PrideOf

10k Posts
AFC
So the PAPs are looking at Darwin as a second home.

If we were looking at promoting our club in another city/area by playing a few games, where do you think it should be?

Originally posted by PrideOf

If we were looking at promoting our club in another city/area by playing a few games, where do you think it should be?

The MCG

We should propose that our away games against West Coast Fremantel Brisbane and Sydney are played at the MCG

Our away Showdown game could also be played there.

Teams playing away games in the city of their choice is getting ridiculous.

Exactly my thoughts Jars

The AFL draw is fast becoming a joke... if it isn't already.

Melbourne get to have a 'home' game in Brisbane is ridiculous. Sure, it may be their home game but what it does do is it ensures Melbourne don't play an away game in Brisbane (because they are already playing up there once) which in turn means they only play the top team once no matter what, knowing there's a good chance they would have to play in Brisbane anyway but this way they make money out of it AND avoid playing Brisbane twice, which would otherwise happen.

Eddie says to Port if you don't stop hurting our feelings we won't have games at AAMI anymore.

Port wants to chose where it plays its away games....pftt...the AFL should let them play home games there if they want to.

What is going on? This is so stupid.

I really hope the AFL sees the sense in this.

How about we elect to play our away games against Carlton at Footy Park so we can know what it feels like?

Originally posted by PrideOf

How noble of the Power to offer to play 2 games up in Darwin at the expense of some other team's home games in Melbourne. :rolleyes:

Over time they would be effectively turning the other teams' home games into theirs.

The only possible takers for such a ridiculous offer would have to be the bottom placed cash strapped Victorian clubs who would sell their granny to get a few extra dollars.

Smart move by Port, but a dumb one for any takers.

With Canberra and Tassie already being patronized by Vic clubs, Darwin is the last feasible place left to suggest such a move.

That leaves the Crows sticking to the normal schedule, but I'm happy with that as I'd much rather see them travel to Melbourne than Darwin.

Given our great record at Telstra Dome, perhaps all our away games should be there.

Port plan - pathetic, what person in their right mind would give up a home game to play the PAPS in Darwin. Now if Port gave up a home game to play there it would make sense, like the Saints will on Saturday and the Hawks and Roos (Launceston and Canberra respectively) previously. Did anyone hear KG this arvo - now that guys needs medication and quickly!

Re: Re: Second home?

Originally posted by macca23
How noble of the Power to offer to play 2 games up in Darwin at the expense of some other team's home games in Melbourne. :rolleyes:

Over time they would be effectively turning the other teams' home games into theirs.

The only possible takers for such a ridiculous offer would have to be the bottom placed cash strapped Victorian clubs who would sell their granny to get a few extra dollars.

Smart move by Port, but a dumb one for any takers.

With Canberra and Tassie already being patronized by Vic clubs, Darwin is the last feasible place left to suggest such a move.

That leaves the Crows sticking to the normal schedule, but I'm happy with that as I'd much rather see them travel to Melbourne than Darwin.
It is a perfectly good idea.

With a 22 week season, the only teams that can afford to give away home games are the Melbourne ones.
They have 17-18 of them.
I cannot see it happening in the very near future, but if we persist with 16 teams eventually it will, and Port are positioning themselves to take advantage of it.

Travelling to Darwin from Adelaide is only a 4Hr trip, door to door.
Travelling to Tasmania this weekend will apparently take something like 5 Hrs just for the travel component.
If the games are in July at night it will be something like 18-24 degrees and relatively low humidity.
Nothing like during the Wizard cup.
Darwin twice instead of trips to the ACT and Tassie makes sense for a team from Adelaide.

You're missing the point, PAfolwr. Clubs don't dictate to the AFL where their away games will be played - that's what being the away team means - ESPECIALLY when there is no home team for such a venue. This suggestion will be quickly knocked on the head by the AFL.

Re: Re: Re: Second home?

Originally posted by PAfolwr
It is a perfectly good idea.

With a 22 week season, the only teams that can afford to give away home games are the Melbourne ones.
They have 17-18 of them.
I cannot see it happening in the very near future, but if we persist with 16 teams eventually it will, and Port are positioning themselves to take advantage of it.

Travelling to Darwin from Adelaide is only a 4Hr trip, door to door.
Travelling to Tasmania this weekend will apparently take something like 5 Hrs just for the travel component.
If the games are in July at night it will be something like 18-24 degrees and relatively low humidity.
Nothing like during the Wizard cup.
Darwin twice instead of trips to the ACT and Tassie makes sense for a team from Adelaide.
It all sounds nice and good in theory but no club would agree to play their away game in Darwin when it wouldn't really benefit their club much.

Lets face it Power have a good support in NT due to them having a few players from NT as well as other reasons. Port sees an opportunity to break into that market and give greater exposure of the club which is fair enough but its at the expense of another club.

Can you honestly tell me that it would be an away game or even a neutral game considering the support Port has in Darwin?????? Hypothetically if the roles were reversed Port would politely tell them to f*ck off and never come back again. I doubt any club would settle for that knowing how much that would benefit Port. Maybe one of the stuggling clubswould to at least break even. ;)

It is a good idea but a bit unrealistic;)

Originally posted by DaveW
You're missing the point, PAfolwr. Clubs don't dictate to the AFL where their away games will be played - that's what being the away team means - ESPECIALLY when there is no home team for such a venue. This suggestion will be quickly knocked on the head by the AFL.
II think Port are just planting the seeds. If something grows from it eventually good, if not nothing lost.
As a sweetener for the AFL to push the Idea to other clubs, there is guaranteed promotion of the game up here in terms of rep games and Wizard cup.
I think it's quite clever.

