Autopsy Round 23, 2025: Hawks pump Dees

Happy with the win, we are doing enough at the moment and come finals doing enough every game will see us hoist the trophy.

I say this every week but **** me it annoys me that the first bit of commentary post our win from Fox is David King casting aspersions over our structure with four talls.
Absolute campaigner and i hope when we salute in September he remembers that he is a campaigner that only keeps his job because he has mates in high places.
The best way to deal with David King is to totally ignore what he says.

I didn't think he could do any worse than his 60+ point tip for the Swans in the 2014 GF. I was wrong! 10 years later, in mid-2024, he called for Chris Fagan to be sacked, saying Brisbane needed a better coach to help them realise the potential of their talented list.

The bloke's a muppet - and I'm being kind. The only competition he has for being the worst 'analyst' in the footy media is his sidekick, the Hawthorn-won't-win-a-final-until-2027-and-Mitchell-won't-be-coaching-then prophet named Leigh Montagna.

The only reason I can think of for ever watching or listening to those two again is if I'm in need of some comedic relief.

Now, onto more serious matters: come on Crows - smash those Pies in the second half!

Last year, if people remember that godawful game early in the season against Melbourne where we kept playing horizontally and Wiz kicked his first goal, I was seated next to two delightful older Dees supporting women, and we had a lovely afternoon chatting away. And typically, that's how I've found Melbourne supporters: pretty easy going, happy to have a chat, and enjoy their footy nearly as much as their aprés-ski drinks.

Today, we ended up sitting amongst a bunch of Melbourne supporters for this game. Was absolutely ghastly. The chap in front of me was rude. The two people sitting next to us moaned about the umpiring the whole game, when they were not making snide remarks about our players. The folks behind me had no idea who Punky was, why people were booing, and why everyone got around him after the goal. Another Hawthorn supporter in the area explained he was basically a three-time premiership legend of the game and Mr Rude sniffed, "Never even heard of him". Yeah, whatever mate.

I was explaining the finer nuances of the crowd aspects of the game to my girlfriend (her third game seen live, she has already picked up strategy etc amazingly well), and I said the booing was for a dodgy free kick for some kind of holding infringement to Melbourne (in the 3rd where they scored a goal), and Mr Rude turned around and said there was nothing dodgy about it.

None of the behaviour was antisocial, but most of it was unpleasant, and unnecessarily so.

To be fair there was a guy sitting with Mr Rude who we had some pleasant and polite chatting with during the breaks. And an older Hawthorn supporting gentleman came up and started speaking with the pleasant guy part way through the third quarter about the merger in 1996, had a few beers, and by mid-way through the last quarter was banging on about "f**king Geelong", so there's bad eggs in all supporter bases.

Social commentary over, I thought the game and our performance was fine. We did enough to win it comfortably, but as others have suggested, likely with an eye on next week. Would it have been better or nicer to win by more? Sure, especially given ladder positions, but I'll take the win with no injuries or suspensions.

Was awesome seeing Gunners turn back the clock. Excluding the last 10 minutes, the defence was great, but some of those dinky precision kicks, especially after the light shower, should be popped away in that closet which is visited once every few years to get the ugly vase out because Aunt Dottie is visiting and she gave it as a 21st present.

The one player who has been in the firing line with supporters this year is Macdonald, and I thought a lot of what he did off the ball was fabulous. Wayward kicking was the only blemish on an otherwise really good game. I thought Mass was excellent too; he's a lot harder at it this year, which is great. Ward too was really nice in the engine room. Was unlucky to mark a ball called not 15 40 out bang in front in the last. Both Mass and Ward need to spend the off-season developing right feet!

Some of the umpiring both ways was appalling. This is a theme this year, and needs to be cracked down on. Both 50m penalties, as far as I could tell, were not there (have not seen the replay). Some very weird free kicks given too.

Does anyone know why Wiz was subbed? Just a like-for-like?

Cheers,
P

Another clear example of our backline and forwardline being our strengths and our midfield being not quite there.

Some absolutely vintage Breust moments, a real trip down memory lane.

