Rookie Upgrades - Evans & Nicholson

We cant risk not giving a spot to Campbell..

I havnt seen them yet, but Evans seems to have been in the bests slightly more often than Nicholson??

Anyway the way we are going, we may well elevate all 3 of them!!!!!

when is the club likely to make a call on elevations? is there any reason to delay, or tonight to coincide with naming the squad for the weekend?

There's no reason to do it today unless they are going to name a player in tonight's side, which as much as many of us would like is pretty unlikely. There's no time limit on when you name a rookie & Melbourne might not have even officially listed those players on the LTI list yet, therefore can't upgrade rookies yet.

It's the smart thing to do to wait, as if we rush we could list a player who might get a 5-6 week injury while playing VFL & then have effectively lost that time someone else could've had being elevated.

I wouldn't expect an elevation today, but I'd watch out for Evans & Nicholson to play their rings off for Casey until them knowing that they're a chance for elevation very soon.

All eyes on tomorrow's Casey game. Looking forward to the reports and feedback.:thumbsu:

Surel now, with Dunn probably taking a holiday and visiting Trenners and Garland and Bail copping injuries we will see either Evans or Nicholson promoted this week and Grimes put on the LTI list. McKenzie hopefully can be in the senior mix in the next few weeks as well so hope he plays well tomorrow.

Wouldn't be surprised to actually see him leading the B&F at Casey also. Been very solid without dominating. But I just see what we need in Nicholson more so than Evans. Like I said, with McKenzie and Scully coming back, I feel we need more 'outside' running players like Nicholson. He has that touch of class that maybe Evans lacks. But I love the way Evans goes about his footy. He's hard at it and has that intensity at the contest, and I won't be surprised if he's on our senior list in a couple of years time tbh. But right now, I think the Dees would need more of a running back flanker type(as in Nicholson).

Mate i think we need as many of these players as we can get at the moment. Players that will get in and amongst it for the whole game and take the impetus to win their own ball

Spencer, Grimes and Fitz are all on the LTI list - so we can upgrade Nicholson and Campbell too when they're ready.

Remembering back to the Aaron Davey days, it costs 20 thousand dollars to upgrade a rookie yes? They will only get upgraded just before debuting.

Good on him though. I always get excited watching debutants.

Mate i think we need as many of these players as we can get at the moment. Players that will get in and amongst it for the whole game and take the impetus to win their own ball

Agreed. All players should be hard at it, but I was just trying to make the point that Nicholson would more likely fill a need more so than Evans down the track. The team is crying out for running defenders who can hit targets. Nicholson is playing this role currently.

Evans is a beauty! I wish him all the best, and he's taken his chance more so than Nicholson so far. I'm just not sure with Trengove and Scully to come back in, if Evans will be still getting a game? I feel the team needs an in form Nicholson more than an in form Evans. But both look like good prospects(as does Lawrence)...

Remembering back to the Aaron Davey days, it costs 20 thousand dollars to upgrade a rookie yes? They will only get upgraded just before debuting.
I thought it was about 15k.

What I do remember was the MFC asking some wealthy supporters for money because the club literally couldn't afford it.

Glad those days are gone.

Welcome Dan Nicholson!!

Elevated & playing tomorrow night as per HS Supercoach facebook page.

Evans was impressive on debut, showed he'll take a little bit to adjust but great endeavour none the less, hoping for the same from Nicho.

One bright spot from our form/injuries is getting to see these blokes get a chance

Seems like good scouting and drafting by BP to get two rookie players tearing up the VFL and earning a place on the senior list!

Injuries have obviously played their part but still, Evans didn't look out of place... hopefully Nicholson can have a similar impact

Cant be often that TWO rookies (and no recycled players) make their way into the senior team before any of the national draft selections do.

Great for Nicho considering he was playing VAFA last year, some dreams do come true :thumbsu:

congrates to both for making it !!
can't wait to see daniel play been looking forward to watching him play at afl level, didn't think it would come this quick.
it's gonna be a good feeling when all these great young kids are developed and we have plenty of talent too choose from to be in the team on game day..

Cant be often that TWO rookies (and no recycled players) make their way into the senior team before any of the national draft selections do.

Great for Nicho considering he was playing VAFA last year, some dreams do come true :thumbsu:

yeah its almost as if these boys were overlooked because they werent as 'athletically' gifted as the draftees, either that or our recruting of rookies is the best in the land

Evans was overlooked because he pretty much always injured from age 16-18. Who knows how he would've gone without injures? Might've been a top 40 pick. Lots of scope for improvement.

yeah its almost as if these boys were overlooked because they werent as 'athletically' gifted as the draftees, either that or our recruting of rookies is the best in the land
Nope, Evans was shuffled down due to injury amongst other things, but Nicholson was probably more due to the fact he isn't much of a kick. We have to be prepared for the odd turnover tomorrow night.

lol. Mate we're dees supporters. Always prepared for the odd turnover-cum-disaster in front of goals :rolleyes:

Evans was overlooked because he pretty much always injured from age 16-18. Who knows how he would've gone without injures? Might've been a top 40 pick. Lots of scope for improvement.

Funny you say top 40 for Evans, someone bumped a Nicholson thread on the D&T board from before last years national draft & there was a lot of talk about Collingwood taking Nicholson with there picks in the mid forties. Also talk of North & Brisbane being keen on him in the national draft. None of it ever came to fruition, but they were in people's minds for the ND, obviously we saw enough to grab them as rookies.

Any rookie (not previously AFL listed) just getting a game is an immediate win for selecting them.

Our rookie drafting would have to be at least top 5, it's our ND picks where we ask the questions (not saying good or bad, but where hindsight is a killer). If we could afford it, maybe prenders should be just a rookie hunter & we give someone else a bash at the ND talent. Or maybe someone less known is the really gifted spotter finding these gems in the rookie draft & they need a promotion??

Funny you say top 40 for Evans, someone bumped a Nicholson thread on the D&T board from before last years national draft & there was a lot of talk about Collingwood taking Nicholson with there picks in the mid forties. Also talk of North & Brisbane being keen on him in the national draft. None of it ever came to fruition, but they were in people's minds for the ND, obviously we saw enough to grab them as rookies.

Any rookie (not previously AFL listed) just getting a game is an immediate win for selecting them.

Our rookie drafting would have to be at least top 5, it's our ND picks where we ask the questions (not saying good or bad, but where hindsight is a killer). If we could afford it, maybe prenders should be just a rookie hunter & we give someone else a bash at the ND talent. Or maybe someone less known is the really gifted spotter finding these gems in the rookie draft & they need a promotion??

I reckon Prenders has been sensational to be honest.

Hindsight will make any recruiting manager look like they missed a few - but since Prendergast has been at Melbourne I think he's done very well. The only one he'd really like again would have been Strauss at this stage - and he may still come good in any case.