Autopsy Round 12 - St Kilda defeats Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter StFly

Max Hall has taken Liam Henry's spot this year and been an extremely consistent performer. He may not have quite the ceiling as Henry (i.e. the pure brilliance) but Hall is more consistent and is supremely fit.

Henry will eventually come back in and find his groove but it's an uphill battle at the moment. Until he is fit enough to rotate through the middle then I think he keeps playing VFL.
Please don't say "battle"......

Aussie Jones @42
Da Sonto @13
Montagna @37
Sam Fisher @55
Aussie Jones was actually 48

This started with Lenny Hayes vs NWM at pick 11...

I'll add a few

Matthew Lappin - 40
Andrew Thompson - 62
Stevie Milne - Rookie draft pick 23
Jack Steven - 42
Jarryn Geary - rookie draft 58
Jack Sinclair - rookie draft 1
Rowan Marshall - rookie draft 10
Callum Wilkie - rookie draft 3

Max Hall has taken Liam Henry's spot this year and been an extremely consistent performer. He may not have quite the ceiling as Henry (i.e. the pure brilliance) but Hall is more consistent and is supremely fit.

Henry will eventually come back in and find his groove but it's an uphill battle at the moment. Until he is fit enough to rotate through the middle then I think he keeps playing VFL.
I love what Hall adds to the team.
Got that Hawks one touch, good skills, goal kicker thing going for him.
Very, very astute pick up imo.

When the team is inconsistent, if you want to bring in a player that's likely to be flaky you replace someone flaky.
Byrnes is a workhorse.

Past Ross Lyon sides were a home for C grade battlers. Funny enough Collingwood seem to be getting maximum results from very experienced players who are mostly B and C graders. They all play a very disciplined selfless role for the side. Not many weak links in that side.

Carlton where Bucks example for a side with too much irregular brilliance and not enough consistency.

Sharman
Hall
Wilkie
Sincs
Marshall

5 elite pick ups

If we could have used the national draft like we could the rookie drafts we'd be a lot more advanced.

Aussie Jones was actually 48

This started with Lenny Hayes vs NWM at pick 11...

I'll add a few

Matthew Lappin - 40
Andrew Thompson - 62
Stevie Milne - Rookie draft pick 23
Jack Steven - 42
Jarryn Geary - rookie draft 58
Jack Sinclair - rookie draft 1
Rowan Marshall - rookie draft 10
Callum Wilkie - rookie draft 3
I picked those blokes because they were long-term competition-wide great players, which NAS has the capacity to be, and they're not often spoken about as some of the more obvious current ones.

If Cray and Stocker are good to go, they come in for Carroll and Box. I don't rate Byrnes but have given up on the idea of Lyon ever dropping him. Maybe O'Connell could be considered for a little more height in defence if the Dogs tall as well.

B: Webster, Caminiti, Stocker
HB: Nas, Wilkie, Sinclair
C: Hill, Steele, Wood
HF: Hall, Sharman, Owens
F: Butler, Keeler, Higgins

Foll: Marshall, Cray, Windhager
Int: Clark, Byrnes, Phillipou, Jones
Sub: Travaglia

Sandy will be up against the first-ranked Southport Sharks at Moorabbin. Could they be half a chance of sneaking an upset win? If we line up as I've posted, that would leave the following saints to play for Sandy (we play first so no emergency needed)

B: Schoenmaker, Barrat, O'Connell
HB: Hastie, Tauru, McLennan
C: Wilson, Garcia
HF: Said, Dodson, Henry
F: Collard, Heath

Foll: Boyd, Carroll, Boxshall

Wilson and Garcia are ahead of Henry in the queue for selection. Wilson will be back as a regular once he's had a brief stint at Sandy. Like Pou did last year.
Henry was a bad trade, we'd have been better of with Bice, or Angus Clark as draft picks.

Did you watch his games last year, when he was fit & firing. Turned a couple of games for us ….
Did you watch his games last year, when he was fit & firing. Turned a couple of games for us with his speed out of the centre & his X-factor.
(Some weird stuff happened to this format)….to answer your question, no, I did not watch every game although I did try an notice him when I did. So he played 12 games (10 full games because he went off injured twice) I wondered if he wasn’t fully right when he came back the first time. When he came in this year he looked even worse. He did get 20 possessions against the Swans and last year was good in some games. I admit I’m a bias because he looks silk, started well and I just thought he looked too good to be true. His injury now is cartilage, not ACL, and I suspect they don’t get much better. I hope he comes on, but I’m conditioning myself for disappointment. In addition to the possibility that we dump him, and he goes Gold Coast and wins a Brownlow! (In a tie with Ben King and Ben Long) https://afltables.com/afl/stats/players/L/Liam_Henry.html

Henry was a bad trade, we'd have been better of with Bice, or Angus Clark as draft picks.
Without the injuries he'd be lighting us up every week. He was great for that short period last year before he got injured.

But as it stands now yep it doesn't look great, but how were we to know?

Let's hope he doesn't go the way of Koby and Robbo.

My Team for after the bye, wont happen, but I don't care.

