SFL 2010 Division 1 Thread

Interesting story here....

http://www.weeklytimesnow.com.au/article/2010/04/01/171601_country-footy.html

Wonder if AFL Vic might try and implement something similar.

Surely it's 'buyer beware' is't it?
While there are a few players running around at 'over the odds', there would be equally as many, or more, playing at unders. This runs the risk of those players saying to their club, "hey, this says I should be worth $x amount more, cough up".
If clubs are stupid enough to offer ridiculous coin to average players they deserve exactly what they get.

Thanks for all the mail Super been trying to track down the Round 1 record but wasn't at the club last night. Will be out tomorrow apparently.

My predictions for the year:
Top 5: Chelsea Hts, St Kilda, St Pauls, Mordialloc, East Brighton
(sorry Super no Chelt think the Vamps might push them out this year. New and improved list watch for them to make an early impact).

Relegation: Tooronga- Malvern
Could be any out of them, Heatherton or Springy Dists.

League B & F: Steve Arvanitis
Goalkicker: Murray Silver

Tips Rd 1:
St Kilda def St Pauls at the Farm by 15 pts (ripper of a match)
Chelsea too strong over Heatherton.....Welcome back to the big time Tunners.
East Brighton workmanlike over Tooronga- 6 goals
Dingley to scrap a win over Springy under lights....might be a bit ugly with the dew. Will win by 4 goals
Mordy to outrun Cheltenham in a close match 2 goals.

Thoughts?

Premier: St.Kilda City
Top 5: Chelsea Heights, St Kilda City, Cheltenham, St Pauls, East Brighton (no particular order)
Relegation: Heatherton
Div 2 Premier: Highett (over Clayton)
League B+F: Danny Jacobs (St.K C)
Leading Goalkicker: Murray Silver
Recruit with biggest impact: Paul Wheatley

Good luck to all teams in 2010
Hope the beer is nice and cold at Ben Kavanagh tomorrow :)

Thanks for all the mail Super been trying to track down the Round 1 record but wasn't at the club last night. Will be out tomorrow apparently.

(sorry Super no Chelt think the Vamps might push them out this year. New and improved list watch for them to make an early impact).

Don't be sorry PDog, even the most loyal of cheltenham supporters surely would not expect them to make the finals for quite a few more years going forward. Very average list, terrible coach and ofcourse there is that skirt culture down there. They will battle for quite some time one would think.

thesnowman has definetly sucked one too many farts:p

Premier: St.Kilda City
Top 5: Chelsea Heights, St Kilda City, Cheltenham, St Pauls, East Brighton (no particular order)
Relegation: Heatherton
Div 2 Premier: Highett (over Clayton)
League B+F: Danny Jacobs (St.K C)
Leading Goalkicker: Murray Silver
Recruit with biggest impact: Paul Wheatley

Good luck to all teams in 2010
Hope the beer is nice and cold at Ben Kavanagh tomorrow :)

This makes no sence. If Danny is you league b and f then would he not automatically the recruit with the biggest impact?

Yep, we will be lucky to win a game I reckon. On top of that we may not even kick a single goal for the entire year...:rolleyes: Div 2 here we come! ;)

Time will tell superfreak, and unfortunately for you, the outlook is not rosy.

On a positive note, your players should be warm throughout winter in their new uniform;

lion.jpg

st pauls/st kilda match was pretty good, new looking side for both teams, dogs had 6 colts from last year, as well as missing wheatly-ridgway-cooke-blackwood and marasco so they had a few out, but still they had a dip.

city looked like they were missing big arvo and who else not to sure, they also blooded quite a few colts, they look like they miss bruno though, just that quick running dash to break the lines

st pauls/st kilda match was pretty good, new looking side for both teams, dogs had 6 colts from last year, as well as missing wheatly-ridgway-cooke-blackwood and marasco so they had a few out, but still they had a dip.

city looked like they were missing big arvo and who else not to sure, they also blooded quite a few colts, they look like they miss bruno though, just that quick running dash to break the lines

I think City may have been surprised by the run and carry from our mob. Was good to see a close contest with the result looking like it could go either way.

The younger blokes really gave it a crack which is great to know that we will have a good core of kids for many years to come.

Same can be said for City who looked to have a lot of new young faces who stepped up and made it a great contest.

Good way to start the year (apart from the result) and look forward to Cheltenham next week in the ANZAC day tribute match.

I think City may have been surprised by the run and carry from our mob. Was good to see a close contest with the result looking like it could go either way.

The younger blokes really gave it a crack which is great to know that we will have a good core of kids for many years to come.

Same can be said for City who looked to have a lot of new young faces who stepped up and made it a great contest.

