pOleK

Professional Couch Observer
Brisbane Lions
FC Barcelona, Atlanta Hawks
One certainty I think for next week is Claye Beams, was a class above in the NEAFL. Cedric Cox an outside chance but I think bringing in Berry and McCluggage gave us too many inexperienced bodies to begin with today so might miss out (although I'd love for him to debut). Candidates for being omitted I would say are Barrett, Frost and possibly Lester. Bewick keeps his spot for his outstanding late 2nd quarter and 3rd quarter.

Saying that I would say/hope:

In: Claye Beams, Cedric Cox
Out: Jake Barrett, Jack Frost

Outs: Barrett, Robertson

Ahh I can hardly be bothered thinking about it. So many players should be under the pump but we just don't have the experience in the reserves knocking on the door to replace them and if we bring in another 2-3 teenagers it takes away any chance of us being competitive.

All of Barrett, Bell, Bewick, Cutler, McStay, Frost even Taylor and Robertson should be on notice.

Claye Beams a definite inclusion next week. Close to come back in for McStay or Gardiner if he doesn't get up. Or do we drop Frost and persist with McStay down back, only if Gardiner is fit obviously otherwise both Frost and McStay get a reprieve. I reckon we bring Cedric Cox in for a debut at the Gabba. Barrett should definitely get cut and I think Bell needs to be sent a message as well.

So if Gardiner is fit-

In: Close Beams Cox
Out: Frost Barrett Bell

If Gardiner is injured-

Out: Gardiner Barrett Bell

Team looks like-

B Robertson Andrews Gardiner/Frost
HB Mayes McStay Cutler
C McCluggage Rockliff Rich
HF Taylor Schache Bewick
F Robinson Close Hipwood
R Martin DBeams Zorko
I Lester CBeams Berry Cox

One certainty I think for next week is Claye Beams, was a class above in the NEAFL. Cedric Cox an outside chance but I think bringing in Berry and McCluggage gave us too many inexperienced bodies to begin with today so might miss out (although I'd love for him to debut). Candidates for being omitted I would say are Barrett, Frost and possibly Lester. Bewick keeps his spot for his outstanding late 2nd quarter and 3rd quarter.

Saying that I would say/hope:

In: Claye Beams, Cedric Cox
Out: Jake Barrett, Jack Frost
Get real ,Bewick is a cheater,puts teammates under pressure and bates a contest..he and Lester put enormous pressure on our back half.I get so pissed off when the kids at the back ....and they really missed Gardiner, have to cover the total lack of commitment of Lester and Bewick.

Ahh I can hardly be bothered thinking about it. So many players should be under the pump but we just don't have the experience in the reserves knocking on the door to replace them and if we bring in another 2-3 teenagers it takes away any chance of us being competitive.

All of Barrett, Bell, Bewick, Cutler, McStay, Frost even Taylor and Robertson should be on notice.

Claye Beams a definite inclusion next week. Close to come back in for McStay or Gardiner if he doesn't get up. Or do we drop Frost and persist with McStay down back, only if Gardiner is fit obviously otherwise both Frost and McStay get a reprieve. I reckon we bring Cedric Cox in for a debut at the Gabba. Barrett should definitely get cut and I think Bell needs to be sent a message as well.

So if Gardiner is fit-

If Gardiner is injured-

Team looks like-

HB Mayes McStay Cutler
HF Taylor Schache Bewick
F Robinson Close Hipwood
R Martin DBeams Zorko
Gardiner has a corkie,may get there.

Out: Cutler (garbage), Gardiner (injured)
In: C.Beams, Close

Mayes should count himself lucky if he stays in the team. Zero composure from a experienced player. The omission of Close was a huge coaching error. Schache and Hipwood are not ready to hold a fwd line yet!

out- Gardner (inj), Bell, Lester, Barrett, Frost. (omitted)
ins-
Walker, in for Frost at fullback, lets see how he goes, better disposal and mark than Frost.
C.Beams, in for Lester, play him as a midfielder, again better disposal than Lester and also quicker which is an indictment on Lester.
Close, in for Gardner with McStay going back and Close up forward.
Cox, in for Barrett, getting repetitive but better disposal again, play the same role as Barrett.
Keays, in for Bell, better disposal.

ins-
Walker, in for Frost at fullback, lets see how he goes, better disposal and mark than Frost.
C.Beams, in for Lester, play him as a midfielder, again better disposal than Lester and also quicker which is an indictment on Lester.
Cox, in for Barrett, getting repetitive but better disposal again, play the same role as Barrett.
This is the only costructive post on the board today...bravo Jason,you pretty much nailed it mate.We have a big show in this game ,Carlton and the Coasters showed its a closer comp than the experts would have us believe.

