Season preview

Now that is a comprehensive review! I'm very impressed; well done. Obviously with so much territory covered, there are going to be some areas I disagree with, but they're so minor I hardly need mention them.

One player I think you've been a bit harsh on is Loats. I saw what must have been his first Victorian outing in a reserves pre-season game against Carlton. Rode looked physically ready, but there was no doubt Loats was more talented and smarter to boot, skinny as he was. Nothing I've seen since then has changed my mind. I'm sure he'll play senior footy this year, and even if he doesn't he'll be perservered with.

Smith's pre-season form suggests he will produce this year. He seems to know his role in the midfield-backline, and his confidence and smarts are in stark contrast to the way he started previous seasons.

I think the talk against Croad stems from his wastefulness. It's all very well bursting out of the backline, but if you hand the ball straight back to the opposition and find yourself 40-50 metres from your own man, it can become costly. That's why I prefer him up forward, but the jury's out just yet on his best position. I just like the job Rawlings is doing at CHB too much to assume Croad should play there.

The more I think about it, the more I like the idea of Barlow in the forward line. Four talls, Lord and Barlow has a nice sound to it. Lord and the rover crumbing, Barlow loose - I know Barlow's a pretty accurate kick, and he could be pretty productive under those circumstances. But I doubt he'll be given the chance. More's the pity.

I think what our midfield needs is system more than anything else. We have the personnel, as you pointed out. A lot of the time we simply don't man up, or go in for the hard ball. Having Picioane, Bowyer and Johnson in there will help a lot, as too often lately the job's been left to Rock.

Graham brought the crowd reactions on himself. He made some awful decisions in the back line last year, usually when he had plenty of time to think. A mate of mine reckons he's better off further up the ground, and I think I agree.

But these are all quibbles, and mostly personal opinions. You've done an excellent job. Cox and Obst are gone, sadly. I thought they both had something. Oh well. Anyway, thanks again.

Cheers.

I am Chris Obst fan Number 1! I am telling you, if he is given a chance this year then he WILL MAKE IT! He is all class off the half back line and if he has an injury free year he will go very well.

BTW, nice preview
wink.gif

Your still pouring that acid all over Smithy aren't you?!

As a certain collingwood might say - you have to BELIEVE!

I like the call on Bowyer, although I am not sure I would call him skilled; drops the ball onto foot poorly.

I've got a funny feeling Johnson is in for a spot of second year blues. He's getting huge wraps for a 6 gamer.

And that I reckon is the only problem the Hawks have... they might believe their own press a bit too much. Losing the Ansett Semi might have been a huge blessing in disguise.

Footy: it's so close I can smell it!!!!!