Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

I’ve got the Melbourne marathon to look forward to in 8 weeks.

I’m struggling on my Sunday long runs with having to go to the toilet! Any tips? My main worry for the race is I’ll need to take a pit stop at some point.
Genuinely... And I mean genuinely.. My greatest fear before Melbourne last year was shitting myself 😂

I ate white breads etc the day before/morning of.. Steered away from anything high fibre..
Nervous dump right before the start helped even if the 45min wait in line wasn't ideal

I can't really remember what I did but it worked, I didn't have any issues before, during or after
And/or have a double espresso an hour before the run? That should induce labour.
F**k this made me laugh

A bunch of us on here will be joining you in your quest to conquer the streets of Melbourne.

I presume you are talking no. 2s?!?!?

Maybe try different fuel in training?

And/or have a double espresso an hour before the run? That should induce labour.

It’s not the end of the world if you need to go!
Correct :poo:
It’s pre-fuelling so I can’t blame my Maurten gels. I’m also immune to espressos clearing me out, I have one/two a morning and it doesn’t bring it on unfortunately.

I think it’s different for everyone but it’s probably diet related, you just need to find the trigger.
I don’t eat dairy the day before a long run or hard workout. Curry the night before is obviously off limits and I try to keep fibre to a minimum.

as suggested coffee works well to flush the system if you have time beforehand or you could try Imodium.

I’ll definitely rethink the diet from a fibre side, but I just wish I could go on command so it doesn’t play on my mind. It just feels like the running brings it on after 5 or so kms.

Genuinely... And I mean genuinely.. My greatest fear before Melbourne last year was shitting myself 😂

I ate white breads etc the day before/morning of.. Steered away from anything high fibre..
Nervous dump right before the start helped even if the 45min wait in line wasn't ideal

I can't really remember what I did but it worked, I didn't have any issues before, during or after

F**k this made me laugh

Good to know others have the same fear 😂 Will need to make sure I get up super early on race day to get it out!

This is the secret, pinch the top of the cup to make a spout and take little sips. Accept you'll probably get some on your face along the way.
if i am being completely honest, i saw someone else do it so just copied them... and it worked for me, but RM was also about 3-5 degrees so I didn't really need the fluids and wasn't concerned.
As i mentioned for the mara I am planning on just grabbing a cup and walking the length of the drink station just as a mini reset as much as anything

I ran the NYC marathon last year, here’s a great video from Casey Neistat about what it was like that day.

Was the hottest/most humid NYCM on record (I think). Absolutely brutal. To compound matters I had just run the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington DC the previous weekend, and had pulled up super sore with a crazy tight quad. Could barely walk for a couple days, and It wasn’t until the Saturday, after I got some dry needling, that I finally resolved that I’d go for it, given I was there, had a bib, and had tried for 8 years to get into the damn thing. Still I was super anxious lining up at start in Staten Island wondering whether I’d get 2kms across the bridge and then need to pull out. Somehow I kept running though, and managed to get through. the last hour of that run was the most brutal thing ever. There were punters dropping like flies through the Bronx and down 5th Avenue. My slowest ever marathon, and by a long way, but easily my most proud. Highly recommend both of those events (NYCM and MCM) for anyone looking for destination runs.

Let us know how you go. We expect a full report.

Well that couldnt have gone much worse unfortunately.

Started a few metres behind the 1:55 pacer, and was still comfortably sat there at 5k in.

At 6ish, what I think is shin splint pain flared up.

Slow jogged another 8k on one leg before that became unmanageable.

Had to walk the last 7, but crossed the line at least. I guess.

My 2 hours turned into about 2:45.

So flat.

Started a few metres behind the 1:55 pacer, and was still comfortably sat there at 5k in.

So flat.
It sucks that your body decided to play up on race day. props on toughing it out though even if it wasn’t what you were hoping for.

hopefully it wasn’t too bad an experience and you haven’t done any serious damage so you can come back and smash that time sometime soon.

So flat.

