Norwood, Red Wings
Round 12

Saturday 12th June
West v Central @ Richmond (ABC TV)

* Chris Schmidt returns to the Bloods, Jack Gunston will hopefully make the final cut and look to regain some form, he might perform better without Henderson taking his space. In the reserves the big Irishman Brian Donnelly will look to impress by gathering 10 touches and Bernie Vince , playing for the Dogs reserves, enjoyes a standard that's similar to his output in 2010.

Sunday 13th June
South v Port @ Noarlunga

* Shaun McKernan returns to the Panthers after missing last week with injury. Myke Cook is named as an out but might get the early flight from Tasmania to line-up for South.

Sturt v Norwood @ Unley

* Matty Jaensch will be looking for a strong game to get his season back on track and rookie Aidan Riley is named on an extended bench but should play.

Monday 14th June
Glenelg v North @ Glenelg

* 2009 draftee Sam Shaw might make his league debut for the Bays, while for North rookie Matt Wright will be hoping for another strong game which could see him upgraded due to the LTI to Daniel Talia.

Eagles bye (Thompson, Jacky)

Any Westies fans have anything to say about Fortunato Caruso? I remember he wasn't drafted a couple of years ago, after back to back Morrish medals, because he was considered too small, and he went on to tear it up in the VFL. I've yet to see him play since he joined the SANFL. How's he been going?
Could he get a shot at it in a compromised draft year? Worth a rookie punt as a possible solution to our small forward issues? Wouldn't be the first time a star junior considered too small got drafted a couple of years late.
But yeah, I really haven't heard much about him at the bloods so I was wondering how he's going?

I headed out to City Mazda Stadium this arvo to see one of the worst football matches I've seen (bar the second quarter from Centrals).

Gunston played a fantastic game. Took some fantastic marks and showed he can play at both ends of the ground. Didn't see much of Donnelly in the reserves.

Vince will be playing for the Panthers reserves tomorrow.

Any Westies fans have anything to say about Fortunato Caruso? I remember he wasn't drafted a couple of years ago, after back to back Morrish medals, because he was considered too small, and he went on to tear it up in the VFL. I've yet to see him play since he joined the SANFL. How's he been going?
Could he get a shot at it in a compromised draft year? Worth a rookie punt as a possible solution to our small forward issues? Wouldn't be the first time a star junior considered too small got drafted a couple of years late.
But yeah, I really haven't heard much about him at the bloods so I was wondering how he's going?
Recruit him for his name alone, I say

Hopefully Sam Shaw plays his first league game tommorrow. There is something special about this player and i wouldnt be surprised if he played a few good league games in a row that we may seem him play for us by the end of the year. I know Stephen Rowe is huge raps for Shaw and also made the comment that he may be playing for us by the end of the year. Shaw has great agility, very quick, good left foot kick and makes good decisions. Has already made the best player list for the bays in the reserves two games out of three.

By the way loves to kick the ball which is different to a lot of our players. The other week he had 16 kicks and 0 handballs.

Hopefully Sam Shaw plays his first league game today. There is something special about this player and i wouldnt be surprised if he played a few good league games in a row that we may seem him play for us by the end of the year. I know Stephen Rowe is huge raps for Shaw and also made the comment that he may be playing for us by the end of the year. Shaw has great agility, very quick, good left foot kick and makes good decisions. Has already made the best player list for the bays in the reserves two games out of three.

By the way loves to kick the ball which is different to a lot of our players. The other week he had 16 kicks and 0 handballs.

We could do with a few more lefties in our team too!

Good player Fort but he is too small for AFL. Quick and lively but just doesn't pose any threat at all in the air and he hasn't really dominated a game like Milne where he kicks 4 -5 goals consistently.Like him at this level but Calinan's the one you want if your after that type of player. He is class in the middle or in the forward lines.

Jaensch was AMAZING.

Probably about 25 possessions, 8 marks, 2 goals, best on ground by a mile I reckon, all while shutting his opponent down.

