MicksterD

You beauty - the tough nut Matty Whelan is back to add some grunt!!

MELBOURNE
B: Matthew Whelan, Nathan Carroll, Jared Rivers
HB: Paul Wheatley, Brad Miller, Daniel Bell
C: Brad Green, Brock McLean, Clint Bartram
HF: Cameron Bruce, Russell Robertson, Colin Sylvia
F: Aaron Davey, David Neitz, Austin Wonaeamirri
Foll: Jeff White, James McDonald, Nathan Jones
I/C: Mark Jamar, Chris Johnson, Lynden Dunn, Cale Morton
EMG: Brent Moloney, Colin Garland, James Frawley
In: Whelan, Jamar
Out: Paul Johnson (hand), Colin Garland (omitted)

I reckon Bruce and Miller will(should) swap positions....

Congrats to Wheels coming back into the team after a year out, And to Wheatley who turns 27 on Saturday.:thumbsu:

I'm not too impressed with Jamar's inclusion, however I'm willing to keep an open mind in relation to the decision. Hopefully Meesen will show enough to warrant a chance at some point.
Regarding Whelan, I'm v. happy to see his name on the team sheet. He's the type of player who can set the standard through his actions and a player of his type has been sorely missed in the Melbourne defence thus far.
On a side note, I'm looking for Sylvia to show something more this week, I'm getting tired of waiting.
Looking forward to the match this weekend, should be an interesting encounter.

I wonder if anything will happen between Sylvia and Harris after Sylvia punched him in the face during the praccy match....:D

You beauty - the tough nut Matty Whelan is back to add some grunt!!

MELBOURNE
B: Matthew Whelan, Nathan Carroll, Jared Rivers
HB: Paul Wheatley, Brad Miller, Daniel Bell
C: Brad Green, Brock McLean, Clint Bartram
HF: Cameron Bruce, Russell Robertson, Colin Sylvia
F: Aaron Davey, David Neitz, Austin Wonaeamirri
Foll: Jeff White, James McDonald, Nathan Jones
I/C: Mark Jamar, Chris Johnson, Lynden Dunn, Cale Morton
EMG: Brent Moloney, Colin Garland, James Frawley
In: Whelan, Jamar
Out: Paul Johnson (hand), Colin Garland (omitted)

Nice line up, great to see wheels and in turn some mongrel back in the squad, although i would prefer Miller in the forward line compared to defense if we are going to play him.

I'm just glad to see Colin Garland out of the side. If he got another game then it would have been rewarding him for shit.

Nice line up, great to see wheels and in turn some mongrel back in the squad, although i would prefer Miller in the forward line compared to defense if we are going to play him.

Yeh, But most of the time players don't line up in the position they are named to

Great to have Whelan back. A shame about Johnson, but that's footy. Glad we dropped Garland as well. Interesting the non-selection of Meesen; is he recovering from an injury or just out of form?

NORTH MELBOURNE
B: Josh Gibson, Michael Firrito, Drew Petrie
HB: Daniel Pratt, Shannon Watt, Jess Smith
C: Daniel Wells, Adam Simpson, Ed Lower
HF: Nathan Thompson, Aaron Edwards Brent Harvey
F: Ben Ross, Corey Jones, Matt Campbell
Foll: Hamish McIntosh, Brady Rawlings, Daniel Harris
I/C: Sam Power, Shannon Grant, Lindsay Thomas, Leigh Brown

Carroll on Thompson
Rivers on Edwards
Bell on Jones
Whelan on Campbell

You beauty! show us what we've been missing wrecker!

Since Meesen came off injured last weekend I didnt expect him to come in for PJ. But from what I've read about the sandy games Stef Martin has shown just as much in the ruck as the russian, so I would've liked him to come in as I think he'll get a lot better but I think we've already seen all the Jamar can do. ... I'll be more than happy to be proved wrong though

Rivers, Bell, Whelan, Bartram in the same side, I don't think that happened at all last year except maybe round 1. They are all quality defenders and really stabilise our backline. If the rest of the blokes who play down there ie. Carroll, Wheatley, Miller and/or Bruce can hold their own we could actually have a backline that is respectable for probably the first time in a few years.

Does anyone else think that now with the return of one of the best small defenders in the comp in Whelan, we can use Bartram as our no. 1 tagger in the guts? Hate to say it, but Juior is too slow for the role now, I know I can't be the only one who saw G.A. Jr burn him off multiple times last week. Although this week I'd be tempted to place him next to Harvey for the whole game, regardless of where he plays.

If they line up as named (never happens but...)

Rivers- Edwards
Carroll- Thompson
Bell- Ross
Bartram- Harvey
Bruce- Jones
Whelan- Campbell

C. Johnson and Wheatley are also options, especially if Bruce is required elsewhere.

Does anyone else think that now with the return of one of the best small defenders in the comp in Whelan, we can use Bartram as our no. 1 tagger in the guts? Hate to say it, but Juior is too slow for the role now, I know I can't be the only one who saw G.A. Jr burn him off multiple times last week. Although this week I'd be tempted to place him next to Harvey for the whole game, regardless of where he plays.

If they line up as named (never happens but...)

Rivers- Edwards
Carroll- Thompson
Bell- Ross
Bartram- Harvey
Bruce- Jones
Whelan- Campbell

C. Johnson and Wheatley are also options, especially if Bruce is required elsewhere.

Exactly, Jones is probebly there most dangerous forward(when switched on) and i reckon Bruce is a perfect match up for him.

And i think he is much more effective when shutting a forward down and running off him than he is geting loose dissposials in the midfield.

I'm not saying Bruce has to play back there all day but i think he should get first crack at him.

Does anyone else think that now with the return of one of the best small defenders in the comp in Whelan, we can use Bartram as our no. 1 tagger in the guts? Hate to say it, but Juior is too slow for the role now, I know I can't be the only one who saw G.A. Jr burn him off multiple times last week. Although this week I'd be tempted to place him next to Harvey for the whole game, regardless of where he plays.quote]

Yea good call 2d, but Barts has also needed some time to find his strdie again, a year out of the game and he was very very rusty against the doggies. Bring him along then get him back in the guts with his magic smothering bus!!
Ding Ding you've just been hit by the Smother Bus!

Exactly, Jones is probebly there most dangerous forward(when switched on) and i reckon Bruce is a perfect match up for him.

And i think he is much more effective when shutting a forward down and running off him than he is geting loose dissposials in the midfield.

I'm not saying Bruce has to play back there all day but i think he should get first crack at him.

Yep I agree mate - Brucie is the man to shut down Jones and Jones is definitely the bloke who could put us out of the game by quarter time so we need Brucie to do a job on him

Rivers, Bell, Whelan, Bartram in the same side, I don't think that happened at all last year except maybe round 1. They are all quality defenders and really stabilise our backline. If the rest of the blokes who play down there ie. Carroll, Wheatley, Miller and/or Bruce can hold their own we could actually have a backline that is respectable for probably the first time in a few years.

I don't think we need to say "if" when it comes to Bruce, look at last weeks effort he gave SJ a lesson down back & even forced him out of his comfort zone going foward then kiocking a few himself. The week before Brad Johnson only kicked 1 on him from memory also.