SANFL Round 12

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Should get another go after the break. Last AFL game he played had 100% eff with 20 possessions. IMO wing or HHF is his go - play him in the Knights role. Thoughts??

From the sound of it Drummond the fire still burns in him. Thought after a couple of quiet weeks he might have been reading the posts on Big Footy and thrown in the towel. :D

Will never play for Adelaide again.

Will not renew my membership if he is delisted. I don't want to give my money to a club with such a piss weak culture, because that would be the case if he is let go.

"Oh the Crows culture is so strong, but not strong enough to handle a kid that stayed out late" Will never win another premiership with that kind of timid attitude.

Jaensch might be a better long term alternative to VB and Doughty, but he's nowhere near their league in the short term.

I agree. But the season is shot. At this point, wouldn't it be better to think long term? I salivate at the thought of Jaench's long, accurate kicking being a regular feature in our backline.

I know one thing for sure about AFL these days - good disposal is king. It doesn't matter how much pressure you apply, if you can't dispose of the ball well, your turnovers will deny your team opportunities to score and lead to opposition scoring opportunities. Poor disposal kills momentum, and it kills morale. Good disposal does exactly the opposite. In combination with good pressure, you're well on your way to becoming Geelong.

Get him in the side :thumbsu:

I agree. But the season is shot. At this point, wouldn't it be better to think long term? I salivate at the thought of Jaench's long, accurate kicking being a regular feature in our backline.

I know one thing for sure about AFL these days - good disposal is king. It doesn't matter how much pressure you apply, if you can't dispose of the ball well, your turnovers will deny your team opportunities to score and lead to opposition scoring opportunities. Poor disposal kills momentum, and it kills morale. Good disposal does exactly the opposite. In combination with good pressure, you're well on your way to becoming Geelong.

Get him in the side :thumbsu:

Agree. At the moment we have far too many average disposers of the footy, which kills us considering our gameplan is based upon and relys so much on perfect skills.

Jaensch in for Porps next possible chance for mine. Tell Porps he has 2 -3 weeks to just burn up the track and get some fitness back (if that is the problem - if not.....)

If we can't manage a kid with talent like Jaensch we are a ****ing joke of a club. . He needs to be given games this year to prepare him for next. Push him as ****ing hard as they want but you have to play him.

Will never play for Adelaide again.

I predict we will try to trade him at the end of the year and if there are no takers then Port will pick him up in the draft.

Why? he broke a curfew and wasn't even hammered, only had a couple of beers. It seems we are making a mountain out of a mole hill on here and creating it by assumptions about what's going on inside the club, which none of us a privy to.

Dont think he will either, re-rookie listed at end of year is his best chance.

Its well known that Craigy isnt his biggest fan.

How is this well known? because he broke a curfew and the leadership group gave him and Bernie Vince a one match suspension?

What else are you basing the "Craigy doesn't like Jaensch" on? It can go in the same basket as "Craigy doesn't like Walker" yet he say's he'll be a 10 year player for us.

Put him back in the side Craigy! I wouldn't be surprised if he was in the side next week. Porplyzia needs a stint in the SANFL.

This is exactly what people are referring to about the overrating of our youngsters.

Jaensch has played 3 games (and I seriously doubt he'll be adding to that total in 2010). The best of those games (vs North) resulted in 20 disposals - more than he managed in the other two games combined. He averages just 12.7 disposals per game.

VB averages 20.3 and does most of his work in the midfield.

Doughty is one of our most consistent contributors, who more than anything provides us with a hardened body in our extremely youthful defence. He averages 17.5 disposals per game.

Jaensch hasn't shown the ability to shutdown an opponent - like Doughty does most weeks. He hasn't shown the ability to win the hard ball like VB does - and he doesn't get as much of it as VB does either.

Jaensch might be a better long term alternative to VB and Doughty, but he's nowhere near their league in the short term.

He'll be better than Porplyzia short term and he needs time to build confidence at AFL level. Moreover he's done a bloody good job considering how many games he's played, who gets 20 touches in their 3rd game of AFL?

Play him in the side for rest of the year and we'll have a rising star nomination.

Why? he broke a curfew and wasn't even hammered, only had a couple of beers. It seems we are making a mountain out of a mole hill on here and creating it by assumptions about what's going on inside the club, which none of us a privy to.
We let the best ruckman we have had since Rehn walk for less.