Looked really, really determined today. Had one of the biggest celebrations ever after his second goal, really showed what it meant to him. The game was in the balance in the third quarter, Sturt leading by 2 goals and Jaensch wins a 50/50 contest, kicks to a teammate, keeps running, gets it back, takes two bounces and kicks a goal from 55 out. A minute late he does the same thing, runs down the same wing and slots another goal from 50. He jumped into the air, let out a massive scream, basically won the game right there.

BOG by a mile. Great response Jaenschy, even if it killed Norwood. :(

Jaensch was AMAZING.

Probably about 25 possessions, 8 marks, 2 goals, best on ground by a mile I reckon, all while shutting his opponent down.

Looked really, really determined today. Had one of the biggest celebrations ever after his second goal, really showed what it meant to him. The game was in the balance in the third quarter, Sturt leading by 2 goals and Jaensch wins a 50/50 contest, kicks to a teammate, keeps running, gets it back, takes two bounces and kicks a goal from 55 out. A minute late he does the same thing, runs down the same wing and slots another goal from 50. He jumped into the air, let out a massive scream, basically won the game right there.

Excellent news... great to have guys putting some heat on for spots. The fact he was able to get forward and kick goals is most exciting. He probably needs to string a few together... but might just save himself.

Jaensch was AMAZING.

That's what I like to hear! Has had a couple of quiet weeks until now so it's good to see he is bouncing back into some good form. He keeps that up and has a good attitude about it, I'm sure the club will keep him around. All this talk of Pets not being a small forward and us needing one, why the hell isn't Jaenschy being given a go as a small forward?! Would think he would be a more than handy small forward with stints on a wing. What role was he used in today?? Defence again I assume?? Thanks for the update champ:thumbsu:

Played in defence on Donohue and took the kick-outs all day for Sturt. Was really poised in defence, always made the right decision, don't think he wasted a touch all day. Ran hard off his man, became the linkman so often, was on fire in that third quarter as he kicked 2 and was screaming for the ball a minute later for a shot at another. Great game.

I don't like Jaensch his attitude annoys me, but he was sensational today. Looks a very good player, he ran hard all day and always mind himself an option.

Knights like forward role?

As a Norwood supporter I reckon that was a loss we needed to have. We looked the goods in the last quarter, the experience of that match should do us good. Looking forward to having Young back. How many games do you need to play to qualify for SANFL finals?

Also, on the Norwood game. Was that the worst umpired game you have ever seen? They seemed to pay some of the most shocking free kicks and there was at least 10+ 25m penalties paid. I was not impressed, they were really the dominant feature of the game...them and Jaensch who was I agree easy BOG

get him in the side I say
Will never play for Adelaide again.

I predict we will try to trade him at the end of the year and if there are no takers then Port will pick him up in the draft.

As a Norwood supporter I reckon that was a loss we needed to have. We looked the goods in the last quarter, the experience of that match should do us good. Looking forward to having Young back. How many games do you need to play to qualify for SANFL finals?
Yeah, the loss will be okay, at least we fought it out until the end, saved some percentage and showed some real character to be in touch late. If Puopolo (who played another beauty) had kicked that goal we would've been within 3 points with a centre bounce to come.

Young's qualified for the finals mate, no worries there. The last time we played Sturt, Young was one of our best, and Sturt were missing Jaensch. Obviously more to the different results than that, but some big changes.

Also, on the Norwood game. Was that the worst umpired game you have ever seen? They seemed to pay some of the most shocking free kicks and there was at least 10+ 25m penalties paid. I was not impressed, they were really the dominant feature of the game...them and Jaensch who was I agree easy BOG
Shocking umpiring display, simply shocking. Sturt got everything for the first quarter and then in the last we got everthing. The 25 metre penalties were out of hand, the umpires have lost the plot in that regards, everything is 25 these days.

Jaensch in defense would be better than Doughty or Van Berlo anyday. I really hope he stays as he looks a player, and shouldn't lose his dream from one night of fun and breaking an unofficial rule or whatever it was. I'm worried that if he gets delisted for that noone will want to play for us. I mean why would you wanna come here if you know your not allowed out to town to have fun.

Down at Noarlunga, neither Cook nor McKernan had big days.

Cook played OK on the wing, probably broke even, and at the end of the third quarter won a contested ball really cleverly and shot out a slick handball that led to a goal. He might yet develop into a good AFL footballer.

As for McKernan, looks to be out of touch, noting that this game was coming back from a leg injury. Didn't impose himself on the game at all, and when Cloke was resting forward McKernan was on him, maybe Cloke just won on points the few times they were head-to-head. On this form it'll be a few weeks yet before SMACK can make a case for selection......couldn't possibly be considered for the next match based on this.

Down at Noarlunga, neither Cook nor McKernan had big days.

Cook played OK on the wing, probably broke even, and at the end of the third quarter won a contested ball really cleverly and shot out a slick handball that led to a goal. He might yet develop into a good AFL footballer.

As for McKernan, looks to be out of touch, noting that this game was coming back from a leg injury. Didn't impose himself on the game at all, and when Cloke was resting forward McKernan was on him, maybe Cloke just won on points the few times they were head-to-head. On this form it'll be a few weeks yet before SMACK can make a case for selection......couldn't possibly be considered for the next match based on this.
Cheers mate. :thumbsu:

Pleased to hear Cooky did okay, might come back into the side if Thommo is out for a while. McKernan is really struggling and his confidence must be shot, he probably thought his SANFL days might have been put on hold for a while after his 5 goal showing a while back.

Will never play for Adelaide again.

I predict we will try to trade him at the end of the year and if there are no takers then Port will pick him up in the draft.

Dont think he will either, re-rookie listed at end of year is his best chance.

Its well known that Craigy isnt his biggest fan.

Jaensch in defense would be better than Doughty or Van Berlo anyday. I really hope he stays as he looks a player, and shouldn't lose his dream from one night of fun and breaking an unofficial rule or whatever it was. I'm worried that if he gets delisted for that noone will want to play for us. I mean why would you wanna come here if you know your not allowed out to town to have fun.
This is exactly what people are referring to about the overrating of our youngsters.

Jaensch has played 3 games (and I seriously doubt he'll be adding to that total in 2010). The best of those games (vs North) resulted in 20 disposals - more than he managed in the other two games combined. He averages just 12.7 disposals per game.

VB averages 20.3 and does most of his work in the midfield.

Doughty is one of our most consistent contributors, who more than anything provides us with a hardened body in our extremely youthful defence. He averages 17.5 disposals per game.

Jaensch hasn't shown the ability to shutdown an opponent - like Doughty does most weeks. He hasn't shown the ability to win the hard ball like VB does - and he doesn't get as much of it as VB does either.

Jaensch might be a better long term alternative to VB and Doughty, but he's nowhere near their league in the short term.

This is exactly what people are referring to about the overrating of our youngsters.

Jaensch has played 3 games (and I seriously doubt he'll be adding to that total in 2010). The best of those games (vs North) resulted in 20 disposals - more than he managed in the other two games combined. He averages just 12.7 disposals per game.

Doughty is one of our most consistent contributors, who more than anything provides us with a hardened body in our extremely youthful defence. He averages 17.5 disposals per game.

Jaensch hasn't shown the ability to shutdown an opponent - like Doughty does most weeks. He hasn't shown the ability to win the hard ball like VB does - and he doesn't get as much of it as VB does either.

Jaensch might be a better long term alternative to VB and Doughty, but he's nowhere near their league in the short term.
So by the book as per usual. :rolleyes:

Doughty has been poor, he continually kicks backwards, he falls over at every contest, hes finished. Jaensch is future and i don't see VB as a defender, we need him in the middle. If Jaenasch is playing a good shutdown role with some good offensive running in the SANFL why not bring him back in? I'd rather give a 21 year old is it? a go rather than a 30 year old Doughty who doesn't do anything offensive and offers very little.