Peel Thunder
Fair dinkum guys, if anyone takes more than a handful of positives out of that game we're deluding ourselves.

We were made to look competent by a team that was totally inept. We were beaten out of the middle again, our backline looked as fragile as ever (Mundy excepted - by gee he's got some poise for a rookie), and only our forward line looked great (which was a result of robbing our backline). Our skill level was generally atrocious in conditions that couldn't be more perfect for footy. Why oh why do we f**k around with it so much when we have blokes in the forward line that can mark anything?

But that's my after match rant. Thankfully we've got the worst team in the league next week and as long as it's reasonably dry Pavlich and McPharlin should have a big day out. But we'd want some major improvement by the week after otherwise Melbourne will towel us up.

I think the positives for me was the young guys - Mundy, Crowley, Dodd, Peake etc. were great.

We were flogged out of the centre weren't we. We won our first centre clearance 2 mins into the second quarter! Pathetic!

It was good to win Rob, but you're right, it must be kept in perspective.

Guess I'm the only one who enjoys going to the footy and watching their side win.

And I think I might even choose to get ahead of myself. Do you know why?

Because I'm not a player, on the coaching staff, on the board, heck I don't even get the overalls on and drag out the anchor. In fact my steely eyed resolve in the face of the odds doesn't really matter at all.

I think I just might enjoy a win. I guess I might be a bit deluded.

Or people may need to lighten up a bit.

I think some people have raised the bar too high. Sure we should be a lot higher on the ladder and the season to date has been extremely disappointing, but todays performance was pretty good. To win by 9 goals after trailing by 4 goals against a side that's been playing reasonable footy is a big win. We stuffed around with the ball too much and our skills were average, but the result on the scoreboard was good. I think Schammer, Hasleby, Peake, Cook, Headland, Crowley, Mundy, Murphy, McPharlin, Black, Dodd and Pavlich all had good games.

raffrox said:
Guess I'm the only one who enjoys going to the footy and watching their side win.

And I think I might even choose to get ahead of myself. Do you know why?

Because I'm not a player, on the coaching staff, on the board, heck I don't even get the overalls on and drag out the anchor. In fact my steely eyed resolve in the face of the odds doesn't really matter at all.

I think I just might enjoy a win. I guess I might be a bit deluded.

Or people may need to lighten up a bit.

What great feeling singing the song, hanging back to clap the guys off, smiling while walking to the station.

We kicked 22 goals. Came back from 4 goals down to win by 9. 13 goal turnaround.

Good team effort. :) :) :)

Rob said:
Fair dinkum guys, if anyone takes more than a handful of positives out of that game we're deluding ourselves.

We were made to look competent by a team that was totally inept. We were beaten out of the middle again, our backline looked as fragile as ever (Mundy excepted - by gee he's got some poise for a rookie), and only our forward line looked great (which was a result of robbing our backline). Our skill level was generally atrocious in conditions that couldn't be more perfect for footy. Why oh why do we f**k around with it so much when we have blokes in the forward line that can mark anything?

But that's my after match rant. Thankfully we've got the worst team in the league next week and as long as it's reasonably dry Pavlich and McPharlin should have a big day out. But we'd want some major improvement by the week after otherwise Melbourne will towel us up.

I really think you should enjoy their first win in a fair while instead of focusing on the bad parts. It's far better to enjoy the positives.

Apart from their stuffing around with the ball and the sun getting in my eyes it was a fabulous day. Plus a very nice lady gave me and my friend some free tickets so I have absolutely no reason to complain!

I was at the game despite being a freo supporter...was there as my mate Farren Ray plays for the bulldogs and i can say that toue defence was once again pretty dodgy... Seriously what with all the handballing when in defence FFS???

Your forwards were great and Medhurst played himself into some form finally :P

Mundy was close to BOG for you guys IMO (bloody great player that fellas is)

Rob said:
We were made to look competent by a team that was totally inept. We were beaten out of the middle again, our backline looked as fragile as ever (Mundy excepted - by gee he's got some poise for a rookie), and only our forward line looked great (which was a result of robbing our backline).

You probably don't give a crap, but I disagree with this sentiment. Playing McPharlin up forward is the right thing to do...you're robbing your forward line when you play him in defence, because you don't replace him with anyone decent. You can source any number of nongs to play as tall defenders.

If your backline looks fragile when there are less men back there, then right now thats good because they'll have to learn to fill the gaps for themselves rather than rely so heavily on resting midfielders & players too good to be full time backmen. You might go some way towards developing a strong structure.

Where you got beaten today was in midfield. Did even one of Sandilands' taps go to your advantage?

Freo's forward line pressure on the Dogs' rebound was really pretty good, and it would've infuriated Eade no end to have the favourite part of his game (rebound) hindered like that. Meanwhile, when you got to the wing from rebounds, you had actual targets to kick to - almost unheard of!

Anyone that wants to weaken that forward line to beef up the defence has weird priorities, in my opinion.

