ADELAIDE CROWS FC
PLAYERS
Backs: N. Bassett R. Biglands T. Hentschel
Half Backs: S. Goodwin B. Rutten B. Reilly
Centre: M. Mattner M. Ricciuto B. Burton
Half Forwards: G. Johncock I. Perrie T. Edwards
Forwards: N. Bock S. Welsh L. Jericho
Followers: T. Stenglein, A. McLeod, M. Clarke
Interchange: R. Shirley, J. Gallagher, B. Hudson, S. Stevens, M. Doughty, J. Begley, C. Ladhams

In BiglandsHentschel Rutten Begley Doughty and Ladhams

Out Hart McGregor Skipworth

I'd drop Gags and shirley from this side.
Gags has done nothing since bing in the squad, Shirley IMO is not needed this week as he more of a negating player and Richmond does not really have a dominate midfielder who needs negating.
I would like to see Hentschel up forward, while Bock to remain down back.

B: Bassett, Rutten, S, Stevens
HB: Reily, Bock, Goodwin
C: Mattner, Ricciuto, Burton
HF: Johncock, Perrie, Edwards
F: Jericho, Welsh, Hentschel
FOLL: Clarke, McLeod, Stenglein

I/C Hudson, Doughty, Begley, Ladhams

Biglands has been named on the ground and Hudson on the bench

Either Hudson won't play or Biglands is down for a key position.

Rhett would be lucky to come straight back in given his indiscretions

So much for having a look at Parker.

When would be a better time than now??

Its very hard to follow.

Jars458 said:
Biglands has been named on the ground and Hudson on the bench

So much for having a look at Parker.

When would be a better time than now??

Its very hard to follow.

Yeah with McGregor and Hart both out, playing at home to a low side, I wouldnt of thought you could get a better time!

Stiffy_18 said:
IN: Biglands, Rutten, Hentschel and Doughty
OUT: McGregor, Hart, Skipworth and Gallagher

Those are the ins and outs;)

Pretty much perfect Stiff,

But seriously, how could Parker not get into this team. His SANFL form has been as consistent as we have seen for a long time in this club. With McGregor out, this was the absolute perfect opportunity to see what he's got.

Good to see Potenschel back in though, let's just hope his ankle travels okay. :eek:

Stiffy_18 said:

Playing 3 ruckman is stupid when none is good enough as a KPP. Parker should be playing instead of the 3rd ruckman, we are going to try as a defender. Just stupid.

Hope they swap Bock & Hentschel around, as surely after last week they discovered Bock is more suited in defence, as he hasn't done much up forward.

Heard the same ins & outs Stiffy. Personally I would have picked Ladhams instead of Shirley (as well as Parker over Biglands).

Kane McGoodwin said:
Playing 3 ruckman is stupid when none is good enough as a KPP. Parker should be playing instead of the 3rd ruckman, we are going to try as a defender. Just stupid.

Hope they swap Bock & Hentschel around, as surely after last week they discovered Bock is more suited in defence, as he hasn't done much up forward.

Heard the same ins & outs Stiffy. Personally I would have picked Ladhams instead of Shirley (as well as Parker over Biglands).

i reckon they are going for the win this week and then just trial the younger players against Geelong and the Power (which really we could win)

Stiffy_18 said:

********ing pathetic, IMO.

What has Biglands done to deserve a recall apart form getting in trouble with the tribunal on a regular basis this year? And considering we have Parker waiting for an opportunity, doesn't the future look rosy under Craig. :rolleyes:

McLeod23 said:
********ing pathetic, IMO.

What has Biglands done to deserve a recall apart form getting in trouble with the tribunal on a regular basis this year? And considering we have Parker waiting for an opportunity, doesn't the future look rosy under Craig. :rolleyes:

to craigs defence - already on this site we have seen people say if craig loses to richomnd its disgraceful and he should be sacked but also want young players given a chance - you cant play all young players and win so i think i'll take the win this week and the give parker a go next week and against the power - also i think there is a fair chance parker and smith will be retained next year so all is not lost

I know what you mean Grolm and I agree. But personally I think, assuming Rutten takes Richardson, that Parker would do a lot better job on Shultz than Biglands. Because thats were Biglands will play - in defence.

So, IMO, playing Parker ahead of Biglands not only gives us a better chance of winning, but also helps develop a promising young player.

McLeod23 said:
I know what you mean Grolm and I agree. But personally I think, assuming Rutten takes Richardson, that Parker would do a lot better job on Shultz than Biglands. Because thats were Biglands will play - in defence.

