No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

I've given up even reading any of his posts. Nothing constructive, only rubbishes Hawthorn F.C., coach and players.

Might be Sammy Mitchell's stalker. Apparently he's a sacred lamb, but everyone else at the club and the club itself are worthy of all the scorn in the world.

I still think of Parko as a Hawthorn man, though the Blues love him too.
Jeansy is Hawthorn as they come, but played for the Saints, coached them for 16 years and gave them their only GF win!
Even Kanga gave 4 years of his time at North Melbourne.....statue still looks right at home at Waverly to me.
Players from Lethal, to Brereton, to Jarman, have all played or coached elsewhere, but I count them as Hawk greats.
Sammy will be the same, and undoubtedly he has more to offer the football world after he stops playing than only be seen at Hawthorn.
I feel like he may have just as spectacular a post playing career as the one he's forged thus far, and that likely will include making other clubs supporters weep with joy at what he brings to their lives, and yes, probably even count him as one of their own.
Sammy's not Don Scott. Yes he's Hawthorn, but he's more than that too.

This is very true and helps me feel less sad so thanks, there are many sides to all of us so be it for sam.

Why is everyone so keen so cite cap space, when Wright has categorically stated that cap space wasn't the issue in the Mitchell move.

I'd like everyone to picture this for a moment before they say how much they love this move and that it's great for everyone.

Consider the fact that NicNat at some point next year will be repaired and will be tapping to OUR Sam Mitchell. Could you imagine the quality of the clearances? I mean can YOU IMAGINE IT???

I think we just nuke Perth so it can't happen.

I mean why the hell would ANYONE with kids want to move to Perth? Do they want kids to find out drugs are bad through experience?

Why is everyone so keen so cite cap space, when Wright has categorically stated that cap space wasn't the issue in the Mitchell move.

I'd like everyone to picture this for a moment before they say how much they love this move and that it's great for everyone.

Consider the fact that NicNat at some point next year will be repaired and will be tapping to OUR Sam Mitchell. Could you imagine the quality of the clearances? I mean can YOU IMAGINE IT???

I think we just nuke Perth so it can't happen.

I mean why the hell would ANYONE with kids want to move to Perth? Do they want kids to find out drugs are bad through experience?

I don't think Nic Nat will be playing next year mind you. An ACL and knee reco that late in the season - can't see it happening.

I just had a scary thought... What if we lose Mitchell and don't land O'meara. Gold Coast seem to be playing hard ball and we traded away our first pick. And then Vickery continues being Vickery next year instead of turning into Wayne Carey like his contract reflects. Or we get O'meara and he never makes it to the level.

Could be the most disastrous trade period ever.

When we traded croady we knew that ball, judd and hodge would all be superstars and the hodge punt paid off big time.

We are now taking the punt that we can A: compete without our best player for the last ten years.
B: Vickery will come good.
C: O'MEARA gets back to full fitness and is the superstar predicted.
D: tom Mitchell isn't Langford mark II and drops off after an early peak.
E: Gibson, hodge, lewis, Burgoyne don't fall off the cliff with form. (i think hodge and Gibson are already halfway down and Lewis at the edge.
F: Roughead will make it back. We could be forgiven for telling rough to focus on his health and have his contract paid off outside the cap (afl would allow it)

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Does the sky ever not fall in your world?

Decisions like this one are precisely why so many long-time supporters like me are turning away from the game which has become all about $$$ and nothing else.

We just told our best player and one of our greatest ever servants to finish his career at another club..... to free up cap room for a certified ******* in Vickery??

FFS.
NO, WE DID NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In fact, the idea was floated to Mitch, but he was also told that we were happy for him to stay if that's what he preferred.

Geez.

Shithouse day to be a hawks supporter we landed Tom Mitchell but I don't even care our greatest ever player is leaving and will get jack shit for it... How on earth does that make sense? I think the hawks made a mistake and because they can't afford Sam they've pushed him on... Earlier ..... I've decided regardless of the premierships and the glory that there's no point following the hawks if this is how it ends up... I'm heartbroken he was my favorite player ever. Never got to meet him and now never will:(
Wow bigton, you've outdone yourself mate. Don't you get embarrassed posting shit like that? I mean, you're not even trying to hide the trolling anymore. Lift your game ya flog

........ Earlier ..... I've decided regardless of the premierships and the glory that there's no point following the hawks if this is how it ends up... :(

Does this mean you can take your morose, self aggrandazing, conspiracy flushing self to another team's board on Big Footy?

First real win of the day.

I just had a scary thought... What if we lose Mitchell and don't land O'meara. Gold Coast seem to be playing hard ball and we traded away our first pick. And then Vickery continues being Vickery next year instead of turning into Wayne Carey like his contract reflects. Or we get O'meara and he never makes it to the level.

Could be the most disastrous trade period ever.

When we traded croady we knew that ball, judd and hodge would all be superstars and the hodge punt paid off big time.

We are now taking the punt that we can A: compete without our best player for the last ten years.
B: Vickery will come good.
C: O'MEARA gets back to full fitness and is the superstar predicted.
D: tom Mitchell isn't Langford mark II and drops off after an early peak.
E: Gibson, hodge, lewis, Burgoyne don't fall off the cliff with form. (i think hodge and Gibson are already halfway down and Lewis at the edge.
F: Roughead will make it back. We could be forgiven for telling rough to focus on his health and have his contract paid off outside the cap (afl would allow it)

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
I know Jaegers aunt & cousin. No way he's not at hawks next year. Offered massive coin. Knees are said to be fine.

Will be a gun for u guys.

(Sorry - just remembered no opp supporter tag )

I honestly hope this is Sam's decision and not the club's.
Sorry... another intrusion ....

Eagles desperate to hold onto pick 32(ish) so they can get Jake waterman who won't last much further than that pick.

Might turn into a complicated 3 way deal or something.

Sorry... another intrusion ....

Eagles desperate to hold onto pick 32(ish) so they can get Jake waterman who won't last much further than that pick.

Might turn into a complicated 3 way deal or something.

Just give us a player instead. ;)

Hello I am back after long Ban.
Put simply Very Bad Decision by the Coach and Club.
Foremost, if Sammy wanted to leave why would he commit to the club and sign on for next year to play for the Hawks as he has done on a yearly basis for the past few years?
Because he is very Happy at Hawthorn and knows he can still play at optimum levels whilst winning our B&F along the way at 34 years of age is proof.
If he wanted to head out West he would not have signed on to play again next year and Sam would have initiated the move!
Remember he stated he could have been knocked down with a feather when Clarkson informed him about this.
Moreover, Sam Mitchell is a player and coach on field and like Hodge that is a bonus on field for our playing group and team that no trade pick under 10 can buy!
This trade will only benefit West Coast and Not Hawthorn and if it suits Mitchell to acquire Monetary and Lifestyle betterment it was not Sam's idea.
Once again why did he sign again with Hawthorn.
Because he is Happy at Hawthorn.
So if he signed on for next year he is happy to play for Hawthorn and live again in Victoria BUT Clarkson planted the seeds of better retirement at West Coast when he was Happy at Hawthorn.
We as a club don't own ANY player anything because it is a privilege to play for our great club and after you come near the end of your playing career with 4 Premierships cups to your name Any player would and as Sammy Mitchell would remain Loyal and sign on as a Happy Hawker as he did and not seek the Bigger Pension because HE Loves Hawthorn and can still play at his best.
Also, Everyone Stop saying they wanted to move to the West when he happily did sign on to play with Hawthorn.
Clarkson has just gone Mad and Wild because Hawks don't OWN any player anything especially when we gave Sam a chance at the top level and come out a 4 times premiership player.
He is just also trying to be A creative genius at the expense of a Hawks legend.
Remember Hawthorn Culture is bigger than Any Coach and Player!!
Very wrong decision and any draft pick less than top 10 is wrong because Bookmark it "Sam Mitchell will play another 50-70 AFL games if traded to West Coast."
He is more imperative for Hawthorn players and team for our development, culture and on field development of our young players for the next couple of years because without Sammy Mitchell you can bring TM and JOM and lose Mitchell we slip big time.
Remember Doggies won a premiership without their Captain playing on field.
So how GOOD and important is Sam being a player and a Coach at the same time for us that NO draft pick less than 10 should be our aim.
Clarcko and Co you own Mitchell nothing and Remember you STATED the Veterans have had their day in the sun regarding salaries.
Don't sell our Souls and Culture because Sam Mitchell is Very Very important to our player development, culture and welfare that his playing career may be only 1-2 years life longevity but his LEGACY will remain like Peter Crimmins for ever at Hawthorn.
"Sam Mitchell from rags to riches"
To fat, to slow and can't kick but made it to Hollywood!
Stop selling our Soul and Culture!
Mate lay off the drugs

I don't think Nic Nat will be playing next year mind you. An ACL and knee reco that late in the season - can't see it happening.
They are talking a return in late 2017. (It's on the WC page)

Just on this, Hawthorn's list '(I think that's an allusion to the mids we're trading in) and cap space was mentioned by Sam Mitchell when he was interviewed on SEN aspart of the conversation with Clarko. Yes, the presenters brought it up, but Sammy didn't deny it. I think GW might be window-dressing it a bit, I think it's partially about cap space, not wholly, but it's one piece of the puzzle.

As DrEvil_ said, I really hope it was Mitchell's decision, in terms of his family, but I can't get over the fact that it was Clarko who suggested it. I love Clarko but this will be heartbreaking to lose someone who's an absolute champion, Captained us to a premiership, 2nd most Peter Crimmins Medal winner of all time (and just has won it) who represents everything that's best about the club for what'll likely be peanuts at the trade table. I'm repeating myself, but Sammy would have been an outstanding mentor to TMitchell, O Meara, and new draftees. He's the poster boy for working hard to get success and making the most of himself as a player.

The bloke kicked 11 goals in the 2013 finals and was second behind Lake in the Norm.

Good grief. Potting all sorts of players, the coaches, the club... In what sense are you actually a Hawthorn supporter? Do you like anything about them?

Seriously. Just stop. Please.
You must be new here, bigton in not actually a hawks supporter. Opposition troll.

It's the whole Michael Jordan trading scenario all over again. 'We can trade Michael (while at the peak of his powers) for a heap of great players and potentially win heaps of championships!'

Umm... great, but we're currently winning championships with one of the greatest players who ever played, and people want to trade that out to see how green the grass is on the other side of every fence surrounding us (and not knowing what they will end up with)? It was face-palming time when I heard Chicago supporters seriously making that call and I'm seeing a similar scenario playing out here... not with the trading but with the thought we can cover a true legend of the game with a bunch of newbie potentials. I can only hope there's some rationale that I'm not getting that sees HFC come out the winner here. Unfortunately, for the life of me I'm just not seeing it.

Uhh, I was living in Chicago at that time and nothing of the sort happened.
Jordan got bored, decided to quit once to play some baseball.
Got bored after not being successful with lumber in the hand and came back to the NBA
3 rings later, was tired and getting hard to stay in shape and motivated - retired again.
2 years later, after taking part ownership of the Wizards, decided on another comeback.

No Chicago Bulls supporter, in the history of the South loop and all that is holy, ever mentioned trading the greatest sportsman of all time.
Could have played till he was 60 in Chi-town taking 80% of the salary cap, and the people would have kept on descending on the United center happily.

Sam not being a one club player is hard to swallow. Never mind what we are losing on the field, the guy has skills and vision so rare that he makes it look easy, but we will find out just how special he is when he is gone. I have faith in the club and Sam whatever he chooses but understand all the range of emotions and opinions on here. For now though I'm stunned and sad. If this is goodbye thanks for everything Sam a true great and a huge reason we are so successful..

Here's a thought. Michael Jordan played for Chicago Bulls, White Sox and Washington Wizards. To the purist, he will always be a Bulls man. No different for Sam Mitchell.

MASSIVE distinction between coaching and playing. I have no gripe whatsoever with Mitchell retiring and going to coach anywhere he likes. Pulling on that guernsey changes EVERYTHING for me though. Brereton and Jarman both did it and it killed a big part of them to me. It cuts me deep that Mitchell is set to slip from your Matthews Crawford and Dunstall category down to a Jarman or even Brereton (who in fairness was pushed out the door). A guy like Franklin is completely dead to me. It's not right that Mitchell is going to be one of those guys.

Fair enough, can't tell you how you should feel.....but I feel bad for you that you can't enjoy what those men did - and brought - to the HFC. They sacrificed so very much to give not just joy, but create a history you and I and every other supporter can quietly gloat in year in year out. And for every generation to come.

And for those efforts, should they play somewhere else, they're dead to you?
That's way too hard a marking in my book, I choose rather to live the highs and pretend the lows never existed.

I'm a hawk rain hail or shine. In good times and bad. Sammy will always be a legend of this club, but no one is bigger than club itself. If he goes so be it. I will forever be grateful for everything he's given the HFC but if it means we sacrifice one year of Mitch to get 7-8 year of titch and JOM then I can live with it.

Here's a thought. Michael Jordan played for Chicago Bulls, White Sox and Washington Wizards. To the purist, he will always be a Bulls man. No different for Sam Mitchell.

It's not like Mitchell is leaving to play 20/20 cricket and then starting up his own AFL franchise either.

Jordan didn't leave to play basketball with the Knicks or Pistons.

It's not like Mitchell is leaving to play 20/20 cricket and then starting up his own AFL franchise either.

Jordan didn't leave to play basketball with the Knicks or Pistons.

It was in reference to Mitchell playing for one team and how he will be remembered - not a comparison of logistics.