Moore brilliant. If he can keep it up he might just be the shot in the arm our midfield is desperate for come finals.

Impey is at his peak and so reliable at the moment. Love the run down tackles.

Pray Watson is not injured or carrying. He lacked his usual spark. We need the magic starting next week.

Last year, if people remember that godawful game early in the season against Melbourne where we kept playing horizontally and Wiz kicked his first goal, I was seated next to two delightful older Dees supporting women, and we had a lovely afternoon chatting away. And typically, that's how I've found Melbourne supporters: pretty easy going, happy to have a chat, and enjoy their footy nearly as much as their aprés-ski drinks.

Today, we ended up sitting amongst a bunch of Melbourne supporters for this game. Was absolutely ghastly. The chap in front of me was rude. The two people sitting next to us moaned about the umpiring the whole game, when they were not making snide remarks about our players. The folks behind me had no idea who Punky was, why people were booing, and why everyone got around him after the goal. Another Hawthorn supporter in the area explained he was basically a three-time premiership legend of the game and Mr Rude sniffed, "Never even heard of him". Yeah, whatever mate.

I was explaining the finer nuances of the crowd aspects of the game to my girlfriend (her third game seen live, she has already picked up strategy etc amazingly well), and I said the booing was for a dodgy free kick for some kind of holding infringement to Melbourne (in the 3rd where they scored a goal), and Mr Rude turned around and said there was nothing dodgy about it.

None of the behaviour was antisocial, but most of it was unpleasant, and unnecessarily so.

To be fair there was a guy sitting with Mr Rude who we had some pleasant and polite chatting with during the breaks. And an older Hawthorn supporting gentleman came up and started speaking with the pleasant guy part way through the third quarter about the merger in 1996, had a few beers, and by mid-way through the last quarter was banging on about "f**king Geelong", so there's bad eggs in all supporter bases.

Social commentary over, I thought the game and our performance was fine. We did enough to win it comfortably, but as others have suggested, likely with an eye on next week. Would it have been better or nicer to win by more? Sure, especially given ladder positions, but I'll take the win with no injuries or suspensions.

Was awesome seeing Gunners turn back the clock. Excluding the last 10 minutes, the defence was great, but some of those dinky precision kicks, especially after the light shower, should be popped away in that closet which is visited once every few years to get the ugly vase out because Aunt Dottie is visiting and she gave it as a 21st present.

The one player who has been in the firing line with supporters this year is Macdonald, and I thought a lot of what he did off the ball was fabulous. Wayward kicking was the only blemish on an otherwise really good game. I thought Mass was excellent too; he's a lot harder at it this year, which is great. Ward too was really nice in the engine room. Was unlucky to mark a ball called not 15 40 out bang in front in the last. Both Mass and Ward need to spend the off-season developing right feet!

Some of the umpiring both ways was appalling. This is a theme this year, and needs to be cracked down on. Both 50m penalties, as far as I could tell, were not there (have not seen the replay). Some very weird free kicks given too.

Does anyone know why Wiz was subbed? Just a like-for-like?

Cheers,
P

I think Wiz is one of the few players we've had to play every game this season. Probably just the perfect like for like sub for Punky and helps manage his minutes, especially as a young fella.

Belt to ass.

Happy Antonio Banderas GIF

IMG_0122.jpeg
We went in knowing we had to win and we were September bound and win we did. We had some incredible performances that show we are hitting our straps as we close out the home and away season.
  • Gunners continues to turn back the clock each and every week. His kicking this year has been so impressive, kicking through the ball and showing that the medical staff have done a great job getting his body right.
  • CJ on the wing is showing great signs. His speed to get back in defence has been a real highlight but his ability to link in attack is growing.
  • Croc, Moore and Ginni’s work rate and ability to link and get involved was first class and with our midfield down in numbers, their ability to get up the ground and be important cogs is tremendous.
  • Josh Ward grows each week in confidence and with the ball in hand - love his efforts at the coal face.
  • Dear’s launch at the ball and his timing with his marking is a real strength that will trouble so many teams at the pointy end of the season.
  • Impey and Amon from half back are just electric and their turn of foot and skills in setting up attack are a driving force.
  • Barrass and Battle keep doing the job we got them for a- nullifying defences.
  • Punky coming on and kicking a goal brought a smile to everyone’s face and the love of his teammates shows why he will continue to be an integral part of the team throughout the backend of the season, whether he is playing or he is part of the support team.

