No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

I can't believe this is happening. In the top 5 players to EVER play for the club and at 34, still our best player. His could play for another 4 years and still dominate such is his physique and who cares if he slows down - speed of foot was never part of why he is such a champion. I just don't understand it.

I listened to Sam's interview and I felt the 'enthusiasm' was more about putting a positive spin on being told the HFC would like to move him on. Asking if he would like the opportunity is just telling him that he is redundant at HFC (which I disagree with vehemently). I don't think Clarko understands what this type of move does for morale. Mine is certainly shot.

As I have no choice but to accept it, I imagine I'm not the only fan that wants the opportunity to say goodbye. Maybe the club could co-ordinate with the AFL and organise a function for Sam and us fans for the night he receives his belated Brownlow. A montage of highlights from every match he received votes (and not just 2012) it would be a huge night and we would be able to cheer off a true Hawthorn legend in his retirement (which is what I am telling myself he has done). Then I would get very drunk.
Sam won't play in our next flag.

Do we hold onto him on the basis of what he's done in the past, or do we look to the future and get back to doing what we do best...win flags.

The club have decided to look forward, and Sam is ok with that.

You'll thank the club in a few years time when we're up there with the cup in our hands once more.

Think before you write mate... I wouldn't be able to do his job just like he wouldn't be able to do what I do .,,or you for that matter!! If only people who can do a better job in the same field were allowed to have an opinion on Footy, you might as well shut down the whole Big footy website......My point is, in all our jobs, our first responsibility is towards our employer!!

Blither on all you like, but make a point that's interesting at the end.....

Respectfully disagree. Mitch is an icon. Whilst I wish him well, I don't believe they left it for Sam to decide. They effectively made the decision for him by giving him a garbage ultimatum, under the guise of landing a coaching role. The reality is they need the salary cap space. The choice would have been an easy and logical one for him, his family & with the best interests of the club at heart. Despite what Mythbusters reckon, you can't polish a turd. JOM better deliver. Heaven help us if his knee blows out .... again!

You haven't read any of the news unfortunately.
Sam and Simmo had the discussion re coaching many many months ago. Completely outside of Clarko/Hawthorn.
Clarko didn't bring up the idea.
Management didn't bring up the idea.
The only wrinkle, is that in Clarko's mind, Sammy moving now helps us more than Sammy moving next year.
Sammy agrees.

It's so frickin simple, I have no idea why others on this board can't understand it, or want to make up alternative universes where a different chain of events happened...

I think a few on here are being too overly emotional - which I certainly understand - thats not being helped by the extra sauce applied by the media at all times.

From what I understand from listening to GW and Mitchell speak, Clarko and Mitchell had a very amicable, adult chat about everything.

Mitchell was eventually going to take up an offer to coach at WC, Clarko sensed that we need to be a little more agressive in our list management and respectfully asked Sam if he'd consider moving on now a) to speed up that process and b) speed up our regeneration.

Don't forget he also mentioned that he may also stay if it wasnt the right fit.

If the deal is going ahead surely its more because Sam is now invested in the idea not because hes been forced out.

I can see how it can come across as an axing but Clarko wreaks of a man who cares about his players but is also happy to have a hard conversation in an adult way.

The lack of return on the trade is bitterly disappointing but i guess this decision is clearly not about that.

Our team will take time to gel next season anyway. This way it gels with the young guys on our list too. I reckon Clarkos been looking at how the gametime gets shared aout and realised it doesnt add up. Sam is thinking like a coach and probably realises that too. We still have burgers and cyril too

Sam and Simmo had the discussion re coaching many many months ago. Completely outside of Clarko/Hawthorn.
The only wrinkle, is that in Clarko's mind, Sammy moving now helps us more than Sammy moving next year.
Sammy agrees.

It's so frickin simple, I have no idea why others on this board can't understand it, or want to make up alternative universes where a different chain of events happened...

