Player Watch Scott Pendlebury

I suggested we trade Pendlebury 5-6 yrs when his value was 2 top 5 draft picks +. Why.. I knew the bloke upstairs didn't have it in him to win a premiership. Was I ridiculed for that? Yep.

How we looking now?

Would you rather have taken that deal 5-6 yrs ago or not?

Ruthless.. but pure genius.
We could've ended up with Josh Schache and Ben Ainsworth, what genius that would have been!

When did i claim he was done years ago? Who was claiming he was done 6 years ago? Back up your claim.

LOL, there are plenty of examples of posters writing Pendles off over recent years. You were here through it all so to pretend it didn’t happen is just a joke. Look for yourself. Played with a crook back... he’s past it, played with some other niggle... he’s past it... and on it goes. Hopefully Pendles embarrasses the current cohort much as he’s done to their predecessors.

I suggested we trade Pendlebury 5-6 yrs when his value was 2 top 5 draft picks +. Why.. I knew the bloke upstairs didn't have it in him to win a premiership. Was I ridiculed for that? Yep.

How we looking now?

Would you rather have taken that deal 5-6 yrs ago or not?

Ruthless.. but pure genius.
Pure troll

What are the chances of Pendles extending on minimum wage next year? Or even playing as a player/coach? Could help us land a free agent.

He’s been at the front of the queue renegotiating contracts on less for a number of years hasn’t he. I think he’d know his salary is on the slide if he continues beyond 2021. Minimum wage might be a stretch.

Yes probably.

The leaps you're making are ridiculous. Neither I nor anyone else in this thread has argued as such. However, Pendlebury is the greatest Magpie of the modern era, is the current captain, is currently still the best midfielder in the team in his early-mid 30s, has a very strong strategic understanding of the game, and has an exceptional understanding of the physical requirements of the game, hence his longevity. He arguably has the most to share of any of our leaders at the club.

I legit have no clue what your point is. I'm not sure you do either

It’s largely why players like Greenwood and Mayne were retained. Yes, they’re handy depth in a squad stripped of much of that, but it’s their contributions to the squad off field. As it is with Pendles, young players get to see where the bar is set. These guys leave no stone unturned in their preparation. Helps some, will never help others, so you take the positives when they come.

What are the flow on effects at the club with Pendlebury being used as a mentor.. others have not learnt from him.. pass on that knowledge?

Mate I'd have 2 young guns in the guts over a Pendlebury and a Mccrae every day of the week. Would rather have them learn and grow together..

Probably need to do your research on who Robson Ferguson and Mourinho are..
Which AFL clubs did they play for?

It's like you're telling me that sh*t ain't passed on from generation to generation.. Pendlebury mentors Adams.. Adams mentors who.. I suppose the knowledge he gained from Pendles means sh*t when he's mentoring.. why.. because it didn't come from the horses mouth?

Seriously? I think you need to look at Petracca’s comments RE Pendles, and look at the comments of our kids over the preseason.

Pure troll

Nice of you to call me that bruh..

I put my head on the chopping block 6 yrs ago when I made that call.. Now that you've got the beauty of hindsight..

3 options..

1. Would you have employed Buckley as coach 10 yrs ago knowing he's not going to win a premiership 10 yrs later?
2. Would you have traded Pendlebury 6 yrs ago knowing we were not going to win a premiership under Buckley?
3. Would you have a 33 yr old Pendlebury in the side or have 2 top 5 draft picks with 6 yrs experience under their belts?

I tell you what.. if I was in charge.. say 6 yrs ago.. I'd have either sacked Buckley.. and held on to Pendlebury playing under a new coach.. couldn't do that.. then I would have traded Pendlebury for 2 top 5 picks. We were never going to win a premiership under Buckley.. so why.. wouldn't I.. want to set ourselves up nicely for a tilt at it..

I know what option you'd chose.. 3 right.. no way out of it for you now..

My predictions are red hot and Rhonda re.. pure genius.. and besides.. I still haven't posted anything bad about the bloke. 6 yrs I have praised him.. and I still am. Still see him as a valuable commodity re.

When you're brave and confident enough to make bold predictions that pay off.. well some bold and some not so bold.. then you get to wear yourselves a pair of Gino Rossi's re.. spray on a bit la nuit de l'homme.. and Bob's your uncle. No different to playing the stock market re.

Seriously? I think you need to look at Petracca’s comments RE Pendles, and look at the comments of our kids over the preseason.

Why are Aristotle's philosophies about life and shit like that still relevant today as they were 2500 yrs ago re?

I think you need to work on your Madge PowerPoint presentation re.. you're almoooost there.. if you start from scratch again.

Why are Aristotle's philosophies about life and sh*t like that still relevant today as they were 2500 yrs ago re?

I think you need to work on your Madge PowerPoint presentation re.. you're almoooost there.. if you start from scratch again.

And I think you need to stick to soccer, real footy seems beyond you.

I put my head on the chopping block 6 yrs ago when I made that call.. Now that you've got the beauty of hindsight..

3 options..

1. Would you have employed Buckley as coach 10 yrs ago knowing he's not going to win a premiership 10 yrs later?
2. Would you have traded Pendlebury 6 yrs ago knowing we were not going to win a premiership under Buckley?
3. Would you have a 33 yr old Pendlebury in the side or have 2 top 5 draft picks with 6 yrs experience under their belts?

I tell you what.. if I was in charge.. say 6 yrs ago.. I'd have either sacked Buckley.. and held on to Pendlebury playing under a new coach.. couldn't do that.. then I would have traded Pendlebury for 2 top 5 picks. We were never going to win a premiership under Buckley.. so why.. wouldn't I.. want to set ourselves up nicely for a tilt at it..

My predictions are red hot and Rhonda re.. pure genius.. and besides.. I still haven't posted anything bad about the bloke. 6 yrs I have praised him.. and I still am. Still see him as a valuable commodity re.

When you're brave and confident enough to make bold predictions that pay off.. well some bold and some not so bold.. then you get to wear yourselves a pair of Gino Rossi's re.. spray on a bit la nuit de l'homme.. and Bob's your uncle. No different to playing the stock market re.

LOL, gotta love your fantasy footy approach. Shame it has no baring in reality.

1. Name me 1 player who has attracted 2x top 5 draft picks? Treloar by default only attracted 2x later top 10 picks and he'd be the closest I can recall to what you claim we would have reaped.

2. How on earth could anyone know Bucks wouldn't win a flag before he'd started his tenure? Did they also predict we'd lose a GF? The hypocrisy to then point out others use of hindsight is amazing. Happy for you to quote your posts from 2011-2012 claiming he'd never win a flag.

3. FA was introduced in 2012 so if we'd tried to offload Pendles in 2015 as you suggest then he could quite rightly f*%$ us over. Hawthorn got pick 19 for Franklin, arguably the best player in the game at the time, which is hardly 2x top 5 picks.

4. I can't be stuffed looking if you actually did suggest this trade but if you did and I thought it was even remotely worth responding to I doubt I'd have agreed with it then any more than I do today.

LOL, gotta love your fantasy footy approach. Shame it has no baring in reality.

1. Name me 1 player who has attracted 2x top 5 draft picks? Treloar by default only attracted 2x later top 10 picks and he'd be the closest I can recall to what you claim we would have reaped.

2. How on earth could anyone know Bucks wouldn't win a flag before he'd started his tenure? Did they also predict we'd lose a GF? The hypocrisy to then point out others use of hindsight is amazing. Happy for you to quote your posts from 2011-2012 claiming he'd never win a flag.

3. FA was introduced in 2012 so if we'd tried to offload Pendles in 2015 as you suggest then he could quite rightly f*%$ us over. Hawthorn got pick 19 for Franklin, arguably the best player in the game at the time, which is hardly 2x top 5 picks.

4. I can't be stuffed looking if you actually did suggest this trade but if you did and I thought it was even remotely worth responding to I doubt I'd have agreed with it then any more than I do today.

Mate I put it out there.. I'd have even traded him for 2 top 10s.. doesn't matter.. what we would have gotten in return would have been huge.. regardless. A 27yr old Pendlebury is worth what?

Buckley was never going to win a premiership. Never had it in him. Not going to repeat my previous posts.

I'm not going to go back and try and find a post.. I know I did write it.. I'm sure they'd be some on here who remember it.

I opened an act on here 6 yrs ago.. had i opened it 2012.. you would have had a good understanding of how pissed off I was with our style of play.

Never based a decision on a prediction re?

Real world 2021 = Buckley 0 from 10.. Pendlebury 33.

3 options..

You are good for a laugh I will give you that.

You don’t trade established stars for picks as there is very much an unknown element look at Shaz and Freeman. It works in theory but in reality it doesn’t as it has flow on effects. How can you ask players to make sacrifices to stay when your are knifing the current captain? You can’t

It just so happens I have not rated Bucks as a coach for a long time so we agree on that

You don’t trade established stars for picks as there is very much an unknown element look at Shaz and Freeman. It works in theory but in reality it doesn’t as it has flow on effects. How can you ask players to make sacrifices to stay when your are knifing the current captain? You can’t

It just so happens I have not rated Bucks as a coach for a long time so we agree on that

Even had a second bite with Aish and that didn't go to well either....

Not taking things out of context? Of course you don't trade out stars.. but..

If I gave you a scenario where Pendlebury was playing at the club from 27 to 33 yrs of age.. without a premiership in that time.. what.. you wouldn't have traded him at 27?

Not taking things out of context? Of course you don't trade out stars.. but..

If I gave you a scenario where Pendlebury was playing at the club from 27 to 33 yrs of age.. without a premiership in that time.. what.. you wouldn't have traded him at 27?

These things are easy in hindsight. You also say, I said back then ....

reality is we were 6 points from a premiership. Without Pendles you think that happens?

He was in his prime. Captain with all the honours expect Charlie. You don’t trade them.

These things are easy in hindsight. You also say, I said back then ....

reality is we were 6 points from a premiership. Without Pendles you think that happens?

He was in his prime. Captain with all the honours expect Charlie. You don’t trade them.

I never did think we'd win a premiership under Buckley.. that's why I said it.

Mate.. I'm no different to anyone else on here.. I'd dedicate a night out.. go bar hoping or whatever.. to celebrate any award he wins.. but I would rather celebrate 1 premiership over an infinite number of individual awards our players win.

If I went back in time and told you to hold on to your HT 1969 Monaro.. it's gonna be worth a million bucks today.. what are you gonna do.. hold on to it.. or sell it for peanuts?