Squizz89

Brisbane Lions
I guess the big question is does Eric come straight back in now for McStay?

I didn’t think Payne was great but then it wasn’t a great night for key forwards and he probably gets a reprieve now with McStay seemingly missing.

I also wouldn’t be against dropping Prior perhaps for Dev but can understand no forced changes other than Lester goes back for Gardiner too. I couldn’t really fault Lester’s game tonight though.

I think we have to consider going smaller. Payne and fullarton don't provide strong marking contests

Also play Oscar mostly forward

Robbo might need to stay in brissie for the birth of his kid

Wouldn't mind giving Matho a go as the sub

Adams vs Tex will be a ripping match up

Would also consider Payne down back and Andrews forward

Think we'll defo see Rafa now. Reckon McStay would have a small fracture in that lower leg. Would also do Robbo in for prior but as poster above said, Bub #3 will likely come this week, can't see him traveling.

What I would do:
Move Lester forward and bring Prior to the backline.
Bring in Dev by moving J Berry to the wing.

However I expect Fages to just bring in Fullerton for McStay, as I wouldn’t risk playing a player as important as Hippy and I don’t think Prior will be moved.

Didn't they say they were going to bring Hippy back through the VFL? Maybe that changes now with the McStay injury though.

No, there's a VFL bye next week. Think it is highly likely we will see Hippy straight into seniors as Fages has said he's available for selection now.

I'd probably go:

In - Gardiner, Hipwood, Robertson
Out - Lester, McStay, Prior

If Hippy isn't quite right yet, my inclination would be to leave Lester in the team, bring Gardiner back alongside him and Marcus, and switch Harris forward.

I guess the big question is does Eric come straight back in now for McStay?

I didn’t think Payne was great but then it wasn’t a great night for key forwards and he probably gets a reprieve now with McStay seemingly missing.

I also wouldn’t be against dropping Prior perhaps for Dev but can understand no forced changes other than Lester goes back out for Gardiner too. Although again, I couldn’t really fault Lester’s game tonight.
Ryan Lester is such a great back up - just came in and did a no fuss job...the ideal replacement for Gardiner. He really is a Mr Reliable.

I'd probably go:

In - Gardiner, Hipwood, Robertson
Out - Lester, McStay, Prior

If Hippy isn't quite right yet, my inclination would be to leave Lester in the team, bring Gardiner back alongside him and Marcus, and switch Harris forward.
Same changes I came on to post.

Apart from a couple of bad performances against the Pies and Giants the Crows have been very competitive, if they are on this will be a tough encounter.

Like every footy supporter of every team, I just hope one player out with H&S like Darcy for the WCE game doesnt become half a dozen as has happened with WCE, Docker, Dees and a no of coaches.

If Macca is out, likely really, youd think Darcy comes back anyway and then a decision b/w bringing in Hippy and who to come out. I loved Froggy's game last night. At the game, Froggy was not flash but 100% did his job effectively.

On one hand after watching the ressies yesterday, Robbo probably deserves to come back in but Id also love to bring in DevRob. The only case you could make to drop anyone is last in TBerry or even Jaxon, although I thought he did okay.
What does that mean - i have no idea lol

did not think Prior was that bad..
Payne crashed the packs and brought the ball to ground. With McStay looking out I persist.
My change McStay and Lester out.. Dizzy and Hippy in. Lester did his normal solid asked for job last night.
T Berry again as sub. I like him and Dev in although cannot see dropping anyone

Ryan Lester is such a great back up - just came in and did a no fuss job...the ideal replacement for Gardiner. He really is a Mr Reliable.
He is a great back up but l don't know why he was used.. We have very minimal injuries and Lester was the first back up? This would have been a good opportunity to use a younger guy (like Wilott) or even Payne (and put someone else in the forward line) to get some experience in against a team that realistically we would never lose against. Looks like they thought, this wasn't a game we were ever going to be threatened in so bring Lester in to show that we havent forgotten about him.

No, there's a VFL bye next week. Think it is highly likely we will see Hippy straight into seniors as Fages has said he's available for selection now.
I have since found that the reserves are playing a practice match against the Suns next week so it's possible Hippy is brought back there.

Fages said as much in his press conference after the WCE game that there was definitely a parctice ma against the Suns next week, well be in suspense with Hippy until when teams are named i think.

If fit and available you think Hippy is picked against Adelaide, especially if McStay is out

I'd continue playing Lester in the line up and bring Gardiner back in for McStay.

Lester will provide flexibility and if coaching group feel Fullarton had enough runs by now, keeping Lester in could be a way forward.

We can keep both rucks on the field and play either Oscar or Fort deep from the square.

Phew - great news even if it is a bad sprain and Dan has to miss the Crows and Hawks games. Thought it may have been a 6-10 week injury.

Could still be an extended period on the sidelines, fingers crossed it isn’t.

Shame all our key forwards are injured because the crows key backs are horrible.

Getting smashed in the middle today. Reckon Neale is a good chance for 40 touches next weekend