Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

I find that an actually terrifying concept. Do human bodies even work that way???
having watched some of the walk im pretty sure they're not supposed to

i'd be surprised if these guys dont have serious hip problems in later life

w00t!
just took 24 seconds off my parkrun pb with a 22:18 :)

im coming after you MinerBoy ;)

...and all this off the back of running somewhere between 6 and 7 1/2 minute k's during the week. parkrun is the only time i let my heart rate get above 140.
i might ramp up the intensity for a month soon just to see what happens but for now im really pleased with the way things are tracking.

City to surf Perth tomorrow... I'm feeling as fit as I have in about 5 years.

The only problem is the last 2 times I've gone for a run I've had sore shins like 1 or 2kms in.

Any advice or tips? I've been resting this week leading up to it but I don't want to get shin splints in the first couple kms and have to walk the rest smh..

Kangaroo Island Marathon today. Great first half of the race but struggled in the second going back up the hills. Basically run-walked (more like walk run :p) for the last 12-14km but still managed to gain about about 6-7 places in that time (in a field of about 65) so it was obviously a struggle for everyone. Pushed on to finish which was the main goal of the day :thumbsu:
Hands down the most breathtaking race you could ever do though, will post photos when i get back to adelaide with wifi. Great day :)

Well done Milang and Pooping. Hawks lads smashing it this weekend.

Had a great weekend last weekend up at the Grampians for Wonderland. Caught up with Purrrfect Pussies and his family both Saturday and Sunday night. Was great to finally meet and share a few ales. And the run..........wow. Even in atrocious conditions it was amazing. So beautiful. Can't wait for next year's event.

Achilles on the mend too. Had only done about 35km for all of August prior to Wonderland last Sunday. Feeling better and have started getting more kms in this week. The plan is basically to head out now for a decent 2hr+ run.............but I've got a cold and slept like crap. Might head out and play it by feel.

Well done Milang and Pooping. Hawks lads smashing it this weekend.

Had a great weekend last weekend up at the Grampians for Wonderland. Caught up with Purrrfect Pussies and his family both Saturday and Sunday night. Was great to finally meet and share a few ales. And the run..........wow. Even in atrocious conditions it was amazing. So beautiful. Can't wait for next year's event.

Achilles on the mend too. Had only done about 35km for all of August prior to Wonderland last Sunday. Feeling better and have started getting more kms in this week. The plan is basically to head out now for a decent 2hr+ run.............but I've got a cold and slept like crap. Might head out and play it by feel.
At least the achilles is on the mend. Good to hear :thumbsu:

Been hitting about 45km last few weeks in training for Melbourne half in October. Might be time to ramp it up a bit. Up to a 60km peak sound about right? My body seems to handle running 4 days a week, rather than 5 or 6, so I'll be adding more quantity over frequency.

I reckon you are doing more than enough for a 1/2 personally.

I only do 50 odd when training for a full. Anytime I ramp it up more my body breaks down on me.

How u all tracking? Ran the SCC 50km on Saturday morning. Bloody brilliant part of the world. Hoping to find time to do a bit of a race write up. Was rapped with my time & legs feel pretty good considering. Had a couple of light runs since. I think that's the end of my 2016 goals at this stage. Need to start thinking about 2017 plans.

Yeah its only been a week and a half since the marathon and im already looking for the next race. 2017 planning would be good but my wife and I are expecting our first child in February :D so will definitely be a quiet start to the year running wise (not that I'm complaining because I cant wait for February).

Will maybe aim do another marathon later in the year, probably the city2surf marathon and some smaller stuff for the rest of the year.

I'm gearing up for the Melbourne half next month. Aiming to beat my time from the Great Ocean Road half 2 years ago of about 1 hr 28m. I've probably trained more but had a few more niggles. I'm told the course is flater and quicker so hopefully that holds me in good stead. Weighing up whether to do the 10k race around Yarra Boulevard next weekend as a lead up... just don't want to run the risk of injury.

So I gave up footy this year and to keep in ok shape have been going for a run once a week during winter. Nothing to big, about 5-6kms. Anyway I have been getting pain in my foot after a run and is sore to walk on for a day or 2. Nothing to bad, can still walk ok but feels likes it bruised and a bit painful to walk on. After a day or 2 it is fine and by the time I run again 7 days later its no worries.

When going for a run it starts off ok. Then it feels like my sock has scrunched up towards the front of my foot (its doesn't, just feels like that) and I get a little bit of pain. But it goes away and I finish the run. Then later it is sore. The pain is around the middle of the foot, just behind the balls of your feet. Its on about the 2nd and third toe line. Anyone have ideas on what it might be?

Im guessing a hot-spot and probably needs rest. but im not the sort of guy to rest, always like to be moving.

I had similar symptoms to you a couple of years ago, and ended up with something called Freidberg's Infraction. Ended up having 4 weeks off running and it cleared up, started swimming and bike riding in the mean time and ended up getting into triathlons. I am probably now only running 3 times a week (was 5-6) but obviously having the other disciplines keeps my body pretty fit, if not 100% run fit, if that makes sense.

http://spr.ly/6189BALqB
Damn this wouldve sucked. Train blocks runners midway through a marathon
This exact same thing happened to me at the Bundaberg half marathon in 2015. Was in fifth at the time, by the time the cane-train passed throw there were four of us waiting at the tracks and the top four were out of sight. Kept calm but I could have gone apoplectic.

Have had a real hard time of it the last month - gone from life as an athlete to life as a new dad... I haven't really wanted to run as i would much rather be at home, but also I've just been so bloody tired all the time which makes it tough. Hoping sleeping patterns start to evolve in a couple months - I've written off Melbourne half and probably now the zatopek 10,000m as well :(

Yes l think you've been a bit spoilt for a while mate while the rest of us have been juggling kids, no sleep etc for ages. Mine are 10, 8 & 4 and we still struggle to keep them in their own beds each night. Think I'm screwed race wise til next year now too.
Good luck with bub. Hope mum's doing OK too.

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!