Autopsy Round 2 Carlton v Collingwood Review/Post Mortem Thread

Face it, we're just not good enough.

We've been mentally weak for several years.
I would have thought that this was one of the things we brought Malthouse to the club to rectify.

Amazing how different people see the game differently (thank God). You liked Rowe's game but not Lucas's? Mmm...

It is weird, I thought Lucas was okay, better than last week, he is going to be a great player for us, and Murph was great....

McLean should never have been sub, my only criticism

Oh and Marcus...prefer othere

No need for the negativity guys. We played a top 4 team. Scoty, waite and Eddie back in and we match all sides. True we should have won both but be positive and have faith in the stars we have. Rowe, YEAH great game mate. Kreuz = LEGEND, JUDD words cant describe his influence. Seasons only started. I can only see positives from here in. Scotty, Waite,Eddie please come back soon.,

Back in November- our list is "fine." We are now 0-2 against teams we beat 4 times last year. The coach is still working out a game plan and is also still trying out players like Davies who is clearly not up to it, and Bootsma who is not ready. We are burning winnable games. Doubt we will start favourite in any of the next three. I still think our list is middle of the road and we keep losing games against the top sides by the 1 to 3 kick margin. But that's ok, our list is "fine."

Hey Blues dudes

Just a couple of notes

- Melthouse did to you what he did to us for a lot of seasons - didn't change his plan on game day. Ratts beat us twice last year by being unpredictable and willing to roll the dice. MM isn't so rash. It works the %s (as far as getting to finals) but not necessarily great when you're being spanked on game day.

- Garlett was brilliant today. Lived up to his hype.

- All the 'Arizona' comments are premature. The benefits don't come until 2nd half of season - the pre-season effectively allows you more endurance to build your base, but the running isn't realised until 12-16 weeks later. I should know - I did the Arizona trip with the Pies in '11, and spent a lot of time talking to Butters and the other fitness staff.

Great game today. Look forward to the rematch.

Amazing how different people see the game differently (thank God). You liked Rowe's game but not Lucas's? Mmm...

I don’t think Lucas played badly – by his standards it was a decent game.

But his two relative weaknesses – poor tackling and low strength when over the ball – are a big part of finals football.

Rowe didn’t set the world on fire but shows much more promise than Casboult (and Mitchell) at this stage

Back in November- our list is "fine." We are now 0-2 against teams we beat 4 times last year. The coach is still working out a game plan and is also still trying out players like Davies who is clearly not up to it, and Bootsma who is not ready. We are burning winnable games. Doubt we will start favourite in any of the next three. I still think our list is middle of the road and we keep losing games against the top sides by the 1 to 3 kick margin. But that's ok, our list is "fine."

Yeah......about last year it doesn't matter if we beat Richmond and Collingwood if you lose to Port and Gold Coast in the same year. Even in 2011 when we were in top four contention we still fluffed our chances of making top four when we lost to the Bulldogs and drew with Essendon. Still got plenty of games to before we come close this year to burning winnable games as badly as have in the past.

A few things from today's game:

1) You can add Simpson to the list too, he has been playing very poor lately, can't kick to save him lately.
2) Disappointed Malthouse didn't try putting Yarren back on Elliot, as good as Yarren was up forward at least we could cover him there.
3) We can't lay a decent tackle, one where the ball stays trapped. How often we tackled today and a little dinky kick ends up in the collingwood players arm out of nothing

We made some shocking decisions today. Robbo needs to play more percentage footy. Belly keeps going but has a lot to learn. I feel privileged to be inside the ground when Kreuz plays like he did today. Sure he had a leg up with no Jolly but I can see MM pulling him up in front of the room and making the others have a good look at what it really means to play for the CFC jumper. Juddy has less and less time to weave his magic these days. Think Davies will be gone at end of year. Yazz improves all the time. Jamo superb, Hendo good and a magical goal. Laids worries the shit out of me, possibly has zero faith in his knee. Lucas grows in confidence and love his ability to be where the ball is - will be a player.

