Prediction Round 2, 2023: Changes vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Never a fan of tanking

Its is a summary of our list. We include in the extended list a mature plodder who has reached his ceiling and kicked 3 in a WAFL practice game. GWS inclide a kid who kicked 6 in a VFL practice game. Whats a better indicator of the clubs future.

Was it Brander again?

Calling for a first round pick to be dropped after one AFL game is a new and exciting development.

Usually it takes a few weeks for the board to completely turn on a player.

Never a fan of tanking

Its is a summary of our list. We include in the extended list a mature plodder who has reached his ceiling and kicked 3 in a WAFL practice game. GWS inclide a kid who kicked 6 in a VFL practice game. Whats a better indicator of the clubs future.

If you want to cherry pick single selections, you could just as easily say that us picking Hewett after a strong game against Claremont and GWS picking a 32 year old former Collingwood delistee means that we’ve got a much brighter future than they do.

Calling for a first round pick to be dropped after one AFL game is a new and exciting development.

Usually it takes a few weeks for the board to completely turn on a player.
He wasn’t ready for AFL level in the first place old mate.

Not sure how you could look at any part of his game from last week and go “yeah this is good for his development”

He needs time to build in the WAFL, not get thrown to the wolves at AFL level.

Not sure how you could look at any part of his game from last week and go “yeah this is good for his development”

He needs time to build in the WAFL, not get thrown to the sharks at AFL level.

He looked alright in the pre season, so much so they ditched their plans to manage him slowly and put him in the round 1 team. Is it possible he just had an old fashioned bad game? He wouldn’t have been the only one.

And yet somehow the Purples' changes have got their base melting harder than ours... what a weird sport.
Dropping Treacy and then not bringing in Amiss is melt worthy tbh. I guess Freo have just decided to lean into the whole no forward line thing.

No one will dispute Campbell Chesser looks underdone, but we're obviously an absolutely basket case.
The powers that be have decided he's better off getting a feel for the requirements of the big time before going to the magoos (where does that term even come from?).
I don't have a personal preference either way. Its not as if he's likely to be instilled in a winning mentality by playing in our WAFL side. It would just be a matter of if he has 5 games straight of 5 possession footy and not offering much else then yeah, really you should go and find out what it means to earn it.

I suspect really his being picked is a reflection of his own work behind the scenes to do the right thing. Driving himself over, quarantining, being an anti JHF and doing whatever he could to get himself right during his first season during trying times.

Repaying the character I guess.

Its just the optics of Simpson being soft make this look bad, perhaps.

He needs time to build in the WAFL, not get thrown to the wolves at AFL level.
Are you a teacher?

This is the exact kind of bs that got us into this mess. We need MORE wolves!!

Regarding Chesser, he had played 3 games, total, in the last 3-4 years, and last played against kids

So its hardly a wonder that when he gets thrown straight into the deep in at this level, he struggled

I get that the club wants to show the world "Hey we are playing our prized early draft picks and we have finally got this man healthy". But really, he should have been made to work his way up via the WAFL

That's hardly Chesser's fault for grabbing the opportunity he was presented, that's on the club

Lets give the kid another week and hopefully he plays a bit better

This is the same poster that stated that winning a flag was the worst thing that could've happened for Simmo, if I recall correctly.
ce0f1473-786c-4576-b9c0-b27b9bf939ae_text.gif

No one will dispute Campbell Chesser looks underdone, but we're obviously an absolutely basket case.
The powers that be have decided he's better off getting a feel for the requirements of the big time before going to the magoos (where does that term even come from?).
I don't have a personal preference either way. Its not as if he's likely to be instilled in a winning mentality by playing in our WAFL side. It would just be a matter of if he has 5 games straight of 5 possession footy and not offering much else then yeah, really you should go and find out what it means to earn it.

I suspect really his being picked is a reflection of his own work behind the scenes to do the right thing. Driving himself over, quarantining, being an anti JHF and doing whatever he could to get himself right during his first season during trying times.

Repaying the character I guess.

Its just the optics of Simpson being soft make this look bad, perhaps.

Chesser is better off being exposed to top level footy than pressure free WAFL practice games. He might drop to the twos/Magoos after a month of AFL but at least he'll be armed with a little check list of what to work on when the real WAFL starts so he can push for a return. Maybe the hope was to get an easy kill/Gatorade shower in the first two rounds also, but that's failed so far.

Heart says Hewy into the 22, head says Hewy to sub

View attachment 1637227
From our options I don't like any. Hewett is the least bad sub option.
You don't want a tall, Clark is one-paced, SPS is not really that much better than Petch. A debutant as the sub is an unknown quantity.

I don't like it as I reckon they deserve to start, but what about one of JJ or Hunt as the sub? Both an injection of pace and energy.

I'm waiting for Cadman to rip two All Australian defenders to bits so Robbo can blow his load all over him on 360

And just like most of his deliveries on that show, he'd make a mess of it too.

Multiple entendre!

Chesser I can forgive having never played a WAFL game let alone an AFL game

Shuey couldn’t have done any more, but with his age and injury history. These performances will be few and far between

Gaff was better than I’m used to and looked to play more exclusively on the wing.

Witherden shouldn’t be in the side in the first place.

Barrass and Gov need to figure out who wants to play loose and who looks after the FF. Sick of seeing the opposition FF kick a bag.

Sheed hasn’t played for a year although my patience with him will be short.

But as the week goes on I’m most pissed off with TK. Just coasting through his contract. I don’t even think I’ve ever seen him grit his teeth during a game.

Maybe TK’s large contract has made his integration into the midfield difficult. Playing alongside others who are paid less and resent it…???

Well, hopefully no changes.

After the heroics of last week, no changes required!