Pjkimber

Detroit Red Wings
I know this is a little early considering the luck we have had with injuries so far. But with the list of players that are not injured at the time of posting, who would you select for the match against the Hawks?

B: McDonald Warnock Rivers

HB: Grimes Frawley Strauss

C: Blease Bruce Davey

HF: Sylvia Miller Green

FF: Petterd Bate Wonaemirri

R: Jamar Moloney Jones

INT: Martin MacDonald Trengove Scully

KEY MATCH UPS I WOULD LIKE TO SEE

Jamar V Hawks Ruck: With Hawthorns depleted ruck stocks Jamar may be able to Ruck the whole game himself, Stef Martin as a handy 2nd ruck. The one area we will look better in than hawthorn.

Col Sylvia V Luke Hodge: Only because I would love to see Col take one of his SCREAMERS over Hodge.

Moloney V Mitchell:
2 hard nuts up against each other.

Without Buddy & Williams stretching us, maybe Riv can help out on Roughy 3rd man up like the old days. Midfield we should at the very least break even, it'll be down to how well our forward line goes if we can get 10 somehow out of Bate, Petterd, Miller, Wona, and maybe 6-8 from the rest of the team we might end up with a winning score.

Blease won't play. Look for Dunn or Bartram to get a game. And Bruce will play ahead of all 3.

Edit: didn't read the team properly. Still Bennell will be ahead of Blease considering he hasn't even played a scratch match yet

No way Blease will play Round 1. Bennell in for him.

Also word is (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90465/default.aspx) that Garland could play Rd 1. In that case I'd have him in for Strauss, and hopefully ripping it up at FF.

The way I see it, if Jamar plays we have a chance of winning. If not, don't even bother.

And if our midfield "breaks even" with the Hawks', I will eat my hat. Have you forgotten who they have in there? Even without Sewell, they still have Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman, Lewis, Ellis (injured?), and possibly Burgoyne and Rioli.

Would like to see Davey and Bateman head-to-head on a wing. Delicious.

No way Blease will play Round 1. Bennell in for him.

Also word is (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90465/default.aspx) that Garland could play Rd 1. In that case I'd have him in for Strauss, and hopefully ripping it up at FF.

The way I see it, if Jamar plays we have a chance of winning. If not, don't even bother.

And if our midfield "breaks even" with the Hawks', I will eat my hat. Have you forgotten who they have in there? Even without Sewell, they still have Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman, Lewis, Ellis (injured?), and possibly Burgoyne and Rioli.

Would like to see Davey and Bateman head-to-head on a wing. Delicious.

INJURED!

dragan-dabic-eating-hat01a.jpg

I think Batemans out as well.

For mine:

B: Garland Warnock Rivers
HB: Bruce Frawley MacDonald
C: Trengove Grimes Davey
R: Jamar Moloney McDonald

INT: Martin Scully Jones Bennell

EMG: Strauss Dunn Maric Bartram

Just had flash backs of a certain Melbourne Board favorite having a emotional breakdown and psychotic episode over the mention that Franklin is out suspended for this clash...

Bateman and Lewis as well? Well that's awkward. I knew Cyril and Burgoyne were unlikely, but now I'm excited. We could be worth a nibble at long odds...:thumbsu:

Have to say, i like the pic lol. Looks like that Serbian war-crimes guy...:confused:

My bad...was meant to slot in bennell instead of blease. I am slightly optimistic that we are a good chance to steal a win Round1.

Found this on the Hawks board re: Team for rnd 1.

Team
Guerra------Gilham----- Brown
Birchall-----Gibson------Ladson
Ellis------Mitchell-------Muston
Osbourne----Roughhead-------Rioli?
Hooper------Dowler------Moss
Renouf------Hodge--------Shiels

Lisle, Schonmakers, JKT, Morton

Suckling, Stratton, Murphy

Backline pretty much intact, Rucks - Renouf/Roughie/Lisle, struggling through the midfield, need a big one from Dowler up forward

Question Marks due to niggles and poor preseason matches
Osbourne
Dowler
Rioli
Ladson
Ellis

Missing
Burgoyne (Round 2)
Lewis (Unknown)
Sewell (Unknown)
Taylor (Unknown)
Young (Round 3)
Bateman (Round 2)
Franklin (Round 2)

TBH we will give this team a run for their money, they have some massive outs. :D

The Hawthorn team we play in round 1 will be missing a chunk of their midfield and forward line and therefore we should be at least competitive. But nothing in our NAB form has suggested that we are massively improved from last year, so for all those getting confident I would be careful.

Remember what happened when we played a Hawthorn side with a few out in round 1 2008, it was painful.

You know, I think we're gonna win Round 1. They got alotta outs, I know we got injuries of our own but... Hawks will start a little shaky I reckon. We can win. We WILL win. I feel it coming, I got that feeling. ;)

Who's with me? :cool:

B: McDonald Warnock Rivers

HB: MacDonald Frawley Bruce

C: Grimes Sylvia Davey

HF: Trengove Bate Green

FF: Petterd Miller Wonaeamirri

R: Jamar Moloney Jones

INT: Martin Bail Dunn Scully

EME: Garland Strauss Maric

Thats my opinion

I think Batemans out as well.

For mine:

B: Garland Warnock Rivers
HB: Bruce Frawley MacDonald
C: Trengove Grimes Davey
R: Jamar Moloney McDonald

INT: Martin Scully Jones Bennell

EMG: Strauss Dunn Maric Bartram
No captain?

FB: Garland Frawley MacDonald
HB: Bruce Rivers Bennell/Strauss
C: Trengove Moloney Scully
HF: Davey Bate Green
FF: Petterd Miller Maric
Foll: Jamar McDonald Grimes
Int: Spencer McKenzie Jones Bail

Bout right I reckon mate. Think Bennell will get the nod and Jones will start on the ground and Scully on the pine

Don't think you'll find too many Hawkers saying this will be a walk in the park at all.

Both teams got some very useful players that won't be available through injury or suspension and not convinced too many will be performing too much analysis on the NAB challenge games.....seriously, do you know anyone (who follows footy) that doesn't say about these NAB games...., "i don't care about the result, please - just no injuries..."

Assuming both teams can actually get 22 fit blokes each out on the park, reckon it should be a good battle!:thumbsu:

Definitely no Martin??

We have lost love for Warnock. I think Bailey will play him as he is one of his golden children.

Bennell and Strauss to play at the expense of Bail.

That forward line is a massive concern considering the delivery they will receive from the likes of McDonald, Jones, Bruce and bombs away Moloney.

Definitely no Martin??

We have lost love for Warnock. I think Bailey will play him as he is one of his golden children.

Bennell and Strauss to play at the expense of Bail.

That forward line is a massive concern considering the delivery they will receive from the likes of McDonald, Jones, Bruce and bombs away Moloney.
Yes, Martin does not deserve a spot in the team, can't mark, couldn't play fwd or back, his kicking style looked better but was missing targets.
I think Warnock has to be in the team, and I don't see what he has done wrong.
I think Bail has played well over the last two weeks and probably deserves another chance at the top level, don't think Strauss is completely ready for the top level yet.

Not sure about the rest of the side, but I think our forward line for round 1 should be this:

Tapscott - Watts - Morton
Sylvia - Jurrah - Wonaeamirri