Analysis Ross Lyon

Didn't say I was confident that is what is happening but it is something I keep thinking about, not showing all your aces against certain opponents at least too far out from finals so they get time to counter it. The next two games are where we might get an idea, if we suddenly pull out the 'A' game (especially against North in the first half) - then I will have more confidence that it is about RTB timing his run and not all over poor form.

Eagles for example have no aces left up their sleeve now - must win every game and we will know exactly what we are up against (although players like NN and Lecras come back in).
Naitanui is handy and so is Le Cras.

The same problems could be said about the Hawthorn side circa 2013 after two failed finals series. They too had a bogey team (Geelong) who they seriously struggled against up until their Prelim against them. The fact of the matter is the top end of the competition will always be tight and their will always be teams we struggle against (Richmond, Hawthorn) and teams we have the wood over (West Coast, Geelong). These are problems that all teams share.

In regards to Hawthorn it is not there attacking/ high possession game plan that kills us, rather that the likes of Mitchell, Hodge and Burgoyne seem to have a field day in the midfield whilst our top liners such as Mundy, Fyfe and Neale are nullified. We simply cannot implement our press and pressure unless we win our share of clearances and contested possessions in the midfield. If we win the midfield battle we beat Hawthorn.

Ross Lyon is coach that is able to get a club and add desire, work ethic, comitment, structure straight away from a middling start point. In all honesty I'm not certain even Ross would've thought we would be where we are now at the start of the year, I recall him stating that if at about halfway through this year we were 50/50 he would start play young guys. We went 8 nil, maybe we should've played one or two more young along the way but we stuck strong to who was in mostly. IMO Zac C has to come in for mobility.
We are now two games from the minor premiership with the chance to get two home finals. It's restart your engines at season end three wins straight and we are champions.
Clarkson is an excellent coach but it took him eight years to get to GF with lots of early draft picks which they had a lot of luck to win and then another four years to loose to the swans. His coaching disciples at dogs and eagles have turned up with more skill to work with and are now looking ok but have won nothing yet either.
We are still in it but IMO win or loose this year next year is the time to start throwing more young guys in.
So all in all Ross has the ability to get some excellent players with some not so good to be very strong units. Wether you like him or don't he is a f..king good coach.

Ross Lyon is coach that is able to get a club and add desire, work ethic, comitment, structure straight away from a middling start point. In all honesty I'm not certain even Ross would've thought we would be where we are now at the start of the year, I recall him stating that if at about halfway through this year we were 50/50 he would start play young guys. We went 8 nil, maybe we should've played one or two more young along the way but we stuck strong to who was in mostly. IMO Zac C has to come in for mobility.
We are now two games from the minor premiership with the chance to get two home finals. It's restart your engines at season end three wins straight and we are champions.
Clarkson is an excellent coach but it took him eight years to get to GF with lots of early draft picks which they had a lot of luck to win and then another four years to loose to the swans. His coaching disciples at dogs and eagles have turned up with more skill to work with and are now looking ok but have won nothing yet either.
We are still in it but IMO win or loose this year next year is the time to start throwing more young guys in.
So all in all Ross has the ability to get some excellent players with some not so good to be very strong units. Wether you like him or don't he is a f..king good coach.

Well we are top of the ladder so he can't be that crap. As far as we know our list is fit with choice of best 22 coming up to the finals. That's not anything to mess with. So..it's probably premature to cane him. Wait till the end of the season. I'm waiting to see what happens against north.

Kidding themselves that we've got something left up our sleeve or kidding themselves thinking Ross put everything into the derby?

First.
We've been playing like shit since round 8.
We've been lucky to continue winning in a lot of cases.
In the first 8 I could see Lyon holding the reins.
Since then not so much.

First.
Since then not so much.

See there's your view, which seems logical enough based on the input. Then the other, of which I would be one, that there's more to the team than meets the eye. This has been a great aspect of the season I reckon.

Well we are top of the ladder so he can't be that crap. As far as we know our list is fit with choice of best 22 coming up to the finals. That's not anything to mess with. So..it's probably premature to cane him. Wait till the end of the season. I'm waiting to see what happens against north.

I'm not certain what your on about here but I certainly did cane anyone,certainly Ross.

First.
Since then not so much.

I think at times he's been content to let go of the reins and observe how the wagon holds up as we hit certain snags and bumps. E.g. first quarters against Tigers and Eagles. I think we're reasonably well situated to reset prior to finals. First quarter of the qualifying final will be very telling.

Clarkson took over in 2005, not 2000. 4 Years to win his first.

I honestly think we need to upgrade our coaching list, there are too many similar types in the box,
wouldn't mind seeing us poach one from hawks. A contingency plan wouldn't go astray either.
Too many 'yes' men and sycophants in my humble, but that's just me.

People don't care and let a lot go when you're in that position.

Freo are literally in the best seat to win the flag – no better spot than top. But you really need to take your chances, and so far Freo haven't. There's been two genuine shots at the big one and you can blame inexperience, nerves, injuries, whatever... but the reality is that Fremantle has pissed chances against the wall, and no one wants to see us go to our final finals series as genuine contenders and not be equipped to go the whole way.

