SANFL Round 12

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

I watched the game and this is the second I've heard of this. Personally I think they're hardly as bad as you described, for sure he could've gone harder, but it's not like he completely avoided contact. In the first instance he could've completely pulled out but he still went up, albiet not quite as strongly as he could've. The second one was tough, he was running back for the mark and perhaps with a stronger effort he would've completed the mark. To me they weren't genuine squibs because without the commitment he wouldn't have even had the oppertunity to do so. I thought he responded well though as he attacked the contest very well thereafter.

I really liked his game though, provided a ton of rebound, disposal was good (other than a lazy kick which resulted in a goal), tackled strongly and overall looked very solid down back.

I only had the benefit of watching the first squib once, live, and it just look like to me that he was in great position to take the mark (unopposed) but then heard the uncoming traffic and just slightly ducked his head and took his eyes off the footy. This made him drop a simple overhead mark.

I wouldn't mind watching them again to be honest.

I thought his physical play was quite good apart from that. As you mentioned, his tackling very good and seems comfortable at both ends of the ground. Reads the play very well. Would make a good Andrew Mackie clone I reckon if we decided to play him down back.

Thanks heaps Stabby. This is the only way I get to see these, so I really appreciate the effort.

I like Wright's composure in traffic.

Thanks heaps Stabby. This is the only way I get to see these, so I really appreciate the effort.

I like Wright's composure in traffic.

I like Shaw. The guy moves well. And Gunston for a tall skinny lad is great in his first year.

Looks like our 2nd and third year picks may play before our first once again

I think Gunston's form is good enough to replace Porps in this weeks side.

Porps needs a run with Westies and Gunston has looked very good at SANFL level, and also looked pretty good in his only outing with the Crows.

I'm no Schmidt hater by any stretch and i think he's a good depth player in the squad but i don't see him as a defensive option deep and he isn't damaging enough with disposal (for us not against us!) to be the running half back, so that leaves the midfield.

Unfortunately we have too many of these slowish, average skilled, 'vanilla' mid or mid/defender types in our mix, though some are obviously better than others (Thompson, vB, Reilly, Symes, Doughty).

Seems to be favoured at West Lakes though so will probably get a spot in 2011. If so, it should certainly spell the end of Doughty...how many average blokes can you have when you are aiming to build a top side based on run, carry and accurate disposal?

22 of them in a game - it is all about the structure :D

Anyway, i agree with your summary above re Schmidt etc (although i wouldnt classify Thompson as a vanilla average skilled m/f)

Who the **** does the research for inside football?

in the AFL players on the fringes

for Adelaide

Cook - solid game on the wing for south (he had 10 touches)
Gunston - Just fair in Centrals win over West (he had 23 touches and 11 marks)
Jaensch - Had a big day for Sturt on SANFL return (it was his 3rd game back for Sturt)
McKernan - McKernan struggled to get into the game (ill give them that one)
Riley - Solid game again for Sturt (he was in their reserves)
Schmidt - Among the best for Wests in loss to Bulldogs (ill give them that one too)
Wright - Played for North Adelaide on Monday against Glenelg (well, that's usefull, you'd think he did worse than 20 touches and a goal)

and they left out Sellar and Shaw full stop

I hear ya. :D

I used to bag 'em every week (when they weren't copying my recaps word for word). It's either wrong or irrelevant, I used to get a laugh out of them.
I'd take much more enjoyed if you bagged them when they were copying your recaps word for word.

'What the hell are these idiots on about?'

Surely they could splurge to get the tohoughts of someone who saw the game?