Norwood, Red Wings
Saturday August 2
South v North (Noarlunga) ABC TV

* Soon to be delisted Greg Gallman is named at FB for North. Perennial reserves player Tony Armstrong is named on the back flank for the 2’s. Andy Otten will play on ball for South Adelaide. Kurt Tippett could be lining up for the bottom placed Panther reserves as West have the bye.

Central v Glenelg (Elizabeth)

* Jonathon Griffin will again lead the Central rucks while rookie James Moss in the reserves and will be hoping to respond after a quiet game last week. No idea about Glenelg’s side but I would assume Sellar is still in the reserves and Curnow will definitely be in the 2’s.

Sunday August 3
Port v Norwood (Alberton)

* For Norwood Aaron Kite is named on the on the wing as has been the case for the past month and yet he hasn’t played on the wing for about 2 months. Hopefully it does eventuate as I believe he's being wasted at FB. Taylor Walker named in the FP and the man whose contested marking is a feature will play across the HFF. For Port Graham Johncock will once again play for the Magpies.

Sturt v Eagles (Unley)

* Ken McGregor will play at CHB for the Eagles and Jared Petrenko will once again play alongside. Trent Hentschel is named on an extended interchange. For Sturt rookie Brodie Martin will be in action.

(West Bye)

Bout time the eagles werent on ABC. Look forward to seeing Otten tear it up.

Sellar would be pretty close to a recall you would think.

Two weeks in a row the Eagles havent been on the box!

Central/Glenelg promises to be a cracker!
Port/Norwood will be a beauty as well!

Sellar named on an extended bench for the Glenelg league side but most probably play in the reserves. I would rather he play a full game in the reserves than play 5 minutes a quarter in the league side.

I would rather he play league and play well enough up forward to warrant more game time. His confidence should be up after knowing he is better than reserves at the moment.

The question is whether he would get enough gametime in the Glenelg league side to actually show something, from what I hear, they arn't exactly screaming out for a 196cm forward/ruck prospect.

My only concern with Glenelg's structure atm is that i reckon they need one more bigger-bodied defender. Rudolph and Sherwood are brilliant SANFL defenders, and we get the odd bigger bloke (such as Button last week) down there occassionally, but i always feel we look a little under-sized against the Chambers/Cockshell type forwards. Usually we get away with it because our midfield usually wins out.

I am wondering whether, against the right opposition, Sellar could come in forward, leaving Duldig or the like to head back or at least give us a tall option on the bench if Button is needed back permanently and Cranston eventually comes off!

excuse my ignorance, but is tippett getting a game anywhere this week with westies having the bye?

Sellar named on an extended bench for the Glenelg league side but most probably play in the reserves. I would rather he play a full game in the reserves than play 5 minutes a quarter in the league side.

So he can pick up 40 touches and kick 15 goals with 100 hit outs then everybody will say omg Sellar was awesome hes a gunnn!

It's a soft option wanting him to play Bs, he needs to get in the A team and play consistent footy there instead of sooking in the reserves.

Your attitude is pretty weak.

So he can pick up 40 touches and kick 15 goals with 100 hit outs then everybody will say omg Sellar was awesome hes a gunnn!

It's a soft option wanting him to play Bs, he needs to get in the A team and play consistent footy there instead of sooking in the reserves.

Disagree completely.

Obviously would rather him get a full game in the reserves than sit on a bench all day.

What happened to common sense....obviuosly not so common anymore.

Just like your coach, you are a tool sometimes!
Who, anywhere, has ever said Sellar is sooking in the B's? Where did that come from??

I'd rather have our future gun forward pressing for a spot in the A's instead of running around getting touches against mediocre opposition in the ressies. But I guess you lot rather stats so you prefer him pick up plenty in the Bs.

Each to their own I guess.

Got to give Sellar a bit of credit for not spitting the dummy at Glenelg and asking for a transfer. Shows a bit of character in my eyes. Hope he continues his good form at Glenelg and demands a spot in the 1s. I know its only the reserves but its good to see he is getting plenty of touches and hopefully soon he rips a game apart, kicking 7 and being unstoppable. Will do his confidence wonders

Exactly, people need to realise how poor reserves standard is, and for AFL listed guys it must be an absolute breeze. The man everyone is calling a dud, Meesen, had 24 possessions, 20 hit-outs and 10 marks in his 2nd game back from injury last year in the reserves. In the ruck especially you're bound to get a heap of touches, just run all over the place and use your fitness to your advantage.

He needs to get back in the league side and make himself an option up forward. He needs to DEMAND a place in their side and perform in the limited minutes he gets. Sure it's hard to perform in only a dozen minutes a quarter up forward, but if he performs he'll find he gets more time to show what he's capable of.

I'd rather have our future gun forward pressing for a spot in the A's instead of running around getting touches against mediocre opposition in the ressies. But I guess you lot rather stats so you prefer him pick up plenty in the Bs.

Each to their own I guess.

It's not about stats, it's about game time. IS he goind to learn more by playing or sitting on a bench?

What's he going to learn playing in the ruck at reserves level? He'll never be an AFL ruckman, so bascially he's rotting away at reserves playing in a position that will not help his development. If he has to play reserves, he might as well play as a key forward with the hope of kicking 5 a week and getting back in the league team as a result of that form.

After being touted as a possibilitiy to be in Adelaides forward line this year, he struggled miserably to have any impact at all in the SANFL, getting about 65 touches in 10 games. His confidence and self belief would be lower than a snakes belly. I reckon its all about getting Jimmys head right at the moment and a few more games in the 2s, and hopefully one where he destroys and kicks a bag, will get his head where it needs to be to have another crack at the SANFL.

Look at it in cricket terms. Jimmy is an opener and just keeps getting out cheap. He needs to go back to grade cricket and spend some time in the middle, get his eye in and start hitting the middle of the bat. Its all between the ears.

Exactly, people need to realise how poor reserves standard is, and for AFL listed guys it must be an absolute breeze. The man everyone is calling a dud, Meesen, had 24 possessions, 20 hit-outs and 10 marks in his 2nd game back from injury last year in the reserves. In the ruck especially you're bound to get a heap of touches, just run all over the place and use your fitness to your advantage.

He needs to get back in the league side and make himself an option up forward. He needs to DEMAND a place in their side and perform in the limited minutes he gets. Sure it's hard to perform in only a dozen minutes a quarter up forward, but if he performs he'll find he gets more time to show what he's capable of.

Personally I couldn’t think of better motivation to go out and bust your guts to show that you’re worthy of a spot in the team. He’d feel like shit sitting on the bench doing nothing, but he’d feel like a king on the ground in the reserves, you can get too comfortable with that and it’d be to the detriment of his potential AFL career.

I want to see him hurting when he’s on the bench for the seniors and then put in a 100% committed effort when he gets his chances, as you said, he just has to demand more time. If he doesn’t approach it with this mentality then he might not have what it takes to make it in the AFL and could become our next Meesen. I’d hate to see that happen because there’s real talent there.

Roll out the cliché…footy is played 90% above the shoulders. He’s got the talent, we all know that. If he gets the mentality right then he will dominate at SANFL seniors level. We’ll find out more about him by his attitude on the bench and when he gets his opportunities than we will if he’s racking up possessions in the reserves with full game time.

What's he going to learn playing in the ruck at reserves level? He'll never be an AFL ruckman, so bascially he's rotting away at reserves playing in a position that will not help his development. If he has to play reserves, he might as well play as a key forward with the hope of kicking 5 a week and getting back in the league team as a result of that form.

Well said. He is learning nothing playing ruck in the reserves, SANFL ressies is fairly ordinary and I've seen plenty of guys dominate Bs week in, week out yet never do much in the As. This bloke is also on an AFL list too so he should carve up. I'd rather see him do something in the As, even if he only gets 20 odd minutes, if he performs he will get more gametime.

Has he ever had a standout game in the SANFL? I can't really remember one and he doesn't even look like it, others have commented he doesn't really look interested but maybe thats just how he always is.

Roll out the cliché…footy is played 90% above the shoulders. He’s got the talent, we all know that. If he gets the mentality right then he will dominate at SANFL seniors level. We’ll find out more about him by his attitude on the bench and when he gets his opportunities than we will if he’s racking up possessions in the reserves with full game time.

If footballs largely mental then i suppose you also have to allow for the benefit of confidence. Playing reserves long term might not be a good option for him, but after a long lean stretch in which he wasnt getting much game time, dropping back for a while and getting some good touches would do alot for his confidence.

The key now is whether or not he can go up, and get some decent time in the seniors. I know the arguement is that he should be good enough to demand game time now, but honestly, hes still a player who needs to develop at the position we want him to play. The problem is, with the players theyve got available now, its not in Glenelgs best interests to invest in him right now.

Consider this dilemma as an SANFL club... you've got two players, one AFL listed one not. The non listed player is better right now, but probably wont improve further. The AFL listed player needs work right now, but in the long term should be a far better player, who do you play? If you're genuinely in search of a premiership, as the bays are, youd play the non AFL player, especially given that the AFL player should he ever come close to reaching the heights that are expected of him will promptly be called up to the big leagues, and probably never play for your club again.