Opinion Scharenberg vs Aish

• Thread starter Thread starter jjsmitty8

Leading into the draft I wanted Scharenberg and Salem, and I nearly got my wish. C'est la vie.

I was happy with a mix of combinations.

Shaz and Freeman being one of those combos.

Freeman will be a gun don't worry about that and offers us genuine line breaking pace and he has a good kick to go with it.

Yeh I would have gone with Salem over Freeman any day of the week. He has everything we need while Freeman has everything we have especially the poor skills but he does have pace we lack.

I am backing Hine to have made the right call but Salem was the much better junior out of the two.
You realise we never had the choice between Freeman and Salem?

Too early to say.

I liked Aish at 6 and Acres at 10. Both have played. Aish already looks like he's going to have a long career. Acres I'm still speculating with as he's only just played his first game at AFL level last week but I'm still exceedingly confident that he also will be go on and have a strong career.

Scharenberg and Freeman haven't played because and they're both still getting their bodies right and with neither having even played at VFL level yet so nothing can be determined yet.

Guys who have injuries as juniors don't phase me. Those draft followers would be aware of Judd's story and J.Selwood's stories and how they both having had significant queries coming in with regard to injury so I'm not fussed in the slightest.

Both Scharenberg and Freeman are list fits and fill needs which is why neither are bad gets. Scharenberg particularly is AFL ready when healthy and can fit onto a back flank and Freeman adds much needed pace through the midfield and unfortunately did that hamstring during one of our preseason matches which is something you just couldn't have planned for.

The argument of Aish and Scharenberg is an interesting one and really both are so good and that well performed at senior SANFL level that neither should have been available at pick 6. They've both clear top 5 selections and it's poor recruiting by all the clubs with selections in front of Collingwood to pass on the pair of them frankly the way they both had performed through the seniors. So we got exceedingly lucky to even get one of the pair.

The advantage of Aish is that he is not only ready to go but also healthy and ready to play from round one. He's more outside and on a wing/back flank would have been an incredible addition in his own right but can play some inside and hold his own. He looks like he'll be a 300 gamer as outlandish as that may sound. I trust his durability and with his talent I have no doubt he'll be in our game for a long time.

On Scharenberg he's more a back flanker to start with but the intrigue with him is that while he hasn't really played midfield much he has played some basketball as a junior which suggests that in traffic he could cope and has that extra height and size on his frame to potentially become an inside ball winner and as Derek suggested in his interview and as many of us have hoped since we called out Scharenberg's name last year that the plan is for him to eventually get minutes through the midfield. He's also got the versatility to play back or forward and have an impact and he shouldn't lose that from his game so he does really have the scope to be an absolutely exceptional footballer and one of the absolute best from last years draft if he can get and stay healthy.

I leant towards Aish mostly because I haven't seen Scharenberg through the midfield enough to have the confidence that he develops that side of his game whereas with Aish I had no doubts and I felt strongly that Acres at 10 could already do what we're hoping Scharenberg may in the future do through the midfield and also has the ability on a flank forward or back to also have an impact.

It will be interesting viewing over future seasons to watch the progress of Scharenberg and Freeman and to measure them against the others drafted in that draft range. I'm very confident Scharenberg becomes not only an AFL quality player but an exceptionally high quality footballer and Freeman while he'll have his inconsistencies I also feel with further work has the ability to establish himself with time in our best team.

We didnt even need an Aish. So im unsure why we would be bitter about him doing well.

Our mids bat deep, the age of those mids arent too bad either.

In Scharenberg we have basically recruited a backmen with great disposal and size about him. Harder to find than a mid in all honesty.

G'day legends. So I just wanted to throw it on the table despite the fact that it's very, VERY early days. It's been on my mind for a while, but after another outstanding performance against Essendon, I felt it's the right time to assess.

We like to emphasise how great our recruiting has been when we find a diamond in the rough eg. Langdon, but is it wrong TO BE WORRIED that we may have got it wrong by taking Scharenberg over Aish?

We knew Scharenberg had injuries, and I'm well I aware that in due time he'll hopefully be fit, but I had some concerns from day 1 and always wanted us to take Aish. I'm not writing Scharenberg off, but it could really go either way. Obviously I hope he gets himself right and dominates for many years to come, but the reality is that we've seen many highly rated early draft picks just never get themselves right or reach the level that many expect them to reach.

It's one of those things that's hard to judge until maybe 100 games, but it's hard to predict injuries and sometimes they're beyond manageable. I just hope we don't come to regret the choice.

Even Salem to an extent is showing glimpses in minimal game time.

What do we all think?

SCHARENBERG%20Matthew.png
I HAVE PLAYED " 0 " AFL GAMES.

I was extremely happy when we landed Berg as I was convinced he'd be gone earlier. I was thinking we'd end up with Aish/Salem or Bontempelli/Salem.
I wasn't keen on Aish as he didn't seem to provide anything we didn't already have. Scharenberg on the other hand really stood out with his composure, marking, vision and kicking. He also seems to cover the ground quickly without 'looking' fast, like Pendles does. If we could have landed either KK or Bontempelli at 10 I'd be doing backflips.
I'm sure he's going to be an absolute ripper. Our midfield looks very well stocked post Swan/Ball.

Thread is 2 years too early.

Aish will be a star but I feel his strong family history ties to South Australia may tempt him later on in his career to home move, Scharenberg strikes me as a really loyal guy though.

Freeman and Scharenberg are both special talents and fit our list beautifully, going to be great to watch them for the next 10 years. I expect after 3 games in the VFL we will be calling for Scharenberg to be in the seniors similar to Grundy in 2013, can already see him now looking a class above.

Will be the next captain of Collingwood, you heard it here first :thumbsu:

Matthew+Scharenberg+2013+NAB+AFL+Draft+lqbzPAlPbFIl.jpg

Anyone think that Aish and Sidey have many similarities?

I think that Dekka tight that there was a chance that Aish may have slipped to 10. Salem was also high on our list. After scharenberg it was Aish, Salem, Freeman.

This is going to be a recurring question for the next 10 years. I can't remember a draft where there was more debate and interest than the last from a Pies point of view. This is always going to happen where there is quality players to pick from. I actually think there will not be any losers out of the top 10 such was the quality and not much I have seen so far has changed that opinion. All have been very good but for our two injured and I have some queries as to whether Bonetmpelli was actually worth the #4 when you see the quality Aish & Salem bring.

We took a risk with Scharenburg no question, but you have to back the medicos in that its not a long term thing. Happy to wait and see until he is on the park. I was hoping for either Aish or Salem at 10 once we passed on them. Alas not to be. Aish & Salem have wonderful composure and foot skills and I think this is what is needed more than ever in the AFL. However we do have plenty of mids and Scharenburg has a big point of difference which will make him much more valueable in a year or two.

I think the real long term debate will be Sheed or Freeman. Also throw into that Dunstan and Crouch being left until later. I really liked Sheed but happy enough both guys stayed in home states, you know then they are in it for the long term. Freeman brings speed so I understand why he was picked, he will be a dynamic player and gives us a better mix of skills. Nonetheless Crouch & Dunstan respectively will be 200 gamers, natural footballers who will be very good for their clubs. There is a little more risk in Freeman. But with risk comes great reward.

Yeh I would have gone with Salem over Freeman any day of the week. He has everything we need while Freeman has everything we have especially the poor skills but he does have pace we lack.

I am backing Hine to have made the right call but Salem was the much better junior out of the two.

I'd like to see these poor skills, he is actually mostly a very nice kick so don't know where you are getting that from.

Salem actually reminds me of Sidebottom which we don't need another version of.

Freeman is a much more dynamic type.

its normal to have your concerns in these sorts of situations but i feel really confident that it'll turn out fine. I would be much more concerned if he wasnt tracking so predictably in his rehab, its all been part of the plan thus far

Thank you for your on-topic reply. It's a good point you raise, I suppose it would only be worth worrying if he wasn't coming along.

Way too early to predict but hopefully all of Scharenberg, Aish, Freeman, and Salem have long and exciting careers. As a spectator I love watching good footballers ply their craft so this years draftees should bring much joy to footy followers.

I'm looking forward to watching Freeman develop. He appears more speculative than the rest of the top 10, but also appears to have the rare combination of power, pace and hard running that makes guys like Ablett, Swan and Dangerfield the unstoppable forces that they are.

From what has been seen through nationals, TAC and juniors Scharenberg is the better player. You are making a comparison days into the 12 year decision purely based on Scharenberg having an injury which isn't too bad and a few decent games from Aish.
Until they are both 26+ and Aish has shown to be a much better player I am completely standing by the Scharenberg decision.