Norwood, Red Wings
Round 21 Fixture:

Saturday 25th August
North v Glenelg @ Prospect
West v Eagles @ Richmond
Port v Norwood @ Alberton (ABC TV)
Central v Sturt @ Elizabeth

South bye

• At Prospect Oval Ian Perrie is named at FF, McIntyre at FB while rookie Greg Gallman is at CHB in the reserves. After a good game in the reserves prior to last week’s bye, James Sellar could get a league call-up. John Hinge will share time between on ball/defence and Richard Douglas should also line-up for the Bays.

• At Richmond Oval Bernie Vince and Ken McGregor will be in action for the Eagles.

• The game at Alberton Oval is the ABC televised match and it should be a ripper. Darren Pfeiffer will be welcomed back to Norwood’s defence, Bryce Campbell will play on-ball and Luke Jericho might actually play another SANFL game. Ruckman Ivan Maric will lead the ruck for the Magpies.

• After a quiet game for the Dogs last week, Jonathon Griffin will be hoping to have greater impact in the ruck.

Sellar still playing reserves which is disappointing given his great game two weeks back.

Pfeiffer named on the wing for Norwood but I would expect him to play across the HBF. Jericho in the pocket, Campbell on ball. :thumbsu:

Cant see Chambo getting many of the required 12 this weekend at The Ponderosa, although last time we played them he did get 5 so hopefully he can do it again. I cant see us winning there but a good showing is a must going into finals.

Ill be watching the MOTD on ABC before I head to AAMI, the 2 sides I despise the most going head to head... should be good and hopefully all the Crow lads in action both there and everywhere else have good weeks, apart from Griffo ;)

What an utterly and completely f___ed decision it was to play the Centrals vs Sturt game on Saturday night opposed to a Crows home game.

Me and thousands of others finally finished our footy season last weekend so can actually go and see an SANFL game and what do they do? make us choose between this game and the Crows season defining clash with Brisbane. It's not as though the AFL draw has only just been released either. Disgraceful.

They would have got close to 6000 on a Saturday arvo for 1st vs 2nd, as it is they'll barely get 3000.

Im very annoyed at the scheduling of that game as well as the Adelaide United game starting at the same time as the Crows. Its a shame because as you said it first V second at Elizabeth and possibly a GF preview, the least they could do is show it on TV or play it tomorrow night or Sunday.

Pfft, forget that shit. It's soccer.

Weve already discussed this on another thread but for this week I happen to agree because the Crows game is way more important for several reasons.

Im really only annoyed because this is the first weekend Ive had off footy for ages and id like to see Sturt play but it doesnt look like I can because of course the Crows take precedent. The SANFL werent to know that of course at the start of the year.

What an utterly and completely f___ed decision it was to play the Centrals vs Sturt game on Saturday night opposed to a Crows home game.

Me and thousands of others finally finished our footy season last weekend so can actually go and see an SANFL game and what do they do? make us choose between this game and the Crows season defining clash with Brisbane. It's not as though the AFL draw has only just been released either. Disgraceful.

They would have got close to 6000 on a Saturday arvo for 1st vs 2nd, as it is they'll barely get 3000.

And the SANFL draw was only released this week?

Your assessment of the crowd is way off as well. Sturt supporter? :rolleyes:

6000 would have been huge but it was never likely. 3000 would have been but that isnt to be.

Agreed. I too have to make the decision to go to the crows game or the centrals v sturt. But to be fair who would have thought that sturt v centrals game would have been a top of the table clash when doing the draw? And also this is the first sturt game that have been on at the same time as the crows. I reckon sturt has had a fair deal so far.

Football actually.

At one stage on Satruday night, Liverpool, Adelaie United and the Crows may all be on at the same time. I need three video recorders:D

In Australia, its soccer. Just like we say "chips" instead of "crisps", or "lolly" instead of "sweet".

Mind you, I'm equally pissed about the timing of the games. Just got to hope I get to watch the tape on Sunday before anyone opens their mouth about it.

In Australia, its soccer. Just like we say "chips" instead of "crisps", or "lolly" instead of "sweet".

Mind you, I'm equally pissed about the timing of the games. Just got to hope I get to watch the tape on Sunday before anyone opens their mouth about it.

I say soccer too:o.......though I manitain its is football;)

And the SANFL draw was only released this week?

Your assessment of the crowd is way off as well. Sturt supporter? :rolleyes:
The SANFL draw is done after the AFL draw. They would have programmed the game knowing that it would be clashing with a Crows home game. Centrals and Sturt have been the front runners all season too so they have had ample time to change it.

I can stomach it if the SANFL clubs choose to stick to a Saturday afternoon fixture in opposition to a AFL game at AAMI Stadium. After all, 90% of the SANFL matches are on Saturday afternoons, the fans are in the routine of going along on Saturdays, night matches can be cold & wet, Sundays sometimes aren't popular etc. But to actually deliberately choose to program a game in order to go head-to-head with a Crows home game is completely ridiculous.

The SANFL draw is done after the AFL draw. They would have programmed the game knowing that it would be clashing with a Crows home game. Centrals and Sturt have been the front runners all season too so they have had ample time to change it.

I can stomach it if the SANFL clubs choose to stick to a Saturday afternoon fixture in opposition to a AFL game at AAMI Stadium. After all, 90% of the SANFL matches are on Saturday afternoons, the fans are in the routine of going along on Saturdays, night matches can be cold & wet, Sundays sometimes aren't popular etc. But to actually deliberately choose to program a game in order to go head-to-head with a Crows home game is completely ridiculous.
Centrals was asked to change the time as its their home game but didn't want upset their routine. I guess they also want to make it as difficult as possible for Sturt to have any supporters there at all.

Ive just got home from watching the reserves game between Glenelg and North Adelaide.
James Sellar played a reasonable game without being dominating. He had about 12 possessions and took 9 marks (1 contested) from Centre half forward. He also kicked one goal (from a set shot after taking a mark 40m out from goal) and two points. He took his 10th mark about 2 seconds after the final siren about 40m out from goal but was obviously too late to be paid a mark.
I was really impressed with Sellars work ethic today. He worked really hard offering many leads from CHF and most of his marks were on the lead. Quite often he offered great leads but was ignored which was disappointing coz he was in the perfect position to take the marks. If his teammates looked for him more often he wouldve taken about 13 marks.
I think Sellar is definately the best prospect weve got for centre half forward in most probably our whole short history. He is reasonable quick,work hards, good skills, has the aggression and to me seems like the whole package. He still has a few issues to work on but for someone who is 18 he definately has a great future ahead of him.

He played on Gallman today. Gallman was okay but nothing special.

How tall is he now? He was marked at 195cm, but I'm sure he's around 198 -199 cm.

Does he have a big tank? When you said he was offering many leads, was it like St Nick's style?

The engine sellar has is very important, please fill me in.