mr snip

adelaide
After the initial problems from the broadcast in adelaide with the timings all out of wack and people talking in the background etc. I can honestly say I have found the station to be fantastic. The mere thought of knowing that turning the radio on driving to work there is going to be sport on is exciting.

The thing I have enjoyed the most is the diversity of the programs and the amount of interviews with all different sports stars from all diferrent fields.
Any major sporting event gets good coverage compared to the, there is no other sport in the world apart from football and cricket KG and Cornesy show.

Another enjoyable part of the show is the callers are given an opprtunity to speak and the panellist doesn't become all defensive They let them have the point of view and then move on rather than wasting time over crap.

I for one am glad it is available and have gone from an Avid KG and Cornesy fan to turning them on in the commercial breaks,

It will be intersting to see how there program and format will change if at all.

I agree with your thoughts snippy. SEN covers a wider range of sports in more depth than 5AA (which you would expect due to time constraints) and their panelists are excellent.

I enjoy getting more than just the SA perspective on sport. It's a winner in my book.

Have to agree, although I'm a bit of a 5AA diehard, and I do enjoy a parochial concentration on SA basd teams and sports.

Having said that, SEN is a terrrific ad-on, or in the dull 5AA spots, alternative offering us wall to wall sport at any time to listen to.

It's a winner.

macca23 said:
Have to agree, although I'm a bit of a 5AA diehard, and I do enjoy a parochial concentration on SA basd teams and sports.

Having said that, SEN is a terrrific ad-on, or in the dull 5AA spots, alternative offering us wall to wall sport at any time to listen to.

It's a winner.

I agree with you macca - while I like the diversity of sports and the broader view on things and also having no argy bargy over an opinion i reckon come football season i'll miss the hype around the crows (and the power in their case) that 5AA help promote - I dont think SEN will be giving that much time to the crows !

mind you I like listening in to the nightwatchman and also the saturday show is good - we'll see how they go in footy season, It could end up being a nother Victorian show which patronises SA and doesnt take us the seroius (eg Footy Show, 3AW alot of the time )

macca23 said:

It's a winner.

Have tuned in quite a bit since day one & like the others it's good to hear different views & opinions than from those that we have grown accustomed to.

Like you though macca i still tune in to 5AA at 4pm for the deadly duo's show & switch over to SEN during the flat spots.

Kevin Bartlett has surprised me & is a lot better than i thought he would be.

ps, plus it's great on a sat night/sun morning for the description of Premier league soccer while i'm out & about in my work.

Reception - sadly, not much better than 5AA. How can the ABC (891) transmit a clear signal throughout SA, and 5AA & SEN put out a signal that crackles under every power line or in the Hills, disappears in tunnels etc? (My car radio isn’t the best, but if 891 can do it….)
Content (1) - Good, but I’m waiting for the footy season. Not such a sports nut that I want to listen to news from the trots, or golf or whatever - but that’s my problem. As a sports station generally, very good, even if it doesn’t suit me all the time.
Content (2) - The other evening I switched between 5AA and SEN (depending on which one was clearer!) and the contrast was stark. On SEN there were callers wanting to talk about Richmond’s chances in 2005, and getting a good discussion with the announcers. On 5AA there was some old guy rambling on about how he played Under 19s with Cornesy’s uncle or somesuch, and KG & Cornesy were lapping it up. I know the radio station doesn’t choose their callers, but - the callers they attract - sheesh! And they give the boring, rambling, reminisce-about-the-Amateur-League-in-the-60s callers WAY too much airtime.
Parochialism - Too Melbourne-centric at this stage, it seems the announcers haven’t been told they’re in 2 states now. Hopefully they will fix it. And hopefully they will insert some more local content - don’t expect it to be Crows/Port obsessive, in fact I’d welcome more info on other clubs, but they will need to tailor more to the SA market.
Overall - 5-6 out of 10 so far. Looking forward to more.
mr snip said:
Another enjoyable part of the show is the callers are given an opprtunity to speak and the panellist doesn't become all defensive
Spot on.
Capitalist said:
mind you I like listening in to the nightwatchman and also the saturday show is good - we'll see how they go in footy season, It could end up being a nother Victorian show which patronises SA and doesnt take us the seroius (eg Footy Show, 3AW alot of the time )
Agreed. I don’t think it’s unreasonably parochial to expect a bit more local content. Hopefully some of their appointments, even if they’re not quality (Aiston - shudder) are at least an indicator that they intend to move in that direction.

