Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Marathon 2 entered... signed up for Melbourne yesterday,

Was really REALLY considering Sydney.. but just the logistics and costs of flights/accom put me off at this stage.. Hopefully gets added to the world major list and I can justify to the missus doing it then

Got myself a pair of the Superblast. Went TTS. The sizing is... weird. ASICS tends to run slightly short and narrow through the toebox for me when I go TTS, yet this is enormously long but probably OK width wise.

With the high stack they're rockered, which means due to the length the rocker then sits slightly forward of the ball of the foot.

If I go down half a size they might be OK, but they then might be too narrow for any kind of longer runs.

Meanwhile also got a pair of the SC Trainer for $200 and they fit perfectly in TTS unlike the Rebel v1 and RC Elite v2 which needed half a size for the volume in the toebox.

Go figure.
Bar the sizing... how do they feel though? I am very intrigued by that shoe... but the price point has me wary.
Wondering though if could be a perfect mara block long run shoe?

Bar the sizing... how do they feel though? I am very intrigued by that shoe... but the price point has me wary.
Wondering though if could be a perfect mara block long run shoe?

Have learnt to appreciate the sizing, feels a bit big but once you're warm they're fine. I have a pair of Glideride 3's but find they're a bit narrow in the forefoot to take beyond 60 minutes. The entire length means the Superblast taper later which suits me well.

The rocker is there but relatively subtle compared to the Glideride 3 or the Endorphin series, the foam is a lot firmer than the Invincible so I find them less comfortable for the first ~ 5km but from thereon out they're quite nice since they don't bottom out. Relatively stable underfoot and turn over quite nicely, they're pretty light and responsive for such a big amount of shoe.

I tend to do my long runs in the RC Elite 2 or Endorphin Pro 3 at the moment since I had them sitting there and want to use them up, but the Superblast would be my next choice of the shoes I have lying around.

I completed my first marathon (Great Ocean Road) on the weekend at 39 y/o.

The distance was 44km (official elevation gain 500m - although my Nike Ap recorded 700m) and it was a stunning coastal course from Lorne to Apollo Bay. I completed the full distance in 4:30.

There was a strong south westerly headwind the whole way, and combined with the undulating road, making it brutal work but it was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a non-city marathon. It was a well organised event with good spirit and great facilities.

I’m icing the knees as I type this…

The distance was 44km (official elevation gain 500m - although my Nike Ap recorded 700m) and it was a stunning coastal course from Lorne to Apollo Bay. I completed the full distance in 4:30.

There was a strong south westerly headwind the whole way, and combined with the undulating road, making it brutal work but it was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a non-city marathon. It was a well organised event with good spirit and great facilities.

Bloody well done... The hills scare me off from the GOR one I'm not gunna lie... Even though it's technically my local one

Well done, that is awesome!

A combination of Covid last July and a whole lot of niggles ranging from achilles to glutes/hammys means I haven't churned out anything long for about 12 months. Still getting my 50km week / 200km months, but capping out at 10-12km runs generally.

Hit 23km Sunday now that I am in to early part of a mara plan (Adelaide August). First time 20+ in about a year. Haven't covered 42km since Melb 2018 and if this Sunday run (was seized by the end) and the last 12 months are anything to go by it might be a battle to get there. However I've hit 4 x 60+ weeks in a row now and overall it's getting easier to do the weekly kms - just need to hope that the transition to the longer long runs gets easier.

Also been hitting the gym 2-3 time per weeks since January to try and help build that leg strength and resilience.

A combination of Covid last July and a whole lot of niggles ranging from achilles to glutes/hammys means I haven't churned out anything long for about 12 months. Still getting my 50km week / 200km months, but capping out at 10-12km runs generally.

Hit 23km Sunday now that I am in to early part of a mara plan (Adelaide August). First time 20+ in about a year. Haven't covered 42km since Melb 2018 and if this Sunday run (was seized by the end) and the last 12 months are anything to go by it might be a battle to get there. However I've hit 4 x 60+ weeks in a row now and overall it's getting easier to do the weekly kms - just need to hope that the transition to the longer long runs gets easier.

Also been hitting the gym 2-3 time per weeks since January to try and help build that leg strength and resilience.
nice.
that’s plenty of time to build the long run…not a lot of time to work on marathon pace though.
at worst you’ll have to jog a 3:14:59

best of luck on the journey man. stay fit and healthy.

How you tracking for Adelaide Minerboy??

I’ve had 5 weeks off (post GOR marathon) with a sore and stiff knee. It’s been a difficult lay off because the knee injury feels so minor but it is hanging around. I’ve been climbing the walls at home.

Anyway, I feel like I’m back at 98% and I’ve signed up for my second marathon, Melbourne. It’s 16 weeks away. So I did my first 5km yesterday and there was no pain in the run. There was a little stiffness and some minor dull pain last night, but nothing serious. I’m getting some value out of the ice pack I bought!

