footyman

Gold Coast
His form during the one day series was shocking. Do we just put it down to a bad summer? Personally, I don't think he should be a one day game certainty. While he can be effective, he was giving away 6 runs an over against a couple of the worlds best one day teams this summer.

This brings me to another question...should he have played in Perth on a wicket which isn't as suitable for spinners?

He was pretty good at the start of the series but he badly needed a rest by the end, which he didn't get.

I really don't want to bag Warne.

Because he was so fantastic during the South African test matches.

I will reserve judgement untill after the one-dayers in South Africa later this month.

Originally posted by oh_my_hat
I have a gut feeling that Steve Waugh is being taken off the team selection commitee as a way of moving Warne out of the team and sliding MacGill in. Just a thought.

MacGill concedes too many runs in One Dayers and even admits that himself. I don't think he would be any better in slowing down the run rate if he was in the side.

Originally posted by oh_my_hat
I have a gut feeling that Steve Waugh is being taken off the team selection commitee as a way of moving Warne out of the team and sliding MacGill in. Just a thought.

Or mayhaps moving Steve Waugh away from the one dayers a la Mark Taylor?

steve waugh will be dropped from the one dayers and in his place come macgilla who will get 2 for 76 off 5 overs every time he bowls.

I have a feeling Shane Warne will be a major part of the test team until he breaks the wickets record....i have that feeling that no matter his form, the selectors will still pick him till he gets the record

IMO, his time is just about up, he gave away heaps of runs and didnt prove too productive in the ODI

in regards to the Perth one dayer, there was absolutely no reason for him to play in that game, and it showed as i think for his 10 overs he gave away about 50+ runs

him and Mark Waugh have been safe for too long, maybe with Steve Waugh getting kicked off the committee we'll see some fresh faces in the side

Shane Warne should be kept in the test side, but removed from the one-day side. Mark Waugh should be given another chance in the one-day side as he has performed tremendously over the last 12 months.

Well said Briedis and iceman. Warne wouldn't get a game if I was ODI selector, although he would be a definate starter for test matches.

Do we have to have a leg spinner in the side at all?

Warney just can't cut it in the one day game any more. The intimidation factor is no longer there, nor is the variety. In test cricket, sadly, he aint that much better. These days (in test cricket) he really only performs against the Poms and the Proteas (still can't get over their hang ups about him - a legacy from a time when he was a great bowler).

McGill though is not the answer. Too expensive (1 for 72 off 10 against Tassie today). Sure he takes wickets but there's more to one dayers than that of course.

Originally posted by Dippers Donuts
Do we have to have a leg spinner in the side at all?

No, we don't have to have a leggie, but we do need variety. Look at what someone like a Chris Harris gives to NZ. We can't go in with four quicks every time, it is too predictable. I think MacGill would be a good choice for a replacement for Warne. Sure he had a bad day yesterday, but generally he is not as expensive and gets more wickets. Warne is not the same bowler as he was before the shoulder operation.

Who else do you think can give us a bit of variety in the bowling attack? (Don't even try to mention "The Hack");)

I don't think anyone should be guaranteed a place in any side. Warne has had a disappointing summer, and based on merit and conditions, should probably have been left out of the Perth squad, but shold still be picked for most games.

MacGill hasn't really been given a chance against international opposition, but domestically he takes SO MANY wickets, that a run rate of 5/low 5s isn't that much of a concern.

Looking at the wickets taken by Warne and MacGill over the last couple of years (mainly in Tests), I reckon Warne has bagged a lot of tailenders whereas MacGill and Gillespie would have the highest proportion of top & middle order batsmen.

Not sure if MacGill IS the answer for ODIs but if Warne is in poor form, it's worth giving MacGill a run to see how he does.

The amount of wickets he takes IS beneficial, even if a wicket is followed by a bowling change - wickets do generally mean lower run rate due to new batsmen settling in.