Sorry to hear things didn’t go so great, but props for finishing under duress. Hope you can sort out the injury then enter another asap. My first half was a disaster too, and I remember thinking afterwards that I’d never do that again, so glad I didn’t listen to myself!

Overall pretty happy. The goal was 2:55-3:05 when I entered but knee flare ups and hip flexor issues curtailed the training and some pretty tough work months and personal months (Dad passed late May) meant the whole past few months was just survival. A lot of niggles, sadness, stress and little decent sleep.

Build up wasn't ideal. Come race day plan was simply to survive. Anywhere sub 3:20 got me a pb (this is 3rd mara), 3:15 would be great and 3:10 would be stoked.

Race day plan (I'm 50 - today - 6'2' and about 92kg)... I get very heavy legs plonking along one pace which tends to affect my form and causes the hips and knees aggravation. So I decided to attack it in blocks on 6kms (6 x 6 = 36 and then final 6 was just "let's see what I've got"). So every 6km block was 5km staying comfy around 4:25-4:35 and then a pick up km for the 6th to get the legs turning over again and also just to put some extra few seconds gap on the 3:15 pacer. All pretty much to plan during the first 4x6km and feeling pretty good. It was around the 27-28km that the groins and hips really started seizing up and I could feel the pace drifting slightly. Managed a 4:20 for the 30th km which was my slowest of the 'pick up' kms but after a small hill during the 31st km I could feel myself grinding to a halt and my form really going to shit. Really didn't want to walk any but was seizing so hard it almost happened involuntarily. Felt great otherwise. Had taken all liquids and gels well and cardio wise and energy levels felt good - just didn't think the groins and hips would move. Walked about 2-2.5 mins and was pretty dejected almost resigning that this was a DNF. In the end I just got a few steps in and slowly got going again, a little bit more free but not great. Even as I got back on to goal(ish) pace it was mentally hard work forcing the legs to move.

Honestly was a battle but was saved at 37km when the 3:15 pacer and his small group caught up to me. Even though I hadn't been part of his pack he wouldn't let me drop off. So much great encouragement and he'd drop back a bit and pick me up again if I was drifting off the back. Honestly couldn't thank him enough as I think I would have taken another 5 minutes for those last 5 kms if I'd be left alone.

In the end it wasn't the dream run from months ago, but it was pretty bloody satisfying either way just to get to the start line and get a pretty decent run done despite some hardship getting there. Feel pretty good - and reckon with some body management I can pick one or two more off with soem more improvement before I move on from this distance for good.

370518350_108061232397056_5570116299949569581_n.png

So flat.

First time covering the full distance right? Congrats on getting to the finish line and hopefully you still got to enjoy some of the fun side of all the crowds around you amongst the things that didn’t go to plan.

So flat.

I’m sorry to hear that, mate. That does not sound like a great experience.

Unfortunately, it is the nature of running (and sport generally) that the body can let you down.

You need to focus on the positives. You’re a runner ✅ . You signed up for a big running event ✅. You completed it ✅. And you completed it under difficult circumstances that were beyond your control on the day ✅.

That last one takes mental strength and fortitude which you showed in spades. That should be your primary lesson learnt from the experience. It shows you are capable of a lot more. Not every runner has that. Many would have thrown in the towel. You didn’t.

I would take a week off. Get some clean air. Fix the problem with the pins. Then sign up for another race and gradually build up to it. It couldn’t be any worse than the first one! 😀

Overall pretty happy. The goal was 2:55-3:05 when I entered but knee flare ups and hip flexor issues curtailed the training and some pretty tough work months and personal months (Dad passed late May) meant the whole past few months was just survival. A lot of niggles, sadness, stress and little decent sleep.

Build up wasn't ideal. Come race day plan was simply to survive. Anywhere sub 3:20 got me a pb (this is 3rd mara), 3:15 would be great and 3:10 would be stoked.