I was keen to do a trail 50km ultra at the end of the year, but I don’t feel like the knee is up to all the training required. So Melbourne it is. I’m sure it will great doing the home Marathon even though I’ve ran most of the route in various forms over the years. Really looking forward to running by Flinders St Station and into the G.

Please note that anyone thinking about doing Melbourne, it is over 90% full so sign up ASAP.

How’s everyone else going?

How you tracking for Adelaide Minerboy??

Still on track. Booked accommodation for the family this week. The Sunday of the run is my last day in the naughty 40s… 50th the very next day.

31kms this morning is the longest in a few years. Have pulled up ok. 9 weeks to go so 🤞🏻 body holds up.

Still on track. Booked accommodation for the family this week. The Sunday of the run is my last day in the naughty 40s… 50th the very next day.

31kms this morning is the longest in a few years. Have pulled up ok. 9 weeks to go so 🤞🏻 body holds up.

That’s a great way to finish a decade mate.

Don’t overdo the training.

I ran 300km (including two 40km and a 36km run) in the month prior and it banged up my knee because my body was not accustomed to the mileage. So make sure you manage your loads and taper.

Keep us posted on your progress. Good luck. 🤞

I’ve had 5 weeks off (post GOR marathon) with a sore and stiff knee. It’s been a difficult lay off because the knee injury feels so minor but it is hanging around. I’ve been climbing the walls at home.

Anyway, I feel like I’m back at 98% and I’ve signed up for my second marathon, Melbourne. It’s 16 weeks away. So I did my first 5km yesterday and there was no pain in the run. There was a little stiffness and some minor dull pain last night, but nothing serious. I’m getting some value out of the ice pack I bought!

I was keen to do a trail 50km ultra at the end of the year, but I don’t feel like the knee is up to all the training required. So Melbourne it is. I’m sure it will great doing the home Marathon even though I’ve ran most of the route in various forms over the years. Really looking forward to running by Flinders St Station and into the G.

Please note that anyone thinking about doing Melbourne, it is over 90% full so sign up ASAP.

Started 18 week program for the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington DC in late Oct. ran this marathon last year, followed by New York marathon the weekend after, and I have struggled with Achilles and calf issues pretty much ever since (old man affliction). Hoping can get in the training zone and finally get myself right through the 18 weeks.

Add me to the doing Melbourne list as well, going round for Mara number 2 all going well, had a bit of an issue a month back with toe capsulitis, annoyingly dropped fitness quick off 2 weeks doing nothing (which coincided with having a bug) and then easing back in, but doing the Run Melbourne half in a couple of weeks and then into the build up hopefully off a good base and can improve on the first time round

Anyone got the Asics Superblasts?
Have heard very very good things, and they have been basically impossible to find... as of today another batch of them has come in so i have relented and ordered a pair of the Asics site.

Not cheap though, after getting a new pair of Alphaflys as well last month i am absolutely keeping these hidden from the missus haha

Anyone got the Asics Superblasts?
Have heard very very good things, and they have been basically impossible to find... as of today another batch of them has come in so i have relented and ordered a pair of the Asics site.

Not cheap though, after getting a new pair of Alphaflys as well last month i am absolutely keeping these hidden from the missus haha

I do, got a pair on sale a while back not realising how lucky that was at the time.

I like them, they fit a bit long (apparently Novablasts are the same) but went TTS and they're fine once you're a few km in and your feet expand a little. Don't bottom out in the forefoot the way something like the Invincible (1 and 2) does. Surprisingly light for the stack, nice rocker without being extreme and pretty versatile pace-wise. Also fairly stable for such a high stack.

I liked them better than the SuperComp Trainer which I tried at the same time, the SC felt pretty good walking around and for the first few km, but were a bit squirrely underfoot for me, whereas the Superblast just kind of disappears under you in a good way. I prefer the Invincible for really slow plodding recovery runs under an hour, and something a bit faster (e.g. Endorphin Speed or a genuine super shoe) for work outs / long tempo runs but as a daily trainer or a do-it-all option the Superblast is great.

Entered for number 9, so one step away from donning Spartan Green assuming successful completion. Training much more positive than last year with the groin issues that have bugged me for the best part of 2.5 years basically gone. Aim is for somewhere around the 4:40 marker, a pace where I was cruising at this afternoon over a 12km training run. Footy finals and late shifts may affect training so I have to make the next 3 weeks training really count.

Got City2Surf this weekend for the first time in 6 years. Probably won't get anywhere near the 68 minutes I completed it in 2014/2015 (or the 70 minutes in 2016) but something around 84 minutes (6:00/km) will suffice. Then the plan initially was for the half in Sydney in September but the strict cutoff time of 2.5 hours plus a sponsor discount code saw me enter the full instead.

