Autopsy Round 12 - St Kilda defeats Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter StFly

Yeah, it just sounds so mediocre - "oh I'm mates with Jeremy Cameron so I call him Jezza"

I hate that one, because bloody Jezza was JEZZA!!!

ae228812c270c8c9e61331c8bf6e68df

Guy called Jeremy can't have the nickname Jezza because an old football player was called that 50 years ago.

In other news, old man yells at cloud

I think a lot of supporters make the same mistake when judging a young player, especially the tall ones, they judge them based on output. Aside from the absolute prodigies, judge them on the way they move. It's getting even worse given that so many young players now are coming into the game almost ready to go due to the evolution of the talent pathways. But at the base of it all, these are barely more than adolescent boys moving into competing with seasoned men, and I think a lot of people lose sight of that fact.

The smaller guys in some cases are ready to go, or close to it, but the taller kids are not. they haven't finished growing, and forget body mass and muscle definition, simple joint strength and endurance are below the level of those they are competing against! But one thing that is genetic and cannot be trained is movement, by which I mean reaction times, balance, agility and coordination - that is genetic and cannot be trained. It can be marginally improved, and certainly balance can be improved by increasing core and limb strength but watch how Keeler moves compared to say, Roma. If Keeler's ability to read the play and compete is even 75% of Roma's ability to do those things, he will be twice the player Roma is, simply because he will be physically capable of doing things that Roma cannot.

Keeler's physical traits make him something like a taller version of Hunter Clark, in terms of physical capabilities. That doesn't account for endurance and ability to read the play, but it is a huge leg up as an AFL footballer.
Great post. I watched Coll vs Dawks on Friday night and N.Daicos is a freak in the way he moves. Like liquid. His capacity to evade and change direction is extraordinary. And in the midst of pressure situations that capacity gives him time and space to make great disposal decisions. NWM is another who has that quality in the way he moves. So silky smooth. Just innate in their genetics.

Guy called Jeremy can't have the nickname Jezza because an old football player was called that 50 years ago.

Oh wow. We should have called Tom Lee "Plugger " because he once got an appendage stuck in the bath drain.

People still say "Take a Jezza". They aren't talking about something Cameron did, even though he did some good stuff.

So unprofessional.
Even on the (very) odd occasion there actually is no commentary bias, they should not be referring to players by nicknames at all.
But it’s seriously not a good look when it’s former teammates doing it.
Reminds me of Ricciuto’s commentary in our first game and he’s talking about one of the Adelaide player’s golf on the weekend.

Maxy Hall needs more love. A few have said it including myself. Like a more advanced Sincs in his first year. Classic Dalrympal pick up.

Reckon his potential is seriously high. Clean and strong. Get him on the ball quick smart
Loving Max, playing a tough role too and always finds a way into the game. super exciting prospect, reckon he could be our Dylan Moore equivalent long term even if he doesn't transition to on-ball duties.

Looks more like an upgrade on Howard to me. We need Tauru or someone else to step up into the third tall interceptor role.
My only concern with Caminiti is his decision making. He can be a liability in the backline-heart in mouth kind of feeling. Al though Dougal can be a liability, he is better than Caminiti

Caminiti is 21 years old. You'd hope he would improve his decision making as he gets more games back there.

Caminiti has played 44 AFL games with 7-8 exclusively in defence. At the same age Howard had played 6 AFL games.

Serious question, what's the difference between this and the bump that NWM copped?

Concussion isn't black and white. It was severe enough that NAS had to be completely checked out. Another player may have been knocked out cold. ( Paddy McCartin would have for sure ).
Yeh but MRO parameters state the contact needs to have an injury outcome.

To be clear those parameters are ****ed (Meek should just get 1 week but he has to get 3 or 0 hence he gets off).

Yeh but MRO parameters state the contact needs to have an injury outcome.

To be clear those parameters are ****ed (Meek should just get 1 week but he has to get 3 or 0 hence he gets off).

This can't be right ... so Mark Yates would have got off for his hit on Brereton in the 89 Grand Final.

I get a visceral hatred towards commentators who cally Taylor Walker whose nickname is Tex, 'The Texan'. He is not Texan and it does not give the commentary any more gravitas, it just sounds cringey and utterly stupid

Little sidetrack to the commentator discussion.
There's a resident at my wifes workplace who is blind. I asked him the other day whilst I was there doing a few odd jobs if he wanted the footy on as his team was playing.
"As long as it's the radio and not the tv! They commentate for people watching the game"
It's not something I ever really thought about but since then I realise it's true.
TV commentators are actually quite poor at calling the play and game situation.

Little sidetrack to the commentator discussion.
There's a resident at my wifes workplace who is blind. I asked him the other day whilst I was there doing a few odd jobs if he wanted the footy on as his team was playing.
"As long as it's the radio and not the tv! They commentate for people watching the game"
It's not something I ever really thought about but since then I realise it's true.
TV commentators are actually quite poor at calling the play and game situation.

Yeah it's the medium.
TV is visual so there's more room to be flippant with things.
Radio is audio so you need to be specific without being boring as those can't literally see anything.

So we'd back in the day switch between grandstand, 693 and AM's for sporting instances depending on where, when and what as you could also listen when out and about.

The worst thing they did with the umpires is put numbers on their shirts.
Basically told them that they were part of the show like the players.
100%

There are three teams out there on the weekend. The home team, the away team and the Green (or any other colour they might choose on a weekly basis) Team.

They are supposed to facilitate the game not be the leading lights. The fact that they get introduced at the beginning of each game makes my stomach churn.

BOO for the Green Team.

What was everyone’s thoughts on Carrol’s game?
Didn’t look too out of place to me although maybe a bit rusty.
I reckon he did a great job considering he basically had to come in and play Phillipou's role - high half-forward. He had a couple of fantastic moments, one when we were going to the right of screen where he basically moonwalked and created space and looked composed. I wonder whether he was in a similar boat as Stocker when coming to the club, we know you're good enough, but we need to see it (training and in the VFL). He proved himself to get the call-up and had some really nice moments. Gave away a couple of (contentious) free kicks, but he hasn't played at AFL level for a while, so that is fine! The amount of midfield depth we are building is going to help a lot when pushing for finals over the next few seasons!

Nas could be a generational talent for us, in the Harvey, Roo mould. Better than Lenny, legit top 10. Obviously we need to sign him first and then he needs to play another 10 years, but it's been 25 years since we've had someone of his ilk come through the doors
agree with the sentiment, but think Lenny's getting shortchanged here. was the driving force behind that era imo, and without some bad luck with injuries easily tops Roo in b&f's. criminally underrated by the outside media. regardless, agree Naz is the best thing we've had since those halcyon 2009-2010 days!

What was everyone’s thoughts on Carrol’s game?
Didn’t look too out of place to me although maybe a bit rusty.

Didn't get heaps of it, but had a few good passages of play. Intercepted a handball from the Dees on the defensive 50 arc, bought some time for blokes to rebound and then hit up a nice kick to Wood who moved on quick to Butler who goaled. Seems to cover the ground well, saw him pop up inside 50 a few times as well. If he's got a good running game and a decent left peg on him, reckon Ross will be interested in him long term.

There seems to be a sudden dawn of revelation among some Saints supporters that Hunter Clark can actually play the game.

He was doing this last season though. It's no coincidence that we started our second half of the season quality form when Clark was fit and in the team.

He may not get 30 touches but his cleanness at stoppage is at the high end. Plus, he has an innate ability to get his body in the way of gun opposition players at stoppage and allow his team-mates first clean possession - which he doesn't get a stat for.

We just need to pray he doesn't keep getting bad luck with injuries.