Great game, pity we couldn't stand up in the final qtr. We should have really capitalised on Lynch being their ruckman more than we did. I'm really enjoying Malthouse bringing in more players into the centre bounces, we're going to have some great genuine midfield depth.

Murphy, Kreuzer, Garlett, Jamison all outstanding.
Yarran and Henderson very good.

Davies is simply not up to it unfortunately.
Bootsma, again whilst showing glimpses isn't quite ready for AFL football. Not only is he not physically ready, he seems to coast along and is very tentative in his decision making, when he isn't following a player to spoil.
Casboult again did basically nothing.

It's still Ratten's list with the fringe players under contract. Mick is sorting the wheat from the chaff.

Pies might have lost more than the four points we lost if they have to promote Hudson as cover for Jolly.

Yeah......about last year it doesn't matter if we beat Richmond and Collingwood if you lose to Port and Gold Coast in the same year. Even in 2011 when we were in top four contention we still fluffed our chances of making top four when we lost to the Bulldogs and drew with Essendon. Still got plenty of games to before we come close this year to burning winnable games as badly as have in the past.
ummm yeah. Faith is a BIG thing. We will improve and win our next games.

The season I think kind of starts now. There's been a big build up to both games. I think the Richmond game was a bigger deal for them, since they hadn't won for a number of years. Taking away the rivalry against Collingwood, I think it was a bigger game emotianally for them, to beat a team Mick was coaching. We just need a quiet period where we can start to create momentum. Next week is a good game to really get going. Geelong will provide a honest test for the team and how Mick and the rest of the coaches go about it. I have no doubt, despite whatever weaknesses, once we get going, we will reaaallly get going.

People saying Laids didn't have the best game, which is clear, but are some people forgetting that this was actually his first game back since Round 4 last year? Mistimed a few spoils that directly led to goals but I don't see Jez playing too many worse games than that.

Kreuz was awesome. No more words need to be said about this man. Loved that when Jolly came back onto the field at the start of the second, you could see he just wanted to stick the knee in and test out his ribs. He's a beaut.

Our tall defenders I thought were awesome today, Jamo for the majority on Cloke and Hendo when he was at both ends of the ground. Still reckon Hendo is best suited as a lead up CHF, seen when he set up Garlett in the third then dobbed one from 50 in the last. However, with Pods and T-Bone looming, probably has to play down back next week. Obviously you don't want Watto playing against either of their forwards.

Regardless of how he played today, Rowey's debut was always going to be a success story. Luckily for him, thought he was really good at crashing packs and bringing the ball to ground. Too bad that quite often we were beaten to the ball. I'm a fan of Cas, but for the second week in a row he was barely sighted. Took a couple of good grabs but needs to do more if he wants to have a permanent spot.

Garlett and Yaz played really well too, the latter exorcising a few demons from last week. Thought when he kicked it out of bounds in the second that it would come back to haunt him but ended up kicking three and lighting up our 50. Two of Jeffy''s three goals were awesome, love seeing him back in full flight. MOAR.

Davies wasn't the greatest has to be said, plus Boots had a nightmare down back. Put both of them back to the 2s and bring back AJ for next week (that's going to go down well with some of the others in here), by all reports towelled up his Werribee opponent yesterday, who I think was Ben Warren coming off 11 goals. However, Geelong's mosquito fleet is a far cry from Ben Warren, so kinda freaking out about how that's going to unfold next week.

Still undecided on whether or not Tex is best suited forward or back. His three goals in the first 8 minutes obviously had me thinking forward, but he didn't get near it after that (didn't touch it until the third) and was moved back. Remember he played on Hawkins a few years back, but that was prior to T-Bone turning into a monster.

The respective midfields I think ended up being even; our mids were on top for the first three quarters but ultimately theirs got on top in the last, and that's all that matters. Got three more clearances which I don't think was enough to capitalise on Kreuz's dominance, probably should've set up better.