The key there is that he "walked". At the AFC it depends on the player, Jaensch would have to do certain things to get back in the team but it will be up to Jaensch to do those things and if he does he'll be back. It's Ray McLean's leadership model which funnily enough is also used by the Bulldog's so Hudsun wouldn't find it any different over there. Regardless I don't think the late night curfew breach and consequent actions were the issue for Hudson, I think it was the terms of his contract.

We actually "let Hudson walk" because he was a weak character who couldn't handle any level of criticism and constantly sulked around the club because of it. Hudson was such a bitch about it that he demanded unreasonable contractual status that he knew we couldn't reasonably fulfill just to force our hand. Both him and Welsh were reknowned for having awful attitudes around the club and as much as we've missed their on-field performances (Hudson in particular) I've got no doubt there's a better environment for our young kids to learn footy with them gone.

I'll say it again, if Jaensch goes it will be because Jaensch didn't demand that he stays here. Performances like the one he posted on the weekend are exactly the sort of thing that will ensure he stays here, provided he keeps it up.

If the Crows have already rubber stamped his pink slip as some are suggesting then it would be extremely poor, but I doubt it's the case. He'll probably have to work harder than others to get a game again this year, but I don't think he's gone by any stretch.

We actually "let Hudson walk" because he was a weak character who couldn't handle any level of criticism and constantly sulked around the club because of it. Hudson was such a bitch about it that he demanded unreasonable contractual status that he knew we couldn't reasonably fulfill just to force our hand. Both him and Welsh were reknowned for having awful attitudes around the club and as much as we've missed their on-field performances (Hudson in particular) I've got no doubt there's a better environment for our young kids to learn footy with them gone.
And this is fact...because it’s your opinion?

Asking for 3 years (looking at his play, clearly it was reasonable) was demanding unreasonable contractual status?

To be fair to the club they were under the misapprehension that at some point Meesen would be an AFL standard ruckman.

Now to have made that mistake:p

But yeah, certainly a mistake to assume 21/22 year olds could shoulder the full rucking burden.

Now I know they are at totally different ends of the club, but Stiffy was BOG for Port in his return (not that would be too hard at the mo;)) now Jaensch has done the same against Norwood :( which are one of the form teams at the mo. Does the same apply, does he get the same chance as Stiff who has had a far more checkerd past than MJ. Thoughts?

Are there SANFL games next week during our break? Craigy made it sound like next Saturday's training session was going to be an absolute bitch.

There's three on Saturday and one on Sunday.

South Adelaide have the bye.

Has Bernie Vince played his reserves game yet? If so how did he go?

According to the Advertiser he had 32 possessions and spent the whole game on the ground.

Yeah, the loss will be okay, at least we fought it out until the end, saved some percentage and showed some real character to be in touch late. If Puopolo (who played another beauty) had kicked that goal we would've been within 3 points with a centre bounce to come.

Young's qualified for the finals mate, no worries there. The last time we played Sturt, Young was one of our best, and Sturt were missing Jaensch. Obviously more to the different results than that, but some big changes.

Shocking umpiring display, simply shocking. Sturt got everything for the first quarter and then in the last we got everthing. The 25 metre penalties were out of hand, the umpires have lost the plot in that regards, everything is 25 these days.

I have a theory that they saw the free kick count at 3/4 time saw how bad it was and they then gave us a ripper run for about 10-15mins. Pathetic

I know Young has qualified, I was wondering how long he will be out for? Will TW play enough games to qualify? Has Matt Thomas played for Norwood this year?

Take it as you will, but Rucci always maintains that the main reason Hudson left was due to him receiving a particularly scathing review from Craig following one game. The whole contract affair was just a convenient "excuse" for Hudson to look elsewhere.

I thought the 'reason' was for him not being allowed to play against Geelong because he broke team rules (apparently breaking curfew by 10 minutes or some shit)

todays game

Sellar - woop dee do, 2 goals 2. Did he have a 5th touch?
Shaw - 1st game, I saw 2 touches. But he doesnt stand out with his current light frame, i wouldn't be suprised if he had a dozen touches.
Wright - 1 goal, worked hard, maybe 15-20 touches

I thought the 'reason' was for him not being allowed to play against Geelong because he broke team rules (apparently breaking curfew by 10 minutes or some shit)

todays game

Sellar - woop dee do, 2 goals 2. Did he have a 5th touch?
Shaw - 1st game, I saw 2 touches. But he doesnt stand out with his current light frame, i wouldn't be suprised if he had a dozen touches.
Wright - 1 goal, worked hard, maybe 15-20 touches
Definitely put him down for a dozen knowing you. :D ;)