Porthos said:
You probably don't give a crap, but I disagree with this sentiment. Playing McPharlin up forward is the right thing to do...you're robbing your forward line when you play him in defence, because you don't replace him with anyone decent. You can source any number of nongs to play as tall defenders.

Of course we give a crap "No1 Docker Knocker".....
McPharlin is good up forward, but against sides with strong midfields, much of our drive has to come from our half backline.
McPharlin rebound and defensively is probally one of the best in the competition, we need him there specially against the stronger sides.

Porthos said:
If your backline looks fragile when there are less men back there, then right now thats good because they'll have to learn to fill the gaps for themselves rather than rely so heavily on resting midfielders & players too good to be full time backmen. You might go some way towards developing a strong structure.

Without Hadrill there I agree with you, but when he plays I think the combination of himself and McPharlin in the air wise is unbeatable.
Thornton will only improve and the likes of Mundy give excellent drive.

Porthos said:
Where you got beaten today was in midfield. Did even one of Sandilands' taps go to your advantage?

I cant work the guy out, against the crows he changed the game. Today he struggled.

Porthos said:
Anyone that wants to weaken that forward line to beef up the defence has weird priorities, in my opinion.

As I said, our midfield isnt quite there yet. Facing facts we get killed out of the centre, meaning drive must come from CHB line. McPharlin is that drive, rest sandilands/Longmuir in the forward line while not rucking, put and leave Polak there and of course Pav and we do fine.

Loss of Hadrill has hurt us more than we realise.

I agree with Robs sentiments. We play crap footy and were spared defeat by a side whose skill level is worse than ours.

We still play chippy chippy, one handball too many to a teammate under pressure from 1 or 2 opposing players.

A win is a win but that is all it is.

We'll definitely get killed in the centre next time we play a top 8 side unless our big name defenders start getting their hands on the pill from the tap.

All these quick handballs from marks or free kicks are giving me the shytes too. Sure its one thing to want to move the ball on quickly and put the opposition under pressure, but for god sake look around before you handball to someone already covered.

Having said that, I'm still pleased that we won - its been a while.

Freo Shark said:
We still play chippy chippy, one handball too many to a teammate under pressure from 1 or 2 opposing players.

I disagree with Rob's sentiments. To begin with a cliche you can only play against the team that are out there and we spanked them. If we'd only just got over the line I might agree but nearly 10 goals is a spanking. Its hard to say our backline looked fragile when they were hardly tested after half time.

We played absolutely carp in the first quarter and Freo Shark is right it was all handball happy with no system or purpose. But the players did settle, especially the younger ones, and we started to win some ball, and we started to move it downfield with a bit of run and precision. We started getting some goals and the Doggie's fell apart.

I was impressed by the way Peake, Crowley, Mundy and Murphy contested and then used the ball. I noticed in the last quarter Mundy twice twice ignored Health Black who was calling for a cheap possession. And our better players Pavlich, Haselby, Headland, Medhurst et al were quite steady.

Rob's point is the Doggies made us look competent by being totally inept. You can equally argue we put enough pressure on them and they went to water. We'll see what next week brings, and then we'll get a much sterner test against Melbourne in a fortnight's time.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I disagree with Rob's sentiments. To begin with a cliche you can only play against the team that are out there and we spanked them. If we'd only just got over the line I might agree but nearly 10 goals is a spanking. Its hard to say our backline looked fragile when they were hardly tested after half time.

We played absolutely carp in the first quarter and Freo Shark is right it was all handball happy with no system or purpose. But the players did settle, especially the younger ones, and we started to win some ball, and we started to move it downfield with a bit of run and precision. We started getting some goals and the Doggie's fell apart.

I was impressed by the way Peake, Crowley, Mundy and Murphy contested and then used the ball. I noticed in the last quarter Mundy twice twice ignored Health Black who was calling for a cheap possession. And our better players Pavlich, Haselby, Headland, Medhurst et al were quite steady.

Rob's point is the Doggies made us look competent by being totally inept. You can equally argue we put enough pressure on them and they went to water. We'll see what next week brings, and then we'll get a much sterner test against Melbourne in a fortnight's time.
Or you can simply admit that there is alot of wasted talent at Fremantle

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I disagree with Rob's sentiments. To begin with a cliche you can only play against the team that are out there and we spanked them.

Yes you can argue that you can only play against the team out there but the way we played would have been capitalised on by most half reasonable teams and we would have had a 10 goal deficit to turnaround. We played lousy chippy footy where we passed to players under pressure, and added pressure by passing to them at their ankles or above their head or beside them. Basically skills were ******** and we're lucky to get away with it.

I'm just tired of watching them kick out from goal and give the opposition another shot. kicking back and fro across their fullback line. The team having the skill level and toughness of the under 10's. Cookie made some of his teammates look like wimps. It was good to see some of the youngún backing up Parker I think.

Cookie played fantastically, Mundy is class, Pav and McPharlin well enough said. Peake showed some promise, Dodd did ok.