II think Port are just planting the seeds. If something grows from it eventually good, if not nothing lost.
As a sweetener for the AFL to push the Idea to other clubs, there is guaranteed promotion of the game up here in terms of rep games and Wizard cup.
Its a nice try and you will most probably get the pre-season game but as i said its very optimistic of Port to think that someone will agree to play them in Darwin when it would benefit Port more that its opposition;)

First off fellas, go read these threads for my posts at least, I've said much of my opinions in them:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=71408

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=71506

Quote me here, not there - so I know in those threads I'm talking about a good chance, and here I'm talking hypothetical.

Thanks in advance :)

The Bombers are supported really fantastically up here - a few blokes from here played for them at one time or another, that'd be a reason. Another reason is the fact they got up here and played games.

Adelaide is supported great up here too - the supporters club is gathering steam quite nicely and hell, for forever and a day McLeod and Burns and now Hentschel have been talked about at least every week.

Like I said in that second link - a Showdown up here would pay dividends to both Adelaide, Port Adelaide and the AFL - there are lots of fans of AFL clubs but the local league still has a lot of 'untapped resources', they bleed for their St. Mary's or their Waratahs and screen the AFL out a bit.

Then of course there's the islands around here. Nathan Daniels - Lorrpu from Yolngu Boy - played in The Tiwi Grand Final. Do what the Pies are doing next week, and meeting them, and bingo you've got more supporters.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Its a nice try and you will most probably get the pre-season game but as i said its very optimistic of Port to think that someone will agree to play them in Darwin when it would benefit Port more that its opposition;)
Eventually some Melbourne Clubs may be forced to do it just for the Cash.
If that happens then hopefully Port will be in the box seat.
Nothing like forward thinking. ;)

It takes more than just good players and luck to be so good for so long. :D

I think we all agree that it's a clever ploy by Port, as they are the total beneficiary in all things football. They effectively reverse the other team's home ground advantage and build up a NT following with new members in Darwin.

All the Melbourne based team can do is sell their soul for a measly dollars in the short term. Long term it will further erode their weak membership bases as it is one less home match that their long suffering fans could go to for the price of their membership. Long term it could end up being harmful and not helpful to their wobbly futures.

Logically, the idea should float like a set of lead water wings!!

Eventually some Melbourne Clubs may be forced to do it just for the Cash.
If that happens then hopefully Port will be in the box seat.
Nothing like forward thinking. ;)

It takes more than just good players and luck to be so good for so long. :D
I agree you planted the seed nicely now you just have wait and see if it starts growing.

As I said the team has to be desperate to agree to these terms.;) Mind you there are many of those around. Maybe Port Vs Essendon game would be a good one as both clubs have big support in Darwin.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
... Maybe Port Vs Essendon game would be a good one as both clubs have big support in Darwin.
Essendon Vs Crows or Essendon Vs West Coast would probably be the biggest games you could get up here, but Port are catching up.
However if we do eventually end up getting a game up here, I would think it would be one of the "smaller" Melbourne teams Vs a non-Victorian one, with the Victorian team being the home team.

Originally posted by macca23
I think we all agree that it's a clever ploy by Port, as they are the total beneficiary in all things football. They effectively reverse the other team's home ground advantage and build up a NT following with new members in Darwin.

All the Melbourne based team can do is sell their soul for a measly dollars in the short term. Long term it will further erode their weak membership bases as it is one less home match that their long suffering fans could go to for the price of their membership. Long term it could end up being harmful and not helpful to their wobbly futures.

Logically, the idea should float like a set of lead water wings!!
I thought that when Melbourne teams have home games elsewhere, their fans get an extra Melbourne game attached to their membership as part of the AFL's compensation package.

At the end of the day for 10 teams in Melbourne to survive, they will have to resort to other tricks.
So far the best one seems to be the Hawthorn-St Kilda combined "expedition". Gives people a choice, and that is healthy for long term viability.

As far as the Port bid goes, I cannot see much happening out of it, but you never know.
I think it's clever, other people think it stinks, but a lot of smelly things do float. :D

Darwin would be a good fit for the 'smears'. They might even go close to filling a ground for a change if they played home games up in the NT !;)

Originally posted by Leigh
Like I said in that second link - a Showdown up here would pay dividends to both Adelaide, Port Adelaide and the AFL - there are lots of fans of AFL clubs but the local league still has a lot of 'untapped resources', they bleed for their St. Mary's or their Waratahs and screen the AFL out a bit.

Leigh I think having a Showdown in Darwin is a super idea that should be supported by both Clubs

I think it would develop the game of football in the NT tremendously and show that this State's two clubs can make selfless decisions.

It could work this way. The Darwin Showdown would be a neutral matach, and therefore the second showdwon would also be neutral.

Tickets for the Adeladie game would go on sale to both Crows members and Port members, on a first come first sereved basis.

This would require season ticket holders such as ourselves to give up an automatic right to one game and an almost certain ticket to another (if you want to go to the away showdown as a Crows supporter you can get a ticket.)

So what if we do that for one year, in the interests of footy as a whole

That would be real leadership.