SEN caller

• Thread starter Thread starter GoNorth

Thumbs up to the caller (Andrew?) who called SEN earlier and had a go at David King for wanting North to go to the GC and for continually referring to North as the Kangaroos. Thumbs down to David King and his off-sider who then proceeded to ridicule what the caller had to say for the rest of the program. :mad:

For me the most boring discussion we have on big footy is what ex players say about our club.

I couldn't give a stuff about what any of them say.

It affects public perceptions unfortunately. I agree with you on a personal level but as I've said a zillion times we reflect a hardcore supporter minority.

Presumably people are now dirty at Arch for tweeting a picture of a Brazilian gym and making a joke about our old facilities, given Kingy saying "we only used to play in front of friends and family" was apparently the nastiest thing ever said by anyone.

Heard it also this morning Andrew has been having a go at King for a few years now, probably needs to move on and find something else to complain about.

If this guy is a serial caller, surely King could put an end to it by just agreeing to say North Melbourne more often? It can't be that hard!

Whilst it's something that many supporters obviously don't care about, on the other hand many do. That's fine, everyone has their own opinion. What annoyed me was the way they joked about it off and on afterwards.

There was a congo line of tools on SEN last Friday night with Finey....I still reckon he gives some of his callers too much time...it almost becomes a 'desperate and dateless' call in...

First three, including Jim from Hawthorn, christ they were absolute whinging dickheads. For a team that has won two flags in five years and played in another GF, bunch of f***ing sooky lala campaigners

There was one from Kew who thought Carey didn't have the right to comment...Finey went off his nut.

I know, and rightly so. All things considered in the end, Duck didn't even think it warranted a suspension, just a fine.

Absolutely no problem with David King.

Don't care if past players don't rate us or have contrary opinions about our football club.

I do, however, have a problem with ex-players thinking they have a god given gift to know everything about modern football just because they used to play it, and now think they don't have to watch the game in order to formulate an accurate summation on the game or its players.

Dermott Brereton thinks that because he played football he all of a sudden can just wing it and just rock up and just talk shit. That may have passed for expert punditry in the mid 90's and 80's, but now that football is so scrutinised we expect far more from the paid media. He doesn't have the luxury that Dipper has, who knows precious little about the intricacies of the game but is a good bloke because Brereton is a campaigner of the highest and most extreme order.

At least King does his research, even if you don't agree with his conclusions.

Kingy wanted us to go to the Gold Coast. He stills believes we should have. I disagree vehemently, but he's entitled to whatever stupid opinions he has. As a media footy analyst I think he's ordinary. If I was working in a club then maybe I need the kind of stuff "The War Room" brings to the table. But instead, I'm some yobbo sitting on my couch, intent on having a few refreshments and watching the footy hoping for a good game. I don't need the kind of analysis that seems to suggest that there is a contingency and intricate plan for every moment and contest. So to that end I find Kingy boring and full of shit.

As for his treatment of North in general - yes, his inability to say "North Melbourne" is irritating but we are the "Kangaroos" too so I can put up with that. I find that he treats North fairly in terms of his analysis. He'll bag us when a bagging is needed and praise us when praise is due. A person new to the game probably wouldn't recognise that he ever played for us which is fine because his role is now as an unbiased commentator. The thing that I think needs addressing is him cracking gags at North's expense. I've heard him have a crack at our facilities and crowds and that's not on. Flogs from other clubs can do it, but Kingy should be better than that. Richo doesn't do it to the Tiges, Darcy doesn't take the piss out of the Dogs and Lyon doesn't make "head for the snow" gags about the Dees. North were good for Kingy, and Kingy was good for North. That's as weak as water from an ex-player I reckon.

Presumably people are now dirty at Arch for tweeting a picture of a Brazilian gym and making a joke about our old facilities, given Kingy saying "we only used to play in front of friends and family" was apparently the nastiest thing ever said by anyone.

c7e63cf031ec4d87dc05a322d684c2e1_normal.jpeg
Glenn Archer (@GlennArcher11)
8/07/2014 12:05 am
Hit the gym this morning at Impanema Beach. Reminded me of the facilities back in the day at Arden Street! pic.twitter.com/QCwtXxfXqy

anyone heard from that inbred tigers supporter Mario lately? Whilst I love his work surely he's now running low on material, given the position Richmond find themselves in.

He's turned his bile filled crap towards Carltank and co. I hope someone blows up his bloody servo!

The thing that I think needs addressing is him cracking gags at North's expense. I've heard him have a crack at our facilities and crowds and that's not on. Flogs from other clubs can do it, but Kingy should be better than that. Richo doesn't do it to the Tiges, Darcy doesn't take the piss out of the Dogs and Lyon doesn't make "head for the snow" gags about the Dees. North were good for Kingy, and Kingy was good for North. That's as weak as water from an ex-player I reckon.

Almost verbatim what I was going to say including using those types of examples.

All clubs have their associated innuendos but I see almost no past players from other clubs constantly exploiting them for cheap laughs.

The bloke thought Finey was going to agree with him then bang. Think he ended up calling Carey a dead shit before quickly hanging up.

Absolutely no problem with David King.

Don't care if past players don't rate us or have contrary opinions about our football club.

I do, however, have a problem with ex-players thinking they have a god given gift to know everything about modern football just because they used to play it, and now think they don't have to watch the game in order to formulate an accurate summation on the game or its players.

Dermott Brereton thinks that because he played football he all of a sudden can just wing it and just rock up and just talk shit. That may have passed for expert punditry in the mid 90's and 80's, but now that football is so scrutinised we expect far more from the paid media. He doesn't have the luxury that Dipper has, who knows precious little about the intricacies of the game but is a good bloke because Brereton is a campaigner of the highest and most extreme order.

At least King does his research, even if you don't agree with his conclusions.
Spot On.

He is the Ian Chappell of Football. Can't get past himself or his era.

David King is a legend of our footy club. He had an opinion that we should of left forget that. He still loves our club. You can tell in the pieces he writes. He analyses every club but watch the way he speaks/looks into North. He rates us highly. The caller was a disrespectful and as far as I'm concerned uninformed individual who i don't want a part of my club. Anyone attacking kingy is soft really soft. Bloke stands up for us speaks of us highly... was shocked at anyone saying otherwise.

David King.
1) Marked the ball 65 out in the QF final at Waverley v Hawthorn in 94. Goes back to take the shot instead of getting it in long to Duck and Horse. Thank **** for Carey winning us the game in ET. Pagan was going to kill him.
2) Did the windmill celebration and pointed the finger at the crowd after he kicked his 7th goal in the 125 point loss to Essendon in the 2000QF. WTF?
3) Abused a late night food merchant for not putting extra garlic sauce in his kebab
4) Calls us Kangaroos
5) SWSOWTTGC