Autopsy Round 12 - St Kilda defeats Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter StFly

No doggies preview thread yet, so I guess this is the place to post. D'Arcy listed as 1 - 2 weeks (as of today) and even if he's a test next week, I doubt they risk him against us in 9 days' time. Quite fortunate for us if so, we could probably stick with Hammer and Wilkie as the two talls down back and Keeler up forward.

There's definitely some kind of meta to Keeler being forward if we can get Nas kicking in to him on the regular.

No doggies preview thread yet, so I guess this is the place to post. D'Arcy listed as 1 - 2 weeks (as of today) and even if he's a test next week, I doubt they risk him against us in 9 days' time. Quite fortunate for us if so, we could probably stick with Hammer and Wilkie as the two talls down back and Keeler up forward.

There's definitely some kind of meta to Keeler being forward if we can get Nas kicking in to him on the regular.
They were saying on SEN he's right to go now, but they're holding him back for a week, so his first game back will be St Kilda.

Caminiti is definitely marking heaps but that third tall should be an attacking type who's clean ball use can set up forward thrusts. Wilkie could do it but he's the best one on one defender in footy IMO. Possibly the best defender in footy. Taking that away is losing something.
You've said this before, but l reckon you're massively underrating what the man can do. In fact, l couldn't think of a poorer use for him than that.

Than being the best defender in the AFL?

We could really do with a few of those now, particularly Sam Fisher.

Speaking of players in the similar ilk to Sam Fisher.

Media saying that the Battle and Barass recruitment is not working at the Hawks. Sometimes the grass is not always greener on the other side.

Battle could/should have stayed been a one club player and still got great coin for doing so.

Media saying that the Battle and Barass recruitment is not working at the Hawks. Sometimes the grass is not always greener on the other side.

Battle could/should have stayed been a one club player and still got great coin for doing so.
Media say lots of things.

Will Day being injured is what's not working at the Hawks. And with Sicily out injured for the next couple of weeks, they'll be very happy to have Battle/Barrass.

On the subject of Will Day, he was supposed to be out for 3-4 months from the start of April. It's now early June, and their injury report still says 2-3 months. Just pointing this out for the geese who insist that ours is the only club where estimates blow out and "lies" are told about these things. People aren't cars, the more you learn about the body and injuries, the more amazing it is that estimates are as accurate and recoveries are as rapid as they are.

Media say lots of things.

Will Day being injured is what's not working at the Hawks. And with Sicily out injured for the next couple of weeks, they'll be very happy to have Battle/Barrass.

On the subject of Will Day, he was supposed to be out for 3-4 months from the start of April. It's now early June, and their injury report still says 2-3 months. Just pointing this out for the geese who insist that ours is the only club where estimates blow out and "lies" are told about these things. People aren't cars, the more you learn about the body and injuries, the more amazing it is that estimates are as accurate and recoveries are as rapid as they are.

Imagine being expected to perform without your best midfielder and missing one of your most important defenders. I guess it would be even worse if your best tall forward was out.

Don't interpret the above as me caring at all! I absolutely love seeing Sam Mitchell sook it up in his press conferences.
They've soared up to 2nd in my schadenfreude rankings in the past year or so. Essendon are permanently at #1.

Needed free childcare.

The problem is Battle and Barass isolated are Very good AFL footballers.
But neither of them is a true lock down defender which is what hawthorn thought they were buying

The problem is Battle and Barass isolated are Very good AFL footballers.
But neither of them is a true lock down defender which is what hawthorn thought they were buying
I'll trade them Dougal for a first round pick.

Lol.
In all seriousness after they had one of either Battle or Barass as good as locked up they should of spent elsewhere

Meanwhile , comparing Caminiti 25 with a similarly aged Battle when he first played back in 2019....
Averages
Marks C:6 B:6 Disposals C:14 B:15 Rebounds C:2.6 B3.2 Contested Possessions C:6 B:3.5

Battle was a good move for them as a free agent but gee they gave up a lot for Barrass.