Freo Shark said:
Yes you can argue that you can only play against the team out there but the way we played would have been capitalised on by most half reasonable teams and we would have had a 10 goal deficit to turnaround. We played lousy chippy footy where we passed to players under pressure, and added pressure by passing to them at their ankles or above their head or beside them. Basically skills were ******** and we're lucky to get away with it.

If you want to be miserable be my guest. But I reckon, if you're that cheesed off after a 10 goal win you might want to stop and have a bit of a think about it. It sounds like you missed the second half for mine.

sabre_ac said:
Of course we give a crap "No1 Docker Knocker".....
McPharlin is good up forward, but against sides with strong midfields, much of our drive has to come from our half backline.
McPharlin rebound and defensively is probally one of the best in the competition, we need him there specially against the stronger sides.

I don't understand. Porthos wasn't knocking the dockers... you were. He was actually supporting them.

Kicking goals wins matches. McPharlin is very hard to stop when he gets going. Pav, McPharlin, Medders, Farmer and extras are a premiership winning forward line. Simple as that IMO.

I aint miserable and sure they did outplay the dogs but it was a game they over possessed, played chippy chippy. They continued to put their mates under pressure.

All I said was and argue against me was that their skill level and physical aspect as a WHOLE was severely lacking and more atune to kids footy where you cant tackle and if you dont hit your mate on the chest it doesnt matter its all about enjoying it.

Yes I'm happy we won but geez we are lucky it wasnt a more skillful side coz we would have got done to half time and post half time there wouldnt have been the confidence to fight back necessarily.

Masai as if Glen or Wally support the dockers.

masai said:
I think Freo Shark is Glenn Mitchell or Sir Walter Forman, well he sure as hell sounds like them.

Some people will pick at anything, win by one point or 100, they will find something to complain about. Take the win, smile and move onto next week.

That's just hiding your head in the sand and accepting mediocrity. You reckon Adelaide supporters are thinking all is fantastic when they nearly blew 2 huge leads 2 weeks running? I'm sure they're happy to win (as am I) but that doesn't mean all is rosy.

We've got people around still talking finals FFS, and the sort of footy we played might be good enough to beat a rabble like the Bulldogs, but it's not going to get us within coo-ee of the 8.

WE have all tasted winning and losing. Winning tastes oh so much sweeter.

It was a win and yes they fiddle fart around with the ball.

I just wonder how much they practice kicking long to a one on one contest?

Until they get the directness as second nature into their game they will always be vunerable.

We have potent forwards, we need to make use of them.

raffrox said:
I don't understand. Porthos wasn't knocking the dockers... you were. He was actually supporting them.

Kicking goals wins matches. McPharlin is very hard to stop when he gets going. Pav, McPharlin, Medders, Farmer and extras are a premiership winning forward line. Simple as that IMO.

I was refering to a slogan Porthos used to use a few years ago before your time.
You know how you can change the part that says "BigFooty Member", his used to be "No1DockerKnocker"

I agree with you, our forward line with McPharlin and Pavlich up forward is very good, right up their with the best.
But without Haddrill down back we lack Arial skill, McPharlin in my opinion at the moment is more valuable down back.
As stated we get killed out of the centre, our drive very often comes from half back, hes the man for that in my opinion.

Freo Shark said:
Masai as if Glen or Wally support the dockers.

I'm tempted to ring the RSPCA and send them to the ABC studio, as Wal & Glen love kicking the hide of the dog when it is down. I understand now that the dog has lifted it's head and shown some life, these two boys are still kicking the rising dog.

Yes the performance on the weekend left alot to be desired, but lets take the win first. There is alot of room for improvement and most people I have spoken too are "not over the moon", as they are fully aware of where we lay. Most supporters are being realistic.

sabre_ac said:
I agree with you, our forward line with McPharlin and Pavlich up forward is very good, right up their with the best.
But without Haddrill down back we lack Arial skill, McPharlin in my opinion at the moment is more valuable down back.
As stated we get killed out of the centre, our drive very often comes from half back, hes the man for that in my opinion.

One word: Mundy.

May I just say that I have been on the Mundy wagon since before he had even debuted. Go you good thing!!!!!

masai said:
I'm tempted to ring the RSPCA and send them to the ABC studio, as Wal & Glen love kicking the hide of the dog when it is down. I understand now that the dog has lifted it's head and shown some life, these two boys are still kicking the rising dog.

Yes the performance on the weekend left alot to be desired, but lets take the win first. There is alot of room for improvement and most people I have spoken too are "not over the moon", as they are fully aware of where we lay. Most supporters are being realistic.

At half time my thoughts were... the only thing we have achieved (assuming we win) is that we have given up a priority pick....

By the end I was thinking, well that ain't half bad. Things may very well be looking up. :)

11 goals to 4 in the second half (and 17 goals to 4 from when we were 4 goals down in the 2nd Q) and some much more direct play and long kicking into the forward line, must be viewed as at least partly positive IMO.