Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Darcy Moore strikes me as a cracking nice bloke off the field.

On cricketers, we were visiting friends in Warrnambool about 30 years ago and went to see a local footy game where Merv Hughes was out having a kick of the footy on the ground at half time.

My mate's 5 year old son adored Merv and, being the pre-selfie era, went up to him pen and paper in hand and asked Merv for his autograph.

Merv told him to f*** off.

Just about the broke the little fella emotionally 🤣

But seriously, what a campaigner.
🤣Had exactly the same experience. Went to the MCG to watch them train before a one dayer in the late 80’s and said the same thing to my cousin. Comes across as this larrikin knockabout rogue. Absolute rat of a bloke. Have heard from others a pig when it comes to money. Shaft anyone for a buck.

He’s also fat.

Heard similar things about Crackers Keenan back in his heyday.

My old man was great mates with former North legend Laurie "Twinkletoes" Dwyer - one of the most lovely blokes you'd ever meet. Had time for everyone, and showed interest and cared for anyone who passed through his orbit.

Back in the 1960's and 70's, Laurie had been owner and ran a sports store in in the north-western suburbs of Melbourne. He'd taken Keenan under his wing as a young North player, including mentoring him through the sports business, as Keenan had shown an interest in taking over the business.

Instead, Keenan took all of the good will and IP that Dwyer had offered, and opened up a store in opposition just up the road.

Not great but not the worst on the cricket front - equal pegging with his great mate D.Jones
S.Waugh , Mcgrath , Clarke , all very ordinary
S.Watson , B.Lee and Warne (rip) great to deal with

Not just me. A group of about 10 or so Eagles fans about the age of seven, who obviously idolised him and were nearly in tears when he snobbed them off and kept walking after they had asked for autographs.

Naturally I cut him off, shoved my AFL record under his nose, forced him to sign it and allowed the kids to swamp him. I think I made an enemy! :D

Chris Judd was nice, so was Dean Cox. And I have to agree with dyertribe; Timmy Giniver is a top bloke! Has a nice family, too.
Cousins wpuld get stopped so many times he simply can't stop all the time for everyone and everything. He wouldn't live a life otherwise.

Michael Walters good bloke prob mentioned already.

Sumich champion

Jakovich good bloke

Guy Mckenna was an arrogant flog.

Sav Rocca good bloke

Anthony Rocca same

Can confirm he’s a nice guy. I had a little to do with Anthony organising some Auskick sessions and he was friendly and initiated chats.

Then probably a year later he spotted me and came over and said “Hi”. He could’ve just pretended to not see me.

I had a completely different perception of him when he was playing.

I’m not a small guy, 185cm and 100kg and I felt like a dwarf next to him. Absolutely massive.

How could I forget.

Luke Mcpharlin gentlemen
Warwick Capper - legend. Very good bloke.

Travis Gaspar although didn't feature much at West Coast was a good dude when I met him.

Not a footy player but I did meet Mike Tyson. He was a good bloke too. I got his autograph. He wasn't happy about the 3rd person who asked him for his autograph however.

My old man was great mates with former North legend Laurie "Twinkletoes" Dwyer - one of the most lovely blokes you'd ever meet. Had time for everyone, and showed interest and cared for anyone who passed through his orbit.

Heard the same. Also has a fantastic hit list of players from his time as a recruiter at Sydney and North.

Not a player, a president. Big Jack. John Elliott My company got the nod to do the removal after he sold his home behind his wife's back. This wasn't a simple one day move, it went for at least a month. First the packers come in, then the actual movement of furniture.
At the toorak residence I would've crossed paths with him four or five times. TV crews out the front , press people as well, it was quite the circus. He was gruff a touch rude but occasionally polite, his wife Amanda was an absolute champion.
At the end of each day she would insist on every one of the boys to stay and have a beer, she would go and get them herself , she would then walk around to each of us and plant 50 bucks in the hand. This happened most days she was there. Considering what her husband had done to her, this was unbelievably kind, thoughtful and smart. Anything she asked for , and she was not demanding, was done in a blink of an eye.
Absolute class human being.
I was then, along with two other lads to go through the process of setting jack up in his bachelor pad in carlton. It was Elgin street from memory. We were told to set the place up as you would your own. We were also told that there would be no chance that he would show up.
He had managed to hold onto his celebrated grange red wine collection. There was case after case after case of it, probably half a million bucks worth, probably more.
So while setting up his unit, of course, he lobs. Bit of a shock as we were told there was no chance of him showing his face. Anyway, we carried on and finished the job.
I did have one sneaky crack at him. Couldn't help myself ."Mr.Elliott, why do you constantly bag Essendon when carlton wrote the book on brown paper bags" ? It did put him on the back foot. His reply was along the line of " I told them no Essendon supporters " but he took it well I suppose.
Just have to reiterate how good his wife, Amanda, was to us considering the embarrassment her husband subjected her to.

Nicest - Shane Edwards.
Rudest- Nick Stevens.

It’s at the point though where in person he is just so full of it that you think who does this person think he is? Absolute campaigner of a bloke.
Yes crossed his path one day in Albert Park. I was running and him and a lady presumed his wife or partner crossed my path and I slowed to let them pass in front of me. She gestured a thanks with a smile and he just looked at me with that surly look of disdain you do when you find dog shit on your shoe. I thought you fat slob who the **** do you think you actually are ?

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?