parano1a

Mar 2, 2003
Melbourne Storm
Mike Sheahan hinted in his Monday column that the AFL was close to finalising a fixture reshuffle for Round 22, but I haven't heard anything about it in any other media.

Here's what I'd do, simply make a few changes:

Friday
Carlton v Adelaide (Etihad, 7.10pm) FOX
West Coast v Richmond (Subiaco, 9.10pm) SEVEN

Saturday
Geelong v Fremantle (Skilled, 1.10pm) FOX
Hawthorn v Essendon (MCG, 2.10pm) TEN
Collingwood v Western Bulldogs (Etihad, 4.10pm) FOX
Sydney v Brisbane (SCG, 7.10pm) FOX
Port Adelaide v North Melbourne (AAMI, 7.40pm) TEN

Sunday
Melbourne v St Kilda (MCG, 2.10pm) SEVEN

The Crows and Blues both play on the Saturday in Round 21 so aren't disadvantaged by the shorter break, plus this gives more flexibility in Finals Week 1 scheduling with both teams likely to take part.

Blues-Crows game shown live on Foxtel nationally. Adelaide viewers get a double header on Seven of Blues-Crows live then Eagles-Tigers on delay.

Eagles-Tigers start moved 30 minutes later to minimise clash, and airs live on Seven in Melbourne and Perth.

Saturday's Dogs-Pies is a Foxtel only game, so slots straight into the timeslot that Blues-Crows was originally planned for.

I hope thats not the case, I know an Adelaide family who just booked flights to fly over on the Saturday for the game.

This has been an issue for a while now, either the AFL did something when the problem first arose or they leave it as it is. I think its to late personally.

I am pretty sure that last week the AFL said 'unofficially' nothing will change.

The last round should be played fri night and saturday and to hell with the TV stations. The integrity of the finals comp is more important than one weekend of TV.

As long as we aren't scheduled to play on a Friday night I dont have a problem with playing the sunday twilight.

Hope its pies vs cats sat night at the G!

Saints dogs on sunday.

I really cant see a problem.

Why do the saints the undeafeated team play on sunday and get the most disadvantage going into the finals? Everyone is talking about the pies and dogs playin on sunday, how do u think the saints feel playin sunday?
To play Melbourne? :eek:

Training session. You'll be fine the next week.

As long as we aren't scheduled to play on a Friday night I dont have a problem with playing the sunday twilight.

Saints dogs on sunday.

I really cant see a problem.

You really want all personnel avail to play and one day less might mean the very best might miss out. finals is mean to be a showpiece, but clubs are loathe to play anyone that cant quite get there. One day can make a difference given the intensity of their rehab programs

Could be bumped to Saturday arvo to make way for a Brisbane Lions final on Saturday Night, as they AFL would want to look after the the TV market up there.

A reshuffle just 3 weeks from now is not on. Not sure why the AFL are so anal about having a Qualifying Final on a Friday Night. The opening game of the series is going to get big ratings regardless who plays.

Why do the saints the undeafeated team play on sunday and get the most disadvantage going into the finals? Everyone is talking about the pies and dogs playin on sunday, how do u think the saints feel playin sunday?

It's an advantage to 1st on the assumption they win their first game. If they lose, then it's a 6 day turn around as opposed to an 7 day turn around if they lose a game on the Friday Night.

I guess I'm understanding where the AFL comes from. They feel 2nd v 3rd could go either way, so the loser gets a full week to prepare if they play on the Friday Night, while 1st is expected to win over 4th on the Sunday, but if they happen to lose, being the minor premier, a 6 day turn around would be something they are capable of handling.

Still doesn't give them an excuse to mess around with Round 22 only 3 weeks out. From next year onwards, simply fixture 2 Friday Night games on the Friday Night, one early Melbourne game at 6:10pm, the other game from Perth at 8:40pm, both on FTA.

On Saturday, give FOXTEL a Quadruple Header, Back to Back to Back to Back starting at 12:40pm, starting with a game from Geelong and ending with a game from Adelaide. Give Seven a game in the arvo so they can lead it into their news and give Ten a Saturday Night game.

The 9th game could be played on the Thursday Night.

No Sunday games in Round 22, no worries.

It is a day game for starters...will be finished as the pies v dogs game starts.

The saints can play the qualifying final on the sunday, which means they get the full 7 day rest. As it is certain that the pies and dogs will be fighting it out for 3-4 spot, it means that either team could be at a massive disadvantage for the finals.

Let say the dogs lose and end up finishing 7th. Pies finish 3rd.

As the saints finish first they can have the Sunday arvo final, and get the full rest.

This will mean that the dogs may have to travel interstate and play on satday. That would alost kill them in what would be a knock out final for them at aami or the gabba!

What a load of bull.

Both teams are playing in Melbourne and playing just 2 hours after St Kilda plays and they're crying like babies.

Pull your heads in. You should be on your knees to the AFL for not getting a trip to WA in round 22.

Mike Sheahan hinted in his Monday column that the AFL was close to finalising a fixture reshuffle for Round 22, but I haven't heard anything about it in any other media.

Here's what I'd do, simply make a few changes:

Friday
Carlton v Adelaide (Etihad, 7.10pm) FOX
West Coast v Richmond (Subiaco, 9.10pm) SEVEN

Saturday
Geelong v Fremantle (Skilled, 1.10pm) FOX
Hawthorn v Essendon (MCG, 2.10pm) TEN
Collingwood v Western Bulldogs (Etihad, 4.10pm) FOX
Sydney v Brisbane (SCG, 7.10pm) FOX
Port Adelaide v North Melbourne (AAMI, 7.40pm) TEN

Sunday
Melbourne v St Kilda (MCG, 2.10pm) SEVEN

The Crows and Blues both play on the Saturday in Round 21 so aren't disadvantaged by the shorter break, plus this gives more flexibility in Finals Week 1 scheduling with both teams likely to take part.

Blues-Crows game shown live on Foxtel nationally. Adelaide viewers get a double header on Seven of Blues-Crows live then Eagles-Tigers on delay.

Eagles-Tigers start moved 30 minutes later to minimise clash, and airs live on Seven in Melbourne and Perth.

Saturday's Dogs-Pies is a Foxtel only game, so slots straight into the timeslot that Blues-Crows was originally planned for.

the rumour is that the pies v dogs game will be moved to fri night and remain a foxtel game

Fixturing is crap......

They should do the draw at the start of the year and then only finalise the actual day and time about 4 weeks out. That way they can ensure that the big games, i.e. the games between top 8 sides for ladder position are televised in an appropraite time slot and attract the most interest.

Each team would know who they're playing each round, and where, but not the time slot until a month beforehand. That way when they get towards the end of the season, we're not left with irrelevant games like Richmand Vs WCE on Friday night footy.

The problem as it now stand isn't the first week of the finals, it is the second. If the dogs and the Pies finish 3rd and 4th and the Saints 1st, the losers out of these three clubs in the first week of the finals will only get a 6 day break before the semi-finals and will play a lower ranked club with an 7-8 day break.

The AFL have really screwed this fixture up. I honestly can't fathom what they were thinking when they put Pies v Dogs on Sunday evening.

What a load of bull.

Both teams are playing in Melbourne and playing just 2 hours after St Kilda plays and they're crying like babies.

Pull your heads in. You should be on your knees to the AFL for not getting a trip to WA in round 22.
You obviously don't get it brains... :rolleyes:

St Kilda are playing their 1st final on a 7 day break as they are intitled to being the best team of the H & A season. Collingwood or the Bulldogs will be the Friday night game with a 5 day break, hardly ideal going into a finals series.

Fixturing is crap......

They should do the draw at the start of the year and then only finalise the actual day and time about 4 weeks out. That way they can ensure that the big games, i.e. the games between top 8 sides for ladder position are televised in an appropraite time slot and attract the most interest.

Each team would know who they're playing each round, and where, but not the time slot until a month beforehand. That way when they get towards the end of the season, we're not left with irrelevant games like Richmand Vs WCE on Friday night footy.

You underestimate the amount of people that plan and book their travel to attend games once the draw first comes out. It would affect people making plans then.
Also clubs need to book flights and accomodation and need to do this a fair way in advance.
Clubs also prepare functions months in advance, they wouldn't be able to be concrete with any plans if you did this

It cant be that had to schedule the first week.

StKilda will play on the Sunday - which is the right earned by the minor premier. Collingwood will play Geelong on the Saturday night, Bulldogs (say 5th) will play Saturday afternoon at Etihad, and the other team finishing 5th or 6th (presumably Adelaide or Brisbane) will play Friday night.

You underestimate the amount of people that plan and book their travel to attend games once the draw first comes out. It would affect people making plans then.
Also clubs need to book flights and accomodation and need to do this a fair way in advance.
Clubs also prepare functions months in advance, they wouldn't be able to be concrete with any plans if you did this

i even heard "compo" being tossed around a while ago?

The AFL should have 'floating' plans in place for Rd22 and only schedule it 3 to 4 weeks out. Or just play it all on the Fri night and saturday, which would be even simpler.

From next season, just have the lowest four teams from the years before playing on the Sunday, they have no one to blame but themselves.

If the bottom four stays as it is at the end of round 22, these should be the games in round 22 next season on the Sunday:

North Melbourne V. Richmond
Fremantle V. Melbourne.

Round 22 fixture reshuffle