Good way to start the year (apart from the result) and look forward to Cheltenham next week in the ANZAC day tribute match.
city will be better for the run having only played one practice match with some of the guys having not played in that game.
got a few to come in arvo, mcconchie, zosens, stinear plus maybe two others who havent committed yet.
so definitely not at our best but pleased to start the year of with a hard game and a win.

city will be better for the run having only played one practice match with some of the guys having not played in that game.
got a few to come in arvo, mcconchie, zosens, stinear plus maybe two others who havent committed yet.
so definitely not at our best but pleased to start the year of with a hard game and a win.
Didn't Stinear get a clearance to De La?? Arvo and McCon will be good inclusions, I wouldn't think Zos would be in the team anytime soon...

6.7-43 Heatherton

23.16-154 Chelsea Heights

Heatherton
Goal Kickers: A. Sparrow 2, B. Williams , D. Hand , N. Cody , K. Tucker
Best Players: K. Tucker, M. Jamieson, C. Earle, R. Ferguson, M. Di Blasio, A. Sparrow

Chelsea Heights
Goal Kickers: P. Smith 6, D. Walsh 6, B. Gilder 3, A. Beasy 3, M. Fitcher 3, D. Bastin , J. Uren
Best Players: B. Gilder, A. Roberts, P. Smith, D. Walsh, T. Downie, M. Fitcher

As expected a big win by Chelsea first up. Would love to hear thoughts by anyone who went, were Chelsea just that good or was it no opposition? Looks like big P. Smith is fitting in well with a lazy 6, did he spend most of the day deep forward or was he booting them from the centre sq?!?

snowman what did you think of the city/stpauls game yesterday?

I think the game confirmed my original thoughts. St Pauls will play off in the granny with Chelsea Heights. Not taking much away from st kilda, just st pauls look they have alot more improvement than st kilda.

Cheltenham confirmed my expecatations also, very weak hearted.

Now snowman, after watching the Springy/Dingley game on Friday night and after listening to Quinny's quarter time speech, I'm pretty sure no one associated with Dingley can ever accuse another club of being soft or having 'pea hearts'. "Gutless effort and intimidated by a bunch of 18 year olds" was the exact quote from the cockroach.

Imagine if he coached Cheltenham then.

He would sew your spuds to your as$ cheeks and slap a netball skirt on the whole team in an attempt to make you look as rediculous as you play.

Too true Superfreak, Quinney was not happy. Fair enough too. All the talk had been how Springy had lost plenty of talent without replacing it.

A few good lessons were learnt by the Dingoes. That said a couple of our recruits starred and the new FF looks pretty good.

I think the game confirmed my original thoughts. St Pauls will play off in the granny with Chelsea Heights. Not taking much away from st kilda, just st pauls look they have alot more improvement than st kilda.

Cheltenham confirmed my expecatations also, very weak hearted.

Fair call snowy, our losses are significant and st pauls have plenty of blokes out, we were far from convincing. Chelsea have spent up big obviously they see this as there chance to cash in all there recruits are guns and realsitically with there list they should go through undefeated, people who watched told me they cruised thru saturday and didnt get out of first gear and still won by 20 goals.
We wont go down without a fight and its long season,dont right us off just yet, very impressed with st pauls.

Too true Superfreak, Quinney was not happy. Fair enough too. All the talk had been how Springy had lost plenty of talent without replacing it.

A few good lessons were learnt by the Dingoes. That said a couple of our recruits starred and the new FF looks pretty good.

Very harsh words from Coach Quinn!! Not one positive in his 1/4 time speech.Looking at the reaction of the Pres in the background he wasnt impressed on both issues.The players or the coaches speech.

A long year ahead for both clubs I would say.

6.7-43 Heatherton

23.16-154 Chelsea Heights

Heatherton
Goal Kickers: A. Sparrow 2, B. Williams , D. Hand , N. Cody , K. Tucker
Best Players: K. Tucker, M. Jamieson, C. Earle, R. Ferguson, M. Di Blasio, A. Sparrow

Chelsea Heights
Goal Kickers: P. Smith 6, D. Walsh 6, B. Gilder 3, A. Beasy 3, M. Fitcher 3, D. Bastin , J. Uren
Best Players: B. Gilder, A. Roberts, P. Smith, D. Walsh, T. Downie, M. Fitcher

As expected a big win by Chelsea first up. Would love to hear thoughts by anyone who went, were Chelsea just that good or was it no opposition? Looks like big P. Smith is fitting in well with a lazy 6, did he spend most of the day deep forward or was he booting them from the centre sq?!?

Tunners were outgunned by a very classy Heighters line-up. The forward line for CH is super potent with plenty of options. Well balanced side all over the field. CH my early tip for the flag! Tunners moved the ball well in patches, lacked some height forward and back. I hear the Tunners have some exciting recruits yet to play.