Last thing, just because Gibbs is a midfielder, doesn't mean every single possession needs to be contested. Had 5 tackles, equal second best on a day where most of our tackles wouldn't stick. Should've put his body on the line and got that diving smother in the last quarter... hang on, that's exactly what happened. Gibbs wasn't our worst today, even though he wasn't at the level of last week.

Next week isn't the greatest time to run into this Geelong outfit, if there ever is a good time. Another challenge though, isn't necessarily a bad thing.

We made some shocking decisions today. Robbo needs to play more percentage footy. Belly keeps going but has a lot to learn. I feel privileged to be inside the ground when Kreuz plays like he did today. Sure he had a leg up with no Jolly but I can see MM pulling him up in front of the room and making the others have a good look at what it really means to play for the CFC jumper. Juddy has less and less time to weave his magic these days. Think Davies will be gone at end of year. Yazz improves all the time. Jamo superb, Hendo good and a magical goal. Laids worries the shit out of me, possibly has zero faith in his knee. Lucas grows in confidence and love his ability to be where the ball is - will be a player.

I think with Juddy, its no longer give it to the champ as in previous years, Juddy was huge last week.

Kreuze was amazing...loveto see the Jolly crunch again

The lack of player accountability was the biggest thing to come out of the game. At one point Collingwood went coast-to-coast while Shaw was sitting on the ground due to cramp. They were a player down and still had free men the length of the ground, it was bizarre.

Coaching panel should definitely take some heat for leaving Casboult on the field and McLean on the bench in the wet. Casboult had 6 touches with 89% time on the ground. Meanwhile McLean was never going to come on and tear the game apart in the last quarter. He's not an impact player, and needed to be out there grinding away in the wet much earlier.

Time to end the Bootsma experiment and let him develop in the VFL. He will be a good player.

Davies isn't up to AFL standard. The supporters have all known it for a while, hopefully Mick catches on soon enough.

Lucas presents a massive problem. Has all the tools, and should be stepping up by now. Unfortunately he has no hardness, can't tackle, poor decision making, and is probably #1 at the club for diabolical momentum-killing errors. (with apologies to Armfield)
Carrazzo needs to put the disappointment of missing the captaincy behind him and knuckle down.

All that being said, I expect we'll bounce back against the Cats. Scotland and Hampson should help our structure immensely.

This. ^ 100% spot on. Totally read my mind.

Agree with this.

Let's look at the reality of things:

- Despite some fanatics thinking it, we were never going to go close to a flag or really even Top 4. This year we should be aiming to make the Final 8 and doing a bit of damage when we get there. Despite the sky falling in over two losses, that is still very much a possibility.

- We have had two 'honourable' losses against an in-form Richmond and Collingwood who are a very very good side.

We may end up 0-5 but this year is going to be a 'slow burn' and we will improve as the year goes on. Let's not panic !

PS: and FFS, can people stop bitching about the umpires on the main board. Just makes us look like whingeing tosssers.

A) There is no such thing as an honourable loss against Richmond and

B) How are we in form , I've watched both our games this year and all we do is bomb it in long and hope for the best. Every forward entry is pretty much guaranteed to come out twice as fast.

I'd take comfort in the fact that its only round 2 , you guys have a new coach , a new game plan and some players are a bit rusty and your coach still doesnt know who should be playing and who shouldnt. From some of the attacking footy you guys have played this year it won't take long for the worm to turn .

Can only go on what has happened so far this season. I don't believe Richmond and Collingwood have improved that much since last year for us to drop both games in 2013. Collingwood were missing key players and we let Richmond in by not playing 4 quarters. I'm just looking for signs as to how this season might play out. The first 5-6 weeks are critical in any season and if it's going to take that long to get things right from a selection and gameplan point of view then we're in serious trouble. As I say, I believe we should have been more active in recruiting in the off season.

Just don't get the Lucas doubters. He's getting the ball - a lot. His fine-tuning will come. He's not Joel Selwood and never will be. Enjoying his development, MM will be the making of this fella.

Autopsy Round 2 Carlton v Collingwood Review/Post Mortem Thread