So, IMO, playing Parker ahead of Biglands not only gives us a better chance of winning, but also helps develop a promising young player.
Biglands gives us more flexibility. I have no issues with the ins and outs. If Ruuten gets stitched up by Richo (Which is a fair chance of happening) then we at elast have the option of playin Biglands on Richo (and if someone says Biglands is useless as a defender take a tape of our SF against Demons in 2002 and have a look what was the match winning move;)). Someone like Bassett, Bock, Hentschel or even Stevens could take on Schulz.

I really have no issues with the line up and think the ins and outs are pretty good.

McLeod23 said:

you think rutten will take richo ?
i though maybe they would try biglands first or even hentschel

Stiffy_18 said:
Biglands gives us more flexibility. I have no issues with the ins and outs. If Ruuten gets stitched up by Richo (Which is a fair chance of happening) then we at elast have the option of playin Biglands on Richo (and if someone says Biglands is useless as a defender take a tape of our SF against Demons in 2002 and have a look what was the match winning move;)). Someone like Bassett, Bock, Hentschel or even Stevens could take on Schulz.

I really have no issues with the line up and think the ins and outs are pretty good.

You don't think Parker would be an option to go onto Richo?

If you want Biglands for "flexibility", why not play him instead of Hudson.

You've given some names that could take Shultz, all of them could play on Richo if Rutten was getting flogged. How is that having no flexibility?

Grolm37 said:
you think rutten will take richo ?
i though maybe they would try biglands first or even hentschel

Yes, Ben should be given first crack. He is our fullback and Richo is the oppositions full-forward. I know it doesn't always work that way but, IMO he should be given a go.

I still don't think Biglands would do a better job on Richo than Parker (and as I've said, Parker wouldn't start on Richo anyway).

McLeod23 said:
You don't think Parker would be an option to go onto Richo?

If you want Biglands for "flexibility", why not play him instead of Hudson.

You've given some names that could take Shultz, all of them could play on Richo if Rutten was getting flogged. How is that having no flexibility?
Swinging Parker on Richo would be a HUGE ask for a 1st gamer.

Biglands gives us flexibility because he can play in the ruck and in defence somethign Hudson does. What a lot of you are forgetting is that we need to get some footy into Hudson before next year because Clarke will hang them up at theend of the year. We need Huddo to get some experience und his belt so we can rely on him next year. Thats why I think playing Huddo is greater priority than playing Parker.

Plese mate, Bassett, Stevens, Bock and Hentschel all are MUCH better match ups for Schulz than Richo. Could you imagine Bassett, Stevens and Bock standing next to Richo. He would eat them alive. They are no where near strong enough to go with Richo.

I think Hentschel will play forward anyway

Stiffy_18 said:
1. Swinging Parker on Richo would be a HUGE ask for a 1st gamer.

2. Biglands gives us flexibility because he can play in the ruck and in defence somethign Hudson does. What a lot of you are forgetting is that we need to get some footy into Hudson before next year because Clarke will hang them up at theend of the year. We need Huddo to get some experience und his belt so we can rely on him next year. Thats why I think playing Huddo is greater priority than playing Parker.

3. Plese mate, Bassett, Stevens, Bock and Hentschel all are MUCH better match ups for Schulz than Richo. Could you imagine Bassett, Stevens and Bock standing next to Richo. He would eat them alive. They are no where near strong enough to go with Richo.

4. I think Hentschel will play forward anyway

1. Yes it would. Would be a great opportunity for him as well.

2. Far enough.

3. I never said they were better match ups for Richo than Shultz. I said they were options.

4. I think he will too, and I certainly hope he does.

Stiffy_18 said:

:) Puts hand up

Biglands is useless as a defender (sorry too many words, take last 3 off ;) )

Wayne's-World said:
:) Puts hand up

Biglands is useless as a defender (sorry too many words, take last 3 off ;) )
I'm with you WW. So what Biglands was handy in 1 game as a defender - still doesn't change the fact he has been crap in the majority of his games as a KPP. Biglands isn't the smartest chap around, so giving him additional roles just deteriorates his ability as a ruckman ... when we lack ruckmen on our list, yet hae plenty of KPP defenders - yeah, that makes sense... :confused:

Kane McGoodwin said:
I'm with you WW. So what Biglands was handy in 1 game as a defender - still doesn't change the fact he has been crap in the majority of his games as a KPP. Biglands isn't the smartest chap around, so giving him additional roles just deteriorates his ability as a ruckman ... when we lack ruckmen on our list, yet hae plenty of KPP defenders - yeah, that makes sense... :confused:
His physique and the way he moves continually has you dreaming about holding down a defensive KP.

Unfortunately actions never matchs appearances ;)