Before SEN.........I used to listen to 5AA until Cornes annoyed me - then I'd throw in a CD.

Now.....I listen to 5AA until Cornes annoys me and then I change to SEN.

Interesting that I'm listening to more and more of SEN these days....now why would that be.???.... :rolleyes:

I'm a bit like Macca23... I prefer the local content more.....but I refuse to suffer that self centred, prune-faced, egomaniac who takes alternative stances just for the sake of it.

I can see SEN taking the 18-35 demo unless KG gets a more objective, relevant, and open-minded on-air partner.

Take heed Cam.....this could be the beginning of the end unless you move him on..... ;)

Just caught the back-part of an interview between KB & G Ayres & as per usual Ayres was pretty good, said nothing negative about the club or Andrew McLeod & repeated what maccas manager said in relation to Andrews unhappy relations with himself as coach.

Once again he did mention other sources in Adelaide who do seem at every opportunity to want to point the blame on him for whatever did go wrong in the last 5 years while he was the coach of the AFC.

He has taken a special comments role with Fox Footy this year & will probably be on board for the Crows/Port wizard cup game coming up soon.

arrowman said:
On 5AA there was some old guy rambling on about how he played Under 19s with Cornesy’s uncle or somesuch, and KG & Cornesy were lapping it up. I know the radio station doesn’t choose their callers, but - the callers they attract - sheesh! And they give the boring, rambling, reminisce-about-the-Amateur-League-in-the-60s callers WAY too much airtime.

this is the thing Arrowman....I'm fed up with this crap.....doesn't prune-face realise that nobody cares about who he used to play with anymore. It's one thing to talk about it in private....it's another thing to constantly assume that valuable drivetime airtime should be wasted on this crap. Maybe Cornes and Ian Chappell could sit in a room together and do us all a favour and bore each other to death with 70s sports stories at 10 paces.

:rolleyes:

Mad Dog said:
I can see SEN taking the 18-35 demo unless KG gets a more objective, relevant, and open-minded on-air partner.
That's the thing, though - I don't think 5AA particularly want that demographic. 40-60 is more their speed (although, being a member of that demo, I am insulted that they think KG & Cornesy are my speed).

My mother, who listens to AA a lot, told me the other night someone called up to complain about the number of funeral parlour ads they run. Mum though that was funny - she said something like - "er - hello? Who do they think is their target audience?" :D

Listening to SEN last week, I heard the Dermie, Matthew Hardy and Anthony Hudson all drawing a blank when someone rang in and mentioned the great Michael "Flash" Graham. At that point, I could picture the station credibility west of Bordertown dropping about 85%.

noddy said:
Just caught the back-part of an interview between KB & G Ayres & as per usual Ayres was pretty good, said nothing negative about the club or Andrew McLeod & repeated what maccas manager said in relation to Andrews unhappy relations with himself as coach.

Once again he did mention other sources in Adelaide who do seem at every opportunity to want to point the blame on him for whatever did go wrong in the last 5 years while he was the coach of the AFC.

He has taken a special comments role with Fox Footy this year & will probably be on board for the Crows/Port wizard cup game coming up soon.

I heard all of that interview noddy, while working away furiously with the sweat running down my brow!! That ball-point pen is damn heavy!! :D

Classis Ayres interview with a lot of rhetoric, cliches and very little direct comments.

Obviously he was talking from his own point of view when he stated that he was not aware of any discontent from Macca. He also stated that a person in a happy marriage is usually content with other facets of their life, including their footy.

Kevin Bartlett certainly didn't interview Ayres from a neutral position, as he was virtually feeding Ayres the answers for him to elaborate on.

