Preview Round 12 v GWS Giants Stadium Sunday June 4th 1.10pm

This week we make the first of back to back interstate trips as we venture up to Sydney to take on GWS coached by former Tigers assistant Adam Kingsley. Last week we took it up to a red hot Port after being jumped in the first quarter to at least make the remainder of the game a battle, which is a good sign considering that McQualter, the coaches and players only had a few days to get over the sudden departure of Hardwick and then focus on facing Port. With a full week to prepare for the Giants, it's possible that we could see a few changes and tweaks to both the line up and the way we play as McQualter looks to put his take on how we should go about it into play.

Possible Line Up:
B: Broad Balta Grimes
HB: D.Rioli Vlastuin Baker
C: Ross Taranto Pickett
HF: Mansell Graham M.Rioli
F: Ryan Martin Miller
R: Nankervis Prestia Bolton
INT: Short Ralphsmith Clarke Banks
SUB: Cotchin

Out: Riewoldt Cotchin(both managed) Young (omit) McIntosh(omit)
In: Vlastuin M.Rioli Banks

Vlastuin returns to strengthen the back line and Maurice comes back from the hamstring injury to add some more defensive pressure to the F50 as the ball has been rebounding out quite easily in recent weeks. Out of the side goes Jack who has shouldered a lot of the workload in Lynchs absence but it's clear that he needs a break and we shouldn't be flogging him like a dead horse at this stage of this career. McIntosh who has been poor for a number of weeks also makes way, which allows Clarke to get a full game. I reckon we could move Cotchin to sub to ensure he gets his 300th in a couple of weeks against the Saints at the MCG on the Friday night before our bye. That also allows Banks to come in for his debut. I know that many will question why no Cumberland, but I feel that the club want him to put together a good month of footy at VFL level showing that he is doing the stuff we want to see him doing at the senior level before he gets recalled, so unlikely we see him before the Saints game.

The Giants will be full of confidence after knocking off the Cats down at Geelong last week despite being undermanned themselves with a number of starters missing. They'll likely regain everyones favourite free agent target in Himmelburg for this weeks game, in what could be an audition for him to join Taranto and Hopper at Punt Road next year. Outside that they'll still be missing the likes of Haynes and Kelly, so we should be fancying our chances of getting McQualter his first win.

If we were to go in as predicted above it would certainly be an interesting game having a look at a forward line minus both Jack and Lynch in the key forward posts, with the inexperienced Miller and Ryan being asked to play the positions. What that may mean though is that we end up changing up the way we enter our F50. Instead of bombing it in long high and slow, we may well end up looking at bringing the ball in quicker and honouring the lead more than we have been. Also through the middle a bit of a changing of the guard with the likes of Ralphsmith Ross Banks & Clarke being afforded the opportunity to see what they can do coming off the wings. Pickett and Ross starting off are both good users of the ball when coming through the middle, while Ralphsmith Banks & Clarke add more speed and skill to the midfield mix. Again it's just a slight change to the structure that could make a big difference in how we go about it.

It will be interesting to see if we do something like the above to change things up or if we continue to go with the way we were playing under Hardwick. Hopefully it's the former as I think it's important that we get to see what McQualter is capable of in terms of the way he goes about it.

This week we make the first of back to back interstate trips as we venture up to Sydney to take on GWS coached by former Tigers assistant Adam Kingsley. Last week we took it up to a red hot Port after being jumped in the first quarter to at least make the remainder of the game a battle, which is a good sign considering that McQualter, the coaches and players only had a few days to get over the sudden departure of Hardwick and then focus on facing Port. With a full week to prepare for the Giants, it's possible that we could see a few changes and tweaks to both the line up and the way we play as McQualter looks to put his take on how we should go about it into play.

Possible Line Up:
B: Broad Balta Grimes
HB: D.Rioli Vlastuin Baker
C: Ross Taranto Pickett
HF: Mansell Graham M.Rioli
F: Ryan Martin Miller
R: Nankervis Prestia Bolton
INT: Short Ralphsmith Clarke Banks

Out: Riewoldt Cotchin(both managed) Young (omit) McIntosh(omit)
In: Vlastuin M.Rioli Banks

Vlastuin returns to strengthen the back line and Maurice comes back from the hamstring injury to add some more defensive pressure to the F50 as the ball has been rebounding out quite easily in recent weeks. Out of the side goes Jack who has shouldered a lot of the workload in Lynchs absence but it's clear that he needs a break and we shouldn't be flogging him like a dead horse at this stage of this career. McIntosh who has been poor for a number of weeks also makes way, which allows Clarke to get a full game. I reckon we could move Cotchin to sub to ensure he gets his 300th in a couple of weeks against the Saints at the MCG on the Friday night before our bye. That also allows Banks to come in for his debut. I know that many will question why no Cumberland, but I feel that the club want him to put together a good month of footy at VFL level showing that he is doing the stuff we want to see him doing at the senior level before he gets recalled, so unlikely we see him before the Saints game.

The Giants will be full of confidence after knocking off the Cats down at Geelong last week despite being undermanned themselves with a number of starters missing. They'll likely regain everyones favourite free agent target in Himmelburg for this weeks game, in what could be an audition for him to join Taranto and Hopper at Punt Road next year. Outside that they'll still be missing the likes of Haynes and Kelly, so we should be fancying our chances of getting McQualter his first win.