B. Webster Caminiti Stocker

H.B. NWM Wilkie Sinclair

C. Wood Clark Hill

H.F. Sharman Owens Hall

F. Butler Keeler Higgins

Foll. Marshall Steele Windhager

I/C. Tauru, Macrae, Phillipou, Jones, Henry-sub

Ins. Henry, Macrae, Stocker, Tauru

Unlucky Outs. Boxshall, Byrnes, Carroll, Travaglia

Without the injuries he'd be lighting us up every week. He was great for that short period last year before he got injured.

But as it stands now yep it doesn't look great, but how were we to know?

Let's hope he doesn't go the way of Koby and Robbo.
I thought he was OK for that short period.

Just bad luck really. Although my Freo mate reckon he only gives a shit in a contract year.

Henry is the most overrated bloke on our list. Max Hall has been very good this year.

Would think he is a fair bit in front of Henry at the moment.

Some comments on the Freo forum about Liam

There's an article today in the Age - "Footy’s forgotten men: The player at your club who could be looking elsewhere for 2026".

Liam Henry (one game)
The Saints traded for Henry at the end of 2023 for effectively a second-round pick, which was viewed as a coup, given the battles they have in bringing in talent. However, a knee injury ended the winger-forward’s first campaign after only 12 games – and he has played just once in 2025. The likeliest scenario is that Henry finds a way out of Ross Lyon’s doghouse.

Liam Liam Henry… hahahaha… haahhahaha… haha… ahhhhh…

Ok, as you were…

Liam Henry is solely responsible for every list management mistake of the last 30 years and none of you sheep quoting fake news will convince me otherwise.

That's a name I haven't heard for a while.

What's he up to these days?

Henry is the most overrated bloke on our list. Max Hall has been very good this year.

Would think he is a fair bit in front of Henry at the moment.
Henry gets injured for a long period & you blokes all forget how good he can be when fit & firing. At his best, is very important to our list.
The Vfl player review, mentioned that from his last game, he seemed to be nearing back to his best. Said nothing about a degenerative knee issue & how that could be hindering him atm.

Henry gets injured for a long period & you blokes all forget how good he can be when fit & firing. At his best, is very important to our list.
The Vfl player review, mentioned that from his last game, he seemed to be nearing back to his best. Said nothing about a degenerative knee issue & how that could be hindering him atm.
He has 20 career goals in 6 years of AFL footy.

Sure goals are not everything, but 20? For a bloke that plays forward of the ball most of his career? Shows a serious lack of forward nous.

He has done very little to deserve his reputation. Doesnt get the ball much, doesnt kick goals, is super outside, poor defensively.

Is he classy at times? Sure, but he clearly has some gaping holes in his game. If he wasnt a pick 9, nobody would rate him.

Max Hall is actually a more well rounded football. Is consitently in the game and brings pressure every week, whilst actually being really clean. Not fancy, but a damn good footballer.

Henry has had some high level games that are outstanding, but FMD not many. Seems a bit of a stretch to think he will suddenly be a conistent footballer if he gets his knee right.

Even prior to his injury he has consistently been inconsistent. If he comes good great, but for me he is miles off best 22.

Sure goals are not everything, but 20? For a bloke that plays forward of the ball most of his career? Shows a serious lack of forward nous.

He has done very little to deserve his reputation. Doesnt get the ball much, doesnt kick goals, is super outside, poor defensively.

Is he classy at times? Sure, but he clearly has some gaping holes in his game. If he wasnt a pick 9, nobody would rate him.

Max Hall is actually a more well rounded football. Is consitently in the game and brings pressure every week, whilst actually being really clean. Not fancy, but a damn good footballer.

Henry has had some high level games that are outstanding, but FMD not many. Seems a bit of a stretch to think he will suddenly be a conistent footballer if he gets his knee right.

Even prior to his injury he has consistently been inconsistent. If he comes good great, but for me he is miles off best 22.
He actually played wing primarily when he was at Freo.

Jordan Lewis is my least favourite pundit going at the moment. I would say it's Purple but "pundit" implies at least some level of experience or expertise, and Purple has become so irrelevant that I literally never encounter his vindictive bullshit on whatever dusty corner of AFL.com he inhabits these days.

Say what you will about Kane but you know he's at least partially playing a sensationalist caricature and on some level I respect his commitment to the bit. And there's about one real take in every ten clickbait ones that I think he nails.

Jordan Lewis however is transparently a pseudo intellectual who likes the taste of his own bathwater. He is agonisingly out of his depth in terms of analysis when compared to the likes of Buckley or even Garry Lyon who I don't like but at least has some skill as a host. Even J Riewoldt knows to stick to his lane, popping up occasionally on broadcasts with an often astute call on a forward set up or something. Jordan Lewis compensates for his lack of analysis skill and personality by wearing fake glasses and name dropping just so that everyone listening is 100%, absolutely certain, that yes, Jordan Lewis did in fact play AFL footy. Unbearable.
100% fake intellect ….glasses fool
No one if you listen to this twit talk
Muppet

Watch his games for us, don't just look at the stats sheet