I'd say that IMO the Ayres interview was about what you would expect, and from a McLeod point of view, not very revealing (to quote a phrase from Ayres' greatest admirer, Rooch) :D

I would have though KG would need to move on before Cornesy

At least Cornsy hears the caller out with yelling at them !

still mehatmecoat saves thursdays

I also have to say I hate wednesday afternoons every wednesday finding some football who played 2 games for Woodville and then went to QLD to coach under 8's but is the best bloke you would ever meet according to KG (even though the prevoius interviewee was the the greatest bloke you'd ever want to meet ! )

Mad Dog said:
this is the thing Arrowman....I'm fed up with this crap.....doesn't prune-face realise that nobody cares about who he used to play with anymore. It's one thing to talk about it in private....it's another thing to constantly assume that valuable drivetime airtime should be wasted on this crap. Maybe Cornes and Ian Chappell could sit in a room together and do us all a favour and bore each other to death with 70s sports stories at 10 paces.

:rolleyes:

YES!!!!!!

Finally someone bagging Ian "Bloody" Chappell. Most overrated cricket identity in this country. If I hear one more thing about 1972 I'll puke.

Makes stupid outlandish comments & is never taken to task for them.

You've got me for life now Mad Dog. :D

marvin said:
Listening to SEN last week, I heard the Dermie, Matthew Hardy and Anthony Hudson all drawing a blank when someone rang in and mentioned the great Michael "Flash" Graham. At that point, I could picture the station credibility west of Bordertown dropping about 85%.

Heard it too & thought the same thing

I was desperate for SEN to put a hole in KG & Cornes' little empire, but I am afraid I haven't been too impressed with them yet.

So far all I have really heard is them trying to be funny & it has gotten tired pretty fast.

Funny moes, funny ways to fix cricket yadda yadda yadda.

I hope it improves when the footy starts.

If not Brian Wilson presents SMiLE will keep getting a workout in the car.

macca23 said:

It's a winner.
I am a bit like you. I listen to SEN during the day and at nights but I always switch over to 5AA at 4 pm and when they have the flat spots I switch back to SEN.

I think the station so far has been fantastic and really gives a good coverage of sports and like noddy I enjoy listenting to KB's program. It will be interesting to see how they go when the footy start but I know I will be tuning in to 5AA on mondays and fridays at least to hear King Kerley call it as he sees it. I thouroughly enjoy his contribution to the Sports SHow during the footy season.

SEN has been great and if you could kind of combine the 2 stations you would have one hell of a sports radio station :D

What station do u tune into to get SEN? Also wot times are best?

Stiffy_18 said:
I am a bit like you. I listen to SEN during the day and at nights but I always switch over to 5AA at 4 pm and when they have the flat spots I switch back to SEN.

I think the station so far has been fantastic and really gives a good coverage of sports and like noddy I enjoy listenting to KB's program. It will be interesting to see how they go when the footy start but I know I will be tuning in to 5AA on mondays and fridays at least to hear King Kerley call it as he sees it. I thouroughly enjoy his contribution to the Sports SHow during the footy season.

SEN has been great and if you could kind of combine the 2 stations you would have one hell of a sports radio station :D

Given the performance of Cornes & Cunningham over the years they didn't have to put up much to beat them.
I think the footy season will be the real strength of SEN....It's always amazed me that 5AA didn't grab the opportunity years ago to retire them both, god knows Popplestone, Dillon,Jarman & a few others would have made a fabulous sports show between them...what do 5AA serve up ? Aiston, Rowe,Ebert Wildey, McDermott,Cam Thompson,Tucker,Hamish Arthur & someone called Leith ????...Not a rivetting & interesting personality among any of them...

Someone has a lot to answer for at 5AA.....

blighty said:
[/B]

Given the performance of Cornes & Cunningham over the years they didn't have to put up much to beat them.
I think the footy season will be the real strength of SEN....It's always amazed me that 5AA didn't grab the opportunity years ago to retire them both, god knows Popplestone, Dillon,Jarman & a few others would have made a fabulous sports show between them...what do 5AA serve up ? Aiston, Rowe,Ebert Wildey, McDermott,Cam Thompson,Tucker,Hamish Arthur & someone called Leith ????...Not a rivetting & interesting personality among any of them...

Someone has a lot to answer for at 5AA.....
Mark Aiston is now anchor man for SEN in Adelaide :eek:

Mark Aiston is now anchor man for SEN in Adelaide

Along with Bickley & Primus[I was aware!]..I was simply stating that of all the possible sporting personalities available over the previous years...the best they gave us was Aiston et al etc etc.
To my mind Aiston's appointment is the one mistake SEN have made...