Preview Round Six Vs Carlton @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter tasmanlvr

Yeh because we played them at Etihad Stadium a few times, including a couple of games that were, apparently, our 'home' games.
Optus Oval too, up until 2005.

I just look at the squad he has put in place, and wonder how it's gotten so poor. Two or three years ago, this game was probably 70/30 to them, with us developing and a good chance of an upset. Now, it's 95/5 to them, with us already conceding defeat.

Names on the teamsheet like Trengove, Tapscott and Garland once represented a bright future. Now, they're just more sub-par footballers who have little impact at AFL level.

Harsh on Garland. Jury still out on Trengove for me, although his lack of impact is worrying. Tapscott I reckon I'd agree with.

I know it's harsh, and I still like the three of them (not so much Tapscott), but we literally expect no impact from them these days.

Trengove is concerning, he has proven he can have an impact, because he can go forward and kick a goal or two, but he just can't stay in games for long periods of time at all.

I know it's harsh, and I still like the three of them (not so much Tapscott), but we literally expect no impact from them these days.

Yeah you're right about expectation (esp. from Tapscott and Trengove) but I don't know how much impact I 'expect' from Garland every week. I think it's harder to judge defenders because usually the good work they do can be invisible. I think Garland has been one of our better defenders this year.

Trengove is concerning, he has proven he can have an impact, because he can go forward and kick a goal or two, but he just can't stay in games for long periods of time at all.
Not at all the player we thought he'd by this stage, for whatever reason. Still have faith it will turn around.

I think you Melbourne fans are underestimating your team here, you have have a lot of talent and to see most of you guys saying you are going to get done today is not a good thing. We (Carlton) have a lot of problems as well, we haven't clicked into form yet we have had good wins against the Crows and Eagles but there are still a lot of concerns at Carlton. I think Melbourne just needs to stick close to us for as long as you can and after that anything can happen, anyway good luck today and for the rest of the season, you guys will get there too much talent in your team to not start improving.

I just look at the squad he has put in place, and wonder how it's gotten so poor. Two or three years ago, this game was probably 70/30 to them, with us developing and a good chance of an upset. Now, it's 95/5 to them, with us already conceding defeat.

Names on the teamsheet like Trengove, Tapscott and Garland once represented a bright future. Now, they're just more sub-par footballers who have little impact at AFL level.

You can add watts , frawley, blease, Strauss ,

Trenners looks like he is carrying angle weights he just has no acceleration at all , it almost looks like he is trying to be too much of a cool head when he gets the footy rather than just grab it , run , kick

Bi product of being a captain this young.

Just got home from holiday and realised I have 7000 words to collectively write before 4PM on Friday before Uni, including 1800 for tomorrow.

I'm still going, what's your excuse?

:footy:

I didn't get to sleep until 5 this morning?

House party 21st FTW.

Carlton mids will tear us apart. Potential for another West Coast esque disaster.

Hope Big Max kicks a bag though.
I'm not so sure. Kreuzer, Carrazzo and Gibbs is a big chunk of the midfield out. I actually wouldn't be surprised if you win the clearance count. We'll be relying on our outside payers to win the game.

We ain't great in the clearances and your outside run will devastate us as we do this weird zone where we guard space but don't actually stop the opposition from bringing the ball forward

you haven't seen Melbourne play this year yet? Your reserve mids will smash ours.

Is Wonaeamirri33 doing his 10,000 word game day thread this week or should we go ahead and just start one... ?

Doing the opening post at the moment, oh sarcastic one
D3M6Ydm.gif

Trengove looking slow and struggling might just be a by product of missing the entire pre-season since before Christmas?

**** me.

We know he was slow last year, but I can vouch for the fact he was looking a lot quicker at training at the start of pre-season.

Quality Players

The trouble is that you have a heap more of them

Trengove looking slow and struggling might just be a by product of missing the entire pre-season since before Christmas?

**** me.

We know he was slow last year, but I can vouch for the fact he was looking a lot quicker at training at the start of pre-season.

Pre-season? Even I looked quick before Christmas. ;)

But I agree mate. Too many want to pot the coach and players from the stands for the hell of it without looking at the bigger picture.

I disagree with this. We were never a chance against Carlton in 2010 or 2011. In fact we were in it a lot longer last year when we were only 15 points down at 3 quarter time, unfortunately that day we just fell apart in the last.