Scott Simpson

• Thread starter Thread starter gocats88

8 Goals today.. SSP eating some humble pie?

If this was some Collingwood draftee he would be awarded the rising star nomination based on retrospective 'would have kicked 6 in the seniors' basis due to media hype.

Fair dinkum, top effort by Simmo. That said, the Dogs don't have an AFL tall defenders, so I can't see them having too many in the 2's.

If this was some Collingwood draftee he would be awarded the rising star nomination based on retrospective 'would have kicked 6 in the seniors' basis due to media hype.

Fair dinkum, top effort by Simmo. That said, the Dogs don't have an AFL tall defenders, so I can't see them having too many in the 2's.
He spent some time on Andrew 'DOOOOOOOUUUUUGS FOR AA' McDougall...enough said.

I only saw his efforts in the 4th quarter where he seemed to be getting his hands on the ball and doing all the right things but letting himself down with a few turnovers. but I was pretty shocked when someome told me he'd kicked 8 goals. He'll be our next Mooney.

How many shots for goal did he have?? How far out were they??

Kingsley kicked bags of 8 in the AFL and he was a stinker... Doesn't really prove your point mate.

SS kicked 8 yesterday in the VFL match. OMG he must be another Kingsley lets get rid of him now, he's got no chance.

FFS some of you guys are morons always looking for the negatives to bag someone. SSP has been proved absolutely to be wrong. So what if some of the goals were easy. SSP was using a TAC stat with no detail on how difficult those shots might have been to state how terrible his kicking was and now you want to question a good stat saying all his kicks might be easy. He's had 16 shots in 4 games for 14goals 1 behind and one not making the distance. Damn good for an 18 yr old in his first 4 VFL games. Plus he tackles and assists. Remember stats don't tell the whole story. How about you watch him play and then make some constructive comments.

KK wasn't 18 fresh out of the TAC Cup when he kicked 8 :)

After watching this kid in our intra club earlier this year I predicted he just might get a game or two this season with the seniors and possibly even have an impact if he does. I was surprised given our talented group that nobody thought to ask if I was losing it...haha...but it seems we might all have been thinking the same thing from what we saw. Potential indeed and the right sort of fit for our forward line in the future as a genuine strong leading half forward who goes all day and can take a contested grab. Great foil and partner to Hawkins up forward I feel. 8 in one game and a total of 14 goals in the VFL for his first month is pretty impressive by anyone's standards. Just think where Nathan and Tom where at after their first respective months in the VFL and you get a better idea how this kid is tracking right now.

I find it unbelievable that hardly any posters are willing to talk this kid up. He has performed better in his first 3 VFL games than any recruit has in their first games for us in a long time.

He kicked 8 on a bloke who was getting games last year. And he has kicked 14 in total for the year. Tom Hawkins was talked up more and never got any figures like that.

Get on this kids bandwagon guys and talk him up. He is an amazing talent!

Imagine the hype surrounding him if he played for the pies or Adelaide ( They are talking up Dangerfields 8 goal game against a bunch of TAC Cuppers.)

Mind numbing stuff, considering many are talking him down somewhat.

Of course it's great that he's playing well Rizzo. Let's hope he can continue to kick goals and improve. Early signs are good.

This question isn't a troll, but if he's so good why wasn't he taken higher in the draft? Pick 44 seems low for a talented KPP.

Of course it's great that he's playing well Rizzo. Let's hope he can continue to kick goals and improve. Early signs are good.

This question isn't a troll, but if he's so good why wasn't he taken higher in the draft? Pick 44 seems low for a talented KPP.

some kids get the attention of recruiters earlier than others, and some don't show anything exceptional until they get on a list. I'm not going to proclaim Simpson to be the next Carey or anything, but he's ticking the right boxes at this stage. We Geelong people should be well-accustomed to keeping a lid on things by now ;)

Not sure mate, i guess the recruiting people saw something they didn't like. (That being said there was a heap of KP talent last season. Myers, Rance, Grant, Collier, Taylor, Kruezer etc all are highly touted. Maybe SS slipped through because the other teams had already nabbed their KP talent early.

But keep in mind players like Goodes, Hird, Grant, and even our own stars Enright, Ling and Chappy were all taken late.

Imagine the hype surrounding him if he played for the pies or Adelaide ( They are talking up Dangerfields 8 goal game against a bunch of TAC Cuppers.).

And we'd be deriding them, and rightly so. Yes he's played three good games and as such he's gone from the usual 'meh' reserved for a mid-level picks to 'looks to have it' by most. But the reality is that it's three games. The Natural won a magoos B&F and was being talked up as a genuine CHB prospect on here...and look what happened.

I like the look of him and hope it's another victory for Wells and the club - but the kid still looks to be at best a straight up replacement for Mooney, not some JB-esque freak.

I like the look of him and hope it's another victory for Wells and the club - but the kid still looks to be at best a straight up replacement for Mooney, not some JB-esque freak.[/quote]

This thread goes from one extreme to the other. I don't think anyone has ever suggested he's the next JB but those who think he is showing promise were answering unfounded criticism of him which was raised before he had even played a proper game. If he turns out just to be a good replacement for Mooney in time over the next couple of years we would all be more than happy. Its still very early days and consistency of performance is what this kid needs to achieve but lets give him credit for a very good start.

Not sure mate, i guess the recruiting people saw something they didn't like. (That being said there was a heap of KP talent last season. Myers, Rance, Grant, Collier, Taylor, Kruezer etc all are highly touted. Maybe SS slipped through because the other teams had already nabbed their KP talent early.

But keep in mind players like Goodes, Hird, Grant, and even our own stars Enright, Ling and Chappy were all taken late.
and of course ...
Stokes and Egan

where you get taken in the draft is irrelevant mate.

tac cup sides hardly do anything compared to what afl clubs do to develop you. he's improved a hell of alot since then his kicking has improved and he has got even stronger. plently of late draftees have proven recruiters wrong and i really think where u get drafted is just a number it doesnt really mean anything come when u play.

look at jeremy laidler been one of the best performers in the vfl and was a 2nd round rookie at number 34!

salsa, I'd be just as happy as you and every other Geelong supporter if Scott Simpson turned out to be an AFL star.

But, as a key position player, there has to be a reason why he went as low as he did. Maybe what he lacks in natural talent he makes up in hard work/competitiveness?

To those who know their draft history, which KPPs taken low in the draft have turned out to be stars (excluding father-sons)? And to be specific, I mean forwards.

salsa, I'd be just as happy as you and every other Geelong supporter if Scott Simpson turned out to be an AFL star.

But, as a key position player, there has to be a reason why he went as low as he did. Maybe what he lacks in natural talent he makes up in hard work/competitiveness?

To those who know their draft history, which KPPs taken low in the draft have turned out to be stars (excluding father-sons)? And to be specific, I mean forwards.
Depends on your definition of gun. In 2001 Ashley Hansen went #38 (ie second pick 3rd round), Jarrad Waite #46. Neither are 'guns' but you'd hardly sneeze at them either. Less specifically, Sam Fisher went at #55 in '03, and Westhoff went at #71.

We took the kid at 44, out of just under 70 picks. Bottom half but not low-end - and if you look here the queries on him, while genuine, were of things that could be improved on by the club. Above all the general consensus is that he was a steal at Pick 44. I think there's a tendency in the mind of supporters to either focus on high-end picks or on the smokeys like Stokes. Plenty of good players still emerge from the middle of the pack, though.

i think it was his smarts and his skills. hands werent anywhere as near as good as they are now aswell! westhoff has been ok in his first year but i know its early. cant think of any1 else off the top of my head

his hands have always been very good. maybe he got picked so low is because he wasn.t mobile enough and he has only been playing the game for three years.

Just watched the Vfl highlights v Colingwood.
This kid can really play, very good pair of hands seems quite mobile and has footy nous. In a year or two will be ready made replacement for Moons.

Just watched the Vfl highlights v Colingwood.
This kid can really play, very good pair of hands seems quite mobile and has footy nous. In a year or two will be ready made replacement for Moons.

Sorry, but that's absolute stupidity.