Ryan Crowley

Going to be very interesting to see how Crowley copes with the exposure this week. Honestly can't remember a more acute focus on a single player in the lead up into a GF. And it is only Tuesday.

I reckon he is a beauty actually but the pressure on him is building. I will stick my neck out and say he will capitulate.

Any day that Crowley can get 22 possies and a goal while tagging an opposition player suits me. He is a bloody good player that drifts forward and kicks goals in his own right. And he is bloody big bastard that would not worry about getting hit himself. If Hawks want to target him then that is fine- takes their concentration off getting the ball themselves.

Going to be very interesting to see how Crowley copes with the exposure this week. Honestly can't remember a more acute focus on a single player in the lead up into a GF. And it is only Tuesday.

I reckon he is a beauty actually but the pressure on him is building. I will stick my neck out and say he will capitulate.

Because you're a Hawk fan, that entire statement is dismissed. Sounds like you're feeling a bit of worry and pressure yourself there bud.:p

I have a love/hate relationship with Ryan. I love him everytime he is not up against the Swans, have to love watching players like Selwood and Harvey having a cry but I hate him any time he plays against the Swans.

Maybe a bit of respect/humility for your opponent once the siren is gone instead continuing to give lip and then trying to look like a good sport by going out of your way to shake hands with other opposition players.

This again.

Any day that Crowley can get 22 possies and a goal while tagging an opposition player suits me. He is a bloody good player that drifts forward and kicks goals in his own right. And he is bloody big bastard that would not worry about getting hit himself. If Hawks want to target him then that is fine- takes their concentration off getting the ball themselves.

Will not be targeted for that exact reason. He can take the punishment and thrives on it. Like all the good players of his ilk.

lol...I really hope you're right. Will help my bets winning on Freo to destroy Hawthorn.

Dunno about that, the focus was pretty intense on him after the Brent Harvey pinching allegations, and he went out and held Selwood to 13 touches the next week.

Crowls probably couldn't give two shits about the attention. He would probably be grinning at the thought of being labelled a sniper...face it, he is a great player and a majority of fans wish he was on their side.

I did not start the season giving much thought to Crowley, but as the season goes I find myself becoming more and more of a fan.

The role he play will never be fully appreciated by the opposition fans. Unlike Ablett or Buddy, if your team got beaten by their razzle dazzle skills fans will go "oh check out the footwork". Crowley plays a negating role which when he is effective renders the opposition "hero" helpless, no a state fans like to see their stars be in.

As mentioned throughout this thread, no one can really point to an incident where Crowley used illegal tactics against his opponents, in front of thousand of fans and even when a camera was on him the entire match. Just want to mention that bumping and generally being in the way is NOT illegal or unsportmanlike.

A team needs different kinds of player to succeed. Crowley does his job well by limiting the influence of the opposition team's best midfielders. He is doing a job not many players want or can do. In some ways it's a thankless and unpopular job.

I genuinely hope Hawthorne tried to rough Crowley out in the GF. Other teams have tried early this year and it ended up just distracting the team from their own game plans. And I'm not sure why no one else notice but Crowley have already been taking it hard every week, so I think he can take care of himself.

After watching Crowley on the weekend and thinking about how the AA team is chosen, I'm now of the same mind set as David Parkin and believe that a stopping player should be picked. Every club has one and picks one each week and Crowley currently is the best in the league by a long way.

Whilst everyone loves to hate the tagger, the best are the ones who will hurt you if you give them the opportunity and Crowley does that.

How about Jordan Lewis targets Barlow and remind him about his broken leg. Snap Snap Snap goes your leg and it takes over twelve months to get back to playing again. Give his leg a little tap now and then to make sure it is OK and keep telling him for the whole game. All within the rules of course.

Lol. You're embarrassing yourself.

grand final so if I were one of the Hawthorn players, smack him good and early on. He will certainly not hesitate to do the same at some point in the game anyway.
I have seen Crowley target players returning from injury and whack their hand or fingers deliberately. He's simply a **** of a bloke and the sooner Lewis or a Hodge or whoever tender him up early, the better off they will be later on in the game.

Lewis..lol

it's all they got and he looks set for retirement anyway

He's only 27...
Anyway, Hawthorn (and Freo) should feel free to have a crack at whoever they like, it's a GF. No point people sooking about Crowley the way everyone does though, it won't help at all.

Chief IMO looks like Chief Shitting Bull

oops - may have got the last 2 words round the wrong way

Notice I said looks like, I didn't say he is ;)

grand final so if I were one of the Hawthorn players, smack him good and early on. He will certainly not hesitate to do the same at some point in the game anyway.
I have seen Crowley target players returning from injury and whack their hand or fingers deliberately. He's simply a **** of a bloke and the sooner Lewis or a Hodge or whoever tender him up early, the better off they will be later on in the game.
If a player is out on the field playing, they are 100% in the game, it doesn't matter if they have previously had an injury there, Crowley is not supposed to sympathise with them... He's there to do a job.

Lol whinging about Crowls when you have Steve Johnson...

After the game on Saturday night a mate asked who I'd be going for in the Grand Final and I said Fremantle on the proviso that both Ballantyne and Crowley were unconscious and couldn't actually collect their medals.

A few days later, I'm able to look back on what a great game Crowley played and respect that and I hope he gets a medal round his neck on Saturday. Ballantyne can still get stuffed though.

After the game on Saturday night a mate asked who I'd be going for in the Grand Final and I said Fremantle on the proviso that both Ballantyne and Crowley were unconscious and couldn't actually collect their medals.

A few days later, I'm able to look back on what a great game Crowley played and respect that and I hope he gets a medal round his neck on Saturday. Ballantyne can still get stuffed though.

Looking at your avatar, I can only assume you are saying that because he bit you on the knee

Ryan Crowley