Shane Birss

Sorry for popping onto your board.

Just curious to know your thoughts on how Shane Birss has been going this season.

Most Bulldogs fans had only nice things to say about Birssy & were pleased that he was able to be traded rather than being delisted.

By & large he uses the ball pretty well when he gets it.

I do hope he goes well (just not this week) for you as he's a terrific bloke.

Has a fantastic footy brain which enables him to run to the right areas.

Can kick a goal as well which is what we need desperately!

Personally I think he's done enough in the past couple of weeks to cement his spot in our best 22. He's been great this year, not only doing his job shutting people down but also popping up with some smart kicks and some goals.

Been good. When others have not produced this year, Birss has done alright. Derserves his spot in the current team.

Birss is one of the players that i keep an eye on, when i get a chance to watch the saints, and he seems to be playing some good footy, abit like Callan for us just need a fresh start, and is playing well.:thumbsu:

Good luck for this week

He is a good kick for goal, thats about it.

But they way the rest Kick He'd be picked first every week

Yep, he's been good. :thumbsu:

Loved his game against Collingwood a couple of weeks ago.

He only had the 6 possessions but took Heath Shaw completely out of the game. He was so comprehensively beaten that he lost his cool. Plus he kicked 2 goals out of those 6 touches so it's not as if he didn't hurt the opposition.

This week he had more of the ball with 14 possessions, laid 4 tackles and kicked another 2 goals. You know what you are going to get with him. He's no star but he's just an honest player who is hard at the ball and hard at the man.

Has a fantastic footy brain which enables him to run to the right areas.

Can kick a goal as well which is what we need desperately!

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this is his least endearing quality. Is very slow to make decisions, often choosing the wrong ones, turns the ball over a lot, isn't blessed with much raw talent, very rarely plays on due to lack of vision. For these reason, the Bulldogs got rid of him.

I'm glad he got a gig with the Saints as while at the Doggies he was competing against too many similar yet far more talented players. Is a decent tagger, an honest performer and a highly accurate kick for goal. I'd like to see him tag Gilbee, being one of the few backman who gets tagged, he should have the stamina and could possibly exploit Gilbee on rebound with his decent goal kicking.

That said, even if he kicks a few goals, I'm much happier without him. Best of luck to him though :thumbsu:

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this is his least endearing quality. Is very slow to make decisions, often choosing the wrong ones, turns the ball over a lot, isn't blessed with much raw talent, very rarely plays on due to lack of vision. For these reason, the Bulldogs got rid of him.

I'm glad he got a gig with the Saints as while at the Doggies he was competing against too many similar yet far more talented players. Is a decent tagger, an honest performer and a highly accurate kick for goal. I'd like to see him tag Gilbee, being one of the few backman who gets tagged, he should have the stamina and could possibly exploit Gilbee on rebound with his decent goal kicking.

That said, even if he kicks a few goals, I'm much happier without him. Best of luck to him though :thumbsu:

I disagree...I reckon Birssy does have a football brain, I just reckon he lacked a bit of finish with us plus the fact we probably had some better similar type players that kept him out of the side. Whatever the reason or the assessment it is great to see he is doing well at the Saints and like some of the other guys I like to keep an eye on how guys who have played with us are fairing at other clubs.

I'm glad he is doing well, by all accounts a great bloke and absolutely gave his all every time he ran out onto the footy oval, hard nosed & never gives an inch.

He has tons of ticker and will never drop his head, deserves an AFL career on sheer effort alone. I'm glad the Bulldogs traded him for very little to St Kilda, as it allowed him to play for the club he supported growing up. Trading Karma.

I disagree...I reckon Birssy does have a football brain, I just reckon he lacked a bit of finish with us plus the fact we probably had some better similar type players that kept him out of the side. Whatever the reason or the assessment it is great to see he is doing well at the Saints and like some of the other guys I like to keep an eye on how guys who have played with us are fairing at other clubs.

Do I recall correctly he had a lot of injuries as well didn't he in his time at the kennel???

i loved birss when he was at the kennel very underated player hard at it

good luck mate

Oops, apologies to the Bulldogs supporters that I ended up on your board.

Hang on, I'm not. Good to see that most of you still value Birss (similar to most Sydney supporters still supporting Schneider and Dempster - I havent' seen too many positive comments on King and Gardiner by Geelong supporters though), shows class.

Booted a nice goal 55 :)
didnt know he could kick it that far, never did for us anyway
i was impressed

nah his done that before from outside 50, always rated him as a goal kicker. :thumbsu: