than a KP, Coburg players rarely pass to Richmond listed players and is one of the many reasons it is so hard for any player to dominate the team at VFL level, if you think about it you will know what I mean for example the really good forwards cant cut it at AFL level ie: Podsiadly and Edwards, but there are many good midfielders and players who blitz at both VFL and AFL level ie:Swallow and to a lesser extent Pendlebury.

he had the whole second half of the year at coburg and did nothing, even though i dont rate howat i can admit cam was playing very good footy and deserved his opportunity, roach didnt

this whole braun 10 possesions blah blah is a joke, braun had a finals series to look forward to and roach was playing for his career, meanwhile guys like le cras and rosa cut us up and missed a grand final some people think roach was unlucky, laughable

goodbye tom, tell your dad he was a champ:thumbsu: