Ticktak

Glenelg FC, Canucks, Seahawks
This is my team for round 1 v the Bulldogs barring injury.

FF Edwards Tippett Goodwin

HF Burton McGregor Porplyzia

C VanBerlo Shirely Knights

HB Mcleod Bock Stevens

FB Doughty Rutten Johncock

R Maric Thompson Douglas

Int Griffen Symes Mackay Reilly

- Bassett unlucky but don't see room for 3 talls in backline against Bulldogs and a little behind theothers at this time of year
- Vince unlucky but really think Douglas is not far away from ripping a game apart
- Maric deserves first crack
- Sellar unlucky but Tippett has a bit more to offer at the moment
- Mackay is all class and will not be out of his depth
- Mcleod to go forward later in game but help the backline settle early and not let Morris play on him all day

FF

What? No one at the Crows good enough for your best 22? :p

FF Edwards Tippett Goodwin

HF Burton McGregor Porplyzia

C VanBerlo Shirely Knights

HB Mcleod Bock Stevens

FB Doughty Rutten Johncock

R Maric Thompson Douglas

Int Griffen Symes Mackay Jacky

Drop: Doughty
Pick: Reilly

Drop: Jacky
Pick: Vince

McLeod to the forward pocket.
VanBerlo to the back pocket.
Reilly to the centre.
Shirley & Edwards to the bench.

... + other moves to suit.

... perhaps. Certainly Reilly should make the side ahead of Jacky, at the very least.

Reilly to the centre.

... perhaps. Certainly Reilly should make the side ahead of Jacky, at the very least.

Shit, I forgot Reilly. Yeah agree Reilly for Jacky. Will edit it now. How do you fit them all in.

Reilly to the centre.

I agree with the above team and moves

Hehe, always fun trying to pick the team for rd 1, given what I've seen in Dubai and heard/read about Fremantle:

B: Johncock Rutten Doughty
HB: Stevens Bock van Berlo
C: Reilly Thompson Symes
HF: Mcleod Sellar Burton
FF: Edwards McGregor Goodwin
1R: Maric Porplyzia Knights
I: Griffen, Vince, Shirley, Basset
E: Tippet, Douglas, Mackay

- Really tough to leave out Tippet and Mackay, but with very little footy in them from the past year, a couple of SANFL games wouldn't hurt to build up the confidence, don't expect Mackay to be there long.
- Depending on the form of Maric/Griffen, Moran or Tippet could play, I think Sellar probably deserves a shot up forward currently.
-Think Gill might require a couple of matches in the SANFL before he gets a game, just to build up that match fitness a little.
- Have given Doughty a game, his extra size could be useful to shore up the defence if nothing else.
- Douglas by the sounds is lacking a little confidence, give him a run in the SANFL for a week or so just to regain it.
- There will be a couple of welcome headaches come selection week for NC as well as unlucky young players, unfortunately we can't take a bench of 8 in.

I was going to ask where was reilly.. Best performed so far this year and looking to a big year i think..

Will depend who the dogs play for the match ups and who we have fit but

FF Goodwin Tippett Burton

HF Mcleod Mcgregor Gill

C Reilly Porplyzia vanBerlo

HB Symes Bock Stevens

FB Johncock Rutten Bassett

RUCK Maric Thompson Edwards

BENCH Griffin Knights Moran Sellar

Sellar or Moran may have to make way for Vince or Mackay..
Few like gill and bassett may not be fit..
Give symes, knights, goody rotation through midfield..
Can use extra height to expose the dogs but have to watch for them exposing that with running off..
Looking forward to vince, mackay, jacky and douglas getting future games as regulars..

I’d normally go ahead and make a team no worries, but as of right now there are still too many question marks and right now I’m still unsure of who will make up our team come Round 1.

Sellar, Tippett, Symes, Douglas, Vince, Campbell, Moran, Mackay and a maybe one or two others are all fighting for positions. I was prepared to slot Sellar into the team after the Collingwood game but he came back down to earth against Freo. I DO believe one of Sellar/Tippett will be included to face the Dogs, but I highly doubt they’ll both be in.

Symes will probably make the team as a rebounding defender now that McLeod finally looks set to spend more time up forward. I think he and Campbell could well be fighting for the one spot and Symes is probably just ahead at this stage.

Then of course there’s the ruck battle. I’d have Maric #1 and Griffin backing him up, but with Maric’s struggles on Sunday perhaps it’s not so clear cut after all. I don’t however see Tippett or Moran being included for their rucking capabilities which is good news for the two I mentioned earlier.

All in all for the first time in quite a while there are still a lot of positions up for grabs.

I’d normally go ahead and make a team no worries, but as of right now there are still too many question marks and right now I’m still unsure of who will make up our team come Round 1.

Sellar, Tippett, Symes, Douglas, Vince, Campbell, Moran, Mackay and a maybe one or two others are all fighting for positions. I was prepared to slot Sellar into the team after the Collingwood game but he came back down to earth against Freo. I DO believe one of Sellar/Tippett will be included to face the Dogs, but I highly doubt they’ll both be in.

Symes will probably make the team as a rebounding defender now that McLeod finally looks set to spend more time up forward. I think he and Campbell could well be fighting for the one spot and Symes is probably just ahead at this stage.

Then of course there’s the ruck battle. I’d have Maric #1 and Griffin backing him up, but with Maric’s struggles on Sunday perhaps it’s not so clear cut after all. I don’t however see Tippett or Moran being included for their rucking capabilities which is good news for the two I mentioned earlier.

All in all for the first time in quite a while there are still a lot of positions up for grabs.

Have a crack, we wont hold you to it. Just a bit of fun.

I DO believe one of Sellar/Tippett will be included to face the Dogs, but I highly doubt they’ll both be in.

Got to agree here:thumbsu:, unless Tippet is playing as one of our 2 ruckman, 1 of Tippet and Sellar will play as a forward. At the moment, IMO Sellar has probably taken the cake as a forward and probably has done enough, although maybe Tippets just hasn't spent enough time up there. Would like to see both get a bit more game time up forward though before the preseason is done.

boys i think you are vastly underestimating how good some of your young midfielders are i think you team will line up something like this.

BP: Johncock Rutten Stevens
HB: Symes Bock Edwards
C: Van Berlo Thompson Knights
HF: Porplyzia McGregor Mcleod
FF: Burton Sellar Douglas
F: Maric Reilly Goodwin
In: Tippett/Griffen Vince Shirley Doughty

:thumbsu:
Hehe, always fun trying to pick the team for rd 1, given what I've seen in Dubai and heard/read about Fremantle:

B: Johncock Rutten Doughty
HB: Stevens Bock van Berlo
C: Reilly Thompson Symes
HF: Mcleod Sellar Burton
FF: Edwards McGregor Goodwin
1R: Maric Porplyzia Knights
I: Griffen, Vince, Shirley, Basset
E: Tippet, Douglas, Mackay

- Really tough to leave out Tippet and Mackay, but with very little footy in them from the past year, a couple of SANFL games wouldn't hurt to build up the confidence, don't expect Mackay to be there long.
- Depending on the form of Maric/Griffen, Moran or Tippet could play, I think Sellar probably deserves a shot up forward currently.
-Think Gill might require a couple of matches in the SANFL before he gets a game, just to build up that match fitness a little.
- Have given Doughty a game, his extra size could be useful to shore up the defence if nothing else.
- Douglas by the sounds is lacking a little confidence, give him a run in the SANFL for a week or so just to regain it.
- There will be a couple of welcome headaches come selection week for NC as well as unlucky young players, unfortunately we can't take a bench of 8 in.

:thumbsu: My side exactly. Bass may not be fit. And Id likr Gill to play but reckon he will miss round 1, MAybe Massie for Bass if he isnt fit

FF Sellar ~ Burton ~ Porplyzia

HF Edwards ~ McGregor ~ Goodwin

C Reilly ~ Shirley ~ Knights

HB McLeod ~ Bock ~ Stevens

FB Bassett ~ Rutten ~ Johncock

R: Maric ~ Thompson ~ Van Berlo

Int: Griffen ~ Symes ~ Doughty ~ Douglas

Nathan Bassett is a seasoned veteran and knows what it takes to play at that level, anyway I wouldn’t be surprised to see him play this week either with the crows or at Norwood and by round 1 he will be right to go.

I think Sellar will get the nod over Tippett in the forward pocket – it was a close call but Sellar is a little bit in front for me however he (Tippett) still may get the nod over Griffin as that back up ruckman.

This team is probably unrealistic but this is how i would select the side.

FF Tippett McGregor McLeod
HF Sellar Burton Goodwin
C Knights van Berlo Douglas
HB Symes Bock Bassett
FB Stevens Rutten Johncock

R Griffin Thompson Porplyzia

Int: Maric Edwards Vince Doughty

Emg: Mackay Shirley Jericho

Prob forgot someone

Edit: ok Dogga prob deserves his spot

HF Sellar Burton Goodwin
C Knights van Berlo Symes
HB Symes Bock Bassett

Int: Maric Edwards Douglas Vince

Emg: Mackay Doughty Shirley

Yep. :D

HF Sellar Burton Goodwin
C Knights van Berlo Symes
HB Symes Bock Bassett

Int: Maric Edwards Douglas Vince

Emg: Mackay Doughty Shirley

Prob forgot someone
I'd say very unrealistic given you have listed Symes twice; so yes you did foreget someone - a 22nd player !

What sort of side will the Bullies play ? In the past they have gone in fairly small in the forward line, causing NC some matchup problems. It got to the point where Truck Rutten can look forward at the start of each season to playing 2 games at Full Forward each year - the 2 games against the Bullies.

I'd say very unrealistic given you have listed Symes twice; so yes you did foreget someone - a 22nd player !

What sort of side will the Bullies play ? In the past they have gone in fairly small in the forward line, causing NC some matchup problems. It got to the point where Truck Rutten can look forward at the start of each season to playing 2 games at Full Forward each year - the 2 games against the Bullies.

We havn't had too many problems with the Bullies forward line in the past, Basset, usally does Johnson like a dogs dinner, the only danger has been Darcy and he's no longer there. Welsh shouldn't be too much of a worry and yes, we probably do have the luxury of Rutten up forward if we want.

I see theres a new face in the bullies defence, or at least a new name to watch out for in defence, Brian "change my name" Lake(Harris).

Reckon James is pretty well on the money

B: Johncock, Rutten, Bassett (assuming fit)
HB: Stevens, Bock, Symes
C: Knights, Reilly, van Berlo
HF: McLeod, Sellar, Burton
F: Edwards, McGegor, Goodwin
R: Griffin, Porplyzia, Thompson
I: Maric, Doughty, Shirley, Vince
E: Tippett, Douglas, Moran

We havn't had too many problems with the Bullies forward line in the past, Basset, usally does Johnson like a dogs dinner, the only danger has been Darcy and he's no longer there. Welsh shouldn't be too much of a worry and yes, we probably do have the luxury of Rutten up forward if we want.

I see theres a new face in the bullies defence, or at least a new name to watch out for in defence, Brian "change my name" Lake(Harris).
Will be intruiging to see who matches up on Welshy - Stevo I reckon is the go, which leave the Hound for Johnno

I haven't seen any of the games this year, but from all reports I've read my team would be something like:

Goodwin McGregor McLeod
Maric Burton Sellar Edwards
Porplyzia van Berlo Knights Reilly
Thompson Stevens Bock Symes
Bassett Rutten Johncock

Griffin Vince Shirley Tippett/MacKay/Douglas

Depending on form for the next few weeks and the make up of the Dogs team would affect the last spot.

Its always interesting to see how different peoples teams compare. Some players (such as Doughty) find it hard to get in some peoples teams no matter how well they play, while others seem to get picked even if their form is iffy.

No matter what we all have our favourites and not and generally these teams reflect that. I'd love to get the chance to sit in on a selection meeting once.

I agree with Drummond that's too early after two PS games.

Everyone would have had Sellar in after game 1, and maybe on the borderline from game 2.

I will make some predictions for game 1 without naming a side:

Griffin:
IMO for his first game was excellent ......he has more strength than last season and his leaping and mobility around the ground was far superior than Maric who I think will be the backup ruckmen.

Tippett:
Will get his first AFL game as the Crows WILL try and exploit the Bulldogs with height ......but also with two inexperienced ruckmen IMO they'll have Tippett in for insurance. ATS he offers a bit more flexibility than Sellar

Mackay:
Always new he was good ......but he has amazed me on two levelsL:
1. For a guy so slight his aerobic capacity and ability power run provides us some much needed midfield speed.

2. His ability to have so much time to dispose of the ball is really a sign of a class player.

Lastly he will rival Reilly as the sides best kick! .....and he would be in my side for round 1

Symes:
Was picked for a team role and he'll be in the round 1 side.

Jacky, Sellar and Moran to miss at this junction .....but they have all showed they are up to it and still could be there depending on form and injuries ......Sellar the most likely of the trio.