SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Think Luke B may be trying his hand in one of the emergency services if my memory serves me correctly - might be wrong but if so then certainly a chance. Reckon employment tends to make blokes move more than staying put for family reasons these days. Luke M has a good job but maybe the grass is greener in Vic?? Don't think either guy would be moving for football reasons though as they would be very well compensated for their efforts at tiger land!!:D

It would be more like 150k I reckon. I agree there is a big gap between each divisions. They should just play it as it comes, if a club dominates a lower division, wants to be promoted and can show that they have the dollars, facilities etc then put them up. But a bit of caution look what happened to the western magpies, went up and couldn't win a game.

If you relegate a team, that can be devastating for that club. Players and officials, sponsors leave. It is important that there is support for that club if a decision like that has to be made.

I am not a huge fan of promotion relegation for this reason, but no doubt it can add interest especially late in a season when a few teams are out of finals contention.

Concur 2010 - just bc you win the premiership in a lower division doesn't actually mean you are the most suitable club to be promoted - alot more factors to take into consideration than just on field success. There are numerous examples of clubs in various leagues that have relegation/promotion systems whereby promotion has set a club back 10 years!

Rumours surfacing down south that L Brauer & L Matthews both possibly heading to VIC? Any truth to this in Noosa Land?

think you got this confused. they are heading south, about 40km south. confirmed with maroochy roos thirds last week, we outbid pomona and bribie (2 pies and can of beer per game for matthews and a protein shake per game for brauer)

on a serious note (you will need to try harder with rumours than that), good work on the AFL bringing the lions v blues NAB cup game to fishermans road. condition of the grounds at fishermans at the moment warrant AFL matches being played there.

think you got this confused. they are heading south, about 40km south. confirmed with maroochy roos thirds last week, we outbid pomona and bribie (2 pies and can of beer per game for matthews and a protein shake per game for brauer)

on a serious note (you will need to try harder with rumours than that), good work on the AFL bringing the lions v blues NAB cup game to fishermans road. condition of the grounds at fishermans at the moment warrant AFL matches being played there.

Great news S36... re the NAB Cup match. Not sure if they will but would be great to see Judd and Murphy strolling around the Fish Rd oval! Another good earner for the club.

Unfortunately not. Not looking like benefiting from it financially.

Try harder you say, Brauer linked to central highlands and matthews possibly back for work and Bendigo football! Brauer also linked to Tatura with SJ following in the footsteps of Daniel Hawkins for excess of 1k per game!

few good players missing from our comp next year if it happens.

Looks like there could be some truth the the rumor! Didnt think Hawkins had signed at tat? But the three leaves a gapping hole in the league. But there is always an upside, Grange has signed Shir from Aspley who if I remember correctly was on the crows list? Super player, Caleb Brown back from Morningside, O'brien and Carmody will surely play at one of the coast clubs, so all in all lose a couple gain a couple. And all the clubs still havnt showed thier cards yet! Sure bet the comp will be stronger again this year.

Top 5 at end of regular season

Noosa
PBC
Grange
Magpies
Surfers

School's Back for the Tigers

Training is set to resume on the first day back at school Jan 23rd at 6pm. With terrific numbers on the training track before Xmas it will be exciting to see everyone back down and rearing to go. In particular a number of players restricted to light duties up until this point will be relishing the opportunity to hit the track at full pace.

Part of the intrigue at this time of year is the number of new faces at each club in the competition with Mayne no exception. The club is set to unveil the next batch of recruits in the coming weeks with one high profile name in particular set to get the competition talking.

See you on the track
Off Mayne's Facebook

from the maroochydore website

Former Scorpion Sam Panoho Joins Roos
Tweet The Maroochy Northshore Roos are pleased to announce another off season pick up with Sam Panoho signing to play with the club for the 2012 season. Sam joins the Roos after being part of the Queensland State U/18 squad last year and playing with Aspley when state commitments allowed him to. A regular member of the Suncoast Power and Queensland sides as a junior, the club is thrilled to be signing another talented junior who has come through the development pathway on the Sunshine Coast in recent years.

Panoho, joins friend and fellow recruit Jed Turner (Redlands), Shaun Fletcher (returning to the club after missing 2011), Leighton Cooper (formally Swan Districts) as early season recruits for the Roos in 2012. These recruits compliment the return of Co-captain James Page who managed just 6 quarters of football in 2011 due to injury.
The signing of Panoho also sees him join Dylan Weichardt and James Coleman who have both graduated from the U/18 program last year, as well as several U/18 players that were exposed to senior football in 2011.

Players are reminded that training starts next Tuesday the 17th of January at 5.45pm at the club.

Don't know if it's been mentioned already, Korey Fulton has signed with Surfers!

Does anyone know when a 2012 draw will be released?
I saw an email of the draw flying around last week. So i assume it wont be too far away.
Season Starts April 14 and the GF is Sept 8.
Noosa unveil the flag against Sandgate at home round 1. Well thats if this was the final draft of it.

I for one would love to see Mayne have some success. Their long suffering loyal supporters deserve it. 4-5 inclusions can make a big difference. My prediction-Mayne to win 4-6 games in 2012

They are not the only side that will improve in 2012. Grange and Surfers on the way up, both to play finals- Palmy may drop off a bit IMO.

I would love to see Mayne make the finals but i just cant see it happening. Brown and other recruits are good pick up but they have always had 6 guns and then fall away dramatically after that. They need more depth.
I reckon the roos may shock some teams this year. They have recruited some good youth

Must say it looks a very even draw! With the exception of travel I think with the depth of the comp all clubs would be happy with the draw. Can anyone confirm the losses if Brauer and mathews yet? Maynes depth has always been there Achilles heel, top 3 or 4 would be as competitive as any teams but fairly substantial drop after that. What has maroochydore recruited that will turn them around so much? Where 10 - 12 goals of vest sides that's a lot of ground to make up! And for the record I am not a hater. Would love to see a more competitive comp and I think we will get it.

Think they were more competitive than that Kwhit. Lost quite a few goals by less than 4 goals (I think) or were in the match until the last qrt. With the side they put out last year quite remarkable actually. Should be a good season of footy all the same with the guys that seem to have come into the comp.

Ugh.

Two Sunshine Coast trips, one home game in the first six rounds, last round up at Maroochydore - doesn't look an appealing draw at first glance for us.

Not that it really matters for me given it appears unlikely I'll play, but at least we avoided the annoying Sunday arvo Coolangatta game this year that leaves me very sore and sorry for myself Monday morning :D

Don't be so negative Lenny ! That's a lot if bonding trips up and back, clearly you have a better relationship with your misses than i do with mine! What I would give for a legitimate excuse to go away for the weekend with the lads. Try and find the positives out of, well let's face it, Footy and stubbies with the boys, grouse!

this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.

this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.
The neafl reserves would practically flogg every team in this Div...