No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

In hindsight, it's totally illogical. Mitch was the standout player you would definitely hang on to. Pretty difficult to argue with that. It appears as if the club made some very poor decisions this year and this is the aftermath. Perhaps he was the only one with any real value as I'm not convinced any other club would want the others who all appear to have slowed down. The puff piece story about a coaching career was sold to us in order to justify such an unjustifiable decision.

I don't subscribe to the "in Clarko we trust" or "GW is a genius" theory. I think we genuinely made some very poor decisions & it will eat at me the next time we play the Eagles. Time will telll! Still feel that Sam is this year's sacrificial lamb.
Mate so well said, I think we've been lied to.I think there's some unhappy players at the club right now hence the Lewis blow up...why even sign a contract in the middle of the year if you think you might call it quits and head to Perth? Like Sam didn't even give us a goodbye match it's like he couldn't of cared about the supporters.Yeah go off and do your stuff but don't make supporters think your going around again in brown & gold.Do it right.crazy bizarre stuff just so unhawthorn like from the last four or five years.I think ALOT of the younger players will miss his footy smarts and direction.thats the real shame here.And it leaves a sour taste.

Jessica Mauboy's Never gonna be the same is a great song for right now all the lyrics match up with this awful situation.Thats cool you want to be known as Genius , so ahead of your time but there's a line you cross sometimes that's just too far.Fair enough you think it's a smart move trading a favorite son everything has ripple effect! Not everything is going to be alright... This isn't how the story should end.

This isn't the NRL Grand Final FFS

Mate so well said, I think we've been lied to.I think there's some unhappy players at the club right now hence the Lewis blow up...why even sign a contract in the middle of the year if you think you might call it quits and head to Perth? Like Sam didn't even give us a goodbye match it's like he couldn't of cared about the supporters.Yeah go off and do your stuff but don't make supporters think your going around again in brown & gold.Do it right.crazy bizarre stuff just so unhawthorn like from the last four or five years.I think ALOT of the younger players will miss his footy smarts and direction.thats the real shame here.And it leaves a sour taste.
I reckon you're right!.. Lewis maybe wanted to make a stand against the treatment of our old champs!!..

Nope, Wrighty said it's not about cap space. Yet to hear a reasonable explanation for this bizarre move.

but what would we expect him to say? who would bring in a bunch of new talent (talent that fans have zero emotional investment in) and then tell those same fans that their favourite son(s) were axed in order to pay for the johnny-come-latelys? cap pressure is the only explanation that makes sense.

Was thinking of an appropriate song to mark this sad :'( occasion for our football club. Not sure if this fits the bill, but what the heck?

I'd have to say the way I felt when I first heard the news is best summed up in the chorus of this song (as is the anger between some posters in this thread with each other)
NSFW and I only condone the chorus btw! ;)

absolutely 100% spot on. His only concern should be what is best for Hawrhorn, thats what he is paid for, full stop, he is not employed to be a career advisor or to train blokes up for our competition. imagine the eagles knock us over next september with Sam BOG, thanks Clarko. This ranks as one of his biggest mistakes after letting Josh Kennedy go.
Mate, I'm glad you are not involved with the running of the HFC for three reasons:

1. A Coach is many things, especially a career advisor. He is there to show the players how to advance a professional and effective career by being part of a team, playing their roles and motivating them to do all that to the best of their abilities, week in week out. That's why coaches are referred to as club managers in other sports. The kicking and handballing is coached by the assistants.

2. Our midfield and the whole team seemed to really lift after Kennedy was moved on. I have said this before and will say it again, Clarko has utilised moneyball tactics in building his team. He made an example out of a son of gun so others would take note and lift their game. I'm sure it would have had no effect if he did that with someone who was unknown or of little value in the future.

3. His concern is always what is best for Hawthorn. So much so, he makes incredibly tough decisions to put the club ahead of individuals and his own popularity. Can you not see that?

I can't believe this is happening. In the top 5 players to EVER play for the club and at 34, still our best player. His could play for another 4 years and still dominate such is his physique and who cares if he slows down - speed of foot was never part of why he is such a champion. I just don't understand it.

I listened to Sam's interview and I felt the 'enthusiasm' was more about putting a positive spin on being told the HFC would like to move him on. Asking if he would like the opportunity is just telling him that he is redundant at HFC (which I disagree with vehemently). I don't think Clarko understands what this type of move does for morale. Mine is certainly shot.

As I have no choice but to accept it, I imagine I'm not the only fan that wants the opportunity to say goodbye. Maybe the club could co-ordinate with the AFL and organise a function for Sam and us fans for the night he receives his belated Brownlow. A montage of highlights from every match he received votes (and not just 2012) it would be a huge night and we would be able to cheer off a true Hawthorn legend in his retirement (which is what I am telling myself he has done). Then I would get very drunk.

I can't believe this is happening. In the top 5 players to EVER play for the club and at 34, still our best player. His could play for another 4 years and still dominate such is his physique and who cares if he slows down - speed of foot was never part of why he is such a champion. I just don't understand it.

I listened to Sam's interview and I felt the 'enthusiasm' was more about putting a positive spin on being told the HFC would like to move him on. Asking if he would like the opportunity is just telling him that he is redundant at HFC (which I disagree with vehemently). I don't think Clarko understands what this type of move does for morale. Mine is certainly shot.

As I have no choice but to accept it, I imagine I'm not the only fan that wants the opportunity to say goodbye. Maybe the club could co-ordinate with the AFL and organise a function for Sam and us fans for the night he receives his belated Brownlow. A montage of highlights from every match he received votes (and not just 2012) it would be a huge night and we would be able to cheer off a true Hawthorn legend in his retirement (which is what I am telling myself he has done). Then I would get very drunk.
I wish someone would start some sort of a petition!!

Respectfully disagree. Mitch is an icon. Whilst I wish him well, I don't believe they left it for Sam to decide. They effectively made the decision for him by giving him a garbage ultimatum, under the guise of landing a coaching role. The reality is they need the salary cap space. The choice would have been an easy and logical one for him, his family & with the best interests of the club at heart. Despite what Mythbusters reckon, you can't polish a turd. JOM better deliver. Heaven help us if his knee blows out .... again!
What ultimatum is that? I can tell you right now we are not ditching him due to salary cap pressure. You can't really believe we are that disorganised after a decade of near flawless list management.

This is about being forward the next group more quickly and giving our senior players a say about their own fate.

I think a few on here are being too overly emotional - which I certainly understand - thats not being helped by the extra sauce applied by the media at all times.

From what I understand from listening to GW and Mitchell speak, Clarko and Mitchell had a very amicable, adult chat about everything.

Mitchell was eventually going to take up an offer to coach at WC, Clarko sensed that we need to be a little more agressive in our list management and respectfully asked Sam if he'd consider moving on now a) to speed up that process and b) speed up our regeneration.

Don't forget he also mentioned that he may also stay if it wasnt the right fit.

If the deal is going ahead surely its more because Sam is now invested in the idea not because hes been forced out.

I can see how it can come across as an axing but Clarko wreaks of a man who cares about his players but is also happy to have a hard conversation in an adult way.

The lack of return on the trade is bitterly disappointing but i guess this decision is clearly not about that.