SEQAFL Division 1 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.

Not sure - it is what it is I reckon. The GC is 2hrs away basically which for many country leagues isn't a massive time issue. You only get stuck with 2 maybe 3 trips a year, not the end of the world and like someone said, good bonding trips generally!:)

How did the magpie reserves go at state league? Watched several broady games last year and caught some of the reserves and they would not be in top 5 phc! Redlands southport etc would obviously be firm favorites in phc, I think it's a great idea and that way we could bring back the old north v south rep game! Would lift the level of this comp considerably and from a state country perspective make us a lot stronger. I guess it would be similar to lion and sun reserves playing neafl in respect to young guys still wanting to play highest standard possible and not just dropping back a comp for a couple of bucks!

magpies reserves played finals for the 2 years that they were in the top comp, i disagree with tiger i reckon the top 5 clubs in phc would beat the the top 5 neafl reserves easy

Another point to the neafl2 playing phc is you are and will continue to see more first graders coming back thru the phc rather than the two's due to the competition being stronger than there own reserves! Why would southport send Hughes and carmody to burleigh and likewise the morningside players to both mayne and grange? And who could forget the storm Fulton caused by going to palmy rather than twos at broady! Players decision or is it that of the coaches?

I'd take six Sunshine Coast trips a year ahead of having NEAFL reserves sides play in this comp.

It's probably an unpopular opinion but IMO this comp is the best competition in Queensland purely becasue every side in the competition is out to win a flag. Obviously every club is at various stages in the process to do so but when you compare it to a NEAFL Northern Division where you have two sides that are purely developmental and winning is a secondary concern, you kill the fabric of the competition. The Magpies/Lions alignment is bad enough albeit that at least the 22 Magpies blokes that run out each week are Magpies players, not Lions Reserves players who have been dropped

Probably not a popular viewpoint but there's probably no post in this forum I've agreed with less

Another point to the neafl2 playing phc is you are and will continue to see more first graders coming back thru the phc rather than the two's due to the competition being stronger than there own reserves! Why would southport send Hughes and carmody to burleigh and likewise the morningside players to both mayne and grange? And who could forget the storm Fulton caused by going to palmy rather than twos at broady! Players decision or is it that of the coaches?

i think you will find these players at PHC level when their neafl clubs had byes....

Lenny why dont you like the magpies/lions setup

i think you will find these players at PHC level when their neafl clubs had byes....

Lenny why dont you like the magpies/lions setup
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.

It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)

I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.

It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)

thanks for the reply, how are the pumas travelling... they seem to have struggled to recruit since the days of easdown, moncur,lynn,buswell and co

the idea came from cooloongatta apparently. everyone is entitled to there own opinion on how far we should travel, and what teams make up the league.

I thought it was a very good idea. Have the NEAFL as the major standout league, with the Lions and Suns reserves as teams, then have the division 1 north and south made up of the state league club reserves, and the PHC senior teams and possibly look at promoting some of the stronger SA Div 1 clubs like Caloundra and Uni. Instead of seniors and reserves, you would play seniors and under 18s, and your reserves outfit would then play in whatever lower division which is made up of clubs from the SA Div 1 (and 2 if applic). Then maybe a thirds division under that, in it's current form with North, Central and South. That way SA Div 2 clubs don't struggle finding numbers for reserves if they don't want to (if they want to have reserves they can play in the thirds comp.)

It would actually make the PHC a stronger division, with a strong focus on under 18s as the NEAFL clubs would play there under 18s on the same day as there reserves. It would give a very good development pathway for under 18s to go from under 18s, to PHC to NEAFL if they are good enough.

It would mean for a club like Springwood, you can keep your good under 18s up until they are dominating 18s and PHC, then send them to NEAFL on permit for the remainder of the year, as opposed to losing them to Mt Gravatt only to watch them play in the reserves all year.

If NEAFL reserves teams play SEQAFL Div1 senior teams....who do SEQAFL Div1 reserves teams play against??? Maybe Div2 Senior sides?? Then where do their Ressies play...and so on..

Also would mean SEQAFL reserves and seniors play at different grounds. Would never work!! not enough volunteers to go around as it is!!

Let the decision makers that wanted the NEAFL sort out there own "not enough reserves teams" problems and leave the SEQAFL/PHC alone, it is going great guns as a competition.

As Lenny said, a strength of this comp is that is is a very good standard of community football, not trying to be an elite pro comp and it shouldn't be treated as a support act to the NEAFL either.

Nah -that's a dumb comment. They would flog the Tigers, wouldn't beat any of the top 4 sides at least!
If i'm wrong, i'm wrong so be it, no need to be a ****ing smartass for having an opinion!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

We have heard how most clubs are going so far, any news on Cooly will they improve or struggle? Same with Springwood, please don't take me the wrong way just wondering how they are going?

Great point Lenny - and I agree (so not as unpopular as you might think?:D). I think the integrity of a comp is vital for credibility. The NEAFL is the comp for a stepping stone to AFL stuff and clubs quite rightly put players desires ahead of clubs needs occasionally. The PHC is a great standard of footy, all clubs are out there trying to win and like Lenny said, if there was more than one Magpies/Lions arrangements in place then it would be a concern.

I don't actually know how we're travelling - other than we've kept most of last year's side (only one other than me I can think of, and I'm easily replaced :D) and there are a few new faces around, but at this time of year who knows how good they are

Would still expect a ramp up in improvement given the kids of 3-4 years ago are getting to that 40-60 game bracket

Its a great concept and does work, this is how the Tasmanian state league is run. They play a 10 team seniors & U/18's comp with no reserves, the guys that arent getting games in the ones or U/18s then are feed to the local affilated clubs which are in there recruiting zones. This helps improve the local footy and makes the top comp better

Anyone from Noosa confirm Matthews and Breuer departure? And the arrival of an ex Sydney swan rookie listed player?

Will have to be a exceptional player to fill the Mathews Brauer departure! Think you may be clutching at straws there megaman if you think someone from noosa would confirm such losses as those two. So far everyone is being very coy about signings and losses, just adds to the entrigue for round 1. Some great games first up noosa v sandgate mayne v surfers. Actually that's about it for round 1! Anyway look forward to it none the less.

The silence is deafening. Don't think anyone would confirm departures (especiallywhen they're players of Matthews & brauer calibre) but you'd think the noosa posters would be out and about if there was nothing in the whispers.

They'll replace them alright. Both midfielders so alot easier to find than a key forward. Matthews will be the bigger loss of the 2 IMO (might be slightly biased). Think the Tigers were more concerned when they loss Hicksy (who is apparently coming back) a couple of years back - replacing 80+ goals is difficult - but they did with a bloke that just walked in off the street!

Professional club - I'm sure they would be disappointed but not unduly concerned if true.

I reckon Palm Beach Currumbin will be tough to beat, i heard on the grape vine a few very handy players who are making their way there...