I think Steve Waugh's role as tour selector was scrapped over the summer specifically to get Mark Waugh out of the Test side and Steve out of the ODIs. Given Australia's reasonable success overseas recently (except India I suppose), there was no urgent need to re-vamp things unless there's an underlying motive.

The re-inclusion of Lehmann suggests the entire top 6-7 is on notice in the ODIs, and Mark Waugh will also be under pressure from Matthew Hayden.

here lies the biggest problem to our little problem with Warne's average form in the Test arena.

Who else is there.

MacGill is very overrated, and is to expensive, but there is not one spinner in the leading 20 wickets in the Sheffield Shield. This must be a HUGE concern for national selectors.

In the one dayers though the spinners are doing much better. MacGill is the leafing wickettaker, so he should probably be given a run in the ODI's. Young Hauritz - who looks to have quite a good future, particularly in one dayers, Brad Young and Brad Hogg are also up there in the top 10 wickettakers in the competition.

I think Hauritz and MacGill should definetaly be given a run to find a replace for Warne at the moment in the one dayers, wait a while before we see Cameron White hit the international scene.

Brad Young's an interesting one.

Picked as a spinner who can bat a little... but his batting has been the only thing that has credibility at the moment. He's been around a while now, and is regularly making runs batting at 6 or 7 for SA, but he just doesn't take enough wickets to be picked as a spinner.

The way he is playing for SA is the way Greg Matthews played for Australia - picked as a spinner, but makes runs instead of taking wickets!

It's interesting to note that many don't rate MacGill as a genuine international calibre player, but the man takes wickets. Isn't that what he's there for? If a bloke averages almost 5 wickets per test, I don't care if he bowls garbage to get those wickets. And a bowling average of around 25 suggests he doesn't bowl that much garbage.

Originally posted by Darky

It's interesting to note that many don't rate MacGill as a genuine international calibre player, but the man takes wickets. Isn't that what he's there for? If a bloke averages almost 5 wickets per test, I don't care if he bowls garbage to get those wickets. And a bowling average of around 25 suggests he doesn't bowl that much garbage.

Exactly.

If he goes into a one-day match and picked up 5-60. Would you be complaining?

Just say he takes out 3 out of those 5 are the top 6 batsman.

I dare say that it would keep the team down to a fairly low score.

Originally posted by WCE2000
here lies the biggest problem to our little problem with Warne's average form in the Test arena.

Who else is there.

MacGill is very overrated, and is to expensive, but there is not one spinner in the leading 20 wickets in the Sheffield Shield. This must be a HUGE concern for national selectors.

In the one dayers though the spinners are doing much better. MacGill is the leafing wickettaker, so he should probably be given a run in the ODI's. Young Hauritz - who looks to have quite a good future, particularly in one dayers, Brad Young and Brad Hogg are also up there in the top 10 wickettakers in the competition.

I think Hauritz and MacGill should definetaly be given a run to find a replace for Warne at the moment in the one dayers, wait a while before we see Cameron White hit the international scene.

I do not think Warne's performance in the test arena has been that bad. I would keep him in the test side for sure.

It is ODIs where I think he is struggling. He does not seem to take wickets anymore in that form of the game.

Originally posted by Briedis

I do not think Warne's performance in the test arena has been that bad. I would keep him in the test side for sure.

It is ODIs where I think he is struggling. He does not seem to take wickets anymore in that form of the game.

I agree

As for a replacement for Warne at test level

1) McGill is not overrated and will be ok for a couple of years after Warne has retired

2) Juniors such as Xavier Doeherty Cameron White ( a huge talent) adn Nathan Hauritz have our spin bowling stocks in very good stead

Jamie Marsh is also bowling very well in Adelaide Grade cricket as a leggy and should play for SA next season I would say.

Furutre does not look that bad.

Some salient stats on MacGill's performance this season,

Pura Cup: 6 games, 11 wickets at an average of 66.
Ing Cup: 8 games, 21 wickets at an average of 18.1 and an economy rate of 6.19

Ordinary form to say the least.