One game to go - if we bring the heat and pressure we have shown and take our chances, we are a real chance of securing a top 4 spot and that is a brilliant launching point.

I really do wonder if that's the last of Punky we see.

That was the best I've seen of him for a long time.
That performance is enough to keep him in the sub vest probably for the rest of the sesson.
I know Melbourne were poor but 9 disposals, 1 goal 2 goal assists and 7 score involvements is almost the perfect sub performance

View attachment 2397076
We went in knowing we had to win and we were September bound and win we did. We had some incredible performances that show we are hitting our straps as we close out the home and away season.
  • Gunners continues to turn back the clock each and every week. His kicking this year has been so impressive, kicking through the ball and showing that the medical staff have done a great job getting his body right.
  • CJ on the wing is showing great signs. His speed to get back in defence has been a real highlight but his ability to link in attack is growing.
  • Croc, Moore and Ginni’s work rate and ability to link and get involved was first class and with our midfield down in numbers, their ability to get up the ground and be important cogs is tremendous.
  • Josh Ward grows each week in confidence and with the ball in hand - love his efforts at the coal face.
  • Dear’s launch at the ball and his timing with his marking is a real strength that will trouble so many teams at the pointy end of the season.
  • Impey and Amon from half back are just electric and their turn of foot and skills in setting up attack are a driving force.
  • Barrass and Battle keep doing the job we got them for a- nullifying defences.
  • Punky coming on and kicking a goal brought a smile to everyone’s face and the love of his teammates shows why he will continue to be an integral part of the team throughout the backend of the season, whether he is playing or he is part of the support team.

One game to go - if we bring the heat and pressure we have shown and take our chances, we are a real chance of securing a top 4 spot and that is a brilliant launching point.
I'll just add a couple more to your insights.

• Ginnivan's footy smarts are amazing. Knowing when to take the ball, hit it on. And his pass to Gunners when he kicked back across his body to outsmart the Melbourne defender.
  • Dear's ability to bounce up after a contest and then affect the next contest (such as a tackle) is almost Cyril like

Onya Hawkers!!!
A great day out with both Gunners having another blinder, and being able to send our thanks to Punky, should we not get the chance to again.
Got the points which is what was needed, and we put ourselves in a position to have a real crack at either a home elimination final or even the double chance next week.

It will be fun watching the results roll in for the rest of the weekend and particularly next week before we're up.

Go Hawks!

Yea, those dinky angled kicks in between the arcs were guilt edged moments where if we were on top of our game , especially with concentration, then this would've gotten real ugly. Gotta stop those dinks. Maybe it was happening because Sam wants to change angles to move the opposition defence set up or we just didn't have the receivers running on full juice to get the handball receive which meant we took the kicking option instead. Don't really know but it was off after half time.
I was going to post exactly the same thing now I've thawed out. Our dinky kicks were dreadful in the second half and led to several Dees goals we could have avoided. Game was never in doubt so it was annoying more than critical but we can't afford to execute that badly again from here on in.

For those slightly frustrated about the lack of percentage boost today, try thinking about the energy conserved from taking the pedal off 😌. I know it’s copium, but anything to help us to get over the line against the lions is a bonus. Even if we miss the top 4 on percentage, a home eliminational final at the G will be massive.

A few weeks ago if you’d told me we’d knock off the pies, dees and possibly lions, I would’ve taken that any day of the week without giving top 4 a second thought. Besides, nobody expected us to flog the pies, so there’s that too.

Only a moron would think that when he's contributing like that

We've got Morrison to come back in who has been embedded in the best 22 all season.

Also Weddle.

Autopsy Round 23, 2025: Hawks pump Dees