Out: Cutler (garbage), Gardiner (injured)
In: C.Beams, Close

Mayes should count himself lucky if he stays in the team. Zero composure from a experienced player. The omission of Close was a huge coaching error. Schache and Hipwood are not ready to hold a fwd line yet!
Gardiner has a corkie and the coach hasn't written him off ...yet.

So if Gardiner is fit-

If Gardiner is injured-

Team looks like-

HB Mayes McStay Cutler
HF Taylor Schache Bewick
F Robinson Close Hipwood
R Martin DBeams Zorko
Whats Lester in for, he couldn't even run a drink 20 metres. .

Dodongo said it last week and Dodongo will say it again - Barrett won't be dropped. Dodongo wants you all to realise his role in the team as a defensive forward - 10 tackles and countles one percenters. Dodongo loves players like that - as does Fagan. Dodongo is aware Barrett is a poor kicker but his 1%ers is the most valuable to the team.

Dodongo also sees a comment about Mayes lucky if he isn't dropped. Dodongo thinks it's ridiculous that one bad game deserves a dropping. Dodongo brings your attention back to rounds 1 and 2 where Mayes was brilliant.

Dodongo hás spoken.

If Gardiner is out, I'd be happy to try Walker in defence. However, he is slow as molasses (as is Frost) so that could be an issue.
Keep Barrett, just like Dodongo said, I think Barrett, whilst not the cleanest, brings a lot of fwd pressure and intensity on the footy field. Bell, if anyone from up forward, should be sweating, due to his lazy, bruise-free footy tonight...something that can NEVER be said about Barrett.
Robertson gets that little bit better each game. Definitely worth persisting with.
Cutler could probably use a spell in the 2s, but then again, would it teach him anything? Fagan may sit him down and persist with him. Perhaps Berry could play Cutler's role off half-back, and move Cutler further up the field. He just does not seem comfortable with those . I'd sooner have Berry down there than Cox...still worried about Cox's slight frame after getting monstered anytime he went near the footy in the JLT series. If Fagan played Cox on the outside pushing up the flanks (similar to how Christensen often was played last year), then for sure. He has the right skill set to excel in that role and his young body might not be so much of an issue then.
IN: Walker/Close, Cox (on the wing/outside), C.Beams
OUT: Gardiner (if injured), Lester, Bell. If Gardiner is healthy and plays, then drop Bewick.

Move Berry back and have him take Cutler's role. Move Cox and Cutler up and on the wings with a licence to run and carry and penetrate inside 50, something we could've used tonight. Hopefully Gardiner is just a corky and will be back next week, as with Frost slow as buggery and McStay tending to fade out and go for hangers rather than play his man, we really don't have anyone else solid, quick and reliable to take Gardiner's role for 4 quarters of football. Have Walker/Close (whomever gets picked) up forward crashing packs and doing their bit to create a contest deep. Let Hippy and Schache have the freedom to run and run and run. C.Beams would be nice if we could squeeze him in also. Could slot into Lester/Bewick's role, or let him play further up as we all know he can damage the scoreboard

ins-
So hipwood schache and close all playing. That would make an extremely slow forward mine. I feel for close to come in one of schache or hipwood comes out.

Given their age and not yet beefed up bodies that are getting thrashed by older opposition players I can see hippy and Schache alternating every few games between the 1s and 2s with close doing the heavy crash role. Learn the role, and get the chance for their bodies to develop without destroying them physically and mentally.
And next year run them together again.

FF: Close, Hipwood, Schache
HF: Taylor, Robinson, Lester
C: CBeams, Zorko, Bewick
Foll: Martin, DBeams, Rockliff
HB: Rich, Mayes, Cutler
FB: Walker, Andrews, McStay/Gardiner

Int: Bell, Berry, McCluggage, Robertson

Bell to play more midfield time. He played there a bit in the second and was very important.
Claye on wing.
Don't hate on Cutler. He's probably one of our most dynamic players. Give him a chance.

Out: Barrett, Frost, McStay/Gardiner,
In: CBeams, Walker, Close

Mind you, Walker didn't play reserves did he? Injured or what?
If so, Frost retains spot... which I'm tempted to do anyway.

Brining Cox in as well? I'm not sure. I'd rest McCluggage or Berry in 2 weeks, and he can replace them for 2 weeks.... just to keep the real freshies safe

Where is Jono Freeman at? Haven't heard his name for a while. With Schache and Hipwood drafted in I guess he's way way waaay back in the line of KPFs?

Presented a fair bit in the NEAFL on Saturday but fumbled quite a lot. It was quite humid to be fair and he was hardly the only player having that issue. He's kicked 5 in two weeks, so not too bad a return.

Out: barrett (horrible foot skills)
In: C.Beams

Can't see us making many more changes than this unless Dizzy doesn't get up. There were a few bad performers but I don't think we can afford to drop any of them other than Barrett.