Race day plan (I'm 50 - today - 6'2' and about 92kg)... I get very heavy legs plonking along one pace which tends to affect my form and causes the hips and knees aggravation. So I decided to attack it in blocks on 6kms (6 x 6 = 36 and then final 6 was just "let's see what I've got"). So every 6km block was 5km staying comfy around 4:25-4:35 and then a pick up km for the 6th to get the legs turning over again and also just to put some extra few seconds gap on the 3:15 pacer. All pretty much to plan during the first 4x6km and feeling pretty good. It was around the 27-28km that the groins and hips really started seizing up and I could feel the pace drifting slightly. Managed a 4:20 for the 30th km which was my slowest of the 'pick up' kms but after a small hill during the 31st km I could feel myself grinding to a halt and my form really going to s**t. Really didn't want to walk any but was seizing so hard it almost happened involuntarily. Felt great otherwise. Had taken all liquids and gels well and cardio wise and energy levels felt good - just didn't think the groins and hips would move. Walked about 2-2.5 mins and was pretty dejected almost resigning that this was a DNF. In the end I just got a few steps in and slowly got going again, a little bit more free but not great. Even as I got back on to goal(ish) pace it was mentally hard work forcing the legs to move.

Honestly was a battle but was saved at 37km when the 3:15 pacer and his small group caught up to me. Even though I hadn't been part of his pack he wouldn't let me drop off. So much great encouragement and he'd drop back a bit and pick me up again if I was drifting off the back. Honestly couldn't thank him enough as I think I would have taken another 5 minutes for those last 5 kms if I'd be left alone.

In the end it wasn't the dream run from months ago, but it was pretty bloody satisfying either way just to get to the start line and get a pretty decent run done despite some hardship getting there. Feel pretty good - and reckon with some body management I can pick one or two more off with soem more improvement before I move on from this distance for good.

370518350_108061232397056_5570116299949569581_n.png

That was a great read. Well done. Amazing result!!

First time covering the full distance right? Congrats on getting to the finish line and hopefully you still got to enjoy some of the fun side of all the crowds around you amongst the things that didn’t go to plan.

My first Half.

The event itself was great, even if finishing the way I did only felt embarrassing.

I’m sorry to hear that, mate. That does not sound like a great experience.

Unfortunately, it is the nature of running (and sport generally) that the body can let you down.

You need to focus on the positives. You’re a runner ✅ . You signed up for a big running event ✅. You completed it ✅. And you completed it under difficult circumstances that were beyond your control on the day ✅.

That last one takes mental strength and fortitude which you showed in spades. That should be your primary lesson learnt from the experience. It shows you are capable of a lot more. Not every runner has that. Many would have thrown in the towel. You didn’t.

I would take a week off. Get some clean air. Fix the problem with the pins. Then sign up for another race and gradually build up to it. It couldn’t be any worse than the first one! 😀

Thanks for the kind words. I'm definitely going again.

My PB is not going to stay at 2:45. :D

By Sunday afternoon when everything had cooled down I literally couldn't put any weight at all on it, and that's hardly changed since.

I saw physio yesterday who was really good.

First step is rule out stress fracture. It should improve a lot in the next couple of days if there's no fracture.

If that doesn't happen, need to see a GP for imaging referral and go from there.

Then re-start, find the weak link in the chain, and add in some strength training to complement the running.

Wish I'd seen him 8 weeks ago! :p

Anyone spot where it all went wrong? lol

1693264323003.png

My main worry for the race is I’ll need to take a pit stop at some point.
Been there, done that. Not sure how it happened pre race but it was a Canberra Marathon (can't remember if it was 2013 or 2014) where I spent a good 10 minutes in one of Coates Hire's finest with about 15km to go (it was a different course then to now) leaving me with a slower time than anticipated and odour from my rear end which wasn't overly pleasant. If it happens then it happens and the worst thing to do if it happens on race day is to try to make up the time lost. Any gains post stop will happen naturally.

As for me, having almost achieved what I had wanted from City2Surf, it's onwards to Sydney and Melbourne. Big training week this week particularly with footy commitments permanently ended and no work to bother me, need to nail a 2 hour day this weekend regardless of distance just to know I can cover that time and roll from there.

Correct :poo:
It’s pre-fuelling so I can’t blame my Maurten gels. I’m also immune to espressos clearing me out, I have one/two a morning and it doesn’t bring it on unfortunately.

I’ll definitely rethink the diet from a fibre side, but I just wish I could go on command so it doesn’t play on my mind. It just feels like the running brings it on after 5 or so kms.

Good to know others have the same fear [emoji23] Will need to make sure I get up super early on race day to get it out!
I did plenty of reading about this and tried a few things before my first half. Obviously everyone is different so all I can do is to put a few things down about my experience and maybe something there will work for you.

The good thing I found about this issue with other runners is that lots of people jave this issue.

What I found that worked for me was getting up pretty early. So for an 8am race, I'd be up at 5am to start breakfast and to let my body do what it's going to do.

I obviously go to get early for this but seems ok.

Say it's a Sunday race, the Saturday I would eat pretty clean and bland. Nothing exciting but a good level of carbs. Seriously dinner is plain pasta.

I stay away from anything fatty and keep it as clean as possible but also fuel up as well.

What I find is that I'll do a few number 2s before the race and seems like my system works the way I need it too.

Not sure thst I have many answers but maybe something in there can help you.

I did plenty of reading about this and tried a few things before my first half. Obviously everyone is different so all I can do is to put a few things down about my experience and maybe something there will work for you.

The good thing I found about this issue with other runners is that lots of people jave this issue.

What I found that worked for me was getting up pretty early. So for an 8am race, I'd be up at 5am to start breakfast and to let my body do what it's going to do.

I obviously go to get early for this but seems ok.

Say it's a Sunday race, the Saturday I would eat pretty clean and bland. Nothing exciting but a good level of carbs. Seriously dinner is plain pasta.

I stay away from anything fatty and keep it as clean as possible but also fuel up as well.

What I find is that I'll do a few number 2s before the race and seems like my system works the way I need it too.

Not sure thst I have many answers but maybe something in there can help you.

They are good tips!

Hello Fellow Running w***ers (what my better half calls me, yet to be determined if she means it as a term of endearment)

Hope all are tracking well, anyone do Sydney? or doing Melbourne and how are we looking?

Personally I am fluctuating a bit with confidence and fitness but hopefully all good for Melbs, have been dealing with some knee inflammation the last few weeks, did a 30k run about 4 weeks back and pulled up rough after, went to a physio the next week and bit of inflammation in the left knee, have been doing stretches, exercises and was smashing anti-inflamms.. she encouraged me to do the 34k Rail Trail Run i was down for a few days later.. so did that and to be honest go through pretty well and no real pain in the knees.. then blew up after though.. physio again last week as planned and soreness to be expected after what i had just done so more treatment, more exercises and 15k on the weekend.. my issue is that the left knee that was sore is ok now, but the other bloody one has gotten sore the same way.. So i am wary of still going on anti-inflams cos it had been 10 days i had taken them for, couple of easy runs this week, physio again and 32k planned on teh weekend, in my head i just need to get through this week.. and then with 3 weeks to go it is taper time and that easing of should all help.... still would really just like it to all go away soon though

Hello Fellow Running w***ers (what my better half calls me, yet to be determined if she means it as a term of endearment)

Hope all are tracking well, anyone do Sydney? or doing Melbourne and how are we looking?

Personally I am fluctuating a bit with confidence and fitness but hopefully all good for Melbs, have been dealing with some knee inflammation the last few weeks, did a 30k run about 4 weeks back and pulled up rough after, went to a physio the next week and bit of inflammation in the left knee, have been doing stretches, exercises and was smashing anti-inflamms.. she encouraged me to do the 34k Rail Trail Run i was down for a few days later.. so did that and to be honest go through pretty well and no real pain in the knees.. then blew up after though.. physio again last week as planned and soreness to be expected after what i had just done so more treatment, more exercises and 15k on the weekend.. my issue is that the left knee that was sore is ok now, but the other bloody one has gotten sore the same way.. So i am wary of still going on anti-inflams cos it had been 10 days i had taken them for, couple of easy runs this week, physio again and 32k planned on teh weekend, in my head i just need to get through this week.. and then with 3 weeks to go it is taper time and that easing of should all help.... still would really just like it to all go away soon though

Hey fellow running w***er!

That sounds like a bit of a challenge. It’s good to see you haven’t given up! A running life can be brutal sometimes!

I’m doing Melbourne. My training programme has been very light. One long run on the weekends and one short run each mid week. The reason being is that I was bit proppy (left knee) after the last Marathon in May.

I originally wanted to do a small ultra but the body wasn’t in the right shape so I settled for Melbourne with the view I could recover from the sore left knee and lightly train for the Marathon at the same time. The logic sounds crazy when I type it but I somehow rationalised it in my head.

I’m not as fit as I was in May but mentally I’m feeling tougher. I think I learnt a lot from that experience.

I completed a 28km run on the weekend with the only problem a bit of calf tightness today. So basically I’ve got two long runs left in me at 32km and 36km and then a 10 day taper. I’ll do some shorter runs in between. Hopefully, we both can keep our bodies in one piece! Good luck!

Personally I am fluctuating a bit with confidence and fitness but hopefully all good for Melbs, have been dealing with some knee inflammation the last few weeks, did a 30k run about 4 weeks back and pulled up rough after, went to a physio the next week and bit of inflammation in the left knee, have been doing stretches, exercises and was smashing anti-inflamms.. she encouraged me to do the 34k Rail Trail Run i was down for a few days later.. so did that and to be honest go through pretty well and no real pain in the knees.. then blew up after though.. physio again last week as planned and soreness to be expected after what i had just done so more treatment, more exercises and 15k on the weekend.. my issue is that the left knee that was sore is ok now, but the other bloody one has gotten sore the same way..
Well this hasn't gone well, right knee now dealing with some medial soreness, doesn't hurt squating so confident it's minor, but it's causing enough grief that I am attempting to downgrade to the half marathon in 2 weeks, a really shit call to make 2 weeks out but one for the best I think...
Just figure there is no where to hide in a marathon and if it goes pear shaped its a long limp home. I'm confident fitness wise if I feel good I can be OK for an OK half and get through so it's not a complete write off weekend.

Anyone tried this before and how was it?

I am just looking at anything I can do to help at this stage, as the worry is I still don't even get to the start line for anything

Strained a hamstring and pulled the pin at 19km at Sydney (may need the heat rub applied on Sunday), may have been a good thing though given how hot it became. Be in Melbourne this weekend with a game plan and targets in place. Basically if I'm inside 3:30 at the 32km marker I'm on track for the sub 4:49:59 I need. So I'm looking at doing the first half in somewhere near 6:20/km (about 2:13 at the half) and going from there. Last year I gassed myself by the 20km mark and the OP kicked in to see me blow out to 5 Hours after looking good at 30km to get the goal time. If that doesn't work out there's still Auckland 2 weeks later to have another crack, and there's the lure of finish #9 which is one away from the coveted Green Spartans Singlet.

Previous NET times (as opposed to Gun Times which generally are about 1-2 minutes slower) from Melbourne, having missed 2021 with a combination of Osteitis Pubis and Travel Restrictions:
  • 4:18:01 in my first ever marathon in 2013,
  • 3:56:49 when 2014 finished outside the G, which will probably forever be the PB,
  • 4:18:26,
  • 4:32:14 partially tearing a meniscus during the run,
  • 4:32:52 having barely been able to train with calf issues
  • 5:19:58 basically not being able to run for the entire Elwood loop, for some reason the legs just didn't want to co-operate
  • 4:32:06
  • 5:00:22

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!