Fans are rightfully worried about the team repeating the same mistakes and not being up to Hawthorn. It's not negativity. People get angrier when you're doing well because there's so much more to lose.

I'm more annoyed at the choice of words in this thread. You say we've "pissed our chances away". I'm sorry but I don't classify making a grand final, a semi final, and being top of the ladder as pissing anything away at all. Grand finals are very very very difficult to make let alone to win, so much so that making one is in and of itself taking your chances.

In the three years that we've been in contention, the team that's actually won and is favourite to win this year is a bloody good unit and able to cover their shortcomings literally by buying players. I'm not using that as an excuse, it's a perfectly reasonable and effective way to obtain a premiership, but take that away from them and I don't think they would have been anywhere near as successful as building a list as Freo and Ross Lyon have been.

I'd look at replacing Sumich. The forward line works very similar to his 'bomb long to the land of giants' shit he did at West Coast. It didn't work with a much better forward line there, has nil hope of working here.

Clarkson took over in 2005, not 2000. 4 Years to win his first.

He was lucky though. Geelong should have shut that game at half time with all the sitters they missed and then Dew pulls that 3rd quarter out of his arse.
But, you have to have a little bit of luck [which we didn't in the 1st quarter of our GF], so good on him

I'd look at replacing Sumich. The forward line works very similar to his 'bomb long to the land of giants' shit he did at West Coast. It didn't work with a much better forward line there, has nil hope of working here.
YES I HAVE SAID THIS SO MANY TIMES! Why is he still our forwards coach???? AAAAARRRRGHHHHHHHH!!!!

= MJ and some slow down on Lyon's part

I agree that losing MJ has been a big part - a large part of our attack is our attacking defence. Ballantyne's form and then injury is another issue in that slow down.

I agree wholeheartedly with your other point, but this one does make me nervous.

I really struggle to think of teams who have coasted in to finals only to witness a dramatic turnaround in terms of form. It's a seriously difficult thing to accomplish if you haven't refined it in the weeks previous. Yes, we've done it before resting players. However we've had some decidedly average performances recently with a near full strength squad. Resting is a different kettle of fish to playing average footy.

That said, I am encouraged by the last quarter in particular, and it is not long ago that we beat Richmond (an undeniably good side) at the G without Fyfe.

Must say I didn't think we were in sparkling form in the second half of 2013. Had a run of easy games against very poor opposition and pumped Port Adelaide at home before losing to St Kilda while resting players. Really, only the Port Adelaide win showed that we were coming into good form. I never expected the win against Geelong away and that was really the turning point. So reckon there is still hope for it all to click this year.

Our third loss of the year, 6 points clear and we need to win 2 from the last 3 to finish top. Almost no injuries. And here we have a scorched earth panic. Who are these Dockers fans who think they're owed a premiership?
Or who think the RTB who is thorough, unsentimental and ploughs through getting the 4 points week after week will suddenly magic up some inspiration so that we never lose again?
Well, here's the news. Every team loses sometimes. Sydney did everything right last year and got spanked in the GF. It happens.
As it stands, we're in as strong a position as you could ever hope for.

Our third loss of the year, 6 points clear and we need to win 2 from the last 3 to finish top. Almost no injuries. And here we have a scorched earth panic. Who are these Dockers fans who think they're owed a premiership?
Or who think the RTB who is thorough, unsentimental and ploughs through getting the 4 points week after week will suddenly magic up some inspiration so that we never lose again?
Well, here's the news. Every team loses sometimes. Sydney did everything right last year and got spanked in the GF. It happens.
As it stands, we're in as strong a position as you could ever hope for.

spot on. the amateur armchair critics must make Ross smile with their indepth analysis/anxiety. these people will be the first to declare Ross a God if we do go premiers. if we do i think it will be the best coaching performance for along time given the majority of our stars are aging and a bottom 6 which can drive some insane on here. jeepers that does sound like st kilda

Ross said on 6PR that Barlow has played the same position he has always played. Interesting, as this would be contrary to what people have been saying on here. My preference would be for Fyfe to play at half-forward and have Barlow in the middle with Neale and Mundy. Ross indicated there would be pressure on for spots, which should hopefully spur the players on to play consistently.

We were very lucky to get past Richmond after they were (I thought) the better side on the day.
The Hawks annihilated us.
The Eagles beat us with 3 of their best players out and their last tall defender missing for most of the second half.

Fair enough if you think thats good form to take into finals. I haven't been very impressed with our recent outings against better sides.

Agree with this. Richmond were the better side on the day, but were let down by a really bad decision in the dying moments of the game. The only stats we won on the day were the hit-outs and tackles.

Intriguingly, we won the stat war in my opinion against West Coast. On paper we were better than West Coast yesterday but our skills were the worst I have ever seen. I agree with Mathew Lloyd, we are not the best team in the competition. I think we can be though.