Entered for number 9, so one step away from donning Spartan Green assuming successful completion. Training much more positive than last year with the groin issues that have bugged me for the best part of 2.5 years basically gone. Aim is for somewhere around the 4:40 marker, a pace where I was cruising at this afternoon over a 12km training run. Footy finals and late shifts may affect training so I have to make the next 3 weeks training really count.

Got City2Surf this weekend for the first time in 6 years. Probably won't get anywhere near the 68 minutes I completed it in 2014/2015 (or the 70 minutes in 2016) but something around 84 minutes (6:00/km) will suffice. Then the plan initially was for the half in Sydney in September but the strict cutoff time of 2.5 hours plus a sponsor discount code saw me enter the full instead.

Becoming a Spartan will be a massive achievement! Good luck this year and next.

It will be my first, so I’m a long way behind.

Sort of hope a deep footy finals run makes it more difficult for your training!! 😊

Hey guys, new poster here.

Having never done any running in my life before last November, I'm doing my first Adel half mara next week.....

My biggest run so far is 18k at about 5:50 mins. Hoping to break 2 hours but think thats a bridge too far and will be happy just to finish.

Any on-the-day advice/tips?

Hey guys, new poster here.

Having never done any running in my life before last November, I'm doing my first Adel half mara next week.....

My biggest run so far is 18k at about 5:50 mins. Hoping to break 2 hours but think thats a bridge too far and will be happy just to finish.

Any on-the-day advice/tips?

18km in 5:50 isn't that far off the mark for a 2 hour half! With all the people around you and the excitement of the day you'll likely find a bit of extra speed so don't be surprised if you're able to get there.

If you haven't done much / any running events before then I'd say you probably want to avoid getting sucked in to running too fast too early, make sure you feel comfortably-uncomfortable if that makes sense - don't flog yourself early and if you're feeling ok around halfway then you can start to lift the pace a little, then again with 5km to go if you're feeling good still. You really don't want to be redlining it 5km in to the race!

You could go for a gel (or two) if you wanted to, 2 hours is a solid amount of time on your feet and if it makes the day better / easier then why not right?

Otherwise just enjoy the experience, look around at the other runners and the crowd and make sure you smile for the finish line photo!

18km in 5:50 isn't that far off the mark for a 2 hour half! With all the people around you and the excitement of the day you'll likely find a bit of extra speed so don't be surprised if you're able to get there.

If you haven't done much / any running events before then I'd say you probably want to avoid getting sucked in to running too fast too early, make sure you feel comfortably-uncomfortable if that makes sense - don't flog yourself early and if you're feeling ok around halfway then you can start to lift the pace a little, then again with 5km to go if you're feeling good still. You really don't want to be redlining it 5km in to the race!

You could go for a gel (or two) if you wanted to, 2 hours is a solid amount of time on your feet and if it makes the day better / easier then why not right?

Otherwise just enjoy the experience, look around at the other runners and the crowd and make sure you smile for the finish line photo!

Thanks for that!

I am curious if "bunch enthusiasm" can help make up the difference to two hours, we'll find out :p

Also plan to handcuff myself to the 2 hour pacer at the start and see how that feels.

I've tested out having a couple of SiS gels on each 18k I've done and had no ill effects, so they seem good to go.

Thanks for that!

I am curious if "bunch enthusiasm" can help make up the difference to two hours, we'll find out :p

Also plan to handcuff myself to the 2 hour pacer at the start and see how that feels.

I've tested out having a couple of SiS gels on each 18k I've done and had no ill effects, so they seem good to go.
I 100% would also just focus on not getting carried away too early... that is the biggest trap with a big event and the excitement of it... especially if the start is a bit cluttered and slows you down getting through people.. you don't want to drop the hammer to make up those lost 12 seconds and then cook yourself for the rest of it.

Mostly though just enjoy it, halfs are great I reckon, you can just get in a rhythm and go along... I did find that for my first my legs were absolutely dead after about 16km... just so so dead and heavy, that was only for the first one I did though

I 100% would also just focus on not getting carried away too early... that is the biggest trap with a big event and the excitement of it... especially if the start is a bit cluttered and slows you down getting through people.. you don't want to drop the hammer to make up those lost 12 seconds and then cook yourself for the rest of it.

Mostly though just enjoy it, halfs are great I reckon, you can just get in a rhythm and go along... I did find that for my first my legs were absolutely dead after about 16km... just so so dead and heavy, that was only for the first one I did though

Yep, aim for a negative split, start slow you can always make up time later if you feel good. You’ll find you’ll run a fair bit faster than your training times with everyone around and the event etc. The last thing you want for your first half mara is to finish feeling crap and be put off the event in future. Half Mara is my favourite distance for sure. Good luck and more importantly, enjoy!

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!