Probably because their kids are upset... but guess what, kids move on very quickly. I'm hoping we have just had 82-85 and are now moving on to 86-89

Coaching career[edit]
Collingwood[edit]
Following his retirement, Matthews turned to coaching, becoming assistant coach at the Collingwood Football Club before taking over as head coach from Bob Rose after 3 rounds in 1986. He coached 224 games in ten seasons with the Magpies. Under his guidance, Collingwood won one premiership, in 1990, Matthews' fifth premiership medallion, and for which he would later be retrospectively awarded one of his four Jock McHale Medals. In that Grand Final, Collingwood beat Essendon, ending the 32-year premiership drought generally referred to as "the Colliwobbles." Matthews was sacked as Collingwood coach after the 1995 season following an unsuccessful season finishing 10th.

Sam's words were he was excited to play there, and if he ends up staying that would be okay. His interview yesterday was either a brilliant acting performance, or he is actually genuinely keen to do this.

Looked genuine to me and backed up by Flinchtree below.

Thx 89Adopter you have saved me an inordinate amount of typing in the last few days.:cool:

Sammy agrees.

:thumbsu:. Add to that the list of people Clarko has assisted in future career development elsewhere.

J. Kennedy (was down the midfield pecking order)
McGlynn (more opportunity)
Hallahan (more opportunity + we got crap picks)
Leon Cameron (Now a Senior Coach)
Simpson (Now a Senior Coach)
Fagan (Now a Senior Coach)
Stewie Dew (now at Sydney)

If I could be bothered there would be other examples of Clarko and the club acting in the best interests of individuals and their future.

Clarko has also managed to win 4 flags whilst doing this. Nothing short of extraordinary really.

If you have kids, timing moves around schooling is important and Sam by all appearances appears to a be a solid family man.

Unlike others I can not see anything sinister in this.

(Will be a bit miffed if we get a totally shitty pick in return for moving on a champ for 2 years)

Sam won't play in our next flag.

Do we hold onto him on the basis of what he's done in the past, or do we look to the future and get back to doing what we do best...win flags.

The club have decided to look forward, and Sam is ok with that.

You'll thank the club in a few years time when we're up there with the cup in our hands once more.
Sammy agrees.

I cannot possible endorse both of these posts anymore.

Summed it up to a tee. :thumbsu:

Devastated.

Thanks for the memories Mitch. One of the greatest to ever pull on the boots for the Hawks.

I guess this is the new day and age of modern footy. Still hate it.

Let's try hear the spin now from those that believe this is a good decision. This is absolutely sickening... the argument of "the club is bigger than the individual" means nothing when it comes to players like Sam Mitchell...especially when you lose him for pick 88!!! Its a disgrace.

Well that's that then. Essentially losing him for pick 88. Not sure what the Hawks get out of this but it's done so I'll move on.
Thanks so much to Sam for so much over the past 15 years.
My first memory of him was when he first started playing and was nommed for the rising star, I was only probably 6 or so at the time but remember my old man cutting out a few newspaper clippings and 'Slammin Sam Mitchell' being on my wall for a considerable time of my childhood.
He's always been there, just there cutting and weaving through other teams midfields, 30 touches every week almost guaranteed.
To be a Premiership Captain at the Hawthorn Football Club and having played in 3 more - whilst also playing 307 games, 5 Crimmins Medals, 3x All Australians, a Rising Star award and representing the country against Ireland is an incredible career for mine.

I've always looked up to him as he was someone so easily written off. Undrafted in his draft year - so he goes to Box Hill and dominates, picked up in the 30s and you wouldn't have really expected that much. The fat little short kid is so professional in the way he goes about it and especially this year I've cherished every interview or press conference he was involved in just to try and get some insight to his football brain.

Thanks again Sammy, the Hawks won't be the same without you - but that's footy. Best of luck at West Coast and whilst it's not guaranteed that you will ever be back - I really hope you are Clarko's successor.