If we were to go in as predicted above it would certainly be an interesting game having a look at a forward line minus both Jack and Lynch in the key forward posts, with the inexperienced Miller and Ryan being asked to play the positions. What that may mean though is that we end up changing up the way we enter our F50. Instead of bombing it in long high and slow, we may well end up looking at bringing the ball in quicker and honouring the lead more than we have been. Also through the middle a bit of a changing of the guard with the likes of Ralphsmith Ross Banks & Clarke being afforded the opportunity to see what they can do coming off the wings. Pickett and Ross starting off are both good users of the ball when coming through the middle, while Ralphsmith Banks & Clarke add more speed and skill to the midfield mix. Again it's just a slight change to the structure that could make a big difference in how we go about it.

It will be interesting to see if we do something like the above to change things up or if we continue to go with the way we were playing under Hardwick. Hopefully it's the former as I think it's important that we get to see what McQualter is capable of in terms of the way he goes about it.
Good write up mate. MRJ do we rush him straight in rather than a test run in VFL first? Dow looked awful when we tried that trick a few weeks ago.

I reckon they will, we need defensive pressure in our F50 and Maurice provides that in spades.

We have to stop rushing players back. Finals are out of the equation now so let's get back to some good habits and really build out a solid foundation after anyone comes back from injury.
Rushing players back doesn't work.

I saw Vlastuin hobbling to the club rooms after the game Sunday - he’s farked, shocking corkie, doubt he plays

Give Clarke a full game, rest Reiwoldt over the next 2 weeks, bring in Cumberland and maybe Banks. Brown, junior and Sonsie can come in next week
Agree with so much but would add:

Reiwoldt and Cotchin not to go on any of the 4 interstate trips in the next 7 weeks so group can get head start on creating own identity

Rioli on reduced game to play the sub, then play midfield in the VFL next week

We have to stop rushing players back. Finals are out of the equation now so let's get back to some good habits and really build out a solid foundation after anyone comes back from injury.
Rushing players back doesn't work.

Lunchy to be named and play in a moon boot

Haven’t cared less about the result of a game since the pre-Hardwick days tbh. Not necessarily a bad thing, but the result is quite inconsequential whether we win or lose (unless it’s by a big margin either way).

Finals are probably gone, we don’t have a first-round pick in the National Draft, we locked in our mid-season draft pick, and we don’t have a coach under pressure. Not much riding on this one.

I’ll probably still watch though. Hoping that we’ll debut some youngsters and start playing an attractive game style.

Fwd line needs some changes. Not MRJ though.his Form was horrendous before he got injured. Cotchin and Jr replaced by a couple of the following
. Clarke, Sonsie Cumberland, Bigoa, Bauer

B: Baker Balta Grimes
HB: D.Rioli Broad Ralphsmith
C: Ross Taranto MacIntosh
HF: Martin Miller Bolton
F: Cumberland Bradtke Clarke

R: Nankervis Prestia Short
INT: Sonsie Banks Pickett Bigoa

Out: Riewoldt (managed) Young (omit) Mansell (omit) Graham (omit)
In: Bradtke Banks Bigoa

If Vlastuin is back then Ralphsmith to bench.
Bigoa in as a wild card/second ruck/swingman.

Time to roll the dice. We are losing but not by much so an injection of youth might just be the ticket.

I'm amazed reading throughout various threads the different standards players are held at. So many desperate for MRJ to return because we really miss those 3 effective disposals with kicking efficiency at an abominable 39% (sad thing is many have been 15m passes to an unopposed teammate that missed them by the width of a barn) or maybe we miss those 2 goals from 5 games especially the Joe the goose. Even when he went back to Magoo's for a measly game where he did nothing (8? touches 0 goals) he was straight back the following week.

Now poor old Cumbo doesn't get the love he deserves and plenty have been saying they're happy if he leaves because he needs to fix his weaknesses that none of us can pinpoint but they must be critical. Cos Hardwick treats all players equal and has never ever played favourites 😂😂😂😂😂 Cumbo has kicked 7 goals in 2 weeks, set up 3 on the weekend has been smashing it. Is match fit. But plenty want the bloke who's arguably had the worst year across the entire league straight back after being sidelined for a month.

I mean MRJ constantly butchering easy disposals, ignoring first options to repeatedly get run down..... Well they're not weaknesses....cos Hardwick never said so in any press conference. Sad thing is Judson has been eclipsing MRJ's output in his 10-20m cameos.

I'm amazed reading throughout various threads the different standards players are held at. So many desperate for MRJ to return because we really miss those 3 effective disposals with kicking efficiency at an abominable 39% (sad thing is many have been 15m passes to an unopposed teammate that missed them by the width of a barn) or maybe we miss those 2 goals from 5 games especially the Joe the goose. Even when he went back to Magoo's for a measly game where he did nothing (8? touches 0 goals) he was straight back the following week.

Now poor old Cumbo doesn't get the love he deserves and plenty have been saying they're happy if he leaves because he needs to fix his weaknesses that none of us can pinpoint but they must be critical. Cos Hardwick treats all players equal and has never ever played favourites 😂😂😂😂😂 Cumbo has kicked 7 goals in 2 weeks, set up 3 on the weekend has been smashing it. Is match fit. But plenty want the bloke who's arguably had the worst year across the entire league straight back after being sidelined for a month.

I mean MRJ constantly butchering easy disposals, ignoring first options to repeatedly get run down..... Well they're not weaknesses....cos Hardwick never said so in any press conference. Sad thing is Judson has been eclipsing MRJ's output in his 10-20m cameos.
Yep