Sandringham v Bendigo

Port Melbourne (VFL)
A home game for Sandy this week, being on Saturday - 1.10pm Bounce.

Live on ABC1 TV in Victoria from 1pm. (not sure about Tassie)

On the Internet (for interstate fans) at www.radio1611.com.au

On the Radio for those not near a TV in Melbourne on 3XX 1611 AM and in Melbourne's South-East on 3SER 97.7 FM

____ing oath promote Valenti - what more does he has to do... absoloutly starred in the first half - hits targets too, i wanna know if hes AFL standard and i wanna know NEXT WEEK.

True, he's been v. good so far. Maric kicked a goal within the first 25 seconds too, although he hasn't played overly well. Buckley has been okay too.
We'll have to see what eventuates in the 2nd half.

Surely Valenti will be promoted after having 34 dissposials and being B.O.G.....

Buckley was also very good along with C.Johnson, and i thought Martin was excellent in defence.:thumbsu:

I thought Maric was pretty good, spent a bit of time in the midfield and when he was up forward he put alot of pressure on the defenders, He's very quick and he uses the ball very well.:thumbsu:

Bate and Yze both played good aswell.:thumbsu:(Surely Bate will be in the team next week??)

And Holland kicked 4 goals.(although he kicked one after the siren wich was given a point, So it should have been 5)

I only saw the second half on tv but from what I saw I thought:
Ready to go
Bate - played pretty well, should come back into the Melbourne side next week, however he is still slow to chase and they like to play him in the midfield
Valenti - outstanding again, almost a certainty to get a call up in the next couple of weeks

Played well but didn't do enough to get a game unless big changes are called for
Yze - played a good game and if he keeps it up for a couple of weeks then deserves his spot back
Buckley - ok but didn't do enough to get back in the side
Chris Johnson - same as Buckley
Holland - good without being great, only play him if we desperately need a target up forward

Showing promise
Maric - has great skills, should get a game this season if we get to the stage where we try to play everyone (might be soon)
Martin - everyone talks about the athleticism needed to go with Buddy Franklin - this bloke might have it, he jumped right over a guy at one stage, still raw and kicking is sometimes great and sometimes terrible (better than Carroll's though). Also might get a game later this year, he should be good next year.
Spencer - plays ok for a rookie ruckman, might be a good player in a couple of years, holds his own well
Cheney - nice player who does all the important things, looks to have a future but it might not come this year.

Useless
Bode - he is a muppet

Besides that I didn't see alot of John Meesen so I'm not going to comment on him and I presume Warnock is the travelling emergency because I didn't see him at all. Johnston and Tregear for Sandy are lively players who might have a future but they might not have the bodies to ever play AFL.

For Essendon supporters Darcy Daniher looks to have a very good future and I have no doubt you will agree he should play instead of Courtney Johns. Atkinson is a nice player for a rookie and on todays performance and with the way the bombers are heading Jason Johnson should probably retire, it was hard to watch him play today.

Valenti was superb. Everyone keeps saying 'Oh but he's an in and under player and we have too many of them' which is bull. You play the best players available to you, and on his form today, he deserves his chance.

Buckley was alright, still made too many errors by foot and hand which would hurt at top level. Still he attacked the ball and his 40m pass to Sautner which went all of 5m above the ground made me happy. Will definately get his hot again, just needs to take his time with his disposal.

Bate should be in next week, no questions. Played well, but not the best we've seen of him.

Martin showed me today that he was worth taking in the Pre-season draft. Very athletic and for a kid who only started playing football a couple of years ago his skills are passable. Very pleasing performance.

Yze won't be recalled on this performance although he wasn't bad. I hope he gets a farewell game, he deserves one for what he has done over the years.

Cheney = Peter Walsh

Bode, CJ and Dutchy looked ok today. Not pushing for selection. Meesen ok, thought Spencer was more effective around the ground.

Maric looks the goods. His first goal was a ripper. Played up the ground a bit. I don't see the need to rush him into the side however, let him develop in the 2's, but will definately get his shot.

In regards to Bate, I would've preferred to have seen him up forward, but with Sautner and Holland in there, both doing well it must be said, there was never going to be room for him. Looked a little down on match fitness which is understandable.

It'll be interesting to see how our forward line performs tomorrow, hopefully Garland gets a run in there, however I would like to see Bater get a gig next week.

Do you reckon Tomi Johnston or Shane Treagar are a chance to be rookie drafted by us??

Both looked good(especially Johnston) and are only 19-20 years old...

Do you reckon Tomi Johnston or Shane Treagar are a chance to be rookie drafted by us??

Both looked good(especially Johnston) and are only 19-20 years old...

Well, if they can consistently perform they may have a chance, but when you consider how well Valenti played last year only to be rookie listed, I'm not sure they will.
I think Valenti should get a chance at the big time shortly, hopefully his promotion is imminent.
Bate will be back, had a great 3rd quarter and put in a solid all-round effort.
Buckley was good too, his ability to get the ball, in conjunction with his pace was the highlight. Having said that, his skills and decision making could be better, but he'll get another chance in the seniors this year.
Bode wasn't too good.....
Martin was quite good in defence, however I think he needs some more time to develop.
I quite liked the look of Cheney, he looks to have some ability.
Maric was pretty good in the 2nd half, he attacked the ball and chased well, and his early goal was excellent.
That concludes my observations :p

F me. There were plenty of signs why c johnson should be left to play in the senior side. ____ we get zilch development of our younger players. pity bailey didn't spend sometime at the game.

Maric looked good. Number 19 will become very popular if/when he makes the jump. Fantastic pace, and tremendous delivery by foot in the windy conditions, a skill that we really are lacking!

What are people's opinions on Sautner? Not saying we should draft him now (bit old) but if we had nabbed him say 2-3 years ago, how do you think he would have gone in the big league?

Valenti looks a shit load like Nathan Foley when he plays, should be elevated right away. Yze should get one more chance, Bate and Maric should come in next week or at least be in the 25 man squad.

What are people's opinions on Sautner? Not saying we should draft him now (bit old) but if we had nabbed him say 2-3 years ago, how do you think he would have gone in the big league?

5 years maybe. Suppose we didn't need it then because it's when Neitz was at his peak goalkicking powers.

Don't know why teams don't do it more to be honest. If you spend a pre-season draft pick on somebody and get a couple of good years out of them who cares? As long as they're not getting in the way of somebody else's development then how do you lose? People bag West Coast for drafting Troy Wilson at 28 but he kicked 85 goals in 40 games.

Well, if they can consistently perform they may have a chance, but when you consider how well Valenti played last year only to be rookie listed, I'm not sure they will.

Yeh but Valenti is 176cm and he isn't very quick...Clubs were to scared to take some one under 180cm that didn't have much pace, The same thing happend to Sam Mitchell.(i guess he proved them wrong:D)