Roys FC (sweet FA) Roys Gorillas Training Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mobbs

Hiyas, good to see yers, just take a seat over there *points*.

It looks like no sooner have we got ourselves a squad GET YOUR FINGER OUT OF YOUR NOSE MR RIPPER, than we've been challenged to practice match. The Gumbies are after a hitout, and we need the run ourselves.

So for that reason ROYLION! GET YOU FINGER OUT OF MR RIPPER'S NOSE!, I've called you all here to get some fitness happening.

The way this works, is, if you are generally on the ball and give a bit of response, then I'll consider you're turning up for training. If you're right with me as I wander through the drill, then you're a regular appearance.

It won't make a hell of a difference but when its time to pick teams, the least active MR RIPPER! STOP PUTTING ROYLION'S FINGER IN YOUR NOSE one the training track are more likely to be overlooked.

So are we ready for some drills? Good.

First up is the favourite match drill. All you have to do is state your favourite Roys match. You can add more if you want, but as long as you reply, you'll be considered as having participated in the drill. Leon, put out the cones.

Drill #1 - name your favourite Fitzroy match.

Mine of course, as everyone knows, is Rd 18, 1989 - Fitz def Melb, Ossie 11 goals.

Re: Fantasy Footy - Roys Gorillas Training Thread

Round 13, 1983, Fitzroy v North Melbourne
Att:19,770
Venue: Junction Oval
Fitzroy 8.4 13.8 24.11 34.16 220
North Melbourne 2.2 8.3 10.5 10.10 70

Training drill #2

Name a match you most wished you had been at, that you missed?

For me, that one in about 87ish where we had 90 pts on Collingwood by 3/4 time.

Training drill #2

For me this is proberbly our last win against Freo. As I was still a kid at the time I'd never been at a game to see us win (untill the game against Aquinas this year) saw us lose quiet a few though... maybe I was bad luck?:(

I missed that game where Roos kicked the winning goal in the dying seconds against Collingwood :(

I rue that day! Bloody family commitments! Grrr! :mad:

grrr indeed ... and yikes, missing freo 96 ... that must smart ...

ok next drill

training drill #3 - are your family also roys fans?

For me, my entire family other than myself are Collingwood supporters.

obviously everyone's already tired out.

Well, Training Drill #4 - Which is your favourite Fitzroy ground.

For mine, Brunswick St, closely followed by Whitten Oval :)

grrr indeed ... and yikes, missing freo 96 ... that must smart ...

ok next drill

For me, my entire family other than myself are Collingwood supporters.
Yes, they were mostly Fitzroy fans
obviously everyone's already tired out.

Well, Training Drill #4 - Which is your favourite Fitzroy ground.

For mine, Brunswick St, closely followed by Whitten Oval :)
Bruswick St, Junction Oval & Whitten Oval

Pretty small turnout thus far, but as the drill sergeant I am obliged to forge on ...

Training drill #5: Best Roys mark you ever saw.

For me? Lynch's in '89 was damn huge. Wish I'd seen Kavanagh's though.

Training drill #2

Every other one of them bar the Roys Vs Bears at the Gabba in ???90/91. Only Fitzroy game I got to see in the flesh:mad:

Training Drill 1

Mines from more recent times, probably due to my memory lapse of days gone by :D

Im nominating the 2009 1st semi where we absolutely flogged Whitefriars by 78 points, it really was champaign football.... :thumbsu:

Training Drill 2

When we Flogged Melbourne at Waverley, u know the game :)

Training Drill 3

Some

Training Drill 4

Brunswick St, what a place to spend a Saty arvo, absolutely awesome!

Training Drill 5

Ross Borland, Fitzroy V Whitefriars First Semi 2009

Training drill #2

Prolly the game at the Junction where Bobby Beecroft kicked 10 and Garry Wilson 7 and we booted 10 in the last to overrun South. Sister's wedding. :o

Nanna, dad, brother and sister. Pretty much.

Training Drill #4 - Which is your favourite Fitzroy ground.
Get all romantic about growing up at the Junction, but really used to enjoy going to Princes Park (tenancy arrangements notwithstanding).

Training drill #5: Best Roys mark you ever saw.
Michael Reeves took one in the last game at the Junction in 1984. I've never seen it replayed, so it may not have been as good as I thought it was. Kevin Taylor took one or two massive hangers in the seconds that same year.

Drill 1 - Tie - Last match won against Fremantle at Whitten Oval 1996 and 1992 Roos last gasp goal against the pies.

Drill 2 - 1986 Elimination Final.

Drill 3 - All Roys fans!! (born and bred in North Fitzroy!!)

Drill 4 - Junction Oval!

Drill 5 - Ross Lyon - his second or third game - against North at the MCG - was on the flank dead in front of it - absolute hanger and landed on his feet! Highlight on World of Sport the following day and looked just as good!

I'm stuffed now...:D

1. When Roosy kicked the winning goal against Collingwood
2. 1978 Night Grand Final. The 1922 Grand Final would have been great too, but that was a bit before my time.
3. All Roys fans, but only my father had the same sort of obsession I have. He was at the 1944 Grand Final.
4. Junction Oval
5. Roos in the 1983 1st Semi-Final v Hawthorn

Training is on again for tomorrow's match :)

Training drill #1 :
Name a different, unique, unusual place you've seen Fitzroy play. If you don't know one, name a place you'd like to have seen them play.

Me: We played someone out at Boronia or Bayswater once. Got a hiding. Praccie match.

G'day Roys.

Bombers are keen on a Practice Match, possibly Wednesday Night?

If you could set up the Thread, Mobbs, I am happy to sim.

Actually, Thursday night?

Training is on again for tomorrow's match :)

Training drill #1 :
Name a different, unique, unusual place you've seen Fitzroy play. If you don't know one, name a place you'd like to have seen them play.

Me: We played someone out at Boronia or Bayswater once. Got a hiding. Praccie match.

I think I'd have to say Soldiers Reserve in Werribee. Can't say I'd ever expected to see Fitzroy play on a ground that I'd played under 12's on (I was playing against werribee to just so you know)